Isuzu D-Max Diablo launched, priced from RM107,077

isuzu-d-max-diablo-launched

The Isuzu D-Max Diablo has just been launched and will now feature alongside its V-Cross and standard D-Max stablemates. Introduced as a limited edition model (300 units), the spruced up pick-up truck features a “goth-like appearance” thanks to the addition of dark accents adorning almost the entire bodywork of the truck from back to front, ground up to roof.

First things first, everything under the skin remains the same. The Isuzu D-Max Diablo is offered with a choice of two engines. The 2.5 litre 4JK1-TCX VGS turbocharged diesel engine with 136 PS and 320 Nm of torque between 1,800 to 2,800 rpm kickstarts the lineup while the 3.0 litre 4JJ1-TCX VGS turbodiesel with 177 PS and 380 Nm of torque produced in the same rev range as the 2.5 mill, rounds things off.

As echoed in the D-Max Artic variant, both engines will be exclusively paired to a five-speed automatic transmission with manual override function. The Diablo treatment is only applied to the 2.5 litre and 3.0 litre 4×4 double-cab body styles.

isuzu-d-max-diablo-photo 52

The brunt of the Diablo treatment is comprised of aesthetic enhancements. Chief of which is the Cosmic Black Mica paint scheme – the only one colour option for the D-Max Diablo. Elsewhere, the door handles, side mirrors, roof rails, front grille and rear bumper are trimmed in black for added menace.

Only the Isuzu logo and front skid plate are featured with contrasting silver elements. The most noticeable exterior upgrade over the entire range would be the addition of LED daytime running lights. In profile, 17-inch ‘Beastly Black’ alloy wheels by Lenso are to be found, along with stylised body decals.

A lockable D-Loc lid for the rear storage compartment comes as standard and sports a unique “aero spoiler” on top. Inside, the interior layout remains somewhat familiar. The seats and centre arm rest are now trimmed in Bloody Red “Italian leather” while the door and centre console inserts feature a piano black scheme.

isuzu-d-max-diablo-photo 3

Additional interior features are present in the form of “specially-embroidered” floor mats, illuminated scuff plates and a Blaupunkt Multimedia DVD Player System that includes a reverse camera – again, very much like the D-Max Artic. Prices for the Isuzu D-Max Diablo begins at RM107,077 for the 2.5 litre variant while the 3.0 litre version is priced at RM113,717.30 – prices are on-the-road, excluding insurance.

A three-year/100,000 km (whichever comes first) warranty is offered along with a 24-hour Isuzu Doctor Mobile assistance service.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• O-man on Mar 13, 2015 at 8:19 pm

Black exterior looks mean but that pink seats! That is a bit feminine IMHO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • someguyonthenet on Mar 13, 2015 at 8:59 pm

buy it and change to black seat cover for the sake of covering the pinkness

• lousyjaps on Mar 15, 2015 at 6:09 am

Another lousy car tried to mimic mighty Lambo diablo but failed miserably

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • alldisc on Mar 14, 2015 at 10:39 am

isnt diablo a Lamborghini name?

• It said red seat.

• Ngam!

Toyota Hilux TRD Sportivo is for the Executive Working Adults,
      Isuzu D-Max Diablo is cater for the other markets, for the Tough Lady.

Each car has is own market. This world is fair.
      Ladies can have their own trucks too.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 13, 2015 at 8:22 pm

Great Jap pickup.

In TH, Isuzu D’Max outsells Hilux.

Kimchis are almost non-existent in TH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • Limpeh on Mar 14, 2015 at 12:53 am

Great. .. just the right car to start selling to those cina bengs living in cheras area

Some more got big DIABLO sticker at the rear. Omg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
  • Isuzu Salesman on Mar 13, 2015 at 8:31 pm

This truck is so powerful, even much better than Toyota. Do not listen to Sam Loo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 13, 2015 at 8:39 pm

I give you 1 thumbs up, coz your statement is true.

Kimchis can have twin turbo VGT but at the end of the day, you will need a tow truck operator to bring you home.

At the end of 18 months, the sorhai kimchi will look for me to trade in his rotten cabbage, this is when I show him the Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
    • sabah bah ni on Mar 13, 2015 at 9:03 pm

i drive hilux 2.5vnt with UNICHIP with 33psi of boost beat this dmax vcross far far away..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 56
      • Obviously (Member) on Mar 13, 2015 at 11:30 pm

What if…the D-Max also gets the chip? Didn’t cross your mind, eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
        • alldisc on Mar 14, 2015 at 10:38 am

in sabah, most pick ups would have many times spent in offroad. high peak horsepower is useless there.

what they want is powerful torque delivery in the low rev band.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Mister potato on Mar 14, 2015 at 12:59 am

What dumb chip chip. And all these unichip/ ecu stuff. You can add any piggyback or tune the ecu, but we are talking about base figures. The stock standard figures. If the manufacturer can get the 200-300hp from the engine without sacrificing drivability and engine lifespan you think they would not do so har?
        Anyway isuzu engines are known to be tough, and… If you want to talk about power and potato chip, a ford ranger 3.2 with a mild tune will give you almost 580Nm of torque. What so great about your Toyota?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
        • samelorstpd on Mar 15, 2015 at 6:06 am

Toyota got SA named same lorrrr who badmouths every other brands, he tarnishes Toyota business image here

• ProtonGSC on Mar 13, 2015 at 8:48 pm

3.0 litre RM 113k???

