Perodua’s “deadly” self-illuminating meter panel on Myvi and Alza – P2 CEO issues official statement

p2 meter statement

By now you would probably have read about Perodua’s self-illuminating instrument cluster in the Myvi and Alza, alleged to be “deadly” by one retired expat named Wolf Vaupel.

Here’s the background. The German’s wife bought a Myvi in August 2014. He discovers that the car’s self-illuminating meter panel lights up during the day, without the headlamps switched on, and claims in his blog that the feature is “deadly” because a lit up meter panel indicates that one’s headlights are on. This might lead to some forgetting to switch on their headlamps. He further claims that this feature does not comply to international safety standards.

Once a high-end feature, self-illuminating meter panels are now increasingly used in the auto industry, and have brand names such as Optitron (Toyota) and Fine Vision (Nissan). They light up once the car is started, as opposed to only when the headlights are switched on with traditionally lit clusters. Such dials appear sharper and are easier to read.

Motorists need to decouple the mental link between “headlights on” and “meter lights up” if they haven’t already done so – besides glow from the headlamps themselves, look out for the headlamp icon in the cluster, centre console illumination and reduced brightness of the meter panel as indicators.

Here’s an official statement by Perodua’s president and CEO, Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh, on the matter.

First and foremost, we wish to ensure our customers that our products and services are offered with safety-first in mind which strictly adhere to domestic safety standards set by the Malaysian government via its Ministry and various agencies. In fact, even the first generation Myvi (circa 2005-2011) is Euro 4 certified as Perodua exported to the United Kingdom previously. We have since improved on those safety features for our customers.

That being said, it has come to our attention that a blogger by the name of Wolf Vaupel has accused the Perodua Myvi and Alza of posing high safety risk to our customers.

In his blog posting 10th March 2015, Mr Vaupel claimed that the self-illuminating instrument cluster featured in both the Myvi and the Alza as “deadly”. According to Mr Vaupel’s logic, the self-illuminating instrument panel confuses drivers into thinking that the headlights are on.

We wish to clarify, that based on inquiries made to both the authorities and insurance companies showed that there is no such linkage concerning self-illuminating instrument cluster and road collisions at night. In addition, the self-illuminating instrument cluster is featured on other international brands and we are perplexed on why Mr Vaupel’s attacks are only directed to Perodua.

He further claims that the self-illuminating feature is against international regulations but fails to provide any evidence to his statements. We also wish to clarify, contrary to Mr Vaupel’s claim, that we have replied to his earlier inquiry about the matter.

Being a responsible organisation, we welcome our customers to share their views and grievances with us, however we will not tolerate unfounded allegations and we will take necessary action to protect our rights.

In any case, the new 2015 Perodua Myvi facelift has reverted back to the traditional backlit instrument cluster, which means that it won’t light up until the headlights are switched on.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tokmoh. on Mar 16, 2015 at 6:43 pm

Safety first hotak diaaa

Aminar too stingy to give a single bulb to let driver know headlamp is on, ptuih.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 27
    • sudonano (Member) on Mar 16, 2015 at 8:41 pm

Perodua and safety, like cats and water. They never go together.

Let’s not forget the awesome statement of 4 star safety is good. The irony that people buy it cause they think it’s a Toyota.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 6
      • Achtung on Mar 17, 2015 at 8:05 am

Dear Mr Wolf Vaupel,

Burning turbo engine and faulty power window is even more dangerous. Please take note also okay!

Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 65
        • PERODUA = 1MDB on Mar 17, 2015 at 9:16 am

Perodua is like 1MDB. Everything also sweep under the carpet. Everything also in denial. Everything also press release to deny and deny and deny.

At the end of the day, 1MDB will collapse. In P2’s case, an accident and death is waiting to happen.

Typical Malaysian company. Always in denial. Always waiting for one big collapse or accident before something is really done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 19
        • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Mar 17, 2015 at 11:27 am

Tell expat buy Iriz problem solved…

No big issue this or that… P2 CEO continue his “proud attitude”.

• Very Disgraceful CEO (Shocking Perodua) on Mar 17, 2015 at 9:02 am

I am shocked at this press release. Looks like PERODUA is so defensive and unethical.

Firstly, you should not go and say the blogger specifically attacked you. He did that in good faith for the betterment of the rakyat of Malaysia and our safety. It is so unbecoming and unethical of a CEO of a company to use words such as “attack”.

Secondly, as a company providing consumer products, the consumer is always right. You, as the CEO, should thank him and say, “we will try to implement this in our forthcoming cars”.

And the worst, low down thing is to “threaten” legal redress. Although not stated in clear words, the sentence and can contrued as Perodua “reserves the legal right without prejudice” to take action.

I have asked many people on this last paragraph and it sounds that Perodua is reserving the right to take legal action on this blogger.

This is so unethical and low down of a company and its CEO. To make matters worse, Perodua gave this press release to all the newspapers and online media.

May I remind Perodua one thing. You and Proton have a free ride in Malaysia. If not for MITI protecting Proton and Perodua and forcing all other manufacturers to push their prices way way way higher than Perodua and Proton, Perodua and Proton would have died long ago.

Be grateful to the rakyat. Be grateful to the comments the rakyat make. The blogger did it in good faith and it was no way an “attack” He was being kind enough to care for the rakyat of Malaysia and inform of such defects. It did not matter whether he was Malaysian or Mat Salleh, it is obvious he criticised in good faith.

It is very clear Perodua is an immature company immediately going out to lash a small tiny puny blogger. It is obvious the blogger must have hit a nerve and his advice must have been good, otherwise, Perodua won’t go all out to come out with a press release and call all the newspapers to get involved. Otherwise, in online forums, there are countless of complaints, why does not the Perodua CEO come out with press releases every other day to object such criticisms?

The behavious of Perodua and its CEO is so shocking. I would never buy a car from such an unethical company who does not know how to take constructive advice from its consumers and buyers.

Again I remind Perodua, if not for MITI protectionism, you won’t exist today in Malaysia. Be grateful to your buyers and the rakyat of Malaysia. Both you and Proton are getting a free ride in Malaysia, be grateful of it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 178 Thumb down 18
        • VerySilly on Mar 17, 2015 at 1:35 pm

I almost make a booking for the new MyVi. Thanks for his silly comment, I have decided to buy City. Can’t stand brainless CEO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
        • Boikott Perodua on Mar 17, 2015 at 4:08 pm

Like this, next time my Perodua got problem or I am unhappy with service centre and I complain, habis la. My complaint will be made nationwide by the CEO.

