Shocked at the RM54,502 road tax for a Rolls-Royce? Here’s Malaysia’s unique road tax structure explained

Photos of a locally-registered Rolls-Royce Ghost bearing a shocking RM54,502 road tax disc (included below) went viral on social media platforms yesterday. A yearly road tax worth the price of a brand new Perodua Myvi? Surely not?

Well, that number is totally legit, seeing that it’s a vehicle with a 6.6 litre (6,592 cc) engine that is company-registered. Key in the same parameters into our handy road tax calculator on CarBase.my and you’ll get the exact same figure: RM54,502.

Now, how can a car’s road tax go up that high, we hear you ask? Spare a few minutes as we explain Malaysia’s unique road tax structure in detail.

For a standard vehicle (sedan, hatchback, wagon, coupe or convertible – all officially classified as a “saloon”) with a private registration in Peninsular Malaysia, the road tax structure is as per above. Most of us fall in this category, and this applies to both petrol and diesel engines.

As you can see, a car with a 1.6 litre (1,600 cc) engine or below gets charged a fixed flat rate (from RM20 to RM90). Get a car with a larger engine and the calculation gets a bit more complicated, as it now involves the progressive rate.

Let’s use a Toyota Camry 2.5 (2,494 cc) as an example. Here, the tier’s base rate is RM380. On top of that, RM1 is added on for each cc exceeding 2,000 cc. So that’s RM380 + RM494, making up a total of RM874.

For a company-registered vehicle, a slightly different structure applies. A costlier one, as you’d expect.

Taking the same Camry 2.5 again, a higher base rate of RM760 is charged, together with a progressive rate of RM3 per additional cc over 2,000 cc. RM760 + RM1,482 (RM3 x 494) totals up to RM2,242, which is more than double of the RM874 levied on the same car that is privately registered.

The 6,592 cc Rolls-Royce Ghost that went viral yesterday falls in this category. It gets charged a base rate of RM6,010, and an additional RM13.50 for each cc in excess of 3,000 cc, amounting to exactly RM54,502.

For a “non-saloon” vehicle, namely an MPV, an SUV or a pick-up truck, a different set of numbers apply again. This time though, both private and company registered vehicles get charged the same road tax.

Numbers here are significantly lower than those above. The massive Infiniti QX80 SUV with its 5.6 litre (5,552 cc) V8 engine, for instance, would get a RM5,723.20 road tax, as opposed to either RM13,614 (private) or RM40,462 (company) that would be charged on a “saloon” vehicle bearing the same engine size.

Road Tax Sabah Sarawak

Things are even cheaper still over in East Malaysia, for both “saloon” (above) and “non-saloon” vehicles (below). The same rates apply to both private and company registered cars too.

Road Tax MPV SUV Pickup Sabah Sarawak

There are certain exceptions to these rules, of course. Register a car in Pulau Pangkor or Langkawi, and the structure is completely different. A vehicle with a 1,000 cc engine or less gets a flat RM20 annual fee, while others are charged the equivalent of 50% of the particular vehicle’s road tax price in the Peninsular.

It’s much the same in Labuan too, with the same RM20 flat rate applied to cars with 1,000 cc engines and below. Anything with a larger motor gets the equivalent of 50% of the charge given to an identical vehicle that is registered in Sabah or Sarawak.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• kingkong on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:02 pm

of course, Rich People should pay more.

The problem in Malaysia is Bike Tax & insurance (esp for 250 ~1000 CC)..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 41
    • The Truth About RoadTax on Mar 12, 2015 at 7:01 am

What is more important is to fight corruption and cheating. Most Bentley owners in KL it seems use road tax from Sabah and Sarawak that only cost RM4000 for their 6000cc car.

Yes, the government is being deprived or income tax from these rich Bentley buyers. Go and see most Bentleys, the road tax comes from Sabah and Sarawak and this is a legal loophole in the system. There are runners in Malaysia, mostly from the AP holders themselves, they get the road tax from Sabah and Sarawak and post it to the owner in Malaysia.

