DRIVEN: Nissan X-Trail T32 – will it be third-gen lucky?

2015 Nissan X-Trail Review 1

First there was one. The Honda CR-V has been “the people’s SUV” for close to two decades now, its de facto status in Malaysia cemented by archrival Toyota’s strange lack of interest in the segment. No, the truck-based Fortuner and Avanza-based Rush don’t count.

It’s no longer a free ride for Honda though, as the CR-V is facing a strong challenger in the Mazda CX-5. It may have started off as the alternative, but the CX-5 outnumbers the incumbent in trendier Klang Valley neighbourhoods these days, winning the visibility battle. I’m no cowboy, but I can tell you that carbuyers tend to stick with the herd – so many others cannot possibly be wrong, right?

Nissan knows the game because they’ve been in it before. One decade and two generations ago, when people still liked their SUVs rugged, the X-Trail was the CR-V’s sparring partner. The second-gen car, arriving here from Indonesia a few years late, used the same formula but didn’t catch on. It could have been that tastes have changed (or softened) while Nissan’s box stood still.

No sharp edges in sight now, as the third-generation X-Trail arrives in Malaysia just months after major markets Thailand and Indonesia, and in CKD form no less (it takes much longer to prep for local assembly as opposed to just ordering off the shelf). It looks throughly modern, is priced to match the two leading SUVs, and has some unique party tricks up its sleeve; so will it be a case of third time lucky for the X-Trail?

Yes, you’re looking at a Nissan X-Trail, even if it looks nothing like the previous two you knew. “No sharp edges” must have been the design brief for the Hi-Cross concept from Frankfurt 2012, which the production T32 X-Trail faithfully replicates.

The current Nissan family face – as seen on the smaller Qashqai and defined by the mask-like grill-headlamp treatment and “bucket” chrome border for the logo – is coupled with boomerang daytime running lights for a visage that’s distinctive enough. Things flow along nicely on the wavy flanks before ending abruptly at a rear that resembles an old Toyota Harrier.

Derivative derrière aside, the new X-Trail is a pleasantly styled SUV, and it looks big in the metal compared to the CR-V. It is. At 4,640 mm, it’s 50 mm longer than the Honda, and equally wide at 1,820 mm. The Nissan stands 30 mm taller too, and its 2,705 mm wheelbase is a significant 85 mm lengthier than the CR-V’s. Needless to say, the X-Trail’s footprint easily shades the CX-5. Size and presence are important urban SUV ingredients, and the X-Trail impresses on both counts.

2015 Nissan X-Trail Review 38

The X-Trail’s big body translates to generous cabin space, and the extra milimetres gave Nissan the opportunity to squeeze in a third row of seats. It’s more of a 5+2 than a full-fledged seven-seater SUV, but a second row that can slide and recline means that a compromise can be struck with the backbenchers.

The extra seats come in handy for the occasional outing with the extended family, or when going out for lunch with colleagues. You won’t get any meaningful luggage room with all three rows erect, and adults chucked in here will have their knees pointing to the roof (width is OK), so the third-row is better seen as a bonus.

You get a decent 550 litres of space with the rearmost seats folded 50:50 flat, but the operation isn’t one-touch, and neither is it for tumbling the 60:40 second-row, which introduces a 1,520 litre cave. The tonneau cover gets a neat underfloor compartment, but the cool partitioned tray from the second-gen is gone.

The CR-V, and even my first-gen Mazda 6 Hatchback, has a lever on the boot wall that can fold the rear seats in one motion, a real boon when plonking in long items. To fold the X-Trail’s mid-row, you’ll need to open the rear doors, or crawl into the hatch in an undignified manner, unless you have Dhalsim’s arms. This is of course not an issue if you don’t often haul very long items, as the X-Trail’s boot is big by any measure.

The regular rear seats are a good place to be in, with very generous legroom when pushed furthest back. Rear air-con vents and large square windows help the cause. Short of having a panoramic glass roof and light-coloured lower cabin, it’s as airy as it can get here. For an SUV, such an ambience is preferable to the dark cabins brought about by high waistlines and shallow windows in “sportier” designs.

