2015 Toyota Camry facelift range launched in Thailand – gets new 2.0L VVT-iW D-4S engine and 6-speed auto

Toyota-Camry-Facelift-Thailand-019

The 2015 Toyota Camry facelift has been launched in Thailand, featuring upgraded looks and an all-new engine and gearbox combo. Yes, Toyota is pulling off a significant mid-life update for its D-segment sedan. Also introduced in the Thai range is a sporty-looking Camry Extremo variant. Now we’ve seen everything.

A total of six variants are offered there: 2.0G, 2.0G Extremo, 2.5G, 2.5HV CD, 2.5HV Navigator and 2.5HV Premium. The first two models get the biggest upgrade over the outgoing Camry, featuring the new 2.0 litre VVT-iW & D-4S engine paired to a six-speed automatic transmission (in place of the old four-speeder).

The 6AR-FSE motor has a much higher compression ratio compared to the old 1AZ-FE (12.7:1 vs 9.8:1), along with new advancements such as VVT-iW (Variable Valve Timing-intelligent Wide) and D-4S (separate twin injectors for both direct and port injection). Toyota’s VVT-iW tech first debuted on the Lexus NX 200t.

Toyota-Camry-Facelift-Thailand-020

Output numbers are up from the current 150 PS and 190 Nm to 167 PS and 199 Nm. Together with the six-speed automatic gearbox, a fuel efficiency improvement of 13% is claimed. The rest of the range is unchanged, with the same 181 PS/231 Nm 2.5 litre engine and 160 PS/213 Nm 2.5 litre petrol plus 105 PS/270Nm hybrid combo options offered.

As for looks, the non-hybrid models match what we’ve seen from the global-market XV50 facelift that was first revealed in August last year, with a far more dynamic looking front end and a nice chrome bar running through the rear lights at the back. The hybrid variant, however, gets a unique front grille treatment that is different to the JDM Camry Hybrid.

The aforementioned Camry Extremo sports an aggressive set of all-around bodykit that includes a prominent rear diffuser, twin exhaust pipes and a bootlid spoiler. On top of that, the bespoke 17-inch two-tone wheels are connected to variant-specific performance dampers too, so don’t call this a mere dress-up package.

Inside, the updated Camry adds quite a few stand-out features, including full-LED headlamps with auto high beam, three-zone climate control, power-adjustable rear seats, a 10-speaker JBL audio system, Qi wireless charger, dynamic radar cruise control, blind-spot monitor, Rear Cross Traffic Alert, lane departure warning, pre-crash alert and seven airbags.

Most of these features are exclusive to the range-topping 2.5HV Premium variant only, but the fact that they are even available on a Camry is nothing less than incredible. Prices in Thailand start from 1,319,000 baht (around RM148,500 at current exchange rates) for the base 2.0G, on to 1,899,000 baht (RM213,600) for the one with all the bells and whistles.

The 2015 Toyota Camry facelift (together with a new CKD hybrid variant) is likely to arrive in Malaysia sooner rather than later, as we’ve already seen it testing on local roads. Whether we will get the new engine and extra toys or not, we’ll have to wait and see. It’s not always a given that we will, of course, as remember, we missed out on the Thai-market Honda CR-V facelift’s new CVT gearbox.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Matchbox on Mar 11, 2015 at 11:45 pm

Impressive spec for a D- segmenter. No wait, the last time I checked, UMW is still the sole distributor in Bolehland. Oh well…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 11
    • Let’s see if UMW still tick 2-airbags across its Camry range.. On other note, do you think that the extremo is a bit overkill??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
      • More airbags won’t help too. Just look at Proton’s sorry state.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 38
        • Very Stupid Malaysians on Mar 12, 2015 at 9:43 am

Malaysians mudah lupa. How can you buy a car from a manufacturer that purposely omits VSC in their cars when all over the world Altis and Camry got VSC?

Of course now they put VSC in the Camry. But this was after everyone boycott the Camry in 2013 and 2014.

So think carefullly. How do you buy a car from such an unethical company that only thinks about profit and don’t care about your life?

Bear in mind, the US Camry 2.5 has 10 airbags. And it is sold for US$22,000. Here our Camry, supposed to be cheaper because CKD, is sold for RM200k?

