2015 Ford Mustang – S550 goes on preview at Publika

Ford Mustang LA 3

Completely curious about the 2015 Ford Mustang? Well, here’s some fab news – you’ll be able to view the sixth-gen pony car in the metal from tomorrow. A Mustang fastback will be on preview at Publika in Solaris Dutamas from tomorrow, March 11 until March 15.

You won’t be able to get one until the end of the year though, which is when the S550 actually arrives here (an early-2016 Malaysian market debut was mentioned previously, but it might be sooner). In any case, the pony on show won’t be the one that most Malaysian buyers will opt for – from what has been gathered so far, the display car is said to be a 5.0 GT.

The show mule is likely to be a GT Premium variant, a baseline high-spec without the Performance Pack added on, similar to the 5.0 GT Premium we drove in Los Angeles. Specs-wise, expect to see equipment similar or very close to the Oz-market variant – Australia is of course set to be the leading RHD market (arguably the largest RHD one, actually) for the car this side of the globe, and it’s almost certain our ‘stang will be similarly kitted.

It has now been confirmed that the Mustang will be offered in Malaysia in both fastback coupe and convertible forms, in the expected two powertrain options – a Coyote 5.0 litre V8 with 435 hp at 6,500 rpm and 542 Nm at 4,250 rpm and the more salient 2.3 litre EcoBoost turbo, offering 310 hp at 5,500 rpm and 434 Nm at 3,000 rpm. For sure, we’ll see the 6R80 SelectShift six-speed auto, but to not bring in the MT82 six-speed manual variant would be unforgivable.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sam Loois on Mar 10, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Choosing a high end place to showcase Mustang. Cliche

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • priceskyhigh on Mar 10, 2015 at 5:19 pm

Price range will be ard rm500k and rm750k..
    #lupekan #tgkje #sampaibilenktgkjew?

• Lelong on Mar 10, 2015 at 5:37 pm

Better wait for next year 2016. Maybe big discount RM30K for old stock 2015 units tak laku.

• halimievo on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:27 am

Our current government is stupid if the above pricing is true. From what I’ve known, 2.3 will be around RM250k while 5.0 will be around RM500k-RM600k. In US, this can easily owned by youngsters. Damn la, why Malaysia is so unfair.

• Can’t wait to see my dream car that I can’t afford.

• Limited on Mar 10, 2015 at 5:23 pm

Wait a min…..is this a trap?
    Cause the last article I read is about capping the top speed at 110km/hour.
    All those powers will be useless if a limit is imposed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • 4G63T DSM on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:46 am

Yeah…but it can still get to 110 very very very quickly.

• Josh Ling on Mar 10, 2015 at 5:24 pm

they should choose to bring in both auto and manual for all variants, especially the V8 ones, since the price will not be cheap. and it’s not like they are gonna sell like super hot cakes anyway.

• Well since the V8 Camaro SS was available here for RM488,888 (new) a few years ago, I’m guessing the starting price for the 2.3 EcoBoost will be 250-300k & the V8 will be Rm450k-600k (depending on the trim)

• nighttrain on Mar 10, 2015 at 8:30 pm

Murica! Rednecks are comin’ yall.. Dem ponies ain’t cheap too.

• DonkeyKong on Mar 11, 2015 at 1:10 am

Them ponies are pretty darn cheap in the Land of the Free, but not here.. the cheapest model starts under $40k over there

• carazy on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:22 am

Get ur fact right, the cheapest is +-23K for V6 and +-25K for EcoBoost, all in USD for sure.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:53 am

He’s not wrong you know. He said UNDER 40K.

Actually, even the most optioned up models come in under 50K. Of cource this isn’t inclusive of the eventual higher SVT and Shelby models.

• DonkeyKong on Mar 11, 2015 at 2:06 pm

LOL at the mix of dyslexia + arrogance

• halimievo on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:30 am

Over that side is land of free. Here is land of Boleh. means everything can be expensive when it is suppose to be cheap.

• Isaac on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:22 pm

While in the US last month visiting one of our sister plant I was fetch from my hotel in a Mustang belonging to a staff in my company. I wish to point that the staff is a Production Executive in his 20s. I surely don’t think I can afford one here in Malaysia, and I am a Senior Manager.

• Timothy Mark on Mar 12, 2015 at 1:29 pm

To drive a beauty of a car like this on Malaysian roads – sheer stupidity. Fix the damn potholes/uneven bumps first.

• keroro on May 05, 2015 at 12:20 am

mustang ……. my dream car