Ford Mondeo – first Malaysian appearance in Ipoh

11013578_787261994690933_481415020185484287_n

If you’re interested in the upcoming new Ford Mondeo, you can catch a first glimpse of it at the Ford Road Show at Ipoh Parade. It’s there now and will be there until tomorrow up to 10 pm.

Of course, if you’re not in Ipoh, the Mondeo will be showcased next at Bangsar Shopping Centre from April 1-5. You’ll be able to test drive the car at that time as well. The Mondeo test drive sessions will then move to Desa Park City from April 22-26 and Setia City Mall from May 6-10.

A scanned copy of what appears to be a preliminary price and spec sheet for the new Mondeo made its way into our hands earlier this month, with an indicative price of RM 203,800 OTR given. We’ve been informed by SDAC that the pricing as stated in the price list/spec sheet is not the final pricing for the Mondeo.

Kit already confirmed for the fifth-gen Mondeo (known as the Fusion in North America) to be sold here includes adaptive LED headlamps, adaptive cruise control, dual-zone auto climate control, SYNC 2 infotainment with an eight-inch touchscreen, reverse camera and MyKey.

The 2.0 litre EcoBoost offers the same 240 PS and 345 Nm output tune as found previously on the outgoing fourth-gen CD345 Mondeo, and the PowerShift six-speed transmission has been replaced by a conventional six-speed torque converter unit, the 6F35 SelectShift, as seen on the Ford Kuga.

The Mondeo will be available in four colours here, these being Tectonic Sliver, Frozen White, Panther Black and Ruby Red. The car at the roadshow looks like a Ruby Red unit.

If you’re interested, you can sign up to get updates.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Sam Loo1 on Mar 21, 2015 at 11:52 am

You want safer car, this is one of the best. It may slightly expensive than Camry, but you pay what you get. Camry is not safe and you have to pay additional cost for safety. Please don’t buy Toyota, you will regret.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 29
    • Same lorrrr on Mar 21, 2015 at 5:57 pm

Yeah have you ready for interview at Jusco tomorrow? Please don’t forget to surf the net on bras

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
    • Why Toyota regret ?

Anyone knows if Ford reliable ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 21, 2015 at 9:59 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV.

If its a KIA or Ssangyong, best option will be to claim insurance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 19
  • nobrand on Mar 21, 2015 at 12:14 pm

With that price.. good luck ford

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 8
    • After seeing so much bad comments at below..
      As a current Mondeo owner, this is what I want to say..
      1) expensive ? Yes it is but it deserves every single cent paid off. Safety features and build quality is top notch.
      2) handling and control ? This is the spirit of Ford that even far better than VW and Mazda needless to say Honda but still bow before BMW simply because Mondeo is Front Wheel Driven, it has reached to the limit.
      3)engine performance ? 240ps & 340Nm puts all RM200k rivals miles away, makes most of the cars ashamed. The true rival? Passat CC 2.0TSI, BMW 3 series.
      4) general comment? Hardly can hear the owner say bad about the car. RV ? Who cares as we enjoy every single minute dwelling with it.
      5) maintenance cost? 3yrs full free maintenance. 5yrs warranty. Tahan tidak? 3 yrs already, only being replace wiper and battery with under warranty with zero cost.

so… those comments below I dont blame you because u dont know much about what Mondeo is.
      My next car — still Ford Mondeo…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 11
      • iPhone on Mar 21, 2015 at 8:59 pm

I must say I do appreciate the Handling and control a Ford car can deliver.

but this is also the point where i dont like it.

being a earlier 30 young boss..
        I dont find a Ford to be a comfortable car to sit in compared to japanese rival.

Too much of focus on the handling.

selling point of Ford = driver’s car.
        Having these extreme selling ford has neglect other passenger’s comfort.

while most malaysian dont speed and corner at mad speed.. this type of extreme handling and control having the side effect of potholess feeling suspension is not a pleasure.

The Bad side of Great Handling and Control – Potholess Feeling… To go even extreme speed, u need even stronger suspension to hold your car to the ground. Ensuring the driver has the good control of the wheels. Then, potholess feeling effect is what u get.

eventually, If only our route is perfect like F1 road.. then we can appreciate the extreme stability at the speed which can harm other road users.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
        • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 21, 2015 at 11:49 pm

Which Ford did you drive? The bigger, the more comfortable. I’ve driven the Galaxy, a Mondeo based Estima sized MPV, and it’s comfortable.