Third-row aside, the X-Trail’s passenger space advantage over the CR-V isn’t as obvious as the bare wheelbase figures suggest, because the Honda makes mockery of WB length with good packaging. Everything else feels cramped in comparison, so do try them all out for size.

2015 Nissan X-Trail Review 10

Now, let’s move up to the cockpit, without departing from the comfort-space theme. The X-Trail feels its width here, with an expansive dashboard and sizeable chairs. The latter deserves special mention – Zero-Gravity may sound corny but the front seats are soft without being saggy, something your back and bum will appreciate in evening-long traffic jams and cross-state jaunts alike. The 2.5 gets leather, but the fabric seats in the 2.0 are just as comfortable.

Nissan has been doing comfy seats in the same mould (not literally) for quite some time now – I remember thinking “Volvo-like” when driving the humble Latio years back – it was almost too much seat for such a small car! Colleagues who have driven the Teana are similarly chuffed about the D-segment sedan’s chairs.

The X-Trail’s dashboard also has a Teana feel about it; both share the same layout, if not design. Everything is laid out in a straightforward manner, with elements located where everyone expects them to be. It’s conventional, which may or may not be a bad thing, depending on what you’re looking for. Standard amenities include keyless entry with push start, dual-zone air con and steering buttons (audio + cruise control), which are all expected at this level.

AVM combines images from front, side and back cameras; works on both factory and optional head units

What’s unique in the segment is Around View Monitor, which stitches together live feed from the X-Trail’s front, side and back cameras to assist in parking. The resulting top view is presented together with the standard rear camera view on the smallish five-inch central screen. Useful for a big SUV, we reckon, and it works on the optional Tan Chong-fitted TCAT touch-screen navigation head unit, too.

Speaking of screens, the Advanced Drive Assist Display between the dials look impressive and is informative, with its sharp colour display and Active Chassis Control page. It provides some hi-tech glitter in an otherwise orthodox cabin.

Standard on both the 2.0L 2WD and 2.5L 4WD, Active Chassis Control is another unique selling point. The package includes Active Ride Control, Active Engine Brake and Active Trace Control functions. Active Ride Control manipulates engine torque as well as braking to moderate pitching motion on bumpy roads, while Active Engine Brake tells the CVT to add a degree of engine braking when cornering or coming to a stop.

Active Trace Control automatically applies small amounts of braking to the individual wheels during cornering to reduce understeer – the system engages at any point in the corner, whether at entry, mid-corner or exit. Both variants feature Hill Start Assist (for slopes above 5%) but only the 2.5L 4WD gets Hill Descent Control (only in 4WD Lock mode, speed locked between 4-15 km/h).

Nissan’s All Mode Intelligent 4X4-i offers three drive modes – two-wheel drive, Auto (which automatically changes torque distribution between front and rear wheels when driving on paved or slippery roads) and 4WD Lock (50:50) for permanent four-wheel drive. Modes are selectable via a knob on the centre console. The 2WD car gets an extra cubby hole in its place.

How’s the X-Trail like to drive? Like a Nissan, and we mean that as a compliment. Over the years we’ve become accustomed to the brand’s smooth, gliding style thanks to good noise suppression and the firm’s Xtronic CVT gearbox, and we’re please to see the new X-Trail follow this template.

2015 Nissan X-Trail Review 23

Like the previous-gen X-Trail and both previous and current Sylphys, there’s an effortless quality about how the car picks up speed and maintains momentum – you’ll definitely feel like you’re working harder in a CR-V, which has a healthy appetite for revs.

However, the X-Trail 2.5 was pretty vocal at low revs, which is pretty much where you’re at in the urban crawl. It could be overeager throttle response or inadequate insulation, but the gruff engine note is unexpected. It’s not that the X-Trail is unrefined vis-à-vis rivals, just slightly short of the serenity we know Nissan can achieve.

Strange one, this, especially when the gruffness is not so noticeable in the 2.0, an observation also noted by my InfoKereta.com colleague Izwaashura Sadali on our drive from Shah Alam to Damai Laut and back.