Go and see any Bentley in town, you can see the road tax has only RM50 written on it. This is because the runner will go to Sabah and Sarawak during the renewal and one day after that, they go back and ALSO say road tax got lost. So JPJ Sabah or Sarawk issues a copy for RM50. So when police in Semenanjung ask, they just say that it is a renewed salinan.

In conclusion, instead of the government getting RM18,000 from the Bently owner, they only get RM4000. Who loses? It is you and me. Government won’t have funds to build schools or help the poor. Classic example of the rich getting richer (through crooked means) and the poor getting poorer.

I hope the government and LHDN can take the necessary action to curb such abuses from the rich people in our society.

Sadly to say, these high CC cars and Bentley owners are Government cronies who on one hand are getting billions of contracts from the Government, and the other hand, trying to cheat the Government.

Don’t forget, these Tan Sris and Datuks have like 5 to 10 cars each. So, in total, each person cheats the LHDN by hundreds of thousands in revenue each year.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 504 Thumb down 13
      • ronaldo on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:28 am

good insight. thanks for the info!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
        • JPJ Buat apa? on Mar 13, 2015 at 10:07 am

I have seen so many Toyota Lx570 and Bentley with RM50 road tax on it. What is the JPJ, Polis and SPAD doing about this?

I tak bayar bill air RM30 also, they come and potong air. But big shot evade millions of ringgit, nothing is done.

Polis, JPJ and SPAD got time to stop cars with broken lights, botak tayars, dont wear safety belt

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 5
          • xiper (Member) on May 31, 2015 at 7:12 pm

an offend is an offend, it doesn’t mean that while they are catching thieves and on the other hand u can drive without safety belt or drive on emergency lane.

• Big Money Lost on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:31 am

Road tax is small portion.
        Bro, look at the 1NDB, it’s gigantic lost !
        Each ppl can get RM50K in boleh land.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 9
        • Gargantia on Mar 12, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Well this are 1 of them, ALOT MORE still in hidden…

BUT what can the Govt do? NOTHING !!! Rakyat all can’t speak can’t complain… Where the billions gone?

All CORRUPTION !!! No wonder currency drop record low and Malaysia losing export shares.

Really a DARK AGE of Malaysia and BN supporter still blindly support…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 4
        • Anuratha Ganapathy on Apr 10, 2015 at 12:59 am

Shocked to see toyota camry new model 2.0 road tax with gst already rm758. Without gst less than rm400.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • kairul abdul on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:45 am

Thanks for the info.
        Seem that we Rakyat still live in a Dark Age in Malaysia.

But still BN supporter will never accept the fact and truth. Uneducated blinded supporters.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 16
      • JPJ Knows About This! on Mar 12, 2015 at 10:15 am

aiseh, JPJ bosses know this la. But they too scared to do anything cause all those big cars all owned by Ministers and UMNO cronies la.

JPJ big boss should resign. In other countries, the JPJ big boss would have to resign. But in Malaysia, he will get promotion and Tan Sri ship.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 7
      • Kancil vs Bentley on Mar 12, 2015 at 10:26 am

brader, polis also know. But they so takut to tahan these cars.

They only usik small time people 1.8 cc and below.

You never seen ah in road block? The Mercedes or Bentley always kena “lalu lalu” despite tinted glass maximum.

Then behind the Bentley, the poor Kancil always get stopped by JPJ or Polis.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 2
      • early adopter on Mar 13, 2015 at 10:58 pm

Agree….my neighbour drives a 3.6 cc vehicle and pays peanuts for his road tax for the same reasons….dunno to praise him or to curse jpj on poor enforcement….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • I think the road tax amount needed to be paid should be included in the price of oil, irrespective of engine size. So as long as you drive and be mobile, you pay road tax, which makes a lot of sense as oppose to engine size and private/company registered and whatnot. Tax the drivers for using the road so that these amount can be used to main the roads (road maintenance in Malaysia is also another discussion). And besides, lets face it, technologies in nowadays car engines products very little carbon dioxide. So if you have a vehicle with very big engine cc and you hardly drive it, why should you pay and extensive amount of money for road tax to the government?