How much untung UMW want to make?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 15
          • jemah on Mar 12, 2015 at 11:25 am

why 2015 camry look so f*cking ugly? 2011 kia optima look better than this shit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 18
          • Oh how can we lupa. We can even still remember how Proton launch car with 4 disc brakes and over time replace 2 with drum brake quietly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
          • Fahmi on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:47 pm

Proton Wira?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • Same L0rrrr on Mar 13, 2015 at 9:27 am

Well done, and we are going to be so busy again when this arrives.

As I said, you can’t go wrong with sushi cars, especially Toyota.

Why Toyota here so expensive compared to US? Ask your dearest Proton and its protection then.

This car beautiful, it is subjective. But no doubt the specs is awesome.

• Karma on Mar 24, 2015 at 2:32 pm

Karma will knock on the doors of those greedy and corrupted people sooner or later.

Removing the good options in the car and selling at higher price is insulting our intelligence.

How they have tricked, manipulated and twisted the people in any ways, they will eventually taste their own medicine.

That is why wealth doesn’t mean true happiness in any of the ancient texts.

• jacksonljs on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:04 pm

@Karma,

Even me, previously a loyal Toyota supporter will seriously consider Honda (either Civic 2.0 or perhaps Sylphy E or VL if i so concern about rear interior space for C-segment sedan) if i want a reasonably good resale value which may be not a top priority meanwhile safety and other features is still there.

• UMW Please Stop Cheating! on Mar 12, 2015 at 9:57 am

The 10 airbag Camry 2.5 is sold for US$22,000. VSC, 10 airbags, EBD, ESC, Tire Pressure Monitoring System all come as STANDARD.

UMW Malaysia being the official country distributor will get this car for less than US$22,000 direct from their Principal in Japan.

They will get it for about US$15k because if US can sell for US$22k and still make a huge profit and still pay US taxes, the car must be cheaper than US22k. As said, most likely UMW will get this car for US$15k

Being CKD, UMW Malaysia will get it for maybe US$12k. About RM40,000

But sell for RM200k. And that also, nearly all safety features pulled out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 20
        • harkmee on Mar 12, 2015 at 11:35 am

toyota camry under UMW now sooo low classs can compare with any proton and proton sometimes more superior with more safety features and technology.. sam loo your outdated toyota rv more less like proton now. can see many used toyota for sale now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
      • George Abdul on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:38 am

UMW will come out with safety package with extra $$$.

Even Thailand cost $148k, Bolehland going to be more costly.

UMW shame of malaysia dealership…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 10
        • Kancil vs Bentley on Mar 12, 2015 at 10:30 am

Now Toyota got no RV la. I just bought a 10 month old 2014 Camry 2.5 for RM110k

Down from RM180k. No accident and mileage 30,000KM

Always buy 2nd hand Toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 34
          • a 10 month old 2014 Camry 2.5 for RM110K and oo accident and mileage only 30,000KM ?

Bro i buy your car back at RM120k

• Based on record… 2.0 Engine (6AR-FSE) only made for China Market as at today.. 2.5 Engine (2AR-FE & 2AR-FXE) for Global Market..

• One more thing this is not Facelift Model lerrrr…. This is “Solely Toyota Camry for China Market”, lunch end last year… haa haa… Since Honda took over his crown, Toyota bring it as Facelift model here… WTH…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Toyota Moving Coffin on Mar 12, 2015 at 7:09 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 303
      • Jazzy on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:13 am

Even a little jazz or tiny picanto come with VSA/ESP traction control.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 57
        • Same L0rrrr on Mar 13, 2015 at 12:57 pm

When you can’t brake in time and hit the front car, you think the VSC would save you? Don’t be naive.

Having VSC, people still dying, look at civic preve suprima s you will know. During impact, VSC won’t save you, but the car body. Our Toyota GOA body is one the best.

• nah.....nah... on Mar 12, 2015 at 9:30 am

bro, despite “tak payah cerita panjang” or “No need to write alot here”, still ur comment is the longest lah..hehe but agree with ur comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 48
        • kenny on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:04 pm

No corolla outside there? u must be blind. In fact, Honda civic even worse. I hardy see any civic on the road. I am not saying corolla is better. but Most of Malaysians are basically buying car based on outlook, then safety come after. The outlook of corolla is better than civic.