2015 Nissan X-Trail Review 39

So, not for the first time, this writer is preferring the smaller engine in the range. Not only is the MR20DD’s response more measured, there’s enough grunt to not feel overwhelmed by the X-Trail considerable size. Sure, the 2.5’s power advantage (171 PS and 233 Nm) is palpable and the QR25DE-k2’s acceleration impressive, but the 144 PS/200 Nm 2.0L hits the sweet spot for us, if 4WD is not necessary.

A quick note on the Xtronic CVT, which gets a seven-speed manual mode here. That’s an on-paper advantage over the Sylphy and Teana, but we never once felt the need to DIY, which is a mark of a good automatic. The ‘box is typically smooth, and this latest-gen Xtronic doles out torque converter auto-mimicking faux upshifts to make CVT newbies feel at home.

The X-Trail is a big, tall car and it feels its size when you manhandle it; the lean and weight shift will remind you so if you throw it around corners. Drive it in a more progressive fashion, as you should in a big family wagon, and you’ll find well-weighted electric steering, which remains steady and true in high-speed cruising. The latter shouldn’t be taken for granted, as it reduces fatigue and makes long drives more pleasant.

While it’s not an engaging drive, the X-Trail is dynamically competent enough to avoid being ponderous – we have no complaints on how it steers, brakes and grip. Ride comfort passes muster too, with Active Ride Control taming bounce in this relatively softly sprung SUV. Would have preferred a more ‘invincible, smother away everything’ low speed ride – given the high-profile tyres and my faint memory of the previous-gen car – but it’s good enough.

All in all, the X-Trail is an easy going, easy driving car – its smooth and comfy disposition fitting the brief as a family SUV to a tee. Its unique selling points are practical in nature (two extra seats, 360-degree view park assist) and not gimmicky, with airbag count (two) being the only hole in its armour. It’s a likeable SUV, this third-generation X-Trail, and we won’t bet against Nissan being third time lucky.

The Nissan X-Trail is priced at RM142,800 for the 2.0L 2WD and RM165,800 for the 2.5L 4WD. Read our launch report for full specifications and more pics, and see the X-Trail in motion in our video review.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• apanama on Mar 15, 2015 at 2:37 pm

At close to 170k for the 2.5 model, a rear plastic boot lid does not highly convinced me to go for this suv. Coupled with only 2 air bags and lack of power boot options and clunky seats arrangements. A pity really as ETCM has a genuine potential winner against crv and cx-5…if only they served up the right stuff.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 19
    • slumber on Mar 15, 2015 at 10:40 pm

I hope ETCM will offer a 2.5 4WD model with 5 seater arrangement at 155k.

the +2 seats are just dead weight dragging the car.

Don’t mind 2 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
      • lumbu on Mar 16, 2015 at 12:10 am

Engine is small how to drag this lembu? It can’t even move!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
        • Same L0rrrr on Mar 16, 2015 at 11:01 am

When the car has nothing special to mention, the number of airbags usually is the selling point. Check out the Protons then you know.

2 airbags Xtrail prove a thing: There is no prefect car in the world.

The new Xtrail may affect our Fortuner sales a little bit, but I am not so worry.

Xtrail or Fortuner, you can’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
          • paulnut on Mar 16, 2015 at 1:13 pm

If sushi not wrong,why u get your son proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • mythbuster on Mar 16, 2015 at 8:44 am

This kind of “Don’t mind if 2 airbags” mentality leads greedy car manufactures in Malaysia still dare to offer only 2 airbags for 7 seater SUV. Pls care about others to in your car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
    • Distinguish:

X-Trail, CRV – People SUV,
      – for the executive level.

Truck based Fortuner, Pajero Sport
      -Made for the Boss
      More Durable, 4WD Offroad capibility, at least 2.7L Engine. Diesel Engine is as fuel saving as 2.0L Petrol Engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • nabill (Member) on Mar 15, 2015 at 3:03 pm

to summarize , there is no wow factor , it kinda feels like a ‘me too’ product..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 18
    • calcutta on Mar 16, 2015 at 2:02 am

i don’t see any “wow” in cr-v or cx-5 either

all of them looks quite boring

“wow” car tend to lose their “wow” faster too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
      • For Men & Ladies on Mar 16, 2015 at 11:08 am

X trail provenly meant/invented for hard & soft pull.