I think people should boikott a stupid company like this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
          • eagletalon on Mar 20, 2015 at 10:20 pm

next time if ur perodua breaks down, the ceo will tell u that other brands of cars will have changes to break down too..y u just attack perodua?

• eagletalon on Mar 20, 2015 at 10:17 pm

because the ceo dun even know wats the use of self-illu panel. perodua just follows other brands of cars. have u seen p1 or p2 invented any new design like rectract-side mirror, led headlamp, auto on/off headlight, rain sensor, auto aircond, etc, etc, etc?

• TotalMalaysian on Apr 01, 2015 at 10:03 pm

I personally think your comments are biased, in the sense you dislike Perodua or Proton. You also mentioned Perodua did not address in “clear words” on their reserving legal rights to press charges, which sounds like again a biased statement as this is only your perception of their saying. I also want Wolf Vaupel to show the policy or law or regulation where Perodua is breaking the law in terms of the display-panel being lit with no headlights. Anyone can make any statement but he or she must have the facts to back him or her up especially related to safety or accusing someone for not practising safe standards. If not, can they not be regarded as “attacking”? I am not protecting Perodua nor Proton, but we have to see both sides of the story. It is good to listen to criticism, but not destructive criticism. It is also very sad to see fellow Malaysians making statements on them choosing another car just because they “cannot stand brainless CEO”. As for the headlights not being turned on just because of a lit display-panel, it is very clear it is the driver’s negligence and ignorance. When Mercedes had their safety system fail on their S-classes a few years ago, did it deter Malaysians from buying those cars? Did you guys lash out on the CEO to be “brainless”? The car is a tool, we humans use it. If you can’t even turn on the headlights just because you “think” the panel is lit which should mean lit headlights, you are not fit to be on the road.

• DonkeyKong on Mar 17, 2015 at 1:12 am

Whatever the denials and refutations, it is still very common to see drivers of cars with always-illuminated instrument panels forgetting to turn on their headlights at night, especially on well-lit road stretches.

The danger is that while the vision of the driver isn’t impaired in any way by not turning on the lights, other drivers have difficulty seeing the car in their rearview and wing mirrors since the headlights are not turned on. It’s just the same as how we may not be able to notice a car next to us if their lights are not turned on during a heavy rain.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 3
      • Dzulkefli Zainol on Mar 17, 2015 at 6:36 am

A very true statement as I have personally seen many MyVi cars without headlights turned on. Not only that this endangers the driver of that car but most importantly it may lead to excident to others who are caught by surprises. Besides the bright dash board glares the eyes when headlights are not turned on at night which also may endanger the driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
      • Very Disgraceful CEO (Shocking Perodua) on Mar 17, 2015 at 9:10 am

This is such healthy comment by the blogger. I too have seen so so many Peroduas driving without their lights on in the night.

Pity the blogger. He gives a valid and good constructive criticism, he gets shot down badly.

So many times I have flashed and flashed and flashed at Perodua cars who don’t have their lights on. they completely ignore me because the HONESTLY believe their lights are really on.

So dangerous. So so so dangerous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
        • What Linkage??? on Mar 17, 2015 at 11:32 am

In Europe, NCAP will fail if you don’t look after pedestrian safety. Even if you car is so great with 100 airbags also, if you don’t care about pedestrian safety, your car fails NCAP.

Don’t know how Perodua can pass Asian NCAP

• BoycottPerodua on Mar 18, 2015 at 4:58 pm

I have seen many times too!

Why not, as a suggestion – we all take photo and video collectively.. and have 1 repository or youtube channel to publish it! this way – will heighten the awareness from consumer around this issue – that might cause perodua to recall all model that have this risk!

• What Linkage??? on Mar 17, 2015 at 11:14 am

….based on inquiries made to both the authorities and insurance companies showed that there is no such linkage concerning self-illuminating instrument cluster and road collisions at night.

I got knocked down by a Perodua without his headlights on. It was a dark purple Myvi. I could not see the car. I walked and crossed the road. Lucky I did not die. Perodua, why are you waiting for the linkage? What if I had died?

There is no linkage between instrument cluster and accidents BUT I am sure there is a lot of linkage between cars with no headlights and accidents. On heavy rainy days, no headlights….sure mati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
        • What Linkage??? on Mar 17, 2015 at 11:40 am

based on inquiries made to both the authorities and insurance companies showed that there is no such linkage concerning self-illuminating instrument cluster and road collisions at night

• Fikri on Mar 17, 2015 at 12:28 pm

I am ashamed as a Malaysian that public feedback for the betterment of the masses were deemed a sinister attack by Perodua CEO/company. He should realised that the impacts on the public are a lot more important that the hit Perodua will take from the constructive critism, because eventually, life and safety of people are paramount than a company well being.
          Yes i have seen many cars with self illuminating meters do not turn ON their headlights at nights. And i do not think they purposely forget this crucial safety feature. There must be some reason why Perodua took out self illuminating meters from the latest Myvi after it had been there for a LONGGG… LONGGG time. The public want strong detection, regulations, oversight and enforcements from all related authorities and relevant parties such as in developed countries(which is why they became developed anyway) to improve the welfare of the public.

I doubt that the motor insurance system in Malaysia have a pro active way to register and take countermeasure on the causes of accidents such as off headlights here. My cars have been hit in a few accidents and the way police reports and workshop repairs were conducted leaved a lot to be desired to customers. Police reports tend to focus on the damages incurred, not on taking countermeasure and then incorporate it into robust enforcement, regulations and public educations. While workshop and insurance do not give reports as SOP to all parties involved in an accident. Heck, involved parties do not even get the cost billed by the workshop, even PIAM workshops. When all these are not transparent to consumers, it will leave the impression that the cost of repairs billed by workshops are jacked up unnecessarily which insurance industry just passed through by increasing premiums year after year. And the causes fo accidents such as not switching ON the headlights will pass into oblivion because taking proactive measure and countermeasure will surely reduce accidents which then entitles the public to demand lower premiums from insurance idustry due to the savings the industry achieves.

