Taxi fares set to increase by up to 40% – report

easy-taxi-super-easy-taxi 268

This week, the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) is set to announce a new taxi fare structure, which could see a hike in fares of up to 40%, The Malay Mail reports.

Sources have told the English-language daily that the proposed new rates for Klang Valley, Penang and Johor Bahru metered taxis are as follows:

• Flag-down fare: RM3.30 for Klang Valley and Johor Bahru budget taxis (currently RM3), RM4 for Teksi 1Malaysia (currently RM3) and RM4.30 for Penang budget taxis (currently RM4)
  • 25 sen for every 200 metres (40% up from the current 87 sen per km, effectively RM1.25 per km)
  • 25 sen for every 30 seconds (40% up from the current 10 sen per 21 seconds)

As such, ever-increasing urban congestion could see heavy charges for the passenger – for instance, if he/she were to be stuck in a colossal jam in a budget cab that moved only one kilometre in the span of an hour, the meter would at that point clock RM1.25 and RM30.

easy-taxi-super-easy-taxi 260

However, an industry observer told The Malay Mail that the new fare structure could encourage taxi drivers to go into the city instead of circling suburban areas, citing the oft-heard excuse of refusing to drive to certain locations due to heavy traffic.

The daily reports that SPAD may provide a grace period of up to six weeks for taxi drivers and companies to synchronise and calibrate their meters.

According to a source from the Prime Minister’s Department, the new fare structure is the result of a series of in-depth discussions in taxi workshops around the country since July 2013.

DSC_0136b

“SPAD took into consideration that for the past six years, the cost of living has gone up by around 2.5% each year. Cabbies have had to curb high costs such as escalating maintenance costs between 20% and 25%, fuel expenses by 17%, battery by 30% to 35% and tyres by 25% to 30%,” the source said.

The Malay Mail reports that the new fare structure will also involve taxi services for car rental companies (or kereta sewa), but the details here are yet unknown.

The Centralised Taxi Service System announced in Budget 2014, the daily reports, is a tracking system that can record taxi movements and meter data. The system is currently fitted to nearly 900 Teksi 1Malaysia vehicles in the Klang Valley and Johor Bahru, and will be installed in metered cabs in stages.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• kcng (Member) on Mar 17, 2015 at 7:44 pm

apa mau takut?

BR1M kan ada!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 13
    • pleasebefair on Mar 17, 2015 at 8:44 pm

They dun even charge according to metre and already hike up the total sum of fare.

Now, want to rise more?

This is not fair!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 6
      • Same Lorrr on Mar 18, 2015 at 7:40 am

Buy Toyota better. less maintenance. High RV. Do buy Proton for taxi. Many Problem. High maintenance. Bad RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 33
        • Low Budget on Mar 18, 2015 at 12:14 pm

What has taxi fare got to do with RV for Toyota? By the way all most Taxis are Proton make.

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 18, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Get a taxi? Expensive and get slaughtered often.

Get a Proton? You need a best friend from garage

Get a kimchi? you show me your hilux face during trade in

Walk? Slow slow walk ha

End of the days, sushi cars still the best choice, especially Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Wahai Orang Orang Kampung! on Mar 18, 2015 at 3:37 pm

Satu lagi hadiah dari kerajaan BN kepada orang orang terutamany orang orang kampung.

Wahai Orang Orang Kampung, buka lah mata anda.

• Gargantia on Mar 17, 2015 at 9:51 pm

Thanks Finance Minister of Malaysia.

All good and food and transportation increase price.

BN supporters keep praise your “make Rakyat budden” minister.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 5
    • Krasher on Mar 18, 2015 at 12:02 am

RM79.16/month a family? RM29.16/month per individual Bersyukur lah!

• Rashuk Khan2 on Mar 17, 2015 at 8:00 pm

Banyak bagus. Barulah selepas ni kalau naik teksi orang tak pandang rendah sebagai pengangkutan orang tak ada kereta. Sementelah lagi Malaysia ke arah negara berpendapatan tinggi…. biarlah naik 3 kali lipat pun tak ada hal..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 7
    • Jimmy on Mar 18, 2015 at 1:28 pm

Fair increase probably is: inflation rate x years since last increase x percentage of new taxis for the past years.