While crv/cx5 more feminine or “soft guy” type. E.g jaafar onn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Gaviny on Mar 15, 2015 at 3:11 pm

Any actual test of the active trace control and the torque manipulation? Or as expected gimmicks?

Also this car has the absolute ugliest daytime running light, half dim oversized led stretching very ah beng ish around the whole headlights

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 31
    • Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 15, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Electronic chassis aids are usually not very perceptible, unlike say a mechanical LSD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Legend (Member) on Mar 15, 2015 at 3:26 pm

Danny, I remember that we do have a RAV4 sold by Official Channel, UMW motor back in 2004~2005, but it was just that the sales wasn’t that good as expected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 15, 2015 at 4:08 pm

Yes, you’re right. Completely forgot about that one. Expensive and never really got out of the blocks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 15, 2015 at 4:27 pm

in fact, all three generations were sold at some point by UMW, fully imported and really expensive though….not much publicity was done about it….who knows the current gen might be sold again in similar manner…

• Who cares, even X5 will get under 100k after some years. You want to compare with rubbish? Nah.

• Rokuth on Mar 15, 2015 at 6:11 pm

From my car sales days in the US, the CR-V main competitors was the RAV-4. Nissan really didn’t have anything to stack up against them until the Rogue was introduced in in late 2007.

The new gen Rogue is the North American version of the X-Trail here. And yes, it is sold with 6 airbags in the US. They also have other options, and standard features that are not found on our X-Trail.

The QR25DE engine has consistently been reported as being noisy, trashy, and rough especially at higher rpms. Just read any review of Nissan vehicles with the engine and you will note the same complaint. No big surprise that its the same with the X-Trail.

• keyvy on Mar 15, 2015 at 8:01 pm

How about 2nd row seats, can it be folded down completely like the third row?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 15, 2015 at 4:25 pm

Great news for me.

Trade in for Tucson will drop to 35% of new price for 18 month old units

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
    • paulnut on Mar 15, 2015 at 9:38 pm

Your 25 years old son proton saga second value will drop the same too.

• samlooobsess on Mar 15, 2015 at 11:57 pm

Samloo or whoever you are, don’t forget your meds, it helps you a lot to reduce your RV obsession, haha!

• Boot size shrunk. Even with 2.5l engine, pick up is poor. I would rather take on sthg else

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • dugongx on Mar 15, 2015 at 5:00 pm

Toyota used to have the Rav4 selling at 180k to challenge the CRV. Now its got Fortuner and Rush.

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 15, 2015 at 5:06 pm

ETCM nearly got it. Nearly.

Yes AVM is nice, but look at the competition, all offer 6 airbags standard, with only the CRV 2.0 sporting 4. Still, that is more than the paltry 2 in the X Trail. And considering how Nissan was going “safety for all” with the Sylphy and Teana, it’s disappointing to see the XTrail not getting it.

Otherwise it seems pleasant, the rear reminds me of an old Lexus RX! If only we got the 6 airbags, and Nissan’s new Safety Shield.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hz__f0Ecbdg ( A demo of the Safety Shield suite)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • A perfect example on how TC values the the safety of malaysians.

• Oildripper on Mar 15, 2015 at 5:59 pm

The real competitor in this segment is the JDM Toyota Vanguard 2.4 . Too bad the Toyota is a JDM.

• quite a looker…to be honest looks better than facelifted crv n boring cx5. saw a few on the road….a fresh look than typical crv n cx5. wandering y not seeing so many on the road hmm maybe just launched

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
  • joejambol on Mar 15, 2015 at 6:37 pm

im still waiting for my x-trail..waited for 1 n half month now. when booking saying waiting period is 1 month only..im pissed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • darthvader on Mar 16, 2015 at 6:36 pm

the waiting period now is 2 months!!!..huh so much for 2 airbags. i think ppl go for looks, brand n price.

