Infiniti QX80 officially launched in Malaysia – RM799k

Infiniti QX80 Malaysia 14

Inspired Motor has launched the Infiniti QX80 in the country – an example of the automaker’s leviathan flagship SUV has been on show in the Infiniti showroom since November last year (it’s actually a prototype of the RHD version), but it’s only now that the vehicle has been officially introduced.

General details remain as they were when we first reported on the unmissable beast, which made its debut last year in facelifted form at the New York International Auto Show. The update has brought about a new upper and lower grille design as well as new LED headlights, indicators and fog lights.

Measuring in at over two metres wide and 1,940 mm tall, the nearly 2.8-tonne vehicle is powered by a 5.6 litre V8 engine with 405 hp and 560 Nm on tap. The direct-injection VK56VD is mated to a seven-speed automatic gearbox with adaptive shift control and downshift rev matching, and power is laid down to the ground via an All-Mode 4WD system with a computer controlled transfer case (Auto, 4H and 4L modes).

Infiniti QX80 Malaysia 3

As you’d expect, there’s plenty in the way of luxury inside the vehicle. The eight-seater features plenty of wood inlays/accents and semi-aniline leather upholstery, with climate-controlled (heating/cooling functions) front seats being standard, as are heated second-row seats (very useful in our weather, this, no?).

Speaking of seats, the second-row 60/40-split seats have remote release switches to run a tip-up function for easy access in and out of the third-row seats – the latter are 60/40-split units with reclining capability, allowing the rear-most passengers to adjust their seating position electronically.

Kit includes a 15-speaker Bose Cabin Surround sound system – the original mention was a 13-speaker system, but the retail version adds the cost-option additional two A-pillar-mounted tweeters to take it to the above number). There’s an eight-inch touchscreen dipslay, single in-dash DVD/CD player, USB connection port and Bluetooth connectivity, and the system also features two seven-inch colour headrest monitors, two pairs of wireless headphones and a wireless remote control for rear occupants.

The QX80 comes equipped with a Driver Assistance Package, which includes Intelligent Brake Assist with Forward Emergency Braking, Distance Control Assist, Predictive Forward Collision Warning, Lane Departure Prevention, Blind Spot Warning and Backup Collision intervention. Also on, intelligent cruise control, an Around View Monitor system and Moving Object Detection.

There are four exterior colours to choose from – Majestic White, Graphite Shadow, Dark Currant and Black Obsidian, and the leather seats are finished in a graphite shade with Stratford Burl trim. The silver car that you see in the live gallery below is actually not part of the official colour offering for Malaysia.

The Malaysian-spec QX80 rides on the model’s optional 22-inch forged aluminum alloys (ticked here as standard fit), and the wheels are wrapped with 275/50 Bridgestone Dueler H/T (road) rubbers. The fully-imported-from-Japan offering is priced at RM799,000 on-the-road without insurance.

Get full specs of the new Infiniti QX80 at CarBase.my.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• i can already foresee termites happily chewing the dashboard and steering wheel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
    • George Abdul on Mar 18, 2015 at 7:12 pm

ETCM burden to bring this model here?
      Expensive yet and really does look like sperm whale !

Even Royal family’s won’t buy this to go out road…
      says “memalukan saya saja!”

ETCM management lose their mind…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
      • Snobs on Mar 18, 2015 at 9:18 pm

Blessed! I thought i am the only one who think the front end looks like a sperm whale head. Sorry, but the Lexus LX570 looks better than this.

• thisisjustinsane on Mar 18, 2015 at 12:44 pm

call me crazy, but this is utterly insane! It’s just an outrageously overpriced Nissan. I’ll go for RR SVR no doubt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • jemah on Mar 18, 2015 at 2:10 pm

i rather buy all new nissan murano 2015 than this…this car sesuai utk org umur 50 keatas…

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 19, 2015 at 11:47 am

Lolx… How can you compare Murano with this…? Totally different segment…

• Therealmaserati on Mar 18, 2015 at 4:01 pm

I have just left Toyota. Cannot survive in Toyota with sales so bad. I cannot join kimchi also because I have bad mouth kimchi so long now out of jealousy.

