2015 Honda StepWGN debuts new 1.5L VTEC Turbo

10373033_921130174605061_6352497504035107874_o-2

We now have initial details of the 2015 Honda Stepwagon MPV, which will go on sale in Japan in late April. This is Honda’s answer to the likes of the Nissan Serena and Toyota’s Noah, Voxy and Esquire trio. Looks rather interesting, doesn’t it?

While the front is a typical JDM affair (a sportier looking StepWGN Spada will also be available), the rear features what Honda calls the “Waku Waku gate.” The rear door can be opened in two different ways: by lifting up the entire hatch to access the low and wide cargo space, or by opening a half “door” to hop into the third-row seats.

Even more significant is the engine, as the StepWGN is the first model to feature the all-new 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo motor. Honda says the force-inducted direct injection unit offers the power of a conventional 2.4 litre engine, but with better fuel efficiency.

No output figures have been revealed just yet, but reports from Japan suggest that the four-cylinder motor could offer as much as 180 PS and 260 Nm of torque. A fuel economy figure of 18.0 km per litre has come out of the rumour mill too.

Moving forward, we could see this new 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo engine offered in other similarly sized Honda models, such as the next-generation Civic. And since Honda says that it’s the equivalent of a 2.4 litre motor, it could even be offered on the Accord.

Hey, if Ford can run the Mondeo with a 1.0 litre EcoBoost engine, what’s wrong with an Accord 1.5 VTEC Turbo?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• isuzuki on Mar 13, 2015 at 6:29 pm

1 want 1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Dun be misunderstood with the word. It drinks fuel bit less than 2.4l but not as good as 1.5l engine. Much like 2.0l. And 18km/l? Duh, that”s invalid figure for urban and extra urban FC. Highway road, yes.

Oh direct injection engine is a big no no for loeer quality petrol in bolehland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 32
  • BeemerFreak on Mar 13, 2015 at 6:30 pm

Come on Honda, let’s make this true with the civic and accord. Leave Toyota in the dust.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
    • winwin on Mar 14, 2015 at 7:46 pm

Honda should put this this 1.5L engine in their CRV replacing their 2.0L unit which is so underpowered. 1.5L means you pay RM90 roadtax only which is cheaper than 2.0L ~RM380 for Peninsular Malaysia.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 13, 2015 at 6:34 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 37
    • winrer8 on Mar 13, 2015 at 6:43 pm

RV = rubbish value/ regret value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 59
    • Same idiot on Mar 13, 2015 at 11:26 pm

Toyota salesman is an idiot, all comments are just surround 1 topic-RV. Never improve like UMW Toyota Malaysia..Sucks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 48
    • Simple! All auto light! on Mar 16, 2015 at 10:02 am

sam, want to sale honda now?

• Samad Jain on Mar 13, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Honda with a fridge door….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 45
  • Finally Honda gets TURBO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
    • alldisc on Mar 14, 2015 at 10:42 am

high screaming vtec engines are not the way forward for the environment effect.

honda finally bowed in.

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 13, 2015 at 7:55 pm

Waku Waku gate – Honda Y U SO CUTE?!

But seriously, bring this in Honda Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • I prefer the current model front look

• brazbuz on Mar 13, 2015 at 8:15 pm

Serena n biante contender in msia perhaps?

• Carnut on Mar 13, 2015 at 9:12 pm

Besides the interesting door which I think kids will love, this 1.5T is more powerful than the 2.4l Odyssey. That’s something.

• ErnieC on Mar 13, 2015 at 9:16 pm

Those rear ‘fridge’ doors are a major turn off for me. Seriously Honda, those kind of doors are only meant for commercial vehicles. Not family MPVs!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
    • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 14, 2015 at 12:38 am

It’s very practical. So why not?

• alldisc on Mar 14, 2015 at 10:48 am

i will buy this on the door factor alone. its super cute. oh well, i am a family man.

• Wow 180hp 240nm for 1.5 engine Vtec! Please launch your new civic with this asap or honda accord facelift? lol

Wish my cr-z comes with this engine :)

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 13, 2015 at 11:23 pm

I want that engine. No, wait, I want the new Euro Civic Type R 2.0 turbo engine more.