• Haris on May 26, 2015 at 1:08 pm

just received mine last saturday.. almost 3 months waiting,huhuhu

• Sandiwara (Member) on Mar 15, 2015 at 6:43 pm

Nobody bother to bash a Nissan with “only” 2 airbags?
    I thought those “car enthusiast” would have a field day bashing and repeating how important 6 to 10 airbags are to them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • darthvader on Mar 15, 2015 at 8:05 pm

its sunday…wait tomorrow

• Obviously (Member) on Mar 15, 2015 at 10:44 pm

You missed out. They already bashed it when the news got official. By the time of this review, everyone already knows and/or has already bashed it.

• ganni on Mar 16, 2015 at 12:08 pm

bro,
      just search the previous post abt this xtrail by paultan..already bashed before…now everyone knws abt the 2 airbags thingy..maybe you just missed out the news??

• Agree that 2.0 already enough and feel just nice for the crossover. The only downside is pricing-wise.

RM143K for 2.5 4wd is acceptable since the similar car (2.0 2wd) merely over RM103K as well as RM113K in Indonesia and Thailand respectively.

No point from buyers point of view if they can’t enjoy pricing benefit if TC bring the CKD instead of CBU Asean. I rather have cheaper CBU Asean than expensive CKD Malaysia.

Tan Chong made a series of mistakes before with hardly seen CKD Latio, Teana, Sylphy; due to “wrong” timing, mismatch pricing or incorrect model for our market.

Outgoing Xtrail is perfect example of underachieving model and current model despite +2 seats yet to justify their RM40K premium than out Indonesians counterparts paid for their Xtrail.

Remember that in Japan sans CONSUMPTION TAX price for Xtrail 2.0 mere RM65,000!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • In Japan 2.0S merely RM65,800

http://www2.nissan.co.jp/X-TRAIL/grade_outline.html

While more handsome Toyota Harrier 2.0 is RM76,492. The Toyota retailed over RM280,000 in Malaysia grey market or over 3 Harriers in Japan. Suppose GST will stop AP used car aka reconditioned car and only allowed brand new car for the sake of TAX as well as buyers welfare.

UMW better banking on Harrier 2.0 if Camry simply can’t beat Accord. If CKD-ed Harrier 2.0 will pushed the price heading north to RM152,000 region (twice of Harrier price in Japan) easily the most popular crossover/sedan sub-RM160K in Malaysia. If you noticed UMW-Toyota seemingly giving too much room for AP holders, isn’t?

http://toyota.jp/harrier/grade/grade8/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • Rear tailgate made Of plastic such turn off , even its a good plastic. And 2 airbags for 100k +?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • The new generation of Nissan has fail miserable in Malaysia market due to wrong pricing strategy. The push up all the pricing to match the Honda/ Toyota and end up stocking all the car at the stock.

Look at the new slyphy/teana. You just can’t see anyone of them on the road.

As for the x-trail, I am excited during the launching with 7 seaters SUV and rush to the showroom to view the car.

What a disappointed 2 seaters at the 3rd row that can not accommodate a 4’6″ height teenager. What a f…k to create the 3rd row seat.

The addiotional 2 seaters is a gimmick to attract sale. They can’t beat the CRV and Mazda with the useless seat design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • OKUxtrail on Mar 15, 2015 at 11:48 pm

Caaaaaannnnn, tell them to bow their heads from KL to Bukit Kayu Hitam, when they get out sure turn to OKU people!

• ganni on Mar 16, 2015 at 12:14 pm

hhmmm…it depends on which area you are working/staying, ive seen new xtrail everyday with variety of colors since it was launch last time…and the teana as well..can see alot but different story for slyphy, its really rare model..can count on how many times i see the new slyphy..

• kenny on Mar 16, 2015 at 1:31 pm

I am the owner to new xtrial for a month.
      I have seen many xtrail on the road, everyday! I am the owner to new xtrail for a month.
      Pro-classy good looking, comfortable to drive and well equipped.
      Con-2.0L is slightly slow in pick up and third row is for kids only (TC already said is 5+2 seaters, not 7 seaters)

• Vezel Fan on Mar 16, 2015 at 10:58 pm

Have you ever test drive it to begin with? I have tested both 2.0 variance for X-trail and CR-V. X-trail won in many factors; looks, advance engine features, comfor seat, smooth engine when accelerating, nicer cabin design and overall price if compare apple to apple.
      I used to admire Honda Vezel/HR-V but after seeing the metal and comparing the specs, X- trail won my heart.
      I think TCM may done well even with 2 airbags; waiting period of 2 months. I suppose to get it before GST implementation. But TCM should absorb it for customer sake.
      In summary, X-trail has better package than CR-V and better looks than CX-5. Hope i am going to be a happy X -trail owner always.