• So Malu lah! on Mar 17, 2015 at 4:22 pm

I am ashamed of Perodua. I hope the blogger sue Perodua for defamation and we should all boycot this Perodua

I was about to buy a Myvi, now, I am going to work harder and add a bit more and buy a Honda City. So malu lah!

• BoycottPerodua on Mar 18, 2015 at 5:01 pm

Have you got the proof to support your allegation? this is very serious! if you can post the date of accident and some police report detail (without divulging personal information for safety) – this would be helpful to help the blogger to build his case for perodua!

• Rafy Azman on Mar 17, 2015 at 7:16 am

ok sorry for not understanding this claim u made but isnt there headlamp indicator on the dashboard? Or at least u can tell that the headlamp is on by looking at the lever switch(usually on the right hand side of the steering wheel-the same lever used to indicate turn signal)?

• Achtung on Mar 17, 2015 at 8:12 am

Dear Mr. Wolf Vaupel,

Santan (coconut milk) also more dangerous for driving. Our local meal Nasi Lemak which contain lots of Santan may cause sleepiness. It is as dangerous as drunk driving DUI. Please take note also okay.

Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
        • PERODUA = 1MDB on Mar 17, 2015 at 9:23 am

Small complaint but Perodua, like all Government department, must have big meeting, press conference, minum teh, makan kuih lapis and karipap to brainstorm this issue.

This is typical Malaysian company. Now, Perodua will have about ten different meetings to discuss how to combat this blogger. Each meeting, they can eat karipap, makan kuih lapis and minum teh.

Hello Perodua, concentrate on improving your cars. That is more important.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
        • PERODUA = 1MDB on Mar 17, 2015 at 9:24 am

Like 1MDB, Perodua is hiding its head under the carpet. Don’t want to face issues.

• Your Header should be Perodua=Takata

Seems more appropriate since both have major Japanese influence and response to issues.

• tokmoh. on Mar 17, 2015 at 9:29 am

http://s1.paultan.org/image/2014/09/Proton_Compact_Car_PCC_Iriz_012.jpg

In iriz, it’s next to right indicator, above ABS light.

http://paultan.org/2014/11/07/toyota-corolla-altis-1-8g-officially-introduced/corolla-altis-1-8g-optitron/

In Altis, it’s between revmeter and temperature needle.

• Radio button will lit on when the headlights is turn on. Isn’t that enough for and indicator? The whole dashboard lit up.

• Yap it happened to me a few times. … driving my Myvi without the head lamp on. So I’ve put a sticker on the steering wheel and dashboard to remind me to turn it on.

• Maserati(Official) on Mar 16, 2015 at 6:47 pm

Perodua only know how to whine like small kid, improve la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 27
  • sudonano (Member) on Mar 16, 2015 at 6:47 pm

The German dude does have a point, while I do believe you should be stupid to not turn on the lights at night and not realise the gearshift, dashboard lights are all off at night, Toyota, BMW, Mercedes and Audi all have a “lights on” indicator. Even Proton’s Suprima, Preve, and I believe the Persona and Exora have it too. It’s an odd oversight though.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 4
    • tokmoh. on Mar 16, 2015 at 6:55 pm

I don’t think Persona facelift had “lights on” indicator, not earlier batches at least. Now dunno if they changed it or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • Proton did installed lightlamps indication on Persona as my parent both drive the 1st gen and the elegent version, as instead of such a big debate on self-illumination….i think the government need to educate or even impose stricter law on ppl who do not even on their headlamp even at night worst still during vry heavy rains

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
        • tokmoh (Member) on Mar 16, 2015 at 9:59 pm

Didn’t notice any when I drive my friend’s.

It may be driver’s fault, but the meter panel is misleading driver.

Old school works best, why fix something not broken? Why can we used to drive without panels lighting up at daytime?

• theanswer on Mar 17, 2015 at 10:13 am

the meter is misleading yes. i drive 2 version of myvi. but i rely on my eyes..not the meter. if it’s dark..i turn on the lights..no need to depends on the meter.

• Gargantia on Mar 16, 2015 at 6:52 pm

As mentioned last post, Bolehland car have np responsibly and only know how to BLAME on Rakyat or foreigners making issues…

We’re Rakyat Right? All only available are Stupid and Lousy “Cronies Right” in Bolehland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 34
    • notatool on Mar 16, 2015 at 7:20 pm

Start saying Malaysia instead of Bolehland first then talk…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 12
      • Lpost on Mar 16, 2015 at 7:27 pm

Maybe he is originate from ‘Timor Leste’..haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
        • Gargantia on Mar 16, 2015 at 7:46 pm

And that why your beloved DrM still in power over your brain and mind…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 43
          • Sorry, but this is Malaysia. If you are looking for Bolehland, the door is that way—->

• Gargantia on Mar 16, 2015 at 7:44 pm

If truly Malaysia there are no different on races.

Since DrM Bolehland monopolies the industry so… are this’s still the Malaysia that we know?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 40
        • fabress on Mar 17, 2015 at 8:07 am

No different on races, you mean 1Malaysia? Go and read more kid, you must be hear a lot but didn’t read one

• Gargantia on Mar 17, 2015 at 9:22 am

1MALAYSIA is good…
            but non bumi policy still running so… go read history kid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • policeman on Mar 16, 2015 at 6:55 pm

LED also want to cut cost…

I wonder what else the omit when they rebadge.

Shameful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • Ayooo on Mar 16, 2015 at 6:59 pm

Safety first? What a joke. They cant even fit a simple sensor to detect if a door is properly closed or not. How many myvi with their door not properly closed driving on the road do you see everyday? Worst still if a child is sitting in there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 10
    • if u want to accuse, at least give a legit one. not a baseless accusation. myvi doesnt have a door sensor? u are in what world?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 16
      • Drive a first gen.myvi u will know

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
        • ..and first gen alza too. sometime my door sensor stop working, until i make ‘manual’ adjustment with my finger. Works for 3 days and it happens again.. all these for the last 3 yrs.

• alza owner on Mar 17, 2015 at 10:59 am

What first 5yrs? My 2012 alza got faulty door switch on both driver n front passenger side since day one..complaint but no remedy measure taken. Btw produa can improve by adding the indicator telling the driver the lights are not turned on.i see alot of alza n myvi otr not switching on lights especially on well lid roads.