• krishna on Mar 12, 2015 at 9:44 am

I agree with the comments except the part ‘no one is touching camry and vios’…there are too many out there. Ppl still buy due to brand loyalty…no test drive also. need a new car? toyota! no need to talk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
      • Toyota is DEAD on Mar 12, 2015 at 10:22 am

Sales of Toyota cars are so bad la. See on the road, hardly see the new 2014 Altis or Camry on the road.

Yes you see a lot of Toyota but that is pre 2012 models.

This is because, Malaysians are now aware how uMW have been cheating them and taking out safety features so that UMW can profit more at expense of our lives.

Anyway, C segment, Toyota is dead. Mazda 3 beat it flat.

B segment, Honda City beat it flat.

D segment- people rather go for Mazda CX5 or a Honda Accord

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 21
        • alldisc on Mar 12, 2015 at 3:01 pm

you my friend, have some really high imagination.

where are figures from MAA reports?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 12, 2015 at 5:45 pm

First time in a very long time seen such a poorly rated comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Malaysia will come out with its famous 4-speed 2-airbag G Sport model

• Unknown on Mar 11, 2015 at 11:51 pm

200k for a camry. OMG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 10
    • Where is Pariah Same Loor on Mar 12, 2015 at 10:32 am

Is he hiding now?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 12, 2015 at 5:46 pm

For Sonata, RM150k brand new.

18 months later, cannot even get RM60k for trade in

• Jimmy on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:10 pm

Not happy? There is always Lexi-Avalen at RM250k, have you seen its spec sheet? There are 25 airbags, 15 speeds, 35 speakers, panoramic sunroof with open-top function, preSafe-crash etc, better than an S-class. Surely at RM200K you can get all these.

• brazbuz on Mar 12, 2015 at 12:00 am

If umw can copy this kind of spec to upcoming fl camry,its gonna be on par with current d-segment. If la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Bring back my four-speeder! on Mar 12, 2015 at 12:06 am

Toyota/UMW, why oh why would u upgrade the old reliable ‘box n engine?! This is so unlike u. Pls stick to the status quo.
    What’s next? You’re gonna update your other models’ safety eqpt, add VSC etc and start putting malaysians lives above profit?
    Pfft…don’t u know malaysians love u all the same?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
  • Chipmunk on Mar 12, 2015 at 12:22 am

Let’s see how many of these things will be missing for fellow Malaysians:
    New engine
    6-speed transmission
    full-LED headlamps with auto high beam
    three-zone climate control
    power-adjustable rear seats
    10-speaker JBL audio system
    Qi wireless charger
    dynamic radar cruise control
    blind-spot monitor
    Rear Cross Traffic Alert
    lane departure warning
    pre-crash alert
    seven airbags

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 10
    • Speed limiter on Mar 12, 2015 at 12:41 am

however we will get the new 110Kph limiter so that’s an improvement

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 8
    • Jazzy on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:47 am

UMW Spec camry

New engine -> Yes, 2016. Clear 2015 stock first
      6-speed transmission -> Yes, 2016. Clear 2015 stock first
      full-LED headlamps with auto high beam -> 2.5 Sportivo/hybrid
      three-zone climate control -> No
      power-adjustable rear seats -> No
      10-speaker JBL audio system -> No, use semi value spk
      Qi wireless charger – >No
      dynamic radar cruise control -> Definitely No No
      blind-spot monitor -> Sportivo extremo?
      Rear Cross Traffic Alert -> Definitely No No
      lane departure warning -> Kept for 2018 facelift
      pre-crash alert -> Kept for 2020 new camry
      seven airbags -> 6 bag, one bag in pocket.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 12, 2015 at 12:24 am

6 speed auto…sam loo is shocked….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 8
    • alldisc on Mar 12, 2015 at 3:07 pm

could it be 4 forward speed, PLUS 1 neutral gear PLUS 1 reverse gear? total is 6 also.

