2016 Toyota Corolla facelift with a new grille leaked?

Click to enlarge.

Two photos that allegedly show the 2016 Toyota Corolla facelift have appeared on Chinese forum mobile01. The car in question differs from that what we’ve seen before, featuring a completely new front bumper with a gaping grille and a set of clear taillamps.

The more rounded front end mirrors the latest American-market Camry and Avalon models rather closely. Considering that the US of A gets its own unique version of the Corolla, moving the rest-of-the-world model closer to the US-only pair would seem like a peculiar move indeed. The body-coloured bar across the grille, however, does remind us of the Vios-based Yaris that is on sale here.

Round the back, the clear-lens taillamps look decent enough compared to the traditional red units that we currently get. The more prominent “character lines” on the rear bumper though, appear very awkward compared to the more cohesive existing design.

Whether this is the real 2016 Toyota Corolla facelift or a mere dealer special of the current model (a real possibility, seeing that the headlamps appear unchanged) remains to be seen. Well find out in due course, but for now, what do you think of this look for the Corolla Altis. Is it better or worse?

2014 Toyota Corolla Altis

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• GERMAN CAR LOVER AKA JIAN on Mar 18, 2015 at 1:26 pm

Is it just me or the Corolla Facelift came much sooner than expected. Well the cockpit does really need a refresh.Please Toyoyoyoa please take out that nasty,ugly and fake carbon fiber trim and replace it just for goodness sake put brushed aluminium trim on the dash or something else.Even fake leather stitching would do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
    • ProtonGSC on Mar 18, 2015 at 1:47 pm

Any Toyota cars are surely better the UMW toyota car In malaysia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
      • Therealmaserati on Mar 18, 2015 at 3:58 pm

I have just left Toyota. Cannot survive in Toyota with sales so bad. I cannot join kimchi also because I have bad mouth kimchi so long now out of jealousy.

I have now joined Parkson as bra and panties promoter. Anybody want Wacoal, Sorella, Skiva, Bee Dees, Triumph, I can give good discounts.

Please guys in this forum, forgive me for all my bad writings and bad condemnation of kimchi cars. I am truly sorry. Kimchi cars are actually quite good, I admit.

I now look forward to my new career as an undergarments promoter. Infact, Same Lorr, Sam Loo and Sam Loo (ori1) is soon going to join me to sell panties and bra. Please wish all of us all the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 70
        • farhanatan on Mar 18, 2015 at 9:30 pm

You sir, made my day today!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
          • kukujiao67 on Mar 19, 2015 at 8:29 am

you sir sounds like a 9gager

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 19, 2015 at 6:13 pm

People bash, people guess, people despise, our Toyota still selling like hot cakes. Even my son is using CT200h.

Sales figure won’t lie. When the facelift comes, we will get at least 6 months bonus again.

Mark my words.

• stickercrazy on Mar 19, 2015 at 9:18 pm

How much did he buy the CT200h badge to stick it in his Saga?

• Same Lorr on Mar 19, 2015 at 8:00 am

Buy toyota better.. high RV

• GERMAN CAR LOVER AKA JIAN on Mar 18, 2015 at 2:08 pm

Typo*Toyota* not Toyoyoa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
    • DonkeyKong on Mar 18, 2015 at 4:56 pm

Eh? Where are the bashers who will say that this Altis’ design is copied from Hyundai or Proton Iriz?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • TRD Sportivo Extremo Corolla Altis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Tan A on Mar 18, 2015 at 1:35 pm

boring car come with bored review….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
  • Bristol on Mar 18, 2015 at 1:40 pm

Can’t see any New Altis on the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 18, 2015 at 4:04 pm

That is because this model is not out yet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • toyodyyl on Mar 18, 2015 at 8:26 pm

Because it’s boring car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 18, 2015 at 9:40 pm

I have had so many requests to accept used Hyundais today.

You must be the one with the white Elantra 1.6 WYT XXXX that came in around 11am.

According to my salesman, you almost broke the record of yelling 112dBA hailat when we told you the price you will be getting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • lolerd on Mar 18, 2015 at 10:31 pm

Later you hear your son breaking record by 2000dBA hailat of selling his saga, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • denmarkid on Mar 19, 2015 at 8:53 am

Your son saga can trade in for how much?

• elson on Mar 18, 2015 at 1:45 pm

pretty sure this is myvi or axia brother

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Mohammad Irfan on Mar 18, 2015 at 1:46 pm

Just saw a couple on a lorry near Toyota HQ in Shah Alam…

• Mohammad Irfan on Mar 18, 2015 at 1:48 pm

Saw a couple of them on a lorry near Toyota HQ in Shah Alam just a while ago….

• guilt (Member) on Mar 18, 2015 at 1:59 pm

I wanna see what Sam Loo going to boast how many bonus he will get with this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 18, 2015 at 4:02 pm

I trade used Hyundais.

As such, I always encourage sorhai and/or tai lan ngongs to buy new Hyundais.

Within 18 months, after they are denied job promotions (for being seen as not trustworthy driving low grade Korean makes), ditched by their gal, being looked at funny by relatives & having to park far far away at family gathering because of embarresment, they will come to me.

I will show them the Hilux, they yell Hailat Lor, I cut them a cheque.