Seriously low price !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Mar 13, 2015 at 8:50 pm

Wah seh now it seem Hilux vs D-Max, mula-mula Safari D-Max, then V-Cross D-Max then Toyota launch TRD Hilux, Isuzu tengok “mcm ni tak boleh…… We launch D-Max Diablo pulak!!!! pening mcm ni!!!!
    Btw still waiting petroleum company release Euro 5 Diesel, been put on hold my booking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • nabill (Member) on Mar 13, 2015 at 8:59 pm

If im not mistaken, those aideateps and boot lida are actually optional extras and not included in the price mentioned above…
    Anyway it does look very mean.. Really cool looking, thy seem to sell everything thy make…

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 13, 2015 at 9:23 pm

Not too sure of the special edition, feel it is a bit tasteless… But still a good truck though! Though I kinda prefer the Ranger, somehow. If only Isuzu brings the MU-X too, cheap people carrier!

• BOYRACER on Mar 13, 2015 at 11:03 pm

The Dmax is the least powerful pick up on the market compare to the others.However it is also the cheapest to run.I know because my brother owns one.

• Isuzu is not the least in paper. 3 litre lowest is Toyota Hilux.

• lowprofile (Member) on Mar 17, 2015 at 1:23 pm

Ranger 3.2 – 200ps, 470Nm
      Colorado 2.8 – 193hp, 500Nm
      Hilux 3.0 – 163ps, 343Nm
      Dmax 3.0 – 177ps, 380Nm

* normally, PS is about 2 units lower than HP so, if reading in HP, then the Hilux is about 161hp.

• manlet on Mar 14, 2015 at 1:14 am

Does it comes with a free copy of Diablo3 game as free gift?

• dreaming of maserati on Mar 14, 2015 at 2:07 am

no wonder pickup drivers drive like driving lambo. Now they can officially do so with diablo sticker

• Horny Sam on Mar 14, 2015 at 2:08 am

I’d rather take the red chick than the red leather seats anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Sparcov on Mar 14, 2015 at 9:38 am

Like it or not?

TOYOTA is still a TOYOTA

Isuzu Dmax is good too.

• Can Lamborghini sue them for using diablo name? After all, Ford din allow Ferrari to use F150 for their F1 car

• karipap basah on Mar 14, 2015 at 9:54 am

the wheel arch bulges are out of proportion. Even the tyres look small now.

• albag on Mar 14, 2015 at 9:58 am

somehow i feel that Isuzu pickups give me an impression of low class and commercial feel only… unlike Mitsubishi or Toyota pickups give a more premium feel… no offense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • Sam Looser on Mar 15, 2015 at 12:37 am

Hilux is the lowest class la. Buyers paid the highest price for dated car.

• isuzuki on Mar 14, 2015 at 10:20 am

yea…. Nice

• Drust on Mar 14, 2015 at 11:49 am

The gangster truck! Love the red seat!

• only for the SEA market do we have such “beautiful” ah beng trucks!!!

• Pavel Sebor on Mar 14, 2015 at 8:06 pm

When I saw the diablo word, first thing in my mind was the Lamborghini Diablo.. lol

• No need Ford Ranger.
    Buy Hilux TRD- or D-Max Diablo.

• Dayymmm

• Sandiwara (Member) on Mar 15, 2015 at 11:12 am

The red seats!
    Oh my eyes are burning with fiyahhh

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 15, 2015 at 4:27 pm

that coat is swag

• Sammy on Mar 16, 2015 at 11:29 am

it seems the name is catchy…Diablo
    Now just need a “666” number plate to go with the car.

• Dmax 2.5 136hp vs ford ranger 2.2 150hp, ranger leads the way! Cool name though.

• urzu3 on May 13, 2015 at 9:35 pm

take a look at the RPM range.. ranger rev quite high to achieve 150hp 380nm for diesel truck standard

• Well yeah, now tht is bcause for 2.2l, it has to squeze a lot “harder” compare to the the 2.5l trucks. Now i own one, for almost 3 years now and so far it is one the better trucks with better fc. The fact still holds that it can achieve 150hp, while others can’t. That is the point.

• munsif..tunisia on Sep 04, 2015 at 9:26 pm

Whats the price in us dollars for 2.5 diablo