Example: if a company has 80% newer taxis less than 3 years old for the past 6 years (let say the last increase was 6 years ago) at inflation rate of 4%, then the increase should be 4% x 6 X 0.8 = 19%. If it has 20% of new taxis only, then sorry lah, it is 5% increase only.
      This calculation can be optimised. Welcome.

• Jimmy on Mar 18, 2015 at 1:29 pm

Excessive increase in illegal, and will the authority go and tangkap this ‘excessive keuntungan’?

• o'really? on Mar 17, 2015 at 8:03 pm

Do they even use the meter?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 4
  • increase rate?sure….scrap all the old iswara and even the new saga taxi…..it’s small and uncomfortable….and they can’t even fit proper luggage bags…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 7
  • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 17, 2015 at 8:07 pm

Does it matter…? They don’t follow meters anyway…

One thing for sure, they gonna increase 40% from whatever exorbitant and crazy rates they charge.

And also one thing for sure, their cabs more likely to be 40% worse off in terms of condition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • DonkeyKong on Mar 17, 2015 at 8:12 pm

Oh crap.. now the cabbies will quote even higher arbitrary charges when not using their meters.. As it is, they are charging nonsensical figures for short drives, citing “tak boleh untung” while refusing to use their meters.. as if they will change for the better with higher fares. NO THANKS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Whatever man, I’ve learnt not to hope too much when it comes to national initiatives etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • Tiger on Mar 17, 2015 at 8:34 pm

Me stopped taking taxi more than a decade aleady coz dont want to be ripped off in broad daylight…plus they always drive like mad and caused many accidents..they really shot temselves in the foot by charging sky high fares than blaming oters when no bisnis!! But frankly i have met taxis who used the meter me gave them extra tip for their honesty last time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Low Budget on Mar 18, 2015 at 12:18 pm

Mostly they are ripping off the tourists around KLCC and Bukit Bintang area.

• What else not up?
    Keep on go up, up, up, up…………..
    (gaji saja tak naik)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • Sam is sick uncle on Mar 17, 2015 at 8:55 pm

With same altitude and rude and dishonest character. We’ll done.

• Thank you! on Mar 17, 2015 at 8:56 pm

Thank you for making the choice to choose UBER that much more easier!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • WTF! Oil price drop almost $40 already. ..these SOB increase like blood suckers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • What if P2 makes a sedan cheap enough for the taxi company to change their fleet to the new P2? It will certainly be more fuel efficient, but will they lower their fare?

• IAmHigh on Mar 17, 2015 at 9:06 pm

Everything! I mean EVERYTHING will be TOO DAMN HIGH!!!!!

• spongewai on Mar 17, 2015 at 9:07 pm

3rd worst taxi in the world, am i right if not mistaken at the article…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Lee Chong Wei on Mar 17, 2015 at 9:39 pm

We Don’t Need Taxi, When We Have Uber.

• In KL i can count the time using taxi. Mostly LRT and bus.

• GERMAN CAR LOVER AKA JIAN on Mar 17, 2015 at 9:55 pm

*sigh*.Eventhough I only use airport taxis coming back from overseas because the airport parking is too expensive though I drive my C250 coupe all the other times

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 31
    • Manyme on Mar 17, 2015 at 11:47 pm

Dafuq?

• GERMAN CAR LOVER AKA JIAN on Mar 18, 2015 at 11:17 am

I am disappointed with the latest taxi fares even though I haven’t been in a Malaysian taxi for the past 15 or so years

• emkay on Mar 18, 2015 at 1:26 am

not relevant dude! go read ABC

• kukujiao67 on Mar 18, 2015 at 8:43 am

shuddup lah….what to showoff of your cheap C250? I am driving a 2015 S65 AMG (do you know this car?), but still take taxi, buses, LRT, Monorail, MRT, Bus Kilang, illegal van transport to meet your mom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Henry on Mar 17, 2015 at 9:57 pm

With this increase they will lose plenty of business. Then they will go crying to the Gomen for another 40% increase to make up for this loss.

