Mazda MX-5 to get 2.0L engine in Malaysia, auto only

mx-5 22

If you were amongst those lamenting the reported lack of a manual gearbox choice for the Malaysian-spec ND-generation Mazda MX-5, this may console you a bit. The latest word is that for our market, the roadster will be equipped with a 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G petrol engine instead of a 1.5 litre as previously thought, a Bermaz source has told us.

The US is amongst the markets slated to get the 2.0 litre – no official figures yet from Mazda, but sources have indicated to Car and Driver that the Stateside-spec motor produces 155 hp and 200 Nm of torque. Comparatively, the 1.5 litre that will go to markets such as Europe and Japan develops 129 hp at 7,000 rpm and 150 Nm at 4,800 rpm.

While the 1.5 litre motor is a development of the Mazda 2‘s powerplant, the 2.0 litre has been adapted from the CX-5 for longitudinal installation, and features a different intake manifold, exhaust system and cylinder head, reports C&D.

We’re told Malaysia’s car will only be offered with a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive auto when it arrives fully-imported (CBU) from Japan, tentatively in September or October this year.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Manual Masterace on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:27 pm

Nippon CBU 2.0 litre wow much sugoi
    WITH AN AUTOMATIC
    Good job well done for spoiling enthusiasts’ dreams Bermaz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
    • Datuk Lawrence on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:59 pm

Our Pariah Government strategy is very simple. Give everybody big cc engines. Let Malaysians use more fuel. Government untung more from the higher taxes petrol companies pay to Government.

Even the 1.0 Ecoboost also, Government of Malaysia don’t allow in Ford Focus. Why? Because it will save fuel for Malaysians and tax on a 1.0 car will be cheaper making the Ford Focus 1.0 only Rm80k for a C Segment Sedan.

But Government want Malaysians to use big cc cars so that they can screw Malaysians more taxes and more money on big cc cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 42
      • how you know ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
      • Same L0rrrr on Mar 09, 2015 at 4:34 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 137
        • 86 from 1986 on Mar 09, 2015 at 8:45 pm

…And you are such an expert having just driven the new MX-5 right?

• WRONG! Reason car companies dont bring in the lower cc models is because of whiners like you will whine about price all the time! Trying to dictate what you cannot afford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
      • LOL! Tried to bash Gov but dunno how to do it properly, now kena backfire!

• Manual Masterace on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:29 pm

Nippon CBU wif 2.0 powerful engine wow much sugoi
    DEN WITH AN AUTOMATIC
    Good job well done for spoiling enthusiasts’ dreams Bermaz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:31 pm

remember the last auto only mx-5? it sold really well in malaysia didnt it? bad move bermaz. give people the choice. even umw sells a manual 86 while tan chong glenn sells a manual brz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Guan Yin Maa on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:31 pm

You know why ? If 1.5cc come to msia, they have to price it RM 150k after tax, same as Prius C. Which MAI comfirm wont allow. So they have to bring in 2.0cc, so the price AFTER TAX can be around RM 220k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • thepolygonal on Mar 09, 2015 at 4:12 pm

Was thinking of the 1.5 (regardless of auto or manual) for everyday use since it’s cheaper and most of the time I will be stuck in a jam… please do offer the entry level 1.5 here in addition to the 2.0.

• Guan Yin Maa on Mar 09, 2015 at 5:03 pm

Relax, you can always buy from grey importer. Mazda car reliable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • This car should be a competitor to GT86/Brz. If its onli got the puny 1.5l, whos gonna buy it? Might as well get godcar vios. It too has 1.5l engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • oh really on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:07 pm

I’m just gonna be that guy.
      “1.5 cc? 2.0 cc? LOL even Kancil got 660 cc. Or u mean 1.5 liter/1500 cc?”
      It makes me sad to see there’s still people who can’t differentiate cc and liter, in 2015, in car forum.

• comeonlah on Mar 10, 2015 at 12:01 pm

You are an idiot for hawking at the fine details when u clearly understands what he means. I am an idiot for replying to you.

• okachan on Mar 10, 2015 at 8:54 am

Lagi mau cakap banyak.. 1.5cc and 1.5L pun taktau beza…

• miata on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:35 pm

Good news, 2.0L !!
    If pedal shift or manual +/- mode is available, I’m fine with it. Of course, manual is still the best.

• Before anyone complains about the minuscule amount of power on this car, let me tell you that the MX-5 was never about 0-60 & hooliganism (aka Clarkson mode). It’s car that makes you want to go for a drive for absolutely no reason & makes you smile when you do. I just watched Richard’s review of the 1.5 MX-5 on this morning’s episode of Top Gear.