• Gajen on Mar 12, 2015 at 12:30 am

This being a facelift, the car is still ugly.
    However the specs are really good but…the probability of UMW bringing those specs is the same as the probability of Liverpool winning the EPL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 8
  • Chyan on Mar 12, 2015 at 12:49 am

I’ve got to say, who edited these pics?
    They’re horrible in every way. The lighting, the tone, the background. Good lord!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • jolly_idiot (Member) on Mar 12, 2015 at 1:25 am

OMG, the camry has gone through a massive plastic surgery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Crasher7 on Mar 12, 2015 at 2:39 am

Potential Camry buyers, if you think this is the spec that UMW will bring in soon, think again. UMW take things off better than a stripper…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • shawal on Mar 12, 2015 at 3:41 am

Extremo…
    stupid looks with stupid name….

UMW better get their act together cuz the competitors has left them for dead….

Teana , Accord , the face lifted 6 is coming with revised interior in CKD form….

New sonata is packing a punch too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • bryan on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:13 am

Dream on brothers, UMW think our lives are worthless compared to Thais. That’s why we don’t get proper safety specs for our cars. And the worst part is, most Malaysian buyers agree! I rest my case.

• Josh Ling on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:14 am

i think UMW will still stick to the 3-variant lineup for its current camry when the facelifted version arrives, plus the CKD camry hybrid.

don’t think we will see the real premium variant here. it should be more like the navigator variant with some “premium” features, or the premium variant kitted mostly with “navigator” features.

• roxas on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:15 am

could never understand toyota design language.

• TreeHugger on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:29 am

Power adjustable rear seats? Seriously?

• TheDean on Mar 12, 2015 at 7:28 am

Looks more like a minor facelift… sorry Toyota fans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • driver on Mar 12, 2015 at 7:43 am

extremo = ricer
    this car is utterly ugly.
    learn from others, D segment should be executive look. clean and simple eg Ford Mondeo, Mazda 6 etc
    no need those rear diffuser, ugly wheel, hideous bodykit, sporty from the outside, fake wood trim on the inside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • Realistic on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:50 am

If UMW gives the same specs as Thailand above, I wonder how many of these bashers and haters here are gonna buy it, let alone AFFORD it.

If Toyota’s safety specs are such a pain to you, go get a Volvo. If Volvo’s design is such a pain to you, go get a Beemer. If Beemer’s aftersales is such a pain to you, go get a Porsche. If Porshe’s price is such a pain to you, go get a JOB AND EARN TILL YOU HAVE SOME CREDIBILITY TO COMMENT + BASH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
    • Right you are Realistic. For the fact that we want to be realistic meaning we want to buy the best value car (and best after sale service of course) for our precious little money can afford. With the new look and loads of new features added in, I can bet the new Camry will be priced much higher that it is now, which is very pricey compared its competitor and with much reduced features.

So being realistic, what would you do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • Realistic on Mar 12, 2015 at 12:01 pm

Aye to your comments. I have nothing against what you just said, for I agree to it as well.

The point is, like Sam Loo and his stupid RV comments, its getting old to listen to ppl say Toyota this and Toyota that, when they know for sure, Toyota won’t change.

So look at the car, if it ain’t suitable for you, move on the search. Why the fuss and buzz about the stupidity of Toyota (and their staffs) all over again…

Worse still, who are those noise makers?

• cocker on Mar 12, 2015 at 10:53 am

This guy talk big only lah

• Realistic on Mar 12, 2015 at 11:54 am

Says the guy using the name cocker?

No part of my comment involved bragging. How is it talk big? Enlighten me, wise almighty cocker

• ur statement already unrealistic!

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:13 pm

Volvo is considered a China car (under Geely).

As such, it will be comparable with Korean and Indian makes

• Albert on Mar 12, 2015 at 9:24 am

Same Lorr,I got a shock when the Jan 2015 sales figures were out.Nissan and Honda overtook Toyota.Your PNB backed company only managed 4,000plus units.
    Maybe,its the sky high pricing that is deterring buyers.Like I’ve said before,PNB only wants to maximise profits to pay Amanah shareholders gergantuan dividends.
    It has no compassion for car buyers who take 7-9 years h/p loans to finance the Toyota car.
    In short,SLAVERY IS ENHANCED while Profits remain top priority.Shambolic !!!
    Look at resurgent Honda.They come out with new products to excite the market at competitive pricing.
    I have a feeling Honda is going to be the number one non national best selling car in 2015.
    Anyway,I still like Toyota but not the EVERLASTING SKY HIGH PRICING.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
    • sam proton on Mar 12, 2015 at 9:39 am

Why need to tell sam on this?he is only a sales man(junior) that talk coxk all his life.

