2016 Audi A4 B9 confirmed for 2015 Frankfurt show

Spy-Photo

It’s confirmed, the next-generation Audi A4 will make its public world debut at this year’s Frankfurt motor show in September. The “B9” A4 will be presented to the press at the VW Group’s traditional pre-IAA 2015 event in the German city.

“You’ll be happy to see it, at least in Frankfurt, but we’ll make a pre-presentation,” Dr. Ulrich Hackenberg, member of the Board of Management at Audi AG told Indian Autos Blog in Geneva. With a September 2015 debut, we can expect European sales to start at the end of the year, before the C-Class/3 Series rival ventures out to the rest of the world in 2016.

Spy-Photo

We’ve so far seen spyshots of the B9 A4 on test, as well as renderings of the compact premium exec. From there, we’re expecting a sharper looking car with a significantly more angular front end and single-frame grille, as seen on the new Audi Q7 SUV and R8 sports car. It will still be easily recognisable as an A4 and Audi though – evolution, not revolution.

The new A4 will sit on a modified MLB platform from the VW Group dubbed the MLB evo. The platform employs a combination of ultra high-strength steel, aluminium and composites, potentially allowing the A4 to undercut its rivals in terms of weight. Savings of 100 kg are being talked about.

Audi’s efficient range of forced induction TDI diesel and TFSI petrol engines will feature, mated to a six-speed manual or seven-speed dual-clutch automatic. As for driven wheels, it’s either FWD or quattro AWD.

GALLERY: Audi A4 B9 spyshots

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• zamer on Mar 13, 2015 at 9:37 am

for a decade, they can only come out with this?
    even the side mirror is the same as current

• Jakuns From Malaysia on Mar 13, 2015 at 9:52 am

The sad fact is this, Audi, is a VW in disguise. You are buying a 100% VW car at super premium prices but with the 4 circle logo on it.

In overseas, buying an Audi is rather cheap. So, if you get a VW in disguise, no big deal. Here, you pay RM250,000 for a VW car. Isn’t that funny? The Audi is as bad as owning VW’s Skoda. They all share parts across the platform.

To those pondans who say what about Porsche? Well Porsche also is a VW in disguise. A true Porsche is the 997 and not the 991 which is a VW in Porsche logo.

Cayenne, don’t talk la. You are actually driving a Toureg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 42
      • krishna on Mar 13, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Dude, thats like saying lotus uses proton iswara engine just because Proton owns Lotus. Two different companies under the same owner. Understand the difference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • Md Azmin on Mar 13, 2015 at 3:26 pm

Junk of a car. Uses the same dry DSG as VW. Expect to see this car breakdown often.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
          • lexus = toyota, honda = acura, nissan = infiniti….but the best is still the evil empire vw=skoda=seat=audi=porsche=lambo…hahahahaha

• seethebreakdown on Apr 01, 2015 at 4:54 pm

Well.. that means you never see TOYOTA, NISSAN break down meh? Car do break down one la!!
            For your information, DSG is just a higher spec than the current AUTO mode. If you drive a VW, you will see the different on performance between DSG and also no DSG…
            Well, you can say anything u SUKA… my Passat with DSG too.. had never give me any breakdown…

• sovietbeans on Mar 18, 2015 at 9:54 am

This is not an Audi design at all whatsoever. This is simply an artist’s rendering of what the car looks like based on some of the leaked images. The reason some of the parts are IDENTICAL to the current car, is that the artist overlays new images on top of a preexisting A4 image, to create his/her own rendition. No official images of the design have been released.

• alldisc on Mar 13, 2015 at 9:39 am

audi has lost its touch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Audi please keep this at your Museum for display, I doubt how they going to sell this car where their contender are miles better and impressed.

• Grill looks like 2016 new elantra. Current A4 still looks better. With this design, C-Class & 3series better

• applegreen on Mar 13, 2015 at 10:33 am

reducing 100kilos of weight gives this new 2.0 Audi accelerate faster for 0-100kmh sprint

• Compare this to the bmw,mercedes,even lexus and infiniti…this is such a fail design…maybe work on a VW but pls…ppl are paying more for this…

• Jinyiwei22 on Mar 13, 2015 at 10:45 am

The car design got so sharp edges.. like want cucuk orang. Bahaya kereta ni.. macam pelanduk.

• Looks the same as B8 model…YAWN !!

• Merzlover on Mar 13, 2015 at 12:16 pm

Macam potong saga

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 13, 2015 at 12:18 pm

I really hope they improve the steering. The B8 was hopelessly vague, like a toy, although the suspension, engine and transmission was pretty good (despite it being just a 1.8TFSi with the multitronic CVT).

• krishna on Mar 13, 2015 at 12:24 pm

Its disappointing that they keep doing facelifts and call it ‘new generation’. BMW and Merc keep pumping out completely new looking cars.

• I guess most of the people who comment here cant afford to buy one of these anyway and are likely key board warriors who drive a jap or a proton.

Lets wait for the real car to come out and look at Euromobil’s specs for Malaysia before giving our 2 cents worth.

I think most mainstream Audi’s have always been an evolution than a revolution. They let the previous model age well. As an owner of the current generation A4 from Euromobil im happy. The overall package is worth better than the rivals overpriced, lack of spec and 3rd world warranty package. Also the interior where we spend most of our time stuck in traffic is quite aged with cheap plastics, of course that does not apply to the new c-class.

Anyway…it sure will sell well in China and the rest of the world regardless. Here, despite all the warriors here….the japs and the uncles rules!!.

• The B9 is already delayed since summer of 2014 and they are going to delay its official world debut until almost the end of 2015? It should have debut during the Geneva Motor show. Hopefully, the model will be for sale during June of 2015 (summer event Audi of America calls it). I brought the model Audi A4 2015 last year thinking it was the new model and was in for a surprised when it was shipped to me and it was just a refreshed model of the B8. Plus since I want standard transmission, I have to wait an additional 3 months.

• everyone has there right to an opinion. no manufacturer can make a car that everyone like all the time. just a small fact, go see how many “world car of the year” awards Audi and VW have won! no other company even comes close, now put that in your pipe and smoke it….

• Jorge Gallardo on Apr 08, 2015 at 1:52 am

Porque AUDI abandono la transmicion Multitronic ?

• kevani on Jul 18, 2015 at 3:07 pm

When will it be on sale in msia? Its been forever