• whynot on Mar 17, 2015 at 3:26 am

I agreed that Myvi door switch fails in less than 5 years. My Myvi was year 2010. Both back passenger door switch failed to lights up when it is not closed properly. Does this happened to all Myvi owners also? Please enlighten me please…

• BLT_Club on Mar 16, 2015 at 7:00 pm

If a driver does not know his/her lights are not on at night, the driver does not belong on any road. Seriously, you have to be a special kind of clueless to not know. Stop blaming car manufacturers, the driver is responsible.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 20
    • tokmoh. on Mar 16, 2015 at 7:21 pm

It can actually happen if one is driving along routes entirely well lit eg busy commercial spots like SS15 subang. It’s quite common to see people driving in this area with lights off.

Fortunately it’s easier to see these cars at these area, just hope they realise their lights are off when they drive to darker areas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
      • pxp154 on Mar 16, 2015 at 7:30 pm

Betul!!!
        I’ve seen these so often. Driver SS syiok sendiri during evening/heavy rain… making life of other road users dangerous. esp.cyclist/runners.

• Busuk90 on Mar 17, 2015 at 11:42 am

You know the drill la..when you enter your car..first you will turn on the engine, then if it’s already dark outside, of course you will turn on the light as well. Such a stupid accusation.

• frossonice on Mar 17, 2015 at 8:49 am

Now all the demons inside Perodua’s cars start to come out. Previously many people talk about Perodua’s cars like they are god’s car, no problem whatsoever.

• Honda City Got the Same Problem on Mar 16, 2015 at 7:05 pm

I just saw yesterday the new Honda city lady driver at around 9.30pm along the highway which was lit up, the driver was completely obvious that she did not on her car head lamps at all, passing next to the lady driver, I could easily see her face glowing in the colors of the instrument cluster lights, blue and white lights, which she would have though her car lights is on. Again, this was the latest Honda City model Spec V 2015 as the had new registration number plates.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 6
  • dumb driver hater on Mar 16, 2015 at 7:07 pm

tbh, p2’s reply is dumb, because it produced such a “technology” that makes the drivers dumb by confusing such that it’s illuminated even without headlights are on.

and p2 is also accusing other international brands of using such technology without the headlight indicator which p2 is missing in the Alza and Myvi.

and the statement says that the headlights are not on during night time, it’s not “deadly”. wow, i wish you p2 guys can just turn off the headlights and drive during midnight since it’s not “deadly”.

congratulations on the reply perodua, i hope you guys get sued.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 8
  • safety first in mind ? your product in basic level trim no ABS and your high end model no ESP. so this is p2 idea of safety first ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • tokmoh. on Mar 16, 2015 at 7:24 pm

Their 12 months bonus’ safety is secured first.

Our life? Not even worth a single bulb to tell “lights on”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • abahaku on Mar 17, 2015 at 8:55 am

even a “standard 1” ABS is not compulsory to all P2 vehicles…still safet first?

• AKoNGz on Mar 16, 2015 at 7:19 pm

Mat salleh complain, jadi isu negara. Rakyat complain, complain masuk jamban. Kalau boleh, orang tu sekali kena masuk jamban

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 2
  • Azlan Aziz on Mar 16, 2015 at 7:20 pm

Ok, now i understand why. Before this a few times i try to tell (by body sign mostly) a few myvis that their headlamp is not switch on (at night). But seems the message didnt get thru. I been wondering, how can they not noticed it because their meter panel shud be dark when the headlamp not on. But now i know why they didnt noticed it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • Singh on Mar 16, 2015 at 7:44 pm

Quite an ‘arrogant’ statement issued by the Produa CEO. He could have worded it in a more respectable manner.
    After having issued such statement, it’s quite laughable now how come the new 2015 Perodua Myvi facelift has reverted back to a more ‘safer’ traditional backlit instrument cluster which now doesn’t light up until the headlights are properly switched on?!
    I guess the German guy did make a point after all, and wasn’t even been thanked properly.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
  • Trying to divert attention?

What has euro 4 or for that matter what euro standards the engine certified got to do with the issue at hand?

Terrible response..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • tokmoh (Member) on Mar 16, 2015 at 9:45 pm

Typical crony mentality, u kutuk I, u seditious.

If in Europe, consumer rights, health and safety inspectors will investigate and u think they’ll accept such response? They’ll be banned like Lotus now banned in USA for not being safe enough. Not only that, with such rude response mocking consumers’ intelligence, they’ll get shamed and lose reputation.

Of course other cars got self illuminating, but at least they have indicators in some way to tell the lights are on/off.

Perodua? The fact many comments here spotted numerous Myvi drivers with lights off, I rest my case.

• Painter on Mar 16, 2015 at 8:18 pm

Perodua CEO need not be so uptight in his reply.

He needs to chill out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Cause the CEO never drive MYVI and they don’t understand the MYVI driver needs. CEO knows how to reply mail only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • therealmaserati on Mar 16, 2015 at 8:21 pm

Thats why I always see Myvis driving without their headlamps on at night.

Cuz the light frm the speedo is so bright some drivers think their lights are on!

• Sorry to say but this illuminating panel technology is dangerous indeed.it does confuse the driver.my wife experienced once from sg.besi until we reached home at senawang.and recently there are drivers which didn turn on d headlamp on hiways.

• Concerned on Mar 16, 2015 at 9:07 pm

They should taken the mr V statement and improvise besides talking of allegations.. Its already a feedback from a customer..

• THE GERMAN GOT A POINT THERE BUT THIS P2 CEO REPLY IS SO BLOODY DEFENSIVE AND ARROGANT….. TYPICAL CORNERED BOSS WITHOUT INTEL…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Tiger on Mar 16, 2015 at 9:11 pm

Why such a defensive and rude reply?? Instead of finding a solution ( maybe a recall ) this guy went to accuse the customer of ” targeting” his company and challenged him to provide evidence that the car matched international standards…excuse me, it is on the manufacturers onus to PROVE that they complied with such standards, not the buyer!!the fact that they reverted back to ” traditional” display on later models proved something…thanks, u just loat another potential buyer with such arrogance

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 17, 2015 at 12:09 am

There is probably no such standard written down in some rule book, however it’s how cars are usually made. Imagine them switching gas and brake pedal. Might be legal, but it will lead to accidents.