• alldisc on Mar 12, 2015 at 3:10 pm

care to share link for all of us too?

• my eyessssss..aaaaa

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 12, 2015 at 9:33 am

The Extremo looks ghastly.

While the Thai specs look promising, take it with a pinch of salt. In the XV40 at least cause it was Thai made, the chances of the same specs coming over was higher, but UMW can gladly continue with the same specs.

If UMW brings in all the safety tech, better buy 4D.

UMW as a corporation is just downright greedy now. In 2005-2009 they were ahead of Honda, but after the fast sales in that time frame (Vios, Altis and the XV40 Camry sold like hot cakes, everyone in the D segment market bought an XV40, me included), but once the buyers were looking for a new car, the XV50 just didn’t appeal anymore. Same with the new Vios and Altis.

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 12, 2015 at 9:54 am

Finally, a DI engine for the Camry in our region. When is Honda going to bring DI engines in our region? We know the 2.0 engine is shared with Lexus, but is that 6 speed auto the same as the Aisin unit used in Lexus as well? If yes, then thats pretty good news. Hopefully, both come to Malaysia too.

• Sonata still best for all. Camry outdated, no MAN want

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Sonata is indeed the best for me. It is by far the used kimchi model that has the highest profit margin when I trade.

That i totally agree

• Danny on Mar 12, 2015 at 10:36 am

I prefer the 4 speed auto, option to have it would be nice! reliability top priority here. :>

• Wow! Toyota also the next most bashable name after Proton!

• blaster88 on Mar 12, 2015 at 11:19 am

Everytime a Toyota comes up here…it gets bashed without fail. UMW, hope you are taking note and make changes or are you still your arrogant self, ignoring the power of consumer? …as is it Honda is outselling you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 12, 2015 at 11:22 am

All I can say to kimchi owners is, come to me and I will show you the Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 15
    • jacksonljs on Mar 14, 2015 at 11:17 pm

This is a reminder for you before worst thing happen to you.

My sincere advise to you, you better don’t show off too much of your Hilux here as well as your arrogance to the people else with God wills, the same Hilux that you like to show off might be destroyed totally or you might get hit with your own Hilux as well as your personal life (if this really happens, i consider this as a bad karma to you as what goes around will comes around), in fact you as well as those Toyota salesman already face their first bad karma (sales dwindle in these few months as their main competitors already overtake them), but for me, it’s still not severe enough to make them taste their own medicine (they, i mean those Toyota so-called ‘friendly’ sales advisors should consider lucky if they can even retain their jobs). Even if i have owned or at least driven a Mercedes/BMW or any other luxury conti cars on the road, i wouldn’t show off to the public that i own/drive those posh cars instead i will keep humble and low profile.

Honestly, i am one of the loyal Toyota supporter, but nowadays no more already especially those local jamban made UMW Toyota craps (eg. brand new current gen Vios quality are 10 times worse than an old ‘buruk’ Wira/Waja or Maiwi, not even comparable with 1st gen Vios which quality is acceptable) and how they treat their customers and car owners.

• The Truth on Mar 12, 2015 at 11:50 am

I echo what Sam Loo said in the new Hyundai Sonata review article…
    “Everybody give funny look to Hyundai Sonata owner saying – why this fella so Tai Lan Ngong or Sohai buy Korean?”…

If you buy Camry, everyone will give you funny look
    “Why this fella so Sohai buy Camry?? Over priced, UMW thinks you are stupid a life worthless, give only 2 airbags, no VSC…
    And worst of all the car look so UGLY….”

If you drive Camry to pub, guaranteed you will fail picking up hot girls, all you will get is kampung Ah Beng girls.

If you drive Camry to work, your boss will not give you promotion because you are a living dinosaur still living in the olden days and cannot adapt to changes… So your working style is the same, just like in the 80s and 90s…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 43
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:21 pm

If you drive a kimchi, your will lose trust from your bosses and your career will go down the drain. Younger and lesser experience staff that drives MyVi’s will change to Vios/City or Corolla/Civic when they get promoted pass you.

Your gal will ditch you for guys that drives Jap cars. Uncles and Aunties will look at you in funny way, as such the next time you attend family gatherings, you will park far far away.

