GALLERY: Mazda CX-3 – Australia gets four grades

Mazda CX-3 Akari Oz 03

We’re set to get the Mazda CX-3 in July; reportedly, the Honda HR-V competitor will only be available in a single variant form, one that’s “very highly specced” – the CBU-from-Japan offering will be a front-wheel drive 2.0 SkyActiv-G automatic with six airbags and Mazda’s head-up display as standard, among other things.

Ahead of its arrival here, the five-seat SUV has arrived in Australia, where it goes on sale in a choice of four variant grades, two engine and two transmission types as well as in front-wheel and AWD configurations.

Engine choices for that market are the 1.5 litre SkyActiv-D diesel (103 hp at 4,000 rpm and 270 Nm at 1,600-2,500 rpm) and 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G petrol (146 hp at 6,000 rpm and 192 Nm at 2,800 rpm), and these are paired with either a SkyActiv-Drive six-speed automatic or SkyActiv-MT six-speed manual transmission.

Mazda CX-3 Akari Oz 09

The Australian model range starts with the entry-level CX-3 Neo, followed by the CX-3 Maxx, CX-3 sTouring before levelling out with the range-topping CX-3 Akari. Pricing starts from AUD$19,990 (RM56,400) for the Neo manual right up to AUD$37,690 (RM106,350) for the Akari diesel.

The 2.0 petrol is available in front-wheel drive guise with both transmissions, and in AWD, in automatic-only form with the three higher model grades. No entry-level Neo variant for the oil burner, which in FWD is only available in Maxx trim and in AWD, in sTouring and Akari variants. All diesel models are automatic transmission-only.

Plenty in the way of kit, so it’ll be interesting to see just where our Malaysian-spec vehicle will sit in the order of things when it finally arrives (it should have most of the sTouring kit).

Save on the Neo, which is really entry-level as its tag suggests, there’s MZD Connect and its seven-inch touchscreen, with navigation, Internet radio integration, a reverse camera and six speakers (four for the Maxx) in the mix. All four grades feature cruise control, six airbags, dynamic stability control, traction contol push-button engine start, hill launch assist and rear parking sensors.

Higher-level models (the sTouring and Akari) get keyless entry, LED headlamps, tail lights, foglamps and DRLs, auto headlamps, rain-sensing wipers, an Active Driving Display and automatic air conditioning. The two top models ride on 18-inch wheels (215/50 tyres), while the Neo and Maxx variants go with 16-inchers and 215/60 rubbers.

The Akari gets the bells and whistles – it has a powered sunroof, high beam control and lane departure warning, which the other models in the range don’t have. There’s also advanced blind spot monitoring, smart city brake support and rear cross traffic alert, which are available as cost-options for the Maxx and sTouring. The Akari can also be specified with a pure white leather/black suede interior.

Mazda CX-3 Akari

Mazda CX-3 sTouring

Mazda CX-3 Maxx

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• David Chang on Mar 18, 2015 at 4:35 pm

I hope CX-3 will launch AWD in Malaysia

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 18, 2015 at 4:48 pm

All sushis have great RV Down Under.

Unfortunately for kimchi, their RV is just slightly better than Malaysia.

The only difference is that KIA have slighly higher RV compared with Hyundai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 25
    • Steven see on Mar 18, 2015 at 9:06 pm

What about the RV of your son proton saga black colour? Can share?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 18, 2015 at 10:23 pm

Yeah he will sell it to me after years, as usual he will be shown hilux.

• Well, that’s not true actually.

Hyundai i30 has been Hyundai Australia best selling model in Australia since 2012 and was hot on the heel of Toyota Corolla Ascent and Mazda 3 as the top 3 best selling small car in Australia for a few years already.

In fact i30 has won NRMA Car of The Year (Small car under AUD35K) for 2 years in a row in 2012 and 2013. For 2014 it’s one the finalist as well, only losing the the latest Volkswagen Golf Hatchback.

If you check the used car price, it’s on par with Corolla Ascent and Mazda 3. Not forgetting the i35 (known as Tucson) was doing pretty well down under too.

• If you got a real job and stopped being lazy you wouldnt care about resale value. You really are a sad creature, i wonder where you would bring your family for holiday to save money, cambodia?

• Sam Loo0 on Mar 18, 2015 at 4:51 pm

boleh percaya ke ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • jtshin on Mar 18, 2015 at 5:19 pm

got a feeling Malaysia will only get the 16inch tiny non looker wheels~~~ :(

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 18, 2015 at 6:24 pm

Mazda will sell them by the boatloads globally, just like the 2. For once, their lineup is actually really strong, and I’d say they are no longer a challenger to the regular Honda and Toyota, but they are more of a mainstay brand among the Japs. Considering their turn around in like 5 years, it is impressive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • ronbon on Mar 18, 2015 at 9:26 pm

Thank you vincent tan for limiting our options for different specs!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 18, 2015 at 10:05 pm

i hope we get full leather seats and sunroof

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Mar 19, 2015 at 7:15 am

Great…there is a 6 speed manual option unlike HRV. Hard to get full spec manual nowadays.

• Gonna be biggest competitor to new HRV.

• dewaSemut on Mar 19, 2015 at 8:54 am

Seems a bit difficult to insert a CD while gear is “P”.

• From RM56k you can own a CX3 in Australia.

Aussie average wage is RM12k per month compared to Msian RM3k per month.

Comes to potong bolehland cx3 becomes starting price RM108k.

F you potong!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
  • will wait for it to see in flesh.. hopefully it’s worth to trade in my Mazda3 2010 with this new CX3..if only if the price around 120K.. smaller car for wife..

• cx3ugly on Mar 19, 2015 at 9:14 pm

Only good in picture, when I see with eyes, it’s not proportionate, the front look longer, the rear doors look smaller. The grille look bigger and most body lines are gone!

In a peanut, it’s UGLY

• blaster88 on Mar 19, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Awesome!!!! We need more competition in this segment. Its an important and growing segment.

• Tsuji on Mar 19, 2015 at 7:06 pm

Hope will get the AWD.if not people will opt for HRV

• AWD or FWD on Mar 20, 2015 at 1:57 am

depending on the owner usage, if u r the normal condiiton road driver, its unnecessary to get AWD

• tiger on Mar 21, 2015 at 12:56 pm

5 year warranty. Mazda Malaysia