Please Bernaz, I don’t think the average Joe would buy this car. It’s mainly going to be bought by enthusiasts. I don’t really mind if they bring in the 1.5 but I am however disappointed they’re not bringing in the manual version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • sepul on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:56 pm

I agree, being a niche it should cater to enthusiast more than the mainstream people. At least offer the manual as a build to order basis with lower price and basic equipment. But safety must be fully specced.

• blaster88 on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:51 pm

2L engine might not be a better option for the Miata. This is a mid engine car….2 Lit would mean it would be heavier engine. Not sure it would affect the dynamics and handling? Ideally, you would want a light weight zippy engine…..more over this would give Bermaz the excuse to price it more!!! Yes! A manual would be great as well…

• kelvin1703 on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:54 pm

At least we got 2.0 liter, which i think most of the malaysian will love it. But if let say Bermaz willing to bring in 1.5 liter, which means cheaper price and road tax. This will boost the sale of this roadster.
    Can’t wait to test drive this car.

• thepolygonal on Mar 09, 2015 at 4:20 pm

Wait… are we getting the hardtop?

• sepul on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:57 pm

There never was a hardtop MX-5. Or is it?

• Josh Ling on Mar 10, 2015 at 6:15 am

errr….just to let you know they did produce hardtop mx-5 in previous gen, and will produce it again this gen later this year.

• hazamiey on Mar 09, 2015 at 4:59 pm

Now thats cool.

• ben yap on Mar 09, 2015 at 5:18 pm

155hp and 200nm is super low for a roadster….

even a 308 turbo can beat it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • Lolol on Mar 09, 2015 at 5:38 pm

Hey… you hear that???? Its ignorant Yap-ping…. just dont understand what makes a mx5. Go la go la… go to your pug. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • RegretBuyingAFord on May 29, 2015 at 2:23 pm

cannot sell your PEWJIOT right?

please only buy a car that you can pronounce properly.

for your information, the PEWJIOT is a fat heavy broad chunk of unreliability, not unlike your girlfriend.

the mx-5 has 155 horse for a light compact frame. Did you not read the term GRAM STRATEGY?

read first before you tieww ppl. go jaga your PEWJIOT, u wont be able to sell it ever.

• Another idiotic move of Bermaz.

It is CBU, I don’t understand why so difficult to offer MT option, it doesn’t need you to open extra production line!

Bermaz, you dig the grave for yourself, RIP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Lolol on Mar 09, 2015 at 5:57 pm

LOLOLOL…. with just one model they gonna RIP? Regardless of the success of 3-4 other models??? AHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHA

You should be part of the comedy club.

• neemfa on Mar 09, 2015 at 6:03 pm

girlish car, despite its handling prowess.. no wonder bermaz bringing in auto only.

• sepul on Mar 09, 2015 at 6:08 pm

Send comment to Bermaz with good word and good suggestion, you will get free vouchers in return. I did.

Anyway, no special order for new MX-5 with manual tranny?

• Mazda Fetish on Mar 09, 2015 at 8:25 pm

Just give me this car already! I don’t care if it’s girlish and only comes in auto… I just want a good looking Japanese roadster! Especially the ones produced by Mazda! Zoom-Zoom all the way bitches!!…

• docrayboy on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:22 pm

The 2L Auto will sell well. Hardly anybody buys manual these days. Thank goodness for the more powerful 2L over the 1.5L everybody else besides the States are getting.Its a good looker the ND. Put the one hand easy throw soft top down. Wear your sunnies and make pretend we cool weather like they do in California or Scotland!

• KNSlah (Member) on Mar 10, 2015 at 5:46 am

We’re getting the new MX-5 in Malaysia but only available in auto?!! *Flips table. You idiot! Damn you, Bermaz! Damn you all to hell!

• At 220k, MX5 was never expected to be mass appeal auto. Not many have the spare cash for such an occasional use car. bermaz don’t sell many of them, my guess only a dozen or so per year. Even grey importers don’t carry them.

I’ve driven the NC 2.0 model. Really fun car on the b-roads, great handling. Open the RC top in the morning and you feel like driving in the US west coast. As for speed, will get thrashed by an enthusiastically driven Myvi all the time on the highway.

• lantis on Mar 10, 2015 at 12:11 pm

When only MX-5 2.0L auto is available, many would ask where is the manual, and once manual were available, probably would ask why selling with high price tag, why boot space so small, why color choices so less, why only one type of upholstery, why no hard top, why no 1.5L petrol, why no diesel engine, why no spare wheel…

• If this report is accurate then it is a very stupid move by bermaz, real drivers who actually know what an mx-5 is about will want the 1.5/2.0 MANUAL version. Lets hope they will not commit suicide again like the last gen.