• kangkong on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:09 am

Roadtax based on CC engine capacity = Outdated, Regressive, Oppressive and Unfair.

Roadtax based on CO2, Fuel economy = Progressive, Fair, Proton lose more sales.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 8
      • Black Dog on Mar 14, 2015 at 3:09 pm

Another better way is to charge road tax according to the new car price. The rich always have to pay more, most people will agree.

(so I don’t understand the issue here, paultan. If they can afford a Rolls, wtf is rm50k to them? Peanuts!)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Jay Law on Mar 05, 2016 at 2:59 pm

the rich is already paying more income tax ;)

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:12 pm

I have no objection towards saloon or SUV, but I hope G considering offering the same road tax for Pick-up truck as East side rate. Ppl use this to cari makan, so if G can help a bit, then it would be better. For others I guess u should pay what u buy, since luxury doesn’t come cheap :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 9
    • Jimmy on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:17 pm

What do we do for those that buy pick-up for domestic use and end up bullying other road users?

If you cannot pay the roadtax, don’t buy that vehicles, it is 1 + 1 = 2.
      Want a private swimming pool and yet expect to pay 4-digit annual maintainence.
      Want a 6000 sq feet bungalow and yet expect to pay RM688 monthly electricity bill.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 27
      • Dey!! why not u say Truck, Motorcycles also swinging in & out also part of bullying. Apa lu comment, langsung NO Connection!!!
        What ppl saying is: most pick up truck use their vehicle to work, and if possible, G help a bit to save lllaaaa Duuhhhhh….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
    • ronaldo on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:30 am

how do you avoid those who drive trucks but for leisure/non-work related from benefiting the system you’re proposing?

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:23 pm

Road tax disc? I feel like back in 90s, when road tax was indeed circular looking like a disc, and no stupid as hell sticker like now.

We’re not really unique, just outdated. Europeans nowadays charge road tax based on CO2 emission. With this system, even Volvo XC60 SUV with 300hp can have cheaper road tax than puny Proton Iriz.

So think twice before asking for emission-based road tax. You all beech about some VW pay less road tax than Proton and claim cc-based road tax unfair, whereas emission based is even more unfair to Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 9
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 156
      • Why live in a hell, when you can make it a paradise?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
      • kereta_lembu on Mar 12, 2015 at 2:01 pm

Typical response from a typical A-hole. Whenever someone compares that other countries are better than us, then these A-holes will ask that someone to get out of Malaysia. What type of mindset and mentality is that? Instead of looking at our own weaknesses and try to improve, we just ask people to leave the country. Smart…very smart!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 6
        • I agree. Matter of fact that kind is a shallow mind. I come from a different country and have been staying in malaysia for along time but I find theres a lot of loopholes dbl standard and especially corruptions in everything. A very sad thing. Wake up everyone its time ro stand up and fight

• annonymous on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:24 pm

well, believe it or not. I witnesse myself once, a Porsche, I walked towards it and looked at its road tax. 3.7cc engines, but the road tax is LESS than RM 50! (I forgot the exact figure).

I was in my Uni’s car park. I was damn surprised and I guess those are fake road tax perhaps?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
    • Could that be cost to reprint?

• blahblah on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:43 pm

3.7cc will definite cost less than RM50 or even zero. 3.7L on the other hand……

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 2
    • That is a reprinted road tax. You should see the words duplicate or something like that. The amount seen on that road tax is the cost of reprinting,i believe..

• Sakit kepalo on Mar 12, 2015 at 1:05 am

The cheap roadtax disc price are printed because they need to put a price into it. It cannot be blank like the old square piece of paper r/tax.I’ve seen blank roadtax discs on yellow plates vehicles, and “specially” owned vehicles. Caya sama gua pasal gua ada banyak tengok ini jenis kereta kat bengkel kawan gua.

