Next Honda Civic to get 1.5L VTEC Turbo – report

honda-civic-white-background

It debuted on the new JDM Honda StepWGN only last week; now Automotive News reports that the new 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo motor could see duty in the next-gen Honda Civic as a base powerplant (Malaysian-spec current-gen facelift pictured).

“Downsized turbocharging will be the base, even for the Civic,” global R&D chief Yoshiharu Yamamoto told AN, adding that the engine will offer fun-to-drive qualities, while meeting strict emissions regulations.

“In America, there aren’t that many (direct competitors) with turbo models. The power is very good,” he said. The new engine is said to deliver the power of a conventional 2.0-2.4 litre engine, while offering better torque and fuel efficiency.

Output figures have not been officially divulged, but the words (or numbers!) on the wire are 180 PS, 260 Nm and 18 km per litre. If that’s true, that’s 25 PS and 70 Nm more than even what our current Civic’s free-breathing 2.0 litre engine makes.

According to AN, Honda is investing US$340 million in its Anna, Ohio engine plant to build turbo motors by year-end. A supplier source has told the publication that the Japanese carmaker plans to make as many as 200,000 1.5 litre turbo engines a year in the US, with production set to begin in the fourth quarter.

Malaysian-spec Honda Civic facelift 1.8S

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• shawal on Mar 16, 2015 at 10:20 am

as long as its not made by takata …shubbe fine…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
    • Same L0rrrr on Mar 16, 2015 at 10:58 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 154
      • You should rename yourself as “Sam Retard”…Fragile my A%$ !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 4
      • Jimmy on Mar 16, 2015 at 1:04 pm

So, don’t buy NX ya?

Good move by Honda, and please, 6 airbags + ESP across the range.

If you continue to provide 1.8L with 4 airbags, you may perhaps at some point in time lose to Mazda3 even if you offer price at 106 600.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Francis on Mar 16, 2015 at 4:57 pm

Mr Same, why the new altis doesnt get the latest engine from Toyota which has launched back in 2007? Try to cheat Malaysian buyer is it?

• droll on Mar 16, 2015 at 5:39 pm

more fragile? try telling that to the whole of Europe where turbo diesels are the norm.

yah, like I said before, RV = Regret Value. sure very high RV one. :P

• prevetarpau on Mar 16, 2015 at 10:59 am

LOL drivebility now Preve Turbo is much better than Civic, torquey at lowish RPM

Next, T-GDI p1’s vs Honda’s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 61
      • Preve Turbo is much better than Civic? Don’t make me laugh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
      • eagletalon on Mar 16, 2015 at 4:56 pm

Dun make me laugh. Preve sated 1.6l turbo produce 103kw x 1.34 =138hp. But civic 1.5L turbo hit atleast 2L, which might be 145hp.

• prevetarpau on Mar 16, 2015 at 5:36 pm

It’s the torque to make it torquey from standstill. HP is more for higher end speed, civic 2.0l torque for now only 190Nm while CFE is 205Nm.

I dun need to start with plasticky Civic dsahboard, so so handling etc..

• karam singh on Mar 16, 2015 at 7:06 pm

how about Preve’s –
            0-100kmh time ?
            fuel km/l ?
            reliability ?
            dont wanna compare?

• Tsyoksendiri on Mar 16, 2015 at 11:05 am

Toyoda is syok cakap syok sendiri, before want to build bigger displacement cc with more frugality, later go for downsizing too as new Auris with 1.2l and 1.33l turbo engines.

Then who the real syok sendiri company here?
      Same Lorrr answer me!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
      • toyota- no huhaa.
        just peace of mind, and fuel saving + low maintanence cost.

• hench on Mar 16, 2015 at 5:37 pm

Lol never heard of problematic Alphard CVT?

• Snobs on Mar 16, 2015 at 8:34 pm

Toyota fuel saving? Try ask Camry, Innova and Fortuner owners how fuel saving are their cars. Peace of mind? Last time i checked, UMW still offers 3 years/100k km warranty while other carmakers are giving 5 years/unlimited km. Less 2 years warranty sure makes u feel more peaceful, right? Even resale value, the once mainstay of Toyota cars is not as good as it once was. Because RV can only be maintained when there is demand from the market. The high RV is only if u trade-in your old Toyota for a new Toyota directly at a UMW dealer. Trade-in with other dealers, then u will know the true value of your Toyota.

