Renault Clio RS 200 gets a new Red Pack option

Renault_Clio_RS_200_black_red_ 001

For those who happen to think that the Renault Clio RS 200 looks a bit too tame, local distributor TC Euro Cars has revealed a new black and red appearance package for the little five-door hot hatch. It’ll be hard to make it look any more striking than this, we think.

Here, the light grey bits on the standard car – front bumper strip, side blade highlights and rear diffuser – are painted in bright red, in stark contrast to the all-black body. The 17-inch wheels (same design) are now in full black to complete the menacing black and red theme.

It hasn’t been given an official name just yet, but the optional dress-up pack is offered to customers for an additional RM4,000 on top of the standard Clio RS 200’s RM168,270 price (OTR without insurance).

Any takers here?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Just work a bit harder and get the Megane RS without the cup chasis.But then this is a bit more forgiving if you plan to use as an everyday car.

• fast enough lah but pricey o!! Peugeot 208 GTi is better choice lo

• zamer on Mar 12, 2015 at 9:01 pm

i would love to get this more than normal golf.
    the rear is so sexy..nice

• Golfer on Mar 12, 2015 at 9:35 pm

For the price I rather take the Golf Tsi. More comfy, bigger and better looking interior and exterior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • Gen2 (Member) on Mar 12, 2015 at 11:05 pm

This is a hot hatch, meant for driving and performing enthusiasts. The criteria about looks, comfort and space is not really up in their priority. If these are things you’re after, then Golf TSI is a surely better choice.

Nevertheless, this hot hatch is somewhat controversial and embarrassing (for some), as this is the first time Renault trying to please a boarder audience. For the hardcore enthusiasts, they are disappointed because the lack of a manual tranny, and it does lack the “Spartan like”, bare-bone feel of a more proper hot-hatch like the Fiesta ST. Moving the scale to another side, the comfort setting in normal mode in this car is still somewhat abit harsh for more sedate, “Toyota-minded” driver. It risk alienating both sides of the audience. On a personal note, I test driven this car and I like it, and paddle shifters is not really bad after all, as I can focus more in cornering. It is the “best of both worlds” Renault can offer us currently with the available technology.

It’s a gamble, but Renault might set a trend for the future, let’s see whether this works. And on a positive note, this babe’s engine is actually a Nissan unit, you can’t go wrong with Japanese reliability, in a French hot-hatch!

• Don Juan De Marco on Mar 13, 2015 at 8:16 am

The days of manual tranny are numbered, as most of the manufacturers of high performance cars today are increasingly moving towards automated/clutchless manual transmission system. Customers are favouring effortless but sporty gearchanges at the same time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 13, 2015 at 10:16 am

we all know you cant drive a stick. fag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • Gen2 (Member) on Mar 13, 2015 at 11:16 am

With all respect, I think you got a little bit unsure on how transmission actually works. There can never be a “clutchless manual transmission”.

A clutch is always needed to “bite”, or engage the flywheel to briefly disconnect the engine from the transmission, so that gear could be changed. After the gear had shifted, the clutch disengage and reconnect the engine flywheel to the transmission.

Even in Dual-clutch Transmission (DCT), as the name suggested, there are two clutches which perform the exact same job in a fully manual transmission. What is missing is the clutch pedal under the driver’s foot, but that doesn’t mean the car is clucthless.

In contrast, in a torque converter automatic transmission, the engine flywheel is never in direct contact with the transmission. A snail-looking device, which house the ATF oil, transfer the engine torque to the gears through the oil/fluid that houses in between. This is the reason why conventional auto is never as efficient as a manual car, because much energy is lost when the fluid/oil is transferring the torque.

A DCT is the compromise solution to give you the linear power delivery(without energy lost) while giving you the convenient not to operate the clutch pedal with the foot (the computer do it for you). However, DCT technology is not there yet to mimic the idiot-prove and care-free characteristic of a torque converter.

Many drivers doesn’t understand and start driving a DCT car like a torque converter. And that’s where problem starts.

• All modern torque converter automatics have lock up clutches now to directly connect the engine.

• wajib on Mar 12, 2015 at 11:35 pm

They forgotten to paint the brake calipers in Red colour to complement the painted black rims. Looks garang but missing something.

• oh no on Mar 13, 2015 at 7:41 am

Why is everyone copying Iriz’s rims?

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 13, 2015 at 8:25 am

Now it looks as fast as it moves. The paddle shifters look nice & menacing, like evil horns. But something about those steering column attached paddle shifters that make that area busy looking – with the instrument/indicator/wiper stalks just behind.

• alldisc on Mar 13, 2015 at 9:42 am

imho, renault has lost some of its touches when it comes to design. unlike the previous generation which looks much better than its predecessor.

still great though, but not ground breaking.

• blaster88 on Mar 13, 2015 at 10:54 am

There is a souped up version call the Clio Trophy with 220 horses and an improve gearbox…

• Gen2 (Member) on Mar 13, 2015 at 12:24 pm

Borg,

Yes, you are right. Correct me if I am wrong, lock up clutches only connect to the engine under certain speed regime (most of the time, I notice while approaching the threshold of 80 km/h cruising speed, car with slushbox will has its RPM drop a little, though very brief and subtle, signifying a direct lock up is happening), or, when the flywheel and transmission are turning at a vastly difference speed, a lock up will certainly prevent further energy losses and slippage.

In slow speed regime and idling, the ATF oil still does most of the job, if not, our car will certainly stall in “D” mode while coming to a halt.