Ciao!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • slumber on Mar 15, 2015 at 10:36 pm

Dear Nissan,

I have high hopes that this X-trail will be my choice of vehicle to upgrade.

My deal breaker will be a 2.5 4WD model, 6 airbags, and 5 seater arrangement, with the price about 15% lower than the current 2.5 on offer.

Can you make this option available?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • slumberland on Mar 15, 2015 at 11:50 pm

You want to customise here and there better you build your own car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • Potong on Mar 16, 2015 at 9:37 pm

Slumber, Proton Exora suits u better and it is a good upgrade for u, from Saga SV to Exora…dont dream about 150k SUV because u simply cant afford.

• hoong on Mar 15, 2015 at 10:45 pm

In my opinion TC nearly hits its fairshare of the market. Nearly, but it missed.

TC’s move to offer 6 airbags across its Sylphy and then the Teana ranges was spot-on, even mind-boggling over here in Bolehland. But the lack of 6 airbags in the Serena hybrid and then now the Xtrail is really a big turn-off, a deal-thrasher even. TC has again showed the public its ignorance of people in the market looking for these 7 seater MPV and SUV may well be people who look for full safety specs for their family too.

So TC, sharpen up and listen to what many of your lost potential customers want, not just listening to what your accountants want. The informed public don’t just buy the product, they want to be sure they buy the seller too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Danny, how’s the comfort level for those who sitting at the 2nd row seats? My wife and baby are sitting at the back seats most of the time, so the ride expensive at the row is crucial for me.

Still considering this over teana 2.0

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 16, 2015 at 2:28 am

I was driving most of the time and didn’t get to try it from the second row. Should be decent, but best to bring your family for a test drive/ride session.

• hariss on Mar 15, 2015 at 11:27 pm

have done 1015 km on the brand new x trail. Took her on combination of highway and federal road from KL-Bagan Serai-K Kangsar-Gerik-Jeli-KB. Quite an adventure for a brand new machine. Very strong low end torque, super smooth CVT ( better than my previous ACR50 Estima) and chassis control package turn out to be very responsive as the car was being push hard around corner , steep climb and descend throughout east west highway. It was purposely been driven long and in such manner for early detection of any inherent factory problem. I can report to the service centre tomorrow everything is well and expecting another 600km ride back through coastal road back to KL. Plastic tailgate is not an issue as other established makers such as Peugeot has been using plastic in certain part of car body for more than 10 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 9
    • so im guessing the two airbags is not an issue as well?

• Josh Ling on Mar 17, 2015 at 6:21 am

as much as i think more airbags the better, i just don’t think it’s much of a big deal like some of the people here think, for having 2 airbags only.

• applegreen on Mar 16, 2015 at 9:28 am

i’ve seen 2 new xtrails and i like a lot the black colour. But at that price most probably i put my money on 2.5 cx5

• hariss on Mar 16, 2015 at 10:23 am

2 airbags is not an issue as X trail has a good packaged of active safety. Just like Car insurance, It is an end product you wish you dont have to use. By the way, Nissan should review this shortcomings as this is potentialy a setback to sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • totti on Mar 16, 2015 at 10:59 am

TC’s move to offer 6 airbags across its Sylphy and then the Teana ranges was spot-on, even mind-boggling over here in Bolehland. But the lack of 6 airbags in the Serena hybrid and then now the Xtrail is really a big turn-off, a deal-thrasher even. TC has again showed the public its ignorance of people in the market looking for these 7 seater MPV and SUV may well be people who look for full safety specs for their family too.

—————————

What a stupid comment above.

Sylphy and teana with 6 airbags and can they sell? this 2 product fail miserably with the pricing and not airbags.

This guy really don’t know the market and keep harping on airbags.