• arethick on Mar 11, 2015 at 11:19 pm

LOL..3.7cc? even my kapcai have 115cc.. hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Good morning on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:30 am

RM50 for 3.7cc Porche, so expensive??

• alldisc on Mar 12, 2015 at 3:14 pm

it really is. because 37cc means rm500. and so it goes..

370cc = Rm5,000
        3700cc = rm50,000

• Govt should start thinking now. The roadtax should be count by emissions, gross weight and ages of the car.

The CC didn’t give any logic to roadtax cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 8
    • tokmoh (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:49 pm

Refer my comment above.

People who can afford RM300k Volvo SUV will pay less tax than any Proton owner.

Just admit, you’re cheapskate to pay tax, despite able to afford some premium cars. Pay. The. Bloody. Tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 38
      • BLT_Club on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:37 pm

Any why not? Should we protect Proton even more? If Proton can’t compete it should just close down. Why are you defending the indefensible? And please before you claim to be the social defender, ask yourself if not for Proton would we not get better cars? At reasonable prices? Ferrari can make clean cars even with high CC. So what is Proton’s excuse? Stop being an apologist and maybe this country might have a chance. Peace out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 12
        • tokmoh (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 11:35 pm

Did you honestly think for once our beloved govt will allow Proton to close shop? Or more accurately, their cronies?

Be realistic, love or hate Proton, it determines our fate.

Because they’re crap at making fuel efficient car, don’t ever hope we can pay less tax for using fuel efficient car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
          • taxxesss on Apr 20, 2015 at 3:55 am

tokmoh do you know why the majority population can only buy Proton n not other cars? this is because of the high taxes imposed to protect proton. With the same amount of money used to buy a Proton, u can buy a honda already.
            Do u know that all the cars being sold in malaysia, even the expensive cars, a krony is behind it and earning some big $$$…..
            It is not tat i do not support home grown cars, it needs to improve and make itself a worthy car to buy, rather than becos of the high prices of the other cars n we are deprived of driving better cars. Currently, you are being deprive of a better car so that u can stick to a lousier car which does not want to improve itself. Does that sound rite?

• Proton should make themselves compatible with other car maker. Not feel complacent being protected by Govt. Everyone in this world would dream owning their own car that satisfied their need, but with the rules and regulation impose by Govt with unrealistic reason (i guess), they only make a dream as a dream.

• It’s not that people can’t afford car except proton it’s that the gov impose so high tax for import to promote proton sales that we can only afford proton so get your facts right before complaining about it

• brown kid on Mar 11, 2015 at 11:46 pm

Come on.. Dont bash with out thinking.

I dont @tokmoh want to backup Proton but to protect to who ever owned p1 car, or p2. As both of have really high emission (those co2 in exhaust). I think P1 car will be better assume co2 emission for Iris (only iris since it have new engine) are lower than Myvi or mayb Iris.
          *this is my only assumption due to lazy making a comparison from spreed sheet.

So let say G using emission road-tax. Who going to benefit it in this time. Think again dude~
          cheers~

• tokmoh. on Mar 13, 2015 at 1:38 am

Aye. Not everyone have same idea of fairness.

Some people are frustrated their green effort is punished. All i can say is good luck answering to whole country to justify why they need to pay more tax when proton n perodua is all they can afford, while you who can afford German cars pay less tax.

Bayar je la, ke da abis duit asyik gearbox rosak? Naik je la teksi, puas hati tak yah bayar road tax langsung camtu

• Change Rolls-Royce car to taxi. For sure should pay only RM2.00 per year…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Painter on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:37 pm

I’m trying hard to make sense of justification used by government for the auto tax structure.

