New Peugeot 308 now open for booking in Malaysia

peugeot 308 open booking

The new Peugeot 308 is now open for booking in Malaysia. Distributor Nasim Sdn Bhd has just posted up an image on its Peugeot Malaysia Facebook page with the caption: “Looks like the lion’s out of the bag. The all-new Peugeot 308 THP is now open for booking at your nearest showroom!”

This doesn’t come as a big surprise, as there have frequent, recent sightings of the new 2014 European Car of the Year in Malaysia ahead of its launch in April.

Click to enlarge spyshots

Cars pictured in the spyshots sport 18-inch ‘Saphir’ alloys, LED headlamps, the mid-range front bumper with chrome highlights, plus a rear spoiler. This hints at our car being fairly well-specified; the exterior is as good as it gets without getting to the sporty GT Line, Peugeot’s version of Audi’s S line.

The Malaysian-spec Peugeot 308 will be powered by a sole engine/gearbox combo – a 1.6 litre, turbocharged THP 165 engine paired to a six-speed automatic gearbox. The THP 165 engine is the latest of its kind, producing 165 hp and 240 Nm to compare well against the VW Golf Mk7 1.4 TSI‘s 140 PS/250 Nm.

Price? Ads for the new Pug are up on oto.my, with figures above the RM130k mark.

GALLERY: 2015 Peugeot 308

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Haha Golf sales will plummet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • therealmaserati on Mar 11, 2015 at 5:20 pm

To me it looks ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 28
  • sam proton on Mar 11, 2015 at 5:24 pm

Sam has to really work hard to change his son proton to thiS car.

• how much gearbox for this car if faulty?…turbo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • how much gear box price if faulty?….turbo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • JB_KIA on Mar 11, 2015 at 5:31 pm

open for booking? need to book meh? not hot cake wat??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • I think if you are not looking at rv,and budget 120 to 130k,this is the car to get.
    no point talking here,go and test drive yourself.
    you will know what make this car of the year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • car of the year should be for the left hand drive version. come here to malaysia, with fusebox inside your glovebox, bonnet lever on the front passenger side,push start button caters for the front passenger, see la how this car can be car of the year or not. luckily the steering wheel is on the correct side.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • Samad Jain on Mar 11, 2015 at 7:58 pm

buying a car without thinking of RV must be crazy….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 34
    • Mary Minah on Mar 11, 2015 at 8:06 pm

That’s crazy just for poor people like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
      • Wake up! on Mar 12, 2015 at 9:30 am

I think you sane people must be paying every of your car by cash, and not loan a single cent from the bank.

• DonkeyKong on Mar 11, 2015 at 11:17 pm

RV obsession is for people who can only afford Proton or Perodua but want to drive Honda and Toyota.

Real men don’t give a damn about RV, we just buy something that fits in our TCO budget and enjoy the ride for the next few years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • Wake up! on Mar 12, 2015 at 9:28 am

RV will not be important only if you pay by cash. If you borrow from bank, and if you borrow more than 5 years for 90%, then RV will be a concern. Imagine if you lost your car at 4th year of 7-year loan, and the car only fetch 50% of the initial cost. You will need to top up to settle bank loan, while forking out addition cash to buy new car.

• 308 turbo engine was problematic…is the new 308 using the same base engine with the current one? my fren call the current 308 as beauty with no brain

• TIger on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:08 pm

My fren vely bad experience wit current 308 batterry kong few times eg at parking

• isuzuki on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:46 pm

Looks nice,,, but reliability?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:28 pm

Sui Kwan Euro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • sudonano (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:43 pm

Golf sales and Focus sales will collapse, only until the other two sort out their DCTs.

I have seen the new 308 in the metal, honestly, strip the badges and it will pass off as a Golf. But my does it look stunning, especially in the silver or black.

• Well this is a competitive world, today Peugeot come with new model and other car manufacturer sales drop. But tmr when Volkswagen and Ford come out with new car model, Peugeot sales also will drop eventually. It’s a cycle la. U can stop people from liking new things right??