• powershot (Member) on Mar 16, 2015 at 9:23 pm

myvi is still not a safe car

• TU DIA MAT SALEH KOMPLAIN…..CEO KENA JAWAP,,,HEHE… AMIKKAU,….

• elpaciko on Mar 16, 2015 at 9:31 pm

as always… nobody complain about toyota which having exactly the same feature.

• The CEO is a typical Jaguh Kampung mentality. First he claimed no issue but later He claimed the newer versions have been adapted back with the traditional backlit instrument cluster. 2 x 5 = 5x 2 daaaa…

• fluffy on Mar 16, 2015 at 9:53 pm

Safety first in mind?! Must be a joke… how does he respond to the fact that the axia base model doesn’t even come with proper safety features…. berapa airbag??? berapa airbag??? Ptuihh punya perodua

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 17, 2015 at 4:59 am

I thought the Axia has 2 airbags? It does not have ABS, which it should. Otherwise, come on, 25k. Cars above 40k don’t have an excuse for not having stability control, and cars above 60k don’t have an excuse for not having 6 airbags. But at 25k… at least the Axia is safer than the Myvi (apart from the lack of ABS).

• Busybee on Mar 16, 2015 at 9:59 pm

Am i really understanding this comments right? From the dawn of instrument cluster the lights would dim when you switch on the headlights . Therefore if the instrument lights are glaring in ur face means ur outside lights are off.. How the hell can someone think the opposite. Even all German makes are the same. “The lights on” indication is because of auto head light not so to tell u just switched on the lights. Expat Germans are the rejects of their own country cause they can’t qualify to work in their field of speciality hence leave to 3rd world and developing nations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 17, 2015 at 12:12 am

Damn small buttons on the screen. That should have been a thumb down.

Long before auto headlights there has always been a symbol to show the lights are on. I haven’t ever seen a car without, unless we are talking about 50 year old cars or so.

• Jacques on Mar 16, 2015 at 10:09 pm

Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh thanks for standing out regarding to this issue. But as a Perodua customer myself, I would appreciate if Datuk could elaborate further on how Perodua comply towards the international standards.

• Now I know Euro 4 certified car is a status indicate that the car is comply with european safety standard.

• Myazlan on Mar 16, 2015 at 10:19 pm

perodua ceo should thank this german guy instead of threatening to sue him.
    When people give sincere comment to improve, we should appreciate. Not threaten or condemn.

• Think on Mar 16, 2015 at 10:56 pm

Well, you can blame car manufacturers all you want, about this and that. In the end, it is the responsibility of the driver to ensure that they are well prepared for the conditions ahead. we humans are becoming more dependent on technology, which can be both good and bad. you cannot let an instrument cluster illumination be the final deciding factor to show that you are ready to drive at night. Check your surroundings, if im not mistaken in a myvi, instrument cluster light is always on, but what about the aircon controls? radio buttons? gear console? i dont think these are always lit up unless you yourself flip the switch. just my 2 cents

-peace-

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 17, 2015 at 12:16 am

Most other cars, until recently all other cars have tje dashboard lights off until you turn on the lights. So if you are used to those you can indeed be misled. Of course if you have driven the car more than once at night you should notice that that isn’t a clear indicator in this model. But if it lacks the small green and blue light telling you headlights are on that is indeed bad.

And the SA should have told him when handing over the keys that this model has the dashboard lights on all the time, so you need to pay attention to the center console lights.

• Observer on Mar 16, 2015 at 11:10 pm

Just one question Aminar….

If it’s not a safety concern why did you switch back the meter cluster of Axia and Myvi 2015 to the way that the German expat said it should be??

LOL…APTB…

• Sandiwara (Member) on Mar 17, 2015 at 12:06 am

Next blame manufacturers for not installing a seat that detects you have a hole in your underwear because cold air from the aircond can seep in and cold shock your balls and make you shudder and loose control of the car
    Yeah because its a safety issue

Next blame manufacturers for not installing a device that ensure a women’s bra is properly cupped before driving, because they might feel uncomfortable when driving and had to adjust it and cause an accident.
    Yeah its a needed safety device too

People now adays are really that dumb to drive and take responsibilities of their own actions
    I dont know how can we allow dumb and blind individuals that couldn’t differentiate their headlights are on or off when driving at night to actually go on the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
    • another observer on Mar 17, 2015 at 12:12 am

Sometime smart poeple bacome dumb when they tired.. That “sometime” may kill others.. How dumb your statement.. Kehkeh..

• Sandiwara (Member) on Mar 17, 2015 at 12:29 am

You’re not suppose to drive when you’re tired
        You’re also not suppose to drive when you’re unwell or under medications that causes drowsiness
        The same goes when you are drunk
        Its a driver’s responsibilities

Then blame the manufacturer for not installing a tiredness detector, sick detector, under medication detector, and alchohol detector?

Your statement is neither any smarter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
        • another observer on Mar 17, 2015 at 1:39 am

Heh.. Yeah.. ur statement showing ur not a robot.. Not blaming manufacturer bout not installing those detectors.. But to equipt something to assist driver on their safety.. Car – assist driver to go home safely..

Dont say u never drove ur car when u tired.. Never once?? Come on.. Be realistic man.. c”,) dont to robotic..

• Sandiwara (Member) on Mar 17, 2015 at 1:56 am

I take a rest at rest areas, have a drink or a pee to freshen up

So what if people then says they too tired and signs are confusing?
            Manufacturers then have to put
            THIS LIGHT MEANS YOUR HEADLAMPS ARE OFF
            THIS LIGHT MEANS YOUR HANDBRAKES ARE OM
            THIS LIGHT MEANS YOU ARE RUNNING OUT OF FUEL?

And people says they too tired to check the indicators?
            Manufacturers have to call them or program the radio to remind them every 2 minutes to check their meters for any fault indicators?

Its you who need to be realistic and not being robotic
            That every thing you do you need to be told or reminded

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 17, 2015 at 12:18 am

Street lights can be pretty bright at night.

• Sandiwara (Member) on Mar 17, 2015 at 1:02 am

Headlamps can be checked in a brightly lit environment by checking the reflection off the vehicle in front

• Well.. Based on that.. How we remove
      1. Hand brake notification
      2. Door ajar notification
      3. Rpm meter

People should know that when they want to drive. They must release their handbrake..