I have now joined Parkson as bra and panties promoter. Anybody want Wacoal, Sorella, Skiva, Bee Dees, Triumph, I can give good discounts.

Please guys in this forum, forgive me for all my bad writings and bad condemnation of kimchi cars. I am truly sorry. Kimchi cars are actually quite good, I admit.

I now look forward to my new career as an undergarments promoter. Infact, Same Lorr, Sam Loo and Sam Loo (ori1) is soon going to join me to sell panties and bra. Please wish all of us all the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
  • wow…super ugly especially the front

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • My eyes….

• slightly fugly ever…infinity nver do a great job on their design..look so odd

• I rather buy V8 grand Cherokee. I hope I never see this on the road. If I do see one, I’d knock on the window and ask; WHY??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • 2.8t? there are some kampung bridges it cannot even cross.

• wowow on Mar 18, 2015 at 1:03 pm

who da heck would buy this over a Cayenne / X5 / Q7. Or if you don’t mind recond, Cayenne Turbo or even the daddy of the big SUVs the Range Rover.

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 18, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Urmmm, people who want an 8 seater SUV will like it. There’s not many other SUVs that can cram that many people inside. If only they made it better looking.

• KarTiN (Member) on Mar 18, 2015 at 10:19 pm

Cayenne is a very good 5 seater, x5 is neither here nor there, Q7 is loss, and the Range Rover which I owned one before is true to its owner – TATA rubbish.

Not many choices for full size 7 or 8 seaters in Malaysia unless you want to count Alza and its proton cousin. Land cruiser is low powered and still stuck in its eighties interior design. Lexus is good leather in bad design. Someone needs to let the Toyota guys out of their box.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 19, 2015 at 11:50 am

Alza and its Proton counterpart are just coffin cars with an option for self-cremation…

And you missed out Merc GL-class. This can rival Infiniti’s sperm whale…

• KarTiN (Member) on Mar 19, 2015 at 3:51 pm

my golf buddie had a GL, USA build, its a good quality Ford like, a Mercedes it is not.

• policeman on Mar 18, 2015 at 1:08 pm

This car is a replica of my butt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 18, 2015 at 4:51 pm

Since you think that your butt has no RV, just head to Lorong Haji Taib and let the poofters there have a go at it.

Better still, let Anwar try it out

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • KarTiN (Member) on Mar 18, 2015 at 10:22 pm

I wonder the seats they bring in will be climate controlled, those Aircon seats are NICE and your butt may even enjoy it. Who cares how it looks if you can afford one.

• murica on Mar 18, 2015 at 1:12 pm

This car would probably make sense is the states where they have the Caddy escalade & Lincoln Navigator. But just not here.

• KarTiN (Member) on Mar 18, 2015 at 10:29 pm

Quick Google shows its the best selling Infiniti SUV and better than Lexus LX, interesting.

• powershot (Member) on Mar 18, 2015 at 1:19 pm

looks like a sperm whale

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • THIS IS ONE BADASS MONSTER TRUCK

• kolejeon on Mar 18, 2015 at 1:50 pm

Sorry the design remind me of Ssangyoung stavic

• nabill (Member) on Mar 18, 2015 at 1:54 pm

wow…a NA v8 is almost unheard of now…

but RESPECT for whoever buy this !

• jarhead on Mar 18, 2015 at 6:31 pm

Plenty around, Nabil. Mostly from American manufacturers. If I’m not mistaken the LX570 is also a NA V8.

• therealmaserati on Mar 18, 2015 at 1:57 pm

Ugliest P.O.S u can buy at 800k.

And come on, the interior looks like its from the 90s.

Should nvr bring this in. Waste of time considering their q50 sales is so bad, i see more ferraris on the road than Q50

• It is a head-turner alright, albeit for the wrong reasons. The front looks like some old American school bus.