• Strider on Mar 17, 2015 at 10:12 pm

Time for Uber to shine it seems.

• dodgeviper88 on Mar 17, 2015 at 10:25 pm

must be up 40% cause they have to spend more time clamping down ‘illegal’ competitors like UBER. Seriously instead of bucking up and provide better service they go and increase their fares instead.

• bomoh on Mar 17, 2015 at 10:27 pm

Thank you BN ~

• uber uber..choose uber

• Sandiwara (Member) on Mar 17, 2015 at 10:31 pm

Please increase the fees further to some where in the region of 60-80%
    When that industry gets so lucrative, there will be more competent competitors who will join and force these rude incompetent idiots out
    Uber has already entered the market
    Hopefully there’s another new competitor that could keep the balance in check

• Low Budget on Mar 18, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Competition? They will make sure cronies operated Taxis companies are in the winning positions no matter what.

• Krasher on Mar 17, 2015 at 10:31 pm

So the government does aware the cost of living has gone up for the cabbies?
    But the rakyat how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Krasher on Mar 17, 2015 at 10:32 pm

So the government does aware the cost of living has gone up for the cabbies.
    But the rakyat how?

• Boy Racer (Member) on Mar 17, 2015 at 10:36 pm

*However, the new hike in fares will not apply to most taxis. Rakyat do not fear! Thankfully, it will be business as usual for most taxis with picking and charging customers as they wish. – SPAD

• Eat **** la, current rate already expensive with shitty quality vehicle and services. Look at Thai/SG taxi first. Reasonable rate with clean and comfortable vehicle.

• nabill (Member) on Mar 17, 2015 at 10:55 pm

A giant middle finger should be erected …taller than the twin towers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Samad Jain on Mar 17, 2015 at 11:36 pm

Taxi services lousy.
    Taxi drivers damn choosy with destination.
    Taxi drivers manners terrible.
    Taxi drivers unethical and double charge.
    Taxi drivers are rude and road bullies.
    Taxi drivers are lazy and chit-chat at road side.
    Taxi drivers like to con foreigners, creating bad image.

Now, taxi fare wanna go up?
    What a load of bull crap!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • SuperJet on Mar 18, 2015 at 9:56 am

lousy potong teksi naik harga?

I bet uber user getting more n more

• Haha, Uber gonna get a lot more customers.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 18, 2015 at 12:04 am

just uber lah

• Passerby on Mar 18, 2015 at 12:25 am

The part where 25 sen for every 30 seconds up from the current 10 sen per 21 seconds is incorrect. Calculations have it that it is 75% instead. Baffled on how the 40% was derived. Any one care to prove?

• ben yap on Mar 18, 2015 at 12:31 am

one day taxi drivers will earn more than pilots.

• Some would like to see the death of our taxi system. i guess this is one way to do it. So let’s give our full support to SPAD!

• It doesn’t matter and they (the taxi driver) don’t care. Last November, I rode a taxi from Mid Valley to UiTM Shah Alam. It took 40 mins, and I got charged $80!! That was using meter, and when I keep looking at the meter, it ran ok. Each time I looked elsewhere for a minute, the meter suddenly boost over $10. Taxi drivers are just crooks. The next day, I learnt that I could take the komuter to Shah Alam, then only taxi for a short distant UiTM. It’s a shame that the driver is fellow Muslim, the taxi full of scarfs with Quranic verses but the driver conducts daily robbery everyday. And this comes from a Muslim.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • What is this? on Mar 18, 2015 at 9:12 am

Hi Jaws.. stop being a religious bigot. it has nothing to do with being a Muslim/ Christian/ Buddhist/ etc. how can you say such things when you don’t even know whether that’s true or not. for all you know, the meter was running according to what its supposed to be. I am not surprised at the current taxi rate vs the quality of service provided, unfortunately this is Malaysia. there are a lot of other things SPAD should look into for the benefit of all parties, not just certain quarters of the system.
      But pls, just stick to the taxi rate issue and don’t start another unwanted debate around here.
      Thanks

• The real religious bigot is the taxi driver who make daylight robbery every day. If you had experience paying $80 for a ride from Mid Valley to Shah Alam, you would be ashamed of the driver as well. And what bigot are you saying, I’m a Muslim myself! I’m ashamed that a fellow Muslim had the audacity to cheat a fellow Muslim, and a student at that. Don’t even defend the meter, $80 for 40mins ride, are you serious?? You can check all the taxi fare websites, everywhere quoted half that amount. Tunggu je pengadilan Allah di akhirat.