• Takata makes engines?

• Asalkan Bukan Pro-blem on Mar 16, 2015 at 10:22 am

Whatever lah Honda. Make sure engine burning covered by warranty, so scared nowadays lots of BBQ car happening.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 37
    • japsbocor on Mar 16, 2015 at 11:27 am

Lots? Any proof or evidence it’s the turbo fault?

• 2004 Honda City CVT was scary..
      Honda Vezel SUV has dual clutch issue in 2014 too.

HOnda Turbo? new launch, i am awaiting to see another issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
      • calvin on Mar 16, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Pushing he boundaries of technologies do have some kick back but always to push ahead… and it will be so fun to drive

• Campro inefficient on Mar 16, 2015 at 11:43 am

This is the first time Honda came out with Turbo so where did you get the idea about engine burning?? Proton on fire then got la!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
      • VtecBocor on Mar 16, 2015 at 1:36 pm

Why burning? It’s not like takata airbags which been proven!

• Francis on Mar 16, 2015 at 5:04 pm

Are you sure this is the first time Honda producing turbo-powered production model?

• exHonda on Mar 16, 2015 at 10:22 am

nice move. as long as the price is reasonable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • kington on Mar 16, 2015 at 11:54 am

I hope so too. But seeing how car prices in Malaysia increase, i wouldn’t be surprised if it hits RM140K. Smaller engine, yea, but they’d say newer technology.

• exHonda on Mar 16, 2015 at 10:24 am

Nice move. As long as the price is reasonable, should be less than current 1.8-2 litre

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 16, 2015 at 11:00 am

Cheaper no. They haven’t got wiggle room to price this lower than the current base 1.8 without bumping to the City V.

Quite likely the next Civic may only end up with a single powertrain option (if they go with the turbo 1.5), with base and premium versions only differentiated by trim and options.

The 1.5 turbo basically makes the current 1.8 and 2.0 redundent.

I would be really surprised if the new motor doesn’t find itself in the bigger base accord either…..making the top 2.4 even a questionable option.

• neemfa on Mar 16, 2015 at 1:24 pm

What they can do is offer the 2.0 turbo engine in different state of tunes.. since the type-r turbo already making more than 300hp, it will be easy for honda to detune and offer 220-260hp for wide range of vehicles (civic type-s, accord, odyssey, crv etc)

I have a feeling they will retain the current 1.8 n/a for a while, until they have a new engine to fill the gap between 1.5 turbo and 2.0 turbo.

• powershot (Member) on Mar 16, 2015 at 11:05 am

or might be the same

• Honda just have turbo engine????proton sudah lama ada turbo…to late honda…kah kah kah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 31
    • Afraid on Mar 16, 2015 at 12:16 pm

Tapi Proton Turbo 1.6L engine 138hp/205 torque dan 11km/L at constant speed 90km/h sahaja.
      Honda Turbo 1.5L 180hp/260nm torque dan 18km/L.
      First to get does not mean its good. Proton turbo engine lose out in HP, torque and fuel efficiency badly to a smaller engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
      • neemfa on Mar 16, 2015 at 1:12 pm

.. and not to mention lose out on reliability & refinement.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 16, 2015 at 1:18 pm

In fairness, you are not going to get anythere near to 18km/L if you are using 180hp/269NM.

At 1 Bar boost, a turbo 1.5 engine is breathing like a 3.0L NA car.

So it will also drink like a big CC car.

The only thing that helps, when you are not giving it the beans, is using fuel like a 1.5L NA car.

everyone I know complains that thier turbo car drinks more than expected, but thats because that low end torque can be intoxicating.