I think the subject of complaint for us, motorists in Malaysia are the Excise + Import Duties and Road Tax. Both of which causes vehicles to be prohibitively expensive for the masses. Gov said taxes from these alone already contributed 7 billion to national income.

If we want to get rid of this tax, there has to be other way to replace the income loss.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • wkaka on Mar 12, 2015 at 12:50 am

Didn’t they remove the subsidies for petrol? It should be able to recoup the RM7B a year. Now they have removed the petrol subsidy and still maintain the excise duty. Great, THANKS!

• Govt should start thinking now. The roadtax should be count by co2 emissions, gross weight and ages of the car.

The CC didn’t give any logic to roadtax cost.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:38 pm

i will go makan at pelita, even though he is rich, at least the fler is honest enuf to pay full road taxes, unlike so many rich but unethical ppl buy expensive cars but pay road taxes lower than most 2.0 car working class drivers…havent include if they register as labuan or langkawi plate….lagi unethical

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 5
  • confused on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:40 pm

So are Honda HRV, Ford Ecosport, Mazda CX3 and sorts categorized as a saloon or non-saloon? Does CUVs fall into the same category as SUVs?

• carnut on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:09 pm

EV – RM20 road tax for now.

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:14 pm

Hafriz,

There is a catch for vehicles with 4WD and diesel engine (regardless of SUV or pickup truck). Take example of Hilux 2.5G’s road tax of RM460.36 in Sabah and Sarawak, since Hilux has diesel engine and 4WD, the road tax is further being reduced, i.e. 70% reduction for Sabah and 50% reduction in Sarawak. Thus the final road tax for Hilux 2.5G in Sabah is RM138.11 and RM230.18 in Sarawak.

• Big Money Lost on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:37 am

If not mistaken, Cameron highland also awarded with super low roadtax.

• sabah bah ni on Mar 12, 2015 at 10:54 am

if pick up truck run on diesel with 4wd..yes cheap ..but if without 4wd..like triton lite..cost like 4wd in KL

• yitjoon on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:16 pm

I from Sabah, my Toyota hilux Vigo 2.5 only cost me RM138.20 per annum, izzit ur example got mistake?

• Shane on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:22 pm

BMW also has 316i which is 1600cc. Still expensive car but cheap roadtax..

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:27 pm

Rich people will exploit all the loop holes to earn more money from the poor.

As such, their expenses are indirectly born by the poor

• dodgeviper88 on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:34 pm

The owner of that car should fire it’s company’s accountant. Set up shell company in labuan and register that car under company commercial category, settle

• Deus Ex on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:25 am

Perhaps he/she is just so damn rich that 54k feels like RM50. The super rich have a warped sense of money, dealing with 7-figure transactions on a daily basis. Anyway, the owner should be commended for not resorting to financial trickery. For shame, Dodgeviper, for shame.

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:41 pm

Tbh, it’s high time we move to CO2 based taxing. Taxing by cc is not fair, for example, a VW GTI with a 2.0 engine is still cleaner than say a 1.6 Campro powered Persona.

What it will lead is more new and modern engines to be brought in.

• This wont happen unless Proton can make engine to meet Euro 6 emission std… Look at our G call on Euro 4, didn’t it make just after Proton Iris claim they meet Euro 4 std………

• Big Money Lost on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:40 am

Sorry to say potong.

No meaning of potong existing.
        Close immediately and save our money.

• Regardless of how efficient the engine is,it still require more fuel to operate. Have you heard of input and output? The bigger the cc the bigger the minimal input required to keep the engine running. Please go educate yourself before speaking like this,dispersing half truths is a lie you know?

• What you say would be true if you compare lets say a Golf 1.4L vs a Golf GTI 2.0L then obviously the 1.4L will use much less fuel.

However what Sudanano means is if you compare a more modern vs an older engine then you can see the difference.

Golf GTI 2.0L turbocharged vs Proton Suprima 1.6L turbo
        Combined driving 6.4L/100km vs 9.1L/100km(at constant speed of 90km/h)
        Kerb Weight: 1370kg vs 1395kg

This is a good example of new vs old engine efficiency. Honestly even if compared with a 1.3L Saga it will lose out in fuel consumption compared to the GOLF GTI.