• aloha on Mar 19, 2015 at 8:25 pm

You shall ask him to issue the receipt and the duration and complain to Spad. You are so kind to be cheated and do nothing and let more people be a next innocent people. Will Allah punish you?

• Joker on Mar 18, 2015 at 6:57 am

Awesome. Now taxi drivers will have more cash..
    for me to rob…hehehe

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 18, 2015 at 8:56 am

If it means better service, then its ok. If not, drive a car, or take the LRT. Or use Uber. Many other options out there. Business is about demand and supply. If no demand, it would be over-supplied. So cabbies and cab companies will have to buck up to get customers – or else no revenue/profit for them.

• azhar on Mar 18, 2015 at 9:31 am

why penang taxi fare more expensive than KV?

• Usavich on Mar 18, 2015 at 9:55 am

because less supply of taxi versus demand in penang. in kl more supply than demand.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 18, 2015 at 9:45 am

At this rate one wonders how the taxi service will survive.

Getting stuck in a jam can be a nightmare now. What can we do to prevent a cabbie to purposely get stuck in a jam and collect?

• SuperJet on Mar 18, 2015 at 9:58 am

taxi is the last choice.

• dugongx on Mar 18, 2015 at 4:38 pm

I’d rather walk than take bloody rip off extortion taxi!!!

• Annoynimouse on Mar 18, 2015 at 10:02 am

As if it’s not high enough already… Don’t be surprised if more and more “teksi sapu” springs up after this and along with them all sorts of illegal cab related crimes… sigh.

• Guys, all very simple. Taxi license is political currency. Now there is oversupply – so daily takings low as a result. Solution – raise taxi fare lah….. now cabbies all happy.

• i thk im gona be a taxi driver soon

• ss427 on Mar 18, 2015 at 10:35 am

To my Bolehland frens, don’t complain… come to SG and you know the meaning of expensive taxi rides. A 10+km taxi ride can easily set you back SG$25+ with all the surcharges thrown in, peak hr, ERP, booking fee WTF fee….

And our drivers don’t even need to cheat. Its fully legalized extortion here.

The only thing good is that we have lots of good car models to choose from, unlike your taxis which are mostly crap Protons. From new E220 CDIs to i40, Optima, Prius, Epica, Renault Latitude, Hyundai Starex to some small operators that uses the latest Elantra and JDM Corolla Axio and Vellfire as taxis.

• What so speacial about those cars? I just need cheap transportation from A to B, not a limo!

• denesh on Mar 18, 2015 at 10:53 am

UBER FTW!!!!

• kitkat on Mar 18, 2015 at 12:19 pm

40%!!! xpelah… masuk poket croni. Klu bukan croni kene boikotlah.

• BNaik on Mar 18, 2015 at 1:31 pm

As G said “Transportation” no kena GST, but price increase neah lah… WTF!!!

• dugongx on Mar 18, 2015 at 3:36 pm

25 sen for 30 seconds is 60% increase folks. Not 40%

• Tiger on Mar 19, 2015 at 9:15 pm

Jaws, maybe u took the YELLOW color Premium taxis?? Me kena before, frum Midvalley to Sanway nearly Rm16 i tink or more…the meter chaging like mad…noting special except the color and maybe bigger car

• Arnold on Mar 25, 2016 at 9:56 pm

Most of the genuine Malaysian taxi drivers are leaving the industry to become Uber or Grab drivers since they couldn’t compete with Uber and Grab. Please don’t blame them when there’s no metered taxis around. Uber and Grab will be the affordable transport provider in the future when most of us will regret when there’s no metered taxis around?

• Hi, do anyone know how much will it cost for having a texi to wait for you. My texi driver told me that some texi can charge up to RM25 just to wait for you for an hour. Is it true?