Ask yourself why 2 airbags Almera can become the top on B Segment during the 2013? Because TC priced the car lower by 10% as compared to the rival H/T and not the airbags.

Even 6 airbag for serena will fail if they price the car above RM 130K. That was the reason the new pre-own serena car selling below RM 118kto clear all the old stock.

I expect the new serena will sell below RM 110K by year end to clear old stock.

• Potong on Mar 16, 2015 at 9:43 pm

Would u buy a 10 air bags Proton Savy? Airbags is one of the factors, not the only factor to consider when deciding a car

• GERMAN CAR LOVER AKA JIAN on Mar 16, 2015 at 12:01 pm

At least the C-RV and CX5 both has 4 airbags right. The CX5 is as common as P2 Myvi in Malaysia so is the 4th gen C-RV. If I was buying one of this CUV’s I would go with a used Mazda CX7 or a 3rd gen CR-V which are both fun to drive, have a nice interior and have a significantly powerful engine.I am not hating toward’s the 3 newbies. I am just giving a suggestion to people who want a safe , fun and powerful CUV.

• joejambol on Mar 16, 2015 at 12:34 pm

crv powerful suv meh? u must be joking

• GERMAN CAR LOVER AKA JIAN on Mar 16, 2015 at 2:16 pm

Well the 3rd gen feel’s more powerful than 4th gen.Even though on paper significantly the same.Even that day I tested the 4th gen 2.0 I counted 0-100 kmh with an IPHONE 4S stopwatch. I got an 11.2 seconds while with the 3rd gen I got roughly 8 seconds respectively.The 4th gen is huge on the inside compared to 3rd gen though

• GERMAN CAR LOVER AKA JIAN on Mar 16, 2015 at 2:24 pm

Well the 3rd gen feels much more powerful than the 4th gen.On paper its the same . That day I tested the 4th gen Crv 2.0 from 0-100kmh with an iphone stopwatch and got 11.2 seconds while with the 3rd gen I got 8 seconds.The 4th gen is spacious inside though

• Why the fuss over airbags? There are already so many ‘airbags’ on this site.

• There are other alternatives if you are in the market for 7 seats SUV. If you look at it objectively, the Kimchi (Sorento and Santa Fe) offers comprehensive features at not much more.

• Tam EM on Mar 18, 2015 at 9:57 pm

My main concerns :-

– spare part prices compared to CRV & CX-5, or overall maintenance cost.
    – the second value of this new X-Trial compared to CRV & CX-5.

Any ideas on these issues? TQVM!

• Tam EM on Mar 18, 2015 at 10:02 pm

My main concern :-

– The overall maintenance cost of Nissan vehicles (mainly this new X-Trail)compared to Honda (CRV) & Madza (MX-5).
    – The second value of Nissan Cars compared to Honda & Madza.

Can anyone give me a better picture on these issues? TQVM!

• tommy on Apr 18, 2015 at 2:37 am

Let us look at this mitsubihi asx…affordable price..more economical..and more torque compared to crv n cx5..the only lack is the boot space

• Mazda on Jun 09, 2015 at 6:45 pm

I test cx5 and X trail… Surprisingly both provided 2.0L but X trail feel much power than CX5… CX5 2.0 is totally under power even passenger can feel it obviously…

• Toyota man on Dec 05, 2015 at 3:40 pm

Agreed. I tested all CR-V, CX-5 and X-Trail 2.0L models, and had similar conclusion that X-Trail at least has enough power to move the car without feeling any drag. CR-V is also nice though interior looks cheap and seats are not high as other suv’s. X-trail has more spacious & comfy back seat compared to CX-5, but a pity it comes with only 2 air bags, its engine is super smooth, can’t say the same for its 2.5L engine though.

• Wanna Buy on May 15, 2016 at 11:20 am

Any view on XTRONIC CVT technology? This car is attractive, but I have heard a lot of “stories” on CVT.

• Nissan X-trail is another TCM con job. When you complain about Steering noise, TCM specialist reported the noise is normal and it’s within Nissan
    International Specifications. Even though Warranty Period not expired they refuse to replace the Steering System. I am speechless. Shame to Nissan Japan !