Something’s up with the CKD Volkswagen Polo hatchback – will the facelift be launched tomorrow?

https://www.facebook.com/VolkswagenMalaysia/photos/a.279762262111585.76355.216105911810554/840183702736102/?type=1

Volkswagen Malaysia posted this teaser image on their Facebook fan page wall yesterday, showing two Polo hatchbacks being assembled. The status message accompanying the photo says there’s something coming up at the Pekan plant tomorrow.

Could Volkswagen Malaysia be gearing up to launch the facelift version of the Volkswagen Polo hatchback? We’re not sure for now. The two Polo shells only have their dashboard and tail lamps installed, but lets see if we can identify any facelift parts.

Our Polo 1.6 has more in common with the Indian market Polo compared to the European market Polo, which is identical to our Polo TSI and GTI. Both TSI/GTI and 1.6 models received different facelifts.

Features that would identify a Polo 1.6 facelift on the outside would be a redesigned front bumper and grille and a new rear bumper with reflector lamps. The two cars in the image do not have the rear bumpers installed yet, and the front angle is out of our view.

What pretty much confirms the cars being assembled above as facelift cars are the tail lamps. As you can see, the facelift tail lamps are more angular on the outer lower edges, compared to the pre-facelift tail lamps (shown above on the left).

On the inside, the facelifted Polo 1.6 should get silver trim on the centre stack, but the entire centre stack is conveniently blocked by the B-pillar in this angle.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• GERMAN CAR LOVER AKA JIAN on Mar 18, 2015 at 7:56 pm

Well that’s great news!Anyway will this Polo be available as a BlueGT wit the 1.0 engine as an alternative to the Polo TSI? Because if it was it would do well in Bolehland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • azrai on Mar 19, 2015 at 7:57 am

I think they want to shift their Polo production from Pekan to Vietnam la.

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 19, 2015 at 5:47 pm

Wait and see…

So much money for the tiny B segment hatchback? You think so many sozai in Malaysia meh…

Get a Myvi lar, or Vios, City also ok…

• GERMAN CAR LOVER AKA JIAN on Mar 18, 2015 at 7:59 pm

Well that’s great news! Is the BLUEGT going to come as a alternative to the TSI? Because if it was it would do well in Bolehland

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • GERMAN CAR LOVER AKA JIAN on Mar 18, 2015 at 8:14 pm

Well that’s great news! Will the Polo BLUEGT be available in Bolehland?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
  • NEW PO……..BLEM??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • GERMAN CAR LOVER AKA JIAN on Mar 18, 2015 at 8:15 pm

Well that’s great news! Will the BLUE EGT be available in Bolehland

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • Gargantia on Mar 18, 2015 at 8:17 pm

Good, new model with new price?

GST?

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 18, 2015 at 8:23 pm

Bingo, it is the Polo facelift.

http://paultan.org/2014/02/22/driven-vw-polo-1-6-locally-built-german-quality/ckd_vw_polo_1-6_review_malaysia_-010/

The original Polo (i.e. pre FL has the indicator sense ending with a straight line (wrapped around completely on the side of the light cluster). The facelift loses the wrap around and instead the side view of the rear light gives a slanted (slash like) design on the side.

Which brings on to this: spec guesses anyone? ESP and 6 airbags please!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • failed car. DSG issue will kill it later. Better buy vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 46
    • turboed on Mar 18, 2015 at 10:14 pm

Vios no turbo. Boring.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
      • Not Sam Loo on Mar 19, 2015 at 8:51 am

I am not a Vios supporter but some one once quoted,

“Son, I have a piece of advice for you. If you stick to reliable cars and desperate women instead of fast cars and fast women, you will be far ahead in life than I am when you are my age.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • samloosucky on Mar 19, 2015 at 8:59 pm

What’s relation between reliable cars and life?
          Lol

• archaiccamry on Mar 19, 2015 at 9:07 pm

Who said that? Your beloved grandpa who owns 4 speeder camry kah?

Kahkahkahkah

• KarTiN (Member) on Mar 18, 2015 at 10:39 pm

You stick to vios, someone have to keep the four speed auto transmission classic car running.