Same goes to door ajar .. Go around the car ensure all door are close before u start moving. Why need indication

Rpm? Who the hell on earth need that?why u need rpm meter cluster?

Peace no war

• another observer on Mar 17, 2015 at 12:09 am

Thats why others always let their middle finger going up whenever they saw myvi and alza on the road – at night!! Phuuiih..

• M Shahril on Mar 17, 2015 at 1:27 am

I’m glad to see Malaysian company take charge of customer complaint and comment. My wife report a complaint to Nissan before but to date there were no response. This shows that Malaysian company has higher responsibility of their product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • atilla on Mar 17, 2015 at 1:45 am

Indication? Seriously? U need indication just to tell ur light is on or off? When u knew u’ll drive at night, automatically ur brain will connect to ur bodies to lift ur hand to switch on the light. Closed door will result ur autolock functioning when u step on the brake. Dun worry, next time perodua will install farting meter on the dashboard too, for our passenger safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • kadajawi supporter on Mar 17, 2015 at 1:47 am

Well.. if you are going to improve safety, japanese told us to follow 4M sequence which is Machine, Material, Method and lastly Man… the most expensive to the most cheaper… and Japanese told us to ensure fool-proof (pokayoke) system installed… they also told us to do this and that.. but contradict to that, why such they not applied those prevention system for headlights in Myvi and Alza?

I used to work with p2.. and I still believe proton are better in term of vehicle safety sankaku ‘s’ item rather than p2… hope JPJ can re-check the gazetted regulations and explain to public what is the standards set by Malaysian law for this item…

• Kumar on Mar 17, 2015 at 2:29 am

The CEO proudly exclaimed that the Myvi is Euro 4 certified. Does he really know the meaning of that actually? Because Euro 4 certification refers to the type of fuel compliant, but certainly is not referring to any safety standards.

• rambo on Mar 17, 2015 at 9:59 am

Euro4 refers to exhaust emission level in europe.Nothing to do with safety. Headlight indicator is a must does not matter you have a super technology or what not

• Thomas on Mar 17, 2015 at 4:48 am

When a car’s instrument panel confuses the driver to not really knowing whether the car’s headlights are switched “on” or “off”, doesn’t this constru for a major rectification safety recall to be carried out?

• roxas on Mar 17, 2015 at 6:29 am

i am waiting for that mat salleh to shoot back this CEO with a good one.

• i don’t have any problem with this meter panel issue. But i think this is a pretty bad PR letter.

• Kingmen Ipoh on Mar 17, 2015 at 8:17 am

People who didnt light up the head light at dark should drive the car at all , for sure they have some eye sight problem. If out side getting dark just switch on the light lah, you need indicator for to tell you its dark outside. the german also do this lah..back at his kampung

• P2 owner for 10 yrs on Mar 17, 2015 at 8:23 am

Sorry to say, P2’s safety is not up to par. Hw many times have we seen P2 drivers/passengers died in accidents where the car was badly damaged? Until 2015, they still offer only 2 airbags without ESC, worse than Proton.

• For improvement,maybe manufacturers can design so that a dboard panel self illuminates only if headlights is selected to switch on automatically by lux sensing

• Same Lorrr on Mar 17, 2015 at 8:39 am

Buy toyota better

• safety 1st on Mar 17, 2015 at 8:55 am

“there is no such linkage concerning self-illuminating instrument cluster and road collisions at night.”
    I am surprised how a CEO can make such a statement. The concerns raised by the German’s blogger was that without a headlight indicator, his wife couldn’t tell whether her car’s headlight switch on or not. When she drives her car without the headlight on especially at night, this will risk on collision. That is the linkage mr CEO.

BMW F10,pre facelift, for instant, have a self illuminating cluster that changes from white light to amber depending on the surrounding light intensity. If you get into a basement of a building, the cluster will change from white to amber even if you switched off the headlight (and all the ambient light inside the car will automatically illuminate), even though you cant tell if your headlight is switch on by just looking across the windshield since the daytime running light still illuminating quite a gleaming light, the driver will only know that his headlight is switched on by 1. Looking at the light switch, 2 By looking at the headlight indicator in the cluster.

So if mr German here so used to driving his German car, then he will surely gets confused with our 3rd world car.

• miza pilah on Mar 17, 2015 at 9:08 am

Let the RnD people implement the best product for up-to-date cars, people will get used to new products, Perodua shud proceed with state-of-the-art cars. Syabas Perodua.

• If safety is so important to Perodua, please consider adding electronic stability control to your all your cars, it’s a mature technology that has been widely accepted and proven to reduce road accidents worldwide and it’s an inexpensive feature.

• MazdaTheAwakening on Mar 17, 2015 at 10:01 am

Just wondering…if safety and quality are built into their core values then why there’s no DSC/VSC/EPS, more airbags? Hmmmmmmmm…

• “We wish to clarify, that based on inquiries made to both the authorities and insurance companies showed that there is no such linkage concerning self-illuminating instrument cluster and road collisions at night. ”

Statement above made by the CEO.

Now, please tell us honestly after checking with the insurance companies for statistics on accidents to driving at night without switching on headlights? Your Myvi causes drivers to sometimes be confused whether their headlights are ‘on’ or ‘off’ dude. This is certainly a safety concern!

• my myvi clusters are too bright at night and that missing indicator to show lights are on is always in mind of how stupid p2 by not having it.

• probably they are scared since they have to get daihatsu to re engineer the system since they are only car assemblers pretending to be a malaysian car..

• Manusia on Mar 17, 2015 at 10:29 am

When user turn on the lights, yes, the meter panel become dimmer. But, you can set the brightness of the meter panel. If you set the brightness same for the two condition, you cannot see any change.

Please change it Perodua. We don’t want good looking car first, but safety first

• It is so funny when during manufacturing perodua (as they said follow TPS-Toyota Production System) implemented “poka yoke” (method to prevent careless by human) in their prod line, but then failed to continue this method for their customers. It shows how they dont care about their cars after they got the money by answering this way.

• When you have self illuminating meter…you must have an indicator if your small light on and your headlight is on. If not, drivers will have difficulties to notice the different.

Other car use self illuminating meter too but they got indicator for lamp.