In fairness, i think the fuel numbers on the Preve turbo is quite realistic in real world application, considering its a lot heavier than the other B segment cars it often gets compared with. All it needs is a better gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
        • CFE only single charger, boosted to only 0.5 bar, that’s why lor

• Bob_B78 on Mar 16, 2015 at 2:15 pm

Preve is a c segment not b segment even it is priced in the b segment price range. Preve is not really heavy when compared to other c segment cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
        • Twincharger Rocks! on Mar 16, 2015 at 3:41 pm

I beg to differ turbo cars drinks more fuel than expected. I know there is a lot of hear say thing behind your answer but as a direct owner, the 1.4TSi is more fuel saving than my family Saga 1.3 IAFM/Campro. I know other owners claim of the TSi reliability but mine is fine. Stop redlining with the TSi… period.

• karam singh on Mar 16, 2015 at 7:09 pm

I just change my 1.4TSi golf engine
            MK6
            error code – misfire
            whole engine changed
            lucky still got warranty

• ayooo on Mar 16, 2015 at 3:59 pm

The CFE is a highly downtuned engine to allow the pairing of the engine with the CVT. The CVT can handle a max of 230Nm if Im not mistaken. The pressure boost max at a measly 0.8 bar eventhough the whole part of the engine is forged.

• With Turbo Direct Injection sure can achieve that figure.. Proton one just Basic Light Turbo Fuel Injection…

• gunnerzx on Mar 16, 2015 at 5:41 pm

@Afraid

There you are Afraid, many people can answer you, feel afraid now? Go out from cave. CFE is not that bad, at least you still feel the power surge of turbo when it kicks in.

Hahahahahahahh

• losley on Mar 16, 2015 at 2:45 pm

agree with fil…we are not talking about most luxury or sports car which using turbo but daily use turbo sedan/hatchback and MPV with price below 100k…i think proton way ahead on this chapter…protons
      vision followed by othes now…but still lot more to do proton…good job..

• UMW suxk on Mar 16, 2015 at 4:19 pm

HOnda start turbo earlier than proton la!
      Honda city!

• ss427 on Mar 16, 2015 at 10:48 am

The new 1.5L featured Direct Injection and a Euro 6 cert… something your Bolehland fuel just cant offer.

So I can bet u to the moon all Honda vehicles will not feature these high tech engines. I am sure Honda will continue a small production line for current old style engines just to cater for 3rd world countries.

SG and Thailand fuel will have no problems.

• Malaysia Boleh! on Mar 16, 2015 at 4:07 pm

*sacarsm* No bro… you got it wrong! Its not bolehland cant offer Euro6 fuel. Its because there is no demand for the fuel (Once said by our beloved minister). *facepalm* How la got demand if no suitable fuel to start with….

• karam singh on Mar 16, 2015 at 7:11 pm

Honda not ‘kedekut’ tech like Toyota .
      That still using same engine more than 10years

• DrCooper on Mar 16, 2015 at 11:07 am

Bravo for Honda…So only Toyota still held on it’s no replacement for displacement policy

• UMW suxk on Mar 16, 2015 at 4:17 pm

it’s not TOYOTA problems, the problem on UMW

• DrCooper on Mar 16, 2015 at 7:24 pm

Actually kinda Toyota problem..I remember some article in PT quoting one of Toyota seniors saying the company won’t following the European steps in downsizing the engine..

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 16, 2015 at 11:08 am

WOW!

I really hope it comes true though. Then we will get the 1.5 in the Euro Civic too! Could give the Golf the run for the money!

• azhar on Mar 16, 2015 at 11:14 am

malaysia will only get it on the next gen facelift version..thats bout 5 years time or in 2020

• Toyota No 1 on Mar 16, 2015 at 11:15 am

What Vtec? DVVT Toyota is better.. High RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
  • In America power is very good,M’sia’s 1.5 how??? Will get the compatible 1 as in US??? Pls don’t disappoint the future buyers later with some “cut down”!!

• Then most likely the next generation accord will come with this engine too. If really 180hp 260nm.. is even more powerful than current 2.4 accord.

• If it arrived in msia..

• This is the only Honda model i dont like. The back look so ugly and the front is so-so. The side is nothing special. But other models look ok.