So should the tax be based on CO2 emission instead of CC, and with the soon to be implemented Euro 4 fuel, car makers would be able to bring in their newer engines instead of dinosaur engines which we are currently using now due to our Euro 2M fuel.

• Axita Supporter on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:48 pm

So, that’s why so many Axias sold.

• should go look at the klang port for those primemover….
    you will be surprised that those company registered prime mover with 5000cc and above roadtax is only RM1,500 till RM2,000……
    are there any special discount for those Berhad company instead of Sendirian Berhad?
    will very appreciate if any netizen can shed some light on the matter?

• wiwiwiw on Mar 12, 2015 at 12:34 am

VW Beetle 1.2 TSI is cheaper than any new Proton on sale here today. Even the BMW i8 roadtax is the same as Alza

• so, by registering a car in sarawak can you use the car in semnanjung?

• carfan on Mar 12, 2015 at 1:38 am

I was told that the high road tax for larger capacity engine was because these engines consumed more subsidised petrol and therefore uses more subsidy. So now that petrol subsidy is taken off, should not the road tax be lowered accordingly.
    Counter argument also indicate that people do not generally drive high mileage on expensive cars and therefore the smaller cars with high mileage used more subsidy,
    So if road tax is to raise revenue, nothing to argue about. If road tax is for maintenance of record etc, then a fix charge of say RM100 per annum is sufficient. I think US charge USD50 per year for the sticker.
    In addition, why bother charging RM20 per annum, the cost of collection and reg sticker probably costs more than that.

• Littlebear on Mar 12, 2015 at 7:14 am

Road tax should be base on engine horsepower of the car as the higher the power, the more fuel they consume.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • How about the roadtax for truck like Scania, Volvo, MAN which has massive engine size?

• BOYRACER on Mar 12, 2015 at 7:36 pm

These trucks are taxed based on their weight not their engine size.If im not mistaken.

• We are not interested in road tax structure lah. We are interested in how to people with little income can purchase a Rolls Royce.

• C. P. MOHAN on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:42 am

Firstly, the road tax structure is outdated since we are paying various vehicle tax and toll. Finally in jest, a luxury RR seen together with Nasi Kandar (started as poor man food) is so Malaysian, love it.

• Janji Najis tidak ditunaikan on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:59 am

Come on, no big deal lah. i saw some lambor road tax far away from this sticker,Paul.
    Dun be surprise for these huge JPJ contributor

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 12, 2015 at 10:05 am

With the popularity of crossovers (literally tall wagons), one wonders whether they should be considered saloon or SUV? The Subaru Forester when it first came out was sedan-like, but is now clearly an SUV due to the huge ground clearance.

Also, the base rate for SUV seems higher at first, but gets lower after that – so it gets cheaper with higher CC (compared to saloons). No wonder I see so many Porsche Cayennes on the road.

Anyways, think this cc based road tax structure is outdated. As a powerful 2.0 litre turbo BMW (that puts similar power/torque as a 3.0 normally aspirated engine) gets taxed the same as a family sedan Camry 2.0 which has urmmm half the power & torque.

• gaviny on Mar 12, 2015 at 1:32 pm

MRCB boss has genuine m5 bmw, road tax 42k

• Well, not sure road tax amount are vary between west and east Malaysia as the road condition are just the same. Better road condition (not that good but the better one) are at the highway but considering we are paying the toll, it shouldn’t be charge under the difference road tax category anymore. Not sure why do we have to pay so much for a road that can damage the suspension system of our car easily. If only we as road user or as a consumer can stop buying cars for a straight 12 months in a year showing our own consumer power(in a way of protesting the car prices and taxes), all this dissatisfaction will be given a proper attention and revised. The problem and question is, no one lead us and unite not to show our purchasing power as consumer and can we do it?