• Milo Tin user on Mar 17, 2015 at 10:42 am

Jgn la malah2. I dah pakai milo tin bertahun2… Kualiti mesti la cam tu…. Tapi service mahal giler dari foreign cars…

• William on Mar 17, 2015 at 10:53 am

Actually It seem to be small issue, as i think for this illuminating meter was nothing effect which are a personal problem. If daytime, the headlamp is turn on. Even you shut off the car there’s is a warning buzzer remind users to turn off the light unless You are deaf, if not It notice very clearly .

Seriously, if you can afford for a better car. This won’t be happen.

Not to said the P2 is right.
    Both party should be more study on it.

• kojol on Mar 17, 2015 at 10:53 am

safety “EURO 4” tuuuuuuu… but for the model 10 years ago.

• oh please! on Mar 17, 2015 at 11:41 am

Dear CEO,

Do you need a better PR/Corp Comm person for this job?

Obviously the person need to be send back to University.

• taktau nama on Mar 17, 2015 at 11:42 am

where can i read the original article from Mr Wolf Vaupel?

• Cadbury on Mar 17, 2015 at 11:58 am

Also dun forget, most Perodua cars their third brake light is not working or faulty. I easily can spot at least 10 Perodua cars having this problem every time i’m driving.

Sigh.

• same kot on Mar 17, 2015 at 11:58 am

yup myvi..annoying perodua myvi…same lorr where is same lorr??please defend this adik toyota..

• UMW Mampus on Mar 17, 2015 at 12:12 pm

Apa lagi German mau? Lu tak suka lu balik Germany! Cukurlah Malaysia masih aman…

• Same Lorrr on Mar 17, 2015 at 12:26 pm

Buy Toyota, high RV.

• earl hasz on Mar 17, 2015 at 12:59 pm

Don,t blame the car…..blame it on the driver….
    If you a responsible n coutious driver…you,ll know when to switch on your headlamp…..no big deal with the illuminating meter panel….

• william on Mar 17, 2015 at 1:03 pm

Aku drive toyota hilux 3.0.lampu panel dia pun akan sedia menyala bila kunci on.toyota pun tak ikut inernational standard ke??:)

• pirlo on Mar 18, 2015 at 3:21 pm

bang.. baca balik semula artikel di atas. isu dia bukan pasal lampu panel tu sedia menyala bila kunci on ke tak.

tolong baca semula.

please.

jangan jadik malaysian yg nak disuap je.

terima kasih.

• earl hasz on Mar 17, 2015 at 1:06 pm

One more thing…..bad pr letter….too harsh

• xoxox on Mar 17, 2015 at 1:16 pm

What if you turn on the light but both bulb is broken, u still didn’t notice it when u driving? it just the same when u drive but didn’t turn on the light….and you couldn’t notice it? so who/what to be blame?car or drivers? When driving at night, always switch on the light just right after start the engine, is it that hard? or when you feel that ur car light is dim or your eyesight is dark, can check the headlight switch first and then only the bulb?is it that hard?
    Always check your car light bulb, especially backup light/break light/reverse light/signal light bulb which are also very important…not only headlight bulb

• Lembut on Mar 17, 2015 at 2:08 pm

pity this Wolf Vaupel, expat but use Perodua only ah? Myvi summore. i lol hard.

no point talking about other international brand new car, i bet he/she never drive any of them. in malaysia oso use myvi. lol.

• LEDindicator on Mar 17, 2015 at 2:37 pm

for those who still don’t get into the discussion, the link below (hope PT will approve it) shows the light “ON” indicator (green light pointing left and right):
    http://dfluk.com/corsa/images1/fog_lights_indicator_lamp_640.jpg

• rally_fan (Member) on Mar 17, 2015 at 3:18 pm

the human element is the problem.. not turning on lights when you need to is just one of many problems malaysian drivers have.. likewise not using indicators, queue jumping..etc. etc. etc. going to work early in the morning.. its very common to see cars with no headlights on by 650am.. just because its technically “day” time.. these drivers do not bother to turn on their lights although it is still very very dark outside.

• kumar on Mar 17, 2015 at 3:34 pm

‘In any case, the new 2015 Perodua Myvi facelift has reverted back to the traditional backlit instrument cluster, which means that it won’t light up until the headlights are switched on’

Why do you need to revert back if there is nothing WRONG? HE is contradicting himself. so freaking unbelievable. this is the product of our education system? always on the defensive? this is the quality of our CEOs? we are doomed.

• kumar on Mar 17, 2015 at 3:39 pm

why need to revert to old meter if nothing wrong?

• Whynot on Mar 18, 2015 at 3:13 am

In the manufacturing point of view, if you have an advanced display, it giving good selling power. But consciousness of safety evaluation and design engineering had already detect the fault before the final casting of the production. This is obviously a denial and ignorant part of Perodua to go back to the old display where you can simply just add a low and high beam indicator to the display to solve the problem. This is how business man talk about how good and safety of their Perodua. Personally I think all Malaysian will said it really sucks to go back to that old mentality simply to cut cost. Just could not accept such excuses!

• kenny on Mar 17, 2015 at 4:07 pm

I dont owned or drive one but i did saw a Perodua car cruising past the trafiice light on the left lane without the headlight on, and i suppose the driver thought her car headlight is on at that time, lucky no motorcyclist or pedestrian walking on the left side of the road at that time.

Perodua should take this issue seriously, my Peugeot won’t self illuminated if i turn off the headlight unless i put on auto illumination.

• MyMyvi on Mar 17, 2015 at 4:13 pm

Seems to show this CEO is quite blurr? He is ignorant about what Euro 4 really means, he goes all arrogant and defensive and doesn’t accept constructive feedback from customers, he chooses and focuses on wrong examples of statistics in insurance companies involving self-illuminating instrument panels and misses the actual point that accidents do happen when cars don’t switch on headlights while driving at night.
    Maybe Management should look into replacing this guy?

• kenny on Mar 17, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Perodua starts to inherit the Proton syndrome. Now more arrogant because their cars sell well.

Typical Malaysian companies, syiok sendiri and in denial syndrome.