• policeman on Mar 16, 2015 at 1:02 pm

Why do you care how a car looks like?

That’s like buying food for the way it looks.

• Campro inefficient on Mar 16, 2015 at 11:46 am

This would be a really bad news for the Proton fans. Last time they always say Proton got Turbo and can smoke all Jap cars easily with 205nm torque from 2000rpm. Now Honda comes out with a smaller 1.5L engine which has 42HP more and 75nm torque more than Campro 1.6L Turbo and with better fuel economy to boot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • cocol on Mar 16, 2015 at 1:47 pm

Yeah later when p1 got tubo GDI it’ll be bad news for Honda fans, kakakakakakaka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Campro inefficient on Mar 16, 2015 at 3:46 pm

The key word here is “WHEN P1 GOT TURBO GDI”
        It could be 2030? 2050? Even if P1 does come out with one it will still be lower performing than other current GDI turbo engines. Campro turbo is one perfect example when compared with other turbo engines. I would not be surprised if Honda version comes out first before P1.

• idealtech on Mar 16, 2015 at 9:00 pm

im one of those malaysians had and still have a proton n still to date living with the problems but u “campro inefficient” is a big little pu$$y. U keep on whining from every comment u look upon n feed others with hatred, omg everyone has other brand other than proton in their house so they darn well know about it so what?how can u even mix in a society with those attribute? i pity u marrow-deep. If you have a child n she/he end up beating u and leave u, will u put the blame on your child n proclaims she/he is doom to be in that state for eternal? everyting is subjected to evolution.

• UMW suxk on Mar 16, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Sohai. who recognize P1 in global?

• thedarkside on Mar 16, 2015 at 11:58 am

wah…thats about 177bhp…more than 2.4 engine output. kemon proton your 1.6 cfe engine output looks pathetic in comparison

• Wahahaha if you think all turbo setup is same then you are wrong.

Then let me compare CFE and n/a i-vtec so it looks pathetic not even touch 200Nm torque. LOL

• Campro inefficient on Mar 16, 2015 at 4:10 pm

While all turbo setup might be different it is still a comparison of turbos and in this case Campro Turbo is the weakest in terms of performance and efficiency.
        Yeah well NA i-vtec would definitely lose out in torque performance but why is it that your CFE has such high thirst for petrol? Go look at all the owner reviews of Preve CFE and they average out less than 9km/L mixed driving and 12km/L highway. Other brands with turbo engines has better fuel economy that Campro!! Since you compare NA engine, the new City 1.5L can easily achieve 12.5km/L urban/extra urban setting and 20km/L highway at speeds of 110km/h compared to Proton brochure 15km/L(if constant speed 90km/h which has never been achieved based on real users). I guess that’s the reason Honda has EEV status and not P1.

In conclusion P1 turbo has lower HP and torque than other smaller turbo engines and uses more petrol than even other 2.0L turbo engines or 2.5L NA engines.

• hess17 on Mar 16, 2015 at 5:45 pm

New City can be tarpaued easily even by much heavier Exora Turbo lor. Why?

Hint: Torque

• Waiting2020 on Mar 16, 2015 at 11:59 am

when ????
    2020??

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 16, 2015 at 12:33 pm

Rumours on Honda US forum (vtec.net) is that the next gen Civic (10G) will be shown to the public by end of 2015, with sales expected in 2016. So this could happen sooner than we expect – if you live in North America, who like big power & big torque.

As for Malaysia, I do hope we get the turbos too with the next gen (10G). As with anything new, engine reliability is unknown, but I do believe it will use existing engine blocks (the Earth Dreams 1.5 DI engine which powers the US Honda Fit), but with turbo for extra oomph. So, the engine is not 100% brand new. The concern is more on whether the drivetrain (gearbox) will be sufficiently adequate to handle that much extra torque.

• Finally a Japanese car that I will put money on. After years of driving euro turbo charged there is no going back to naturally aspirated.

• Preve engine don’t come with GDI and with the pathetic CVT. If Proton manage to sort that out or plonk in other gearbox or even come out with 6 speeder, it would be better. Most probably, this particular model will have some hard time in Malaysia due to our low quality fuel.