180hp & 260NM of torque is just slightly more than Subaru’s 1.6 turbo, as used in the Levorg wagon. Considering the Honda’s 100cc deficit, that’s pretty sweet. Any idea what gearbox it comes with? CVT, DCT or conventional auto?

While at it, hope Honda Malaysia brings in the Jade, with this turbo engine.

• poorman on Mar 13, 2015 at 11:30 pm

less than 100k i buy. more than 100k i dream only. want to replace my sedan with something more practical and family-friendly.

guess i’ll buy the exora/alza T_T

• Alza pedal is somehow quite ‘tight’ to floor, handling so and so, space is limied, no 3rd row aircond blower bla bla bla bla……only FC is better than Exora due to smaller displacement/power

Other than that Exora 4 airbags + ESC CFE FTW!

• For Malaysia Sake on Mar 13, 2015 at 11:54 pm

Dont buy Honda. If you do so that means you helping Drbhicom a GLC which also own proton. Thats mean proton will take the profits and continue to ask money from rakyat for their own interst and foreign car will continue to be expensive forever. Wait until proton close shop then you can buy honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
    • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 14, 2015 at 12:40 am

Cars will be expensive in Malaysia, no matter if Proton exists or not. If Proton goes away, government still wants money. If they lower car prices, the government goes bankrupt.

Proton is the only hope to get decent cars at low prices… Perodua is overpriced for what they offer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • alldisc on Mar 14, 2015 at 10:46 am

if proton close,

we do not need the term Government Approved Selling Price.

meaning, car distributors can sell cheaper if they want in order to be competitive.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 14, 2015 at 6:46 pm

Fair enough. At the moment car brands are trying to make up for the approved selling price by offering more equipment, that’s why we don’t see any base spec cars in Malaysia (apart from Proton and Perodua, and sometimes Toyota (but they do it because there are people who are willing to spend too much for those cars)).

Not sure if Malaysians really want a 60 hp Polo without aircon though… even if it is cheap.

• Sandiwara (Member) on Mar 15, 2015 at 11:24 am

Car distributors wont be selling cheap in Malaysia
          They cant stay competitive with our 600k units per annum period.
          For comparison sake USA is at 16million units

• Corporal on Mar 14, 2015 at 9:47 am

Perodua, Proton, DRB Honda, UMW Toyota, SDAC Ford, Naza Peugeot/Kia, Inokom Hyundai, Berjaya Mazda. In the end ALL these also GLC so what are you trying to say? Even imported cars also need AP which go through cronies pockets. Taking public bus, LRT or taxi also probably have a crony company behind them so i guess your only choice is to use your legs and walk.

• APKing on Mar 15, 2015 at 12:19 pm

What to do when it doesn’t only affect the car industry?
        Cronyism = Skim Cepat Kaya Corporate
        Quota = Skim Short Cut Grassroot
        AP = Skim Premium Member Atasan

• everything GLC wei on Apr 25, 2015 at 12:18 pm

Pls everything under the sun in malaysia is either GLC or cronies owns… what else is not… GLC or cronies own?

• I want to see that engine in a Civic.

• jettaturbo on Mar 14, 2015 at 11:08 am

Pity, now Civic 2000cc cannot tarpau Jetta 1400cc TSI
      Lolololololol

• samad on Mar 15, 2015 at 10:39 pm

very tempting for 1.5, my 1.6 cfe only can offer 138hp & 205nm

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 16, 2015 at 12:05 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV.

If its a KIA, Ssangyong or Daewoo, it cannot even be traded in

• Simple! All auto light! on Mar 16, 2015 at 10:11 am

Free AP, Free Tax, only GST is fair for everybody!
    We will get cheaper car, more jobs, more safety car.

Actually, we don need P1, P2
    Malaysian need good economy,
    lower expenses, better living standard,
    healthy gov, well social security, varieties of
    job opportunity, fair justice, clean environment.

Useless AP, taxes should be abolished.