• Sandiwara (Member) on Mar 17, 2015 at 4:53 pm

Typical slave who kowtow to foreigners syndrome

If it happens in Japan/Korea their citizens will defend their national product

In Malaysia, a foreigners accuse our Malaysian companies of something, our citizens will say YESS BOSS youre right and start bashing our own local companies

My hats off to Perodua’s CEO for defending his staff and company’s reputation for an incident which clearly shows its the responsibility of the driver to ensure that his/her headlamps are on

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • You have a problem on Jun 11, 2016 at 1:41 am

I think you have serious problem bro, its not about defending our national product or not (P2’s product is not even nationally made, just re-badge products), its about safety of a car. If P2 is doing right, no one is complaining, but in fact P2 car is getting shittier recently.

And in this discussion, people are complaining about :
        – 01. the self illuminate dashboard that causes driver to forget about their headlamps.
        – 02. the lack of headlamp indicator
        – 03. the very rude response from the CEO of P2

If P2 is producing good quality products, like Japan/Korea if you insisted, no one is going to complain about it but they are not. I would say P2 is producing so so quality cars, which they reduced the quality from the original Japanese models. I drove a Toyota Agya when I went to Bali two years back, which is the current Axia model, it feels a lot more solid that what we’re selling here. Why P2 reduced the quality of what a car should be?

As for Myvi in this matter, I saw a lot of Myvis without their headlamps around the city at night, which is very dangerous, so based on your comment, are all the drivers as dumb as you mentioned? Or more or less because of the self illuminated dashboard? Self illuminated dashboard is for the cars that includes a auto headlight function, but when you turn off the auto mode, self illuminate goes off as well (if you ever drives an European car before). Even Proton includes such technology in Suprima S and Preve, and Iriz 1.6 Premium includes auto headlamps without self illuminate dashboard.

If this is 2007 I would have defended Myvi but recent batches of Myvis are really a huge disappointment. Lack of satety and innovative is all I can say. Talk some sense la bro, don’t blindly accuse people because they made some point of out their experience and all. We’re consumers and we’re just demanding for a better quality car that worth our pennies (or syilling if you insist to be localize), I don’t see a problem with that. Chill la bro, don’t be so aggressive.

• Local guy on Mar 17, 2015 at 4:52 pm

The expat may have a point. I think same complain should also goes to Honda and Toyota. Those Jap and Malaysian company really need to solve this problem. Long time back people complaint to Toyota and Honda about the same case but no action.

• “In fact, even the first generation Myvi (circa 2005-2011) is Euro 4 certified as Perodua exported to the United Kingdom previously. We have since improved on those safety features for our customers.”

Ermmm….Does exhaust emission standard (Euro 4) got to do with international safety standard??

After doing some diggin on google, I found this related on this matter..

“According to regulations set by the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe’s (UNECE) Regulations No.121 “Uniform provisions concerning the approval of vehicles with regard to the location and identification of hand controls, tell-tales and indicators,” an indicator showing the headlights/tail lights status is required unless the instrument panel lights up upon activation of the master light switch.”

Based on above statement, I can say P2 does not comply on international safety standard since the beginning of myvi lagi best… Fortunately, on myvi facelift P2 already get rid this optitron meter after regulation of UNECE no 121 has been enforced in Malaysia on 1st January 2015.

Others brand also now using this self illuminating panel meter but they don’t forgot to put head lamp, fog lamp or DRL indicator but Myvi don’t have this features. Only have high beam indicator..seriously P2?

• forgot to tell the poor expat that here in malaysia, big companies like p2 rules, life is cheap, in order to prove that p2 actually contributed to the cars development the clusters are a national pride as its the only thing technically different from its japanese cousins.

• driver on Mar 18, 2015 at 7:55 am

lol, pointing finger at other ‘international brands’,
    the best getaway statement.
    its like a criminal saying “its not my fault, other people did the same thing”

• Yap it happened to me a few times. … driving my Myvi without the head lamp on. So I’ve put a sticker on the steering wheel and dashboard to remind me to turn it on.

• Silver on Mar 20, 2015 at 9:54 am

Perodua is being quite ignorant that they have to step up safety in their cars. The irony is lots of Chinese youngsters would still buy this car than any Proton, thinking they are buying a Toyota. The MyVi has been on the market for the past 10 years or so and I never see any safety enhancements apart from 2 airbags, ABS and EBD. Things that do change is the cheapo accesories and the introduction of the 1.5 which made the MyVi worse as the chassis can’t handle the power and it handles……like sh*t to be honest. Rides like a pogo-stick and wanders around the highway lane in rain. For that astronomical price a much better, safer, comfortable and upmarket Iriz is on offer. I would definately go for that. The fact remains that Proton screwed up their rep before and it takes time to regain that image. But for now I’m impressed that Proton at least made and effort to improve. Not just be ignorant and defend themselves even though there is a problem. So far now I’m a happy owner of an Iriz manual 1.6 Permium. It’s all I could ask for in a supermini hatch and much more. All motorists should at least take off the BRAND PERCEPTION and really test it out. Give the different brands a chance and you will be pleasantly surprised. I know I’m gonna get attacked by MyVi fans and Toyota fans but chill! This is just my 2 cents. Freedom of speech everyone! *peace*

• When people wrote in complaint, you choose to be silent. When people share in media, then start to react and be so defensive!!!

Typical Malaysian company style!

• eagletalon on Mar 20, 2015 at 10:03 pm

okay, mr ceo. u said the standard is set by malaysia gov, but what if the gov is wrong? i once sent mail to honda to ask y the auto door lock is removed in new cars, my answer is the same, honda replied that it is gov rule. i kept attacking them asking why new nissan teana does not remove that feature? later they request me to write mail to ask nissan y they dun remove it..so stupid answer,

• eagletalon on Mar 20, 2015 at 10:08 pm

i see that perodua ceo is unable to explain why they use self-illu panel, and just point out that other international brands used that too. that mean, perodua engineers have no design at all, they just follow what other brands use.

• Actually, some people may have a different point here, my point is, i prefer with the self lightened up meter like lagi best, i bought my new myvi sometimes even daylight also cannot see the meter, for those who said this will cause d driver thinks that their headlights were on , use ur common sense, if night time sure everything is dark and everytime d first thing you do after starting ur engine in night is turning ur headlights on, use common sense la

• one shall not afraid to truth on Apr 08, 2016 at 10:57 am

Dear Perodua CEO,
    Why you calm your optitron meter is safe but you still change it back to the old style meter for the 2015 myvi?