• Arell on Mar 12, 2015 at 3:18 pm

They need to restructure the whole roadtax system. The original idea was that petrol was being heavily subsidized and supposedly the bigger the engine the higher the cost of subsidy. Therefore the roadtax for big engines were charged upfront to cover subsidy cost. Now with fuel subsidy gone, this system is obsolete.

• Aniki on Mar 12, 2015 at 5:18 pm

What is the purpose of paying road tax? Is it for government to get a better road for us to drive? And why are we still paying the toll rather than government? Either one of them must be abolish!

• chang on Mar 12, 2015 at 10:05 pm

well… i had seen RM 2k plus RR Ghost road tax and a lamborghini gallardo 5.0 v10 with RM50k plus… Can someone explain this pls??

• Ros Mah Royce on Mar 13, 2015 at 12:51 pm

2004 road tax. long time ago. why didnt capture new roadtax? or this car owner have no money to renew the roadtax? I have no idea how much the cost for insurance.

• Bernard on Apr 28, 2015 at 12:58 pm

2004?

• VTECunicornFART on May 31, 2015 at 6:30 pm

Malaysia road tax is cheap but road development is a crap.
    let’s look at straya
    aussie road tax is based on number of cylinders or rotor motor, but!!! price is expensive
    so aussies pay $600++ for 4 cylinders or above.
    sounds definitely no choice, but public transportation is the best. even i earn $6000 per month, i don’t really need a car at all, or i rent a Nissan Micra for 50 bucks per day. (below age 25 rule applies) I can have a worry-free driving experience without kena lobang on the half way!

• hahahaha …luv the fact that my 520i hv a cheaper roadtax compared to a 2.5 camry & mazda 6 …hahahaha….msian road tax system is a joke when my friend 1.4 liter turbocharged engine car have a cheaper roadtax compared to a 1.5 myvi or 1.6 persona…hahahaha

• Marcus on May 31, 2015 at 10:04 pm

Jpj must change our roadtax calc based on horsepower instead. Every 3yrs, every car has to go through dyno at puspakom!

• Bangala on Jun 01, 2015 at 8:22 pm

Motorcyclists don’t ride in the middle of the road. The portion you pay is what you receive at the end of the day. :)

• JustMe on Aug 07, 2016 at 10:10 pm

It’s not only due to the portion they pay but my concern is more towards their own safety.

• halim on Aug 12, 2015 at 10:49 am

sesiapa nak bayar r tax yg murah tetapi 2.0 cc keatas hrga labuan bleh melalui sy

• anonymous on Oct 04, 2015 at 9:56 pm

Hi Guys, what do you all personally think about labuan and langkawi road tax used for vehicle registered in peninsula malaysia and also reside in peninsula msia? advice is appreciated.

• mohdazizi on Oct 19, 2015 at 4:57 pm

starex run with 2.5 diesel, what is the roadtax for this kind of vehicle in peninsular malaysia? base on experience

• Umedlal Patel on Apr 20, 2018 at 12:16 pm

What is the logicfor road tak bieng higher for a 1.8L SUV being higher the a 1.8L saloon. Both of which are only front wheel drive, 5 passanger capacity and have the same size tyres.
    Emample: 2×4 RAV4 1800 and a Toyota Altis 1800

• Robin on Jul 23, 2022 at 9:07 pm

PaulTan Team, can you do an article about how the fuel subsidy mechanism will be rearranged/ Also, what are ideas about raising taxes from the rich? Can a CoE like Sg be introduced in a sliding scale (more ex for higher cc cars)? What is RM1k CoE/yr for a Honda Civic driver …..

• Why I'm here on Jul 24, 2022 at 8:59 am

Road tax should be based on mileage, the more you use the more you get tax. Real solution to tax the rich is to tax their passive income and idle wealth heavily, got to find a way to force them to consume or pay high price to maintain luxury living, example – progressive SST or GST