They head down to the nearest Honda or Toyota showroom. Book a real car. A few weeks later, they begin to live like a normal human being

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
      • toyotarubbish on Mar 18, 2015 at 10:34 pm

Nowadays people go for turbo cars lor. Jaos cars where got turbo for now? Only underpowered cars are being sold

*Yawn*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
      • kukujiao67 on Mar 19, 2015 at 8:34 am

I actually find this comment is funny…lol

• Toyota Crying Salesman on Mar 19, 2015 at 10:48 am

Its not funny, its real. Happened to me

• UMW Mampus on Mar 18, 2015 at 2:46 pm

ESP across all ranges, including the cheapest and priced it no more than 150k. Or else, don’t even think of selling this here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
  • altis? where? no one pakai this new altis.. expensive & ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
  • Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 18, 2015 at 3:03 pm

Dam, Sam is right.

No used car dealer in town will offer anything more than RM40k for my 26 month old Elantra.

I am really hailat now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 15
    • DonkeyKong on Mar 18, 2015 at 4:57 pm

Will you sell it to me for RM42k cash?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • Low Budget on Mar 18, 2015 at 6:22 pm

Plenty of people will offer him cash for rm40k for the 26 month old Elantra. I will also give his wife or mother additional rm 5k ang pau if he really has 1 unit for sale to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
        • outdatedtoyot on Mar 18, 2015 at 8:29 pm

If toyota is so good why SA dun drive one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
          • outdated on Mar 18, 2015 at 10:36 pm

Because the RV (rubbish value / regret value) is so high. Same Lorrr always says like this, haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • dugongx on Mar 18, 2015 at 7:50 pm

Don’t cry. I will pay you 45k cash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Peter on Mar 19, 2015 at 2:05 pm

Please reserve 1 for me. I die die go get personal loan to buy from you.

• wolfsburg on Mar 18, 2015 at 3:04 pm

I guess this is just a sport bodykit for the taiwanese altis… notice the X badge at the rear…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • dugongx on Mar 18, 2015 at 3:14 pm

This hailat junk launched for almost 2 years already but still can’t see on the road. Now so fast need to facelift. Facelift how many million times also useless la. Who gonna buy think hailat kosong fugly junk at 140k? Even brainless ppl also won’t buy. Only hardcore fans like same lorr and maserati de la junk dreaming of owning one but no money to buy only end up buying second hand saga.

Only when UMW price it right ( less at least 20% ) and with market standard safety then it will be sold.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
  • WILLIAM on Mar 18, 2015 at 3:18 pm

Would it be like Camry, X edition?

• Altis is the best looking car on the road. This is fact.
    the specification is the most lousy. This is also a fact too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • Gargantia on Mar 18, 2015 at 7:21 pm

Corolla indeed look good because it’s design by Japan Toyota. Fact.

UMW take out all safety fixtures with mark-up the car price. Fact.

• to be honest, I tink the previous altis looks way better, especially with the body kit….This new model however jus dun look right, trying very hard to look sporty but just fail….and the price tag…omg….

• Moving Forward or Backward? on Mar 18, 2015 at 3:52 pm

Damn how time flies and this Altis is already getting a facelift…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Only umw toyota will charge people for extra airbags mazda 3 comes with 6 airbags across the range…

• Worst interior dashboard I ever see.

Like my previous toyota corona during the 90th.

outdated.

• Only old Dual VVT-i 2/3ZR-FE engine ka?.. UMW, why didn’t you bring Valvematic 2/3ZR-FAE engine to Malaysian like others market..

• UMW should do away with the excessive chrome. Not sure why ASEAN drivers have a fetish for everything chrome…

• blowoff on Mar 18, 2015 at 8:34 pm

Chromeis important to con people it got turbo. At the end of day been tarpaued by those turvo cars ford p1 contis. Lol

• lester on Mar 18, 2015 at 6:53 pm

it is taiwan variant

• Toyota Crying Salesman on Mar 19, 2015 at 10:43 am

After CNY, I kau kau also wanna sell my 2 rotten cabbages.

Have to park 500m away (and deliberately arriving late) so that no family members see me drive a kimchi. But somehow, someone saw and the news got spread to others. So, toward the end of reunion dinner, I got funny looks from relatives.

Then the old man mentioned my cousin got promoted and now drives bought an Accord for his wife. He gets a Lexus as company car.

I am so paiseh that excused myself to leave early by giving excuse that I have stomach upset.

So, curi curi leave and never felt so embarressed in my life.

Looking for Sam now to get rid of my cancer

• Peter on Mar 19, 2015 at 2:09 pm

Seems like toyota sales really threaten by kimchi! If not existence of catfish vios, I can’t imagine how long umw can stay afloat. Hilux also quite bad, very little insurance companies accept!

• jacksonljs on Mar 19, 2015 at 8:24 pm

Not only kimchi alone, Honda and even Nissan already eat a big chunk of Toyota sales in mainstream segment, high end Toyota segment already eaten kaw-kaw by Merc and BMW, that’s why lots of them are too free to slack in the showroom surfing paultan website to badmouth and thumb down one by one comments that against their beloved ‘T’. If and only if ‘much hated’ Proton buck-up their build quality, reliability and also their after-sales-service as well as get rid of politic interference and also ‘tidak apa’ attitude when dealing with issue arises, i am very sure this bloodsucker UMW Toyota no need to do car business already (which i will feel most happy in that day).

• david yc on Jun 12, 2015 at 10:13 am

why not the vios facelift come first before the altis.