• no dsg la on Mar 18, 2015 at 11:21 pm

polo 1.6 where got dsg, its using aisin (toyota) 6 speed auto

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • ucantseeme on Mar 19, 2015 at 10:23 am

CKD Volkswagen Polo Hatchback don’t have DSG la which make Toyota now have more problems than Volkswagen la.

• Banned on Mar 20, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Ah, again DSG issue came up. Dont u know that Paultan himself already posted few articles that stated VW resolved that DSG issue.

• Buy vios???.. think twice before you consider it!
      if you say VW is failure car, then vios will be even worst..
      my vios been sending into their so called UMW workshop.. complaining that some very irritating noise from windscreen… after they check.. you know what UMW told me? It is like that one la!!!!!! therefore they decided not to repair it for me…

• anonymous on Mar 31, 2015 at 3:02 pm

vios also have many unsolved issues..
      i always heard bout lots of my friends who are vios owner keep on complaining to their vehicle
      sent to service center yet issue still remain

• spongewai on Mar 18, 2015 at 8:42 pm

price increased for facelift after GST??!

• Gosh, nobody bothered ….boring car with boring sales…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • They want to facelift an 8 year old car? HAHA what is this VW malaysia trying to make their cars like Proton now is it? Drag it with facelifts for another 2 decades.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • benstupid on Mar 18, 2015 at 10:17 pm

Saga was facelifted before 8 years, and with new headlamp, gearbox and engine, unlike Vios which even after generations still using same dinosaur 4 speeder and engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • no dsg la on Mar 18, 2015 at 11:22 pm

this polo launched in 2008, facelifted internationally in 2014.

• policeman on Mar 18, 2015 at 10:05 pm

I find VW offensive. They’re taking advantage of the mentally handicapped. Making them part with their cash for some junk.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 18, 2015 at 10:07 pm

meh whatever….problematic car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • KarTiN (Member) on Mar 18, 2015 at 10:41 pm

Maybe not this time around, issues of the past were solved, right?

• VW Service sux on Mar 19, 2015 at 8:14 am

If problematic,
      Get it right, do it well,
      ppl will still consider buy,

Now, problematic + VW after sales service sucks
      who will buy?

• What makes u say the Volkswagen after sales service is bad?? I’ve been driving volkswagen car for 3 years and i can see that their service centre and after sales service are improving alot man. I really don’t get u guys, Volkswagen already resolve the problems and now they even come out with CKD version which have no more DSG problems and still u guys wanna complain.

• KarTiN (Member) on Mar 19, 2015 at 11:34 am

Agree, some just like to complain based on historical and not move on

• Meowman on Mar 19, 2015 at 5:48 pm

What bad after sales?

Since facing bad publicity, they improved tremendously. No more long waiting time for appointment, my car is up on the lift in less than 5 mins after service check-in, free nasi lemak and Im out of the service center within 2 hours

• Hello VW SA, what happened to comments in VW Malaysia FB? YOu deleted them?

Trlolololol

• hotty on Mar 23, 2015 at 11:34 am

I will still buy…. I am currently owned Passat, going in to 3rd year already.. agreed that 3 year ago, SC was terrible like hell, but today when I sent in my car.. VW had been improved tremendously. Dun understand why people just like give them a bad publicity??
        people here who not afford to drive a VW, like to advise other not to buy VW la!!! So sad!

• normalmalayss on Mar 23, 2015 at 11:48 am

I will still buy… my passat been driving 3 year.. i see VW been improving in term of servicing.. those technical really sit down and solve my car issued… at least by now! my car- touch wood…. was not in the SC for the past 1 year….

aren’t it shows they have solve the issued?

• wookie on Mar 18, 2015 at 11:18 pm

What is the difference between Australian lemon and the African one? Nothing. Both still taste as sour..

• Leafable on Mar 19, 2015 at 6:06 am

OMG! Look at those nasi lemak factory facility. Very contrast to their German factory.

• applegreen on Mar 19, 2015 at 2:40 pm

7 years free service please!

• veedud on Mar 19, 2015 at 4:13 pm

Damn!! i tot they are bringing the TDI version at first glance….

• nabei on Mar 19, 2015 at 5:31 pm

try go to jln sultan ismail everyday for the next 1 month and see whether this car do not overheat. If not i will buy 1

• Morris chong on Mar 19, 2015 at 9:16 pm

Hope this car won’t let me dissapointed.