VW Polo Facelift spotted in Pekan – launching soon?

VW Polo Facelift CKD Malaysia - 1

Here it is, the Volkswagen Polo Facelift in Malaysia. But don’t head to the showrooms yet, because it will only be launched later this year. These pics are from VW’s factory in Pekan, Pahang, which hosted a werkstour plant visit for the media yesterday. No more than a preview then.

Like before, Pekan will assemble the Polo with knocked down packs from India, where the mid-life facelifted Polo GP made its debut in July 2014. It’s a pretty mild makeover, as there’s nothing broke about the Mk5.

The front lower bumper sees the most obvious change; now thicker at the edges and with fog lamps sitting on the upper ends. A Passat-style chrome strip underlines the said lamps and number plate. The supermini looks more matured now, we think.

The grille now has one chrome slat on the underside, compared to two in the middle previously. The headlamps flanking it are still of the reflector type, but the black housing on the facelift looks better.

Interestingly, we don’t get the new “two-eye” headlamps seen on the Indian-market Polo facelift, which are similar to those on our Euro-spec pre-facelift 1.2 TSI.

We also don’t get the new “TOSA” alloys, and continue with the familiar “Riverside” wheels, but the tyres are now locally sourced from Goodyear, not India’s Apollo. A reprofiled rear bumper (now with reflectors on the bottom edges) and new tail lamp graphics round up the changes.

VW Polo Facelift CKD Malaysia - 11

Inside, from what we can see, the dashboard is similar to the Indian-market Polo FL, but without the two-tone colour scheme. The new Golf Mk7-style steering wheel – which has a slightly flattened bottom, leather wrap, gloss black/chrome trim and buttons on both sides – is a big upgrade.

Another obvious new element is silver trim for the centre stack. The fabric seats sport a dotted pattern here that replaces the current pinstripe motif. A more premium look, overall.

As you can probably tell from our DIY observations above, no details were shared by VGM, but we know that the Polo facelift will debut later this year, probably around mid-year. As is the norm, the outgoing pre-FL Polo has been given a promo boost to pave the way – VGM’s “Polo Goes Zero” campaign is offering buyers zero interest and zero downpayment, with monthly instalments from RM999 for seven years.

Read our review of the locally-assembled Volkswagen Polo 1.6 MPI.

Indian-market VW Polo Facelift

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• 0% interest rate is very interesting.. somemore this not dsg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Better buy Iriz on Mar 20, 2015 at 1:42 pm

No “two-eye” headlamps, no new “TOSA” alloys. Still looks plain boring, better get Iriz which comes with projector headlamps, better designed alloys and looks better overall too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
      • Jonn Dol on Mar 20, 2015 at 4:29 pm

Exterior wise, its a big disappointment. At least the LED lights found in Euro version could have improved the outlook..

• abenglamp on Mar 21, 2015 at 10:18 pm

LED light you can install at kedai abang lor. You want to wrap your car all around with LED light like christmas tree oso can

• gorson on Mar 20, 2015 at 1:50 pm

Wonder if the wheelbase being increased? The current version is damn cramp back there…

• gorson on Mar 20, 2015 at 1:57 pm

So did the wheelbase being increased? The previous version is so cramped back there…

• If only safety package is being upgraded and this car can sell very well. A German hatch with good interior and no hassle on TSI+DSG issue.

Polo can steal buyers from Jazz, 208 and Fiesta if VGM knows how to market it well.

• azrai on Mar 20, 2015 at 2:17 pm

The pre-FL CKD kit come from India also come with Apollo tyre? Is it CKD or SKD?

• Fuhrer on Mar 20, 2015 at 2:47 pm

How about Polo sedan?

• wajib on Mar 21, 2015 at 1:44 am

If u look at Volkswagen Germany, UK, France or Spain websites.. They don’t sell Polo Sedan. Polo Sedan is for India, Malaysia, Russia and Brazil market. Its basically a region to clear out old 1.6 MPI engine.

• brazbuz on Mar 20, 2015 at 3:06 pm

Looks like still got no Vsc,

• Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 21, 2015 at 1:19 am

Forgive us that has been shown the Hilux.

Kimchi owners like us have no choice but to badmouth sushis. The RV of our rotten cabbages is already so bad that my mother cannot recognize me.

So, I would take my anger to cyberspace and whack the sushis because I am jealous that their RV is so good

• CanYouTrustVW? on Mar 21, 2015 at 7:23 am

So now.. everyone warms up to VW ?
    Can trust already? all issue now fixed?

Whatever the car they offer, I think i’ve had enough.. once bitten twice shy.. the orang putih say. Enough with my recent vw mis-adventure.. until i had to sold it at lost.
    I wonder how they will offload those unsold previous model. Sitting in holding yard.. doing all sorts of promo.. till zero interest also, still not moving.
    If you happen to go to pulau indah, you might come across this huge open car park filled with vw badges car. Maybe they should do lelong murah there, like proton has done during last economic downturn last time – satria for 20k!, lelong by roadside only, near pekan factory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • iPhone on Mar 21, 2015 at 2:58 pm

VolksWagen

hear also VeryWorry already.

many hidden cost.
      reliability, maintenance cost, spare part availability.

• salesman on Mar 21, 2015 at 10:24 pm

How do you know still not moving? You are VW SA?

• dominic on Mar 23, 2015 at 1:05 pm

how many worry you have currently? Do you own a VW? if NO then your have exceed the limit you have to worry about VW.
        dun make your worry become my worries….
        as I have no worry at all with my Golf as in current state.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Mar 22, 2015 at 4:22 am

Is this Manual or Auto?

• MPI like proton wira, try youself. better Ford Fiesta ecoBoost.