After 11 month, you wanna sell because of all the humiliation, plus you are demoralised with younger people earning more than you. You dun wanna pay renewal road tax and insurance, but no one wants your rotten cabbage unless its less than 50% or new price.

Eye die die, you use the cabbage for another 3 month and look for me. I show you the Hilux, you yell Hailat Lor, I cut you a cheque.

You head down to a Toyota or Honda showroom to make a booking a downpayment for a real car.

A few weeks later, you drive home a sushi and all your pals, gals, bosses sees a new man in you.

You are now a much better man

• Aero (Member) on Mar 12, 2015 at 1:17 pm

The current Camry looks ugly as is, especially the 2.5V version with its OTT bodykit… but this facelift model looks much, MUCH worse ! And I think most Malaysians will concur, as Honda Malaysia sold more Accords than UMW Toyota did Camrys in 2014. Traditionally, the Camry has always been the foremost choice for company cars and upper-middle class, middle-aged uncles and aunties… but it looks like all that is changing.

The least UMW Toyota can do for the 2015 Camry is to increase safety levels to match the Accord. At the very least, make ESC / TRC standard in all variants. Currently, the Camry 2.0E does not have ESC. Also, they should equip the range-topping Camry 2.5V with six airbags / dual front, dual side and dual curtain airbags. Currently, the Camry 2.5V only has 4 airbags (no curtain airbags). Of course, it would be ground breaking if UMW Toyota would offer 7 airbags, blind-spot monitoring, lane watch and the other good stuff like in the incredibly safe Thai-spec Camry 2.5HV Premium…. but that’s asking wayyy too much of UMW Toyota (… but why not in the form of a Safety Pack option like in the Corolla Altis ?). Few D-segment cars in Malaysia have lane watch and a knee (seventh) airbag, the only ones I can think of currently is the Nissan Teana and maybe the Hyundai i40.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • jacksonljs on Mar 14, 2015 at 10:39 pm

IMO, cars costing more than RM100k (especially Altis and Camry, since it’s under Toyota topic), safety pack (7 airbags plus driver and front passenger seatbelt warning reminder) as well as VSC SHOULD be made standard across the range, only then i can say these are generally well equipped (don’t say we are asking too much as we paid through the nose just to get a good cars as most of us are already fed-up with Protong already).

• what is this???? a catfish car???? ur joking UMW :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • what is this?? a catfish car?? ur joking UMW :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 12, 2015 at 5:43 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV.

If its a KIA, you can no longer trade it in. Best to claim insurance before it becomes inferno

• y mondeo price so height? on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:39 pm

y so many sam loo thumbs up? ayooo… so bullshitt…shame on you… @ mayb its auto like!…puiiiihhh…:P

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Mar 13, 2015 at 1:17 am

Why the dash look so cheap? Pay so much but design cant even match some cheaper conti.

• The good thing is, This camry is in Toyota malaysia now. All the features are available and the price remain same the same. There might be many brand out there. but the word “TRUST” only can be seen in limited brands like this. Many people buying toyota, it means they are blind isit? Kiddos. Please grow. Dont simply talk. we will buy a second hand car, we wont go for kia/hyundai/ford. most of the people will go for toyota. WHY?

• There is nothing wrong with Toyota, it’s the representative in Malaysia is the issue specially in the way they spec and priced their equivalent car in Malaysia.

They are still having the mindset that because its a Toyota people will still buy even though their spec is inferior compared to other brands in the market. And worst still priced it much higher. That’s the reasons people hate it.

• MiloTin on Mar 19, 2015 at 6:09 am

You all just buy milotin n die with it. Y many comments for shitty car like Toyota… No comments means nobody cares abt this shit… Simple as that

• liew chin tong on May 03, 2018 at 4:31 am

Toyota is no longer a dream car that you want to buy. The can is not built to last anymore. Is only good for two years then all the problems starts, Suspension problems, noise quaking, dashboard cracking and sticky. They are built with inferior materials. Toyota thinks people will still buy even though built bad quality and off spec, inferior cad. There are many other cars from Korea, European cars offers better quality and value for money. Worst of all, the Toyota customer support doesn’t respond to your complaint no matter how many time you write to them. I am not surprise that Toyota car got no more value.
    Toyota car is going down the drain….

Liew