• Painter on Mar 18, 2015 at 2:04 pm

And the road tax would be… ??

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 19, 2015 at 8:43 am

Surprisingly, its only RM5,800 (assuming engine capacity of exactly 5600cc) using the Paultan road tax calculator. Which is pretty cheap for someone who can afford an RM800k vehicle. If it was a “saloon”, it would have cost RM13,830.

• TheDuh on Mar 18, 2015 at 2:16 pm

What a piece of shait. Enough said.

• i applaud their effort to redefine beauty. but sorry, they fail.

• ynohtna niadroub on Mar 18, 2015 at 2:37 pm

Kinda looks like a giant manatee. My eyes hurt just by looking at the interior wood trim.

• UMW Mampus on Mar 18, 2015 at 2:41 pm

How is this going to sell? 799k? I think you are able to pick up more chicks with a Macan, Ghibli or XF instead with this shit.

• ton ton on Mar 18, 2015 at 3:14 pm

Arabic would love this. See it flood over Dubai road for sure

• mkh-ugly on Mar 18, 2015 at 3:31 pm

So obvious trying hard to breakaway from the crowd … a fine line between elegance and plain ugly

• WTF Infiniti Designers? on Mar 18, 2015 at 4:02 pm

What the f**king f**k is this sh*t? Who the f**k would even f**king buy this crap? It’s like the worst vehicle ever to have ever existed (In terms of design of course). But seriously, it’s damn damn DAMN U-G-L-Y!!!!! I think I’m gonna vomit now. BLAAAAARRRGGHH…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • symusty on Mar 18, 2015 at 4:48 pm

Is there demand for this thing in Malaysia? Why did they even decide to bring it over?

• most beautiful ugly, most elegant ungainly….

• jarhead on Mar 18, 2015 at 6:10 pm

Clearly the face of this car has been inspired by the Airbus Beluga.

• Korean Fan on Mar 18, 2015 at 7:08 pm

This car is obviously not for Malaysian taste. Many are calling it ugly because this is no the kind of car we used to. This kind of car is actually a competitive model with GMC trucks like Yukon, Suburban or Tahoe, if you are familiar with those model. The target market is off course America and Middle east.

Malaysian, we like sporty and fluid car. But for the masses in those countries, they like big and bulky trucks.

• Head Hunter on Mar 18, 2015 at 8:07 pm

Call me crazy but I love the crazy design. The interior is gorgeous,;more luxurious than my friend’s LX570. At least this beast can go into jungle treks of Sarawak unlike most softroaders like the Cayenne, X5, X6 and Q7. Maybe the GL and the RR but this, this turn heads for sure!!

• KarTiN (Member) on Mar 18, 2015 at 10:09 pm

I do agree it may not be the prettiest thing, but it will grow on you. It has the twin cousin, the Nissan patrol, which was the last vehicle I owned before tranferring back home. In terms of build quality, tough to beat. As for the internal built, best in class for SUV / MPV, Lexus or merc, not even close.

The driving comforts is better than most luxury sedans, rides very well too. 800k is indeed steep but we know why that is in Malaysia, 300 k in Dubai.

I do want one again, for those that can afford go for it, you will not regret, especially with our road conditions. It’s quite fast too. VIOS better get out of the way or may get swallowed up.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 19, 2015 at 12:45 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV.

If its a Ssyanyong or KIA, look for the insurance option instead

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 19, 2015 at 12:48 am

Kimchis can come in 1000hp engines with 900Nm of torque at 1500rpm, but it will never have RV.

Most of all, you will need to have the tow truck operator on your speedial

• Krasher on Mar 19, 2015 at 2:46 am

Srsly RM799k?
    I thought it was just a Rexton in the first glance.

• Gringgos on Mar 19, 2015 at 9:07 am

No money to buy it…

• bro kusam on Mar 19, 2015 at 9:11 am

Dont talk much if u got no gram to buy it..