• roslan on Mar 16, 2015 at 1:09 pm

Msians again & again gets conned by Proton by claiming they have a turbo engine when in fact its just a con. low-pressure intercooled turbocharger
    with a pathetic Punch CVT.
    Preve & Exora Turbo is a farce.
    0-100km in 9.6 / 11.3 sec ???
    Just look at the limp numbers and judge
    for yourself. Don’t support blindly.

• vtechloser on Mar 16, 2015 at 1:43 pm

You got it there, it’s low-pressured, not twin charged or boosted over 1 bar, so why much fuss

Still, it’s torquey, better than 2.0l i-vtec

• Therealmaserati on Mar 16, 2015 at 1:10 pm

Thats the same power with a BMW 320i with a 2L engine.

The Japs really are awesome carmakers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • blackBJQ on Mar 16, 2015 at 1:25 pm

The FB design is sissy. Civic was nice up till FD only.

The new type r is of course another different league.

• Ben yap on Mar 16, 2015 at 2:01 pm

Now honda 1.5 can tapau vw 1.4.

Now, let’s meet at the traffic light.

• i have turbocharged my vios since 2010 and it can beat civic type r anytime. Now honda want to make Civic 1.5 turbo? Of course my vios turbo will beat this one too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
    • Your dinosaur Vios still need turbo charger running @ 107hp, Mazda2 NO turbo charger running @ 114 hp…
      your Vios with TRD can put in museum already!!!

• power of dreams on Mar 16, 2015 at 2:38 pm

All those haters gonna smell my smoke when my vtec turbo start kickin in yo.

• trdsticker on Mar 16, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Ok, you mean you got turbo sticker, yes?

Lolololol

• wong chee sin on Mar 16, 2015 at 6:04 pm

He mean he got Lexus Badge on Vios. Add 20hp

• Proton No 1 on Mar 16, 2015 at 3:02 pm

Proton Preve is much much better than civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • Wow! Syok sendiri! U might as well say better than Ferrari !!

• ayooo on Mar 16, 2015 at 3:45 pm

I own the preve and it is obvious that you are a troll meant to incite hatred towards preve from honda fans. The preve is only comparable but not better than the civic.

• UMW suxk on Mar 16, 2015 at 4:26 pm

sohai… P1 how to compare with global branding jap car?

• glivine on Mar 16, 2015 at 9:39 pm

Who cares, it’s more torquey than so-called global branding car

• notatool on Mar 16, 2015 at 3:34 pm

Turbo?? No! just no!, Malaysia driver drives kancil oso like drive ferrari. Potong here potong there..they need to be punished

• UMW suxk on Mar 16, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Downsizing, forced induction, low emission is global trend.
    Jap is late on this.
    Anyway, they catch up.

Less Ccs, forced induction, flat torque, higher horse power is global trend.
    Nowadays more ppl recognize effective flat torque are pretty important than 10 years ago.

Let’s boost up.
    Cleaner environment, less fuel, better handling, driving pleasure.

• UMW suxk on Mar 16, 2015 at 4:45 pm

UMW pls stop give malaysia lousy car!
    Less air bag, no VSC, no adaptive lamp, no blis, etc.
    what a shame!

• Honda turbo is a joke . just look at their F1 car …
    its slow like a snail ..what a shame ..

• Dear 000,
    What type of Turbo design that you can say is fast???!!!…if no answer, consider yourself also a slow like snail = SHAME

• darin on Mar 16, 2015 at 7:43 pm

From my sources from Proton, a version of this engine was supposed to be used on the Iriz. And also this 1.5 Turbo for future Proton models. DRB opened the doors but Proton couldn’t clich the deal. How sad.

• blaster88 on Mar 16, 2015 at 8:09 pm

Good move. Besides Hybrid…Light weight and small capacity engines with force induction is the way to go…BMW is going to put a 3 pot in their next gen 5 series…purist make go into convulsions but it their quest for more power and efficiencies at the same time…Hybrid plus/or forced induction is the only way to go…