Ford is great at striking a good compromise. For example, Myvi = bad handling, bad comfort. Most Ford = good handling, good comfort. Maybe not great, at either, but it’s a very nice balance they manage to get.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
        • Sam iphone on Mar 22, 2015 at 11:15 am

Being an earlier 30 boss!!!!!! And stilk make comment ib ford….i think your handphone shop business so so only. At the end if the day, bought proton just like sam

• Usavich on Mar 21, 2015 at 9:05 pm

next car shd go for bmw x8

• Is that ford still provide 3 yrs warranty and free service?

• CrazyMobilo on Mar 21, 2015 at 12:30 pm

Ford is coming up with marvelous designs…
    High Spec and Clearly better aftersales prospects..
    But sadly Ford still has a very low RV compared to other cars makers.
    If there is by any chance this situation improves, more people would buy Ford made cars..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • momoi on Mar 21, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Behind a High RV:

1. Peace of Mind.
      2. High Reliability.Ford Proven Worst @ US in 2013 Report.
      3. Fuel Saving. Ford Proven bad fc with Fiesta 1.0 Ecoboost.
      4. Low Maintenance Cost. Ford Higher than Toyota maintenance Cost.
      5. Good Spare Part availability, no need to wait and wait still no spare part and no car to use!
      Ford – need wait for multi category management to order and wait for shipment.

Ford by Sime Darby Malaysia.
      None of this can be achieved.

So much of hidden cost, people not interested to buy a second hand Ford.

thus, Bad RV..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 21
      • camryrubbish on Mar 21, 2015 at 6:07 pm

Camry dun have turbo, boring

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
      • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 21, 2015 at 11:51 pm

Ford does bad at those reports because all these people are confused by the media center/GPS system. It’s not the greatest. At all.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 21, 2015 at 5:00 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
      • ravee on Mar 21, 2015 at 7:27 pm

RV = regret value / rubbish value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 22, 2015 at 9:20 am

My Hilux in the kimchi car yard really helps kimchi owners to yell out Hailat lor

• GST?? on Mar 21, 2015 at 12:56 pm

well said, cant wait for c it nearly… hope SDAC going down the price to gives more impact for all D-segment car…

• GST?? on Mar 21, 2015 at 12:58 pm

well said, cant wait to c it nearly.. feel the inside… hope SDAC will go down the price to gives more impact for those others D-Segment car…:)

• Went and saw yesterday.
    interior was not up to expectation for a 200k car.
    simple but not elegant. Feel like a blue collar car.
    exterior is above par.
    overall it is as it is a Ford Mondeo.
    wait for it but dont feel like buying after seeing it.
    may be need to drive it first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • TOO BLOODY EXPENSIVE! Mondeo suppose to be Camry/Accord class & yet SDAC dares to price it beyond Passat!!! Unbelievably Malaysian Car Players truly treat the public like genuine suckers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Please look at the spec and power.
      this car come with 180hp and massive 350nm.
      a c class with 300nm cost you 290k.
      so a ford at 200k just about fair.

• myvee on Mar 21, 2015 at 7:32 pm

So what, I can still win at traffic light dash with much cheaper car

• JB_KIA on Mar 21, 2015 at 2:00 pm

SDAC failed badly in pricing. Even pasar mlm stall ppl know how to price. RM199999.99 laaa. Need me say more?

• rm200k? nice to see how sime darby feels very optimistic with all cars they sell. look at new hyundai elantra and sonata. as far as i recall, i havent seen any of them on the road yet. thanks to their pricing.

• Really? on Mar 21, 2015 at 2:48 pm

for those who keep complaining about the price please stfu and go back to your toyota or whatever , that why those people never improve

• After 5 years, is camry or mondeo has higher RV?

• rubbishbin on Mar 21, 2015 at 7:33 pm

Both are junks, nuff said

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 21, 2015 at 11:55 pm

All D segment cars lose a lot of value. Want to keep your money, deposit it in a bank or safe.

That being said IIRC Mondeo and Camry are comparable, the Camry might sell for a tiny bit more, but it’s not much. They are all quite similar, Camry, Accord, Mondeo, Passat…

• cendol (Member) on Mar 21, 2015 at 3:22 pm

I’ll get 316i base car anytime of the day over this Ford Mondeo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • Nasi kandar on Mar 21, 2015 at 3:27 pm

I’m not gonna buy this car wif tat kinda price. 200k u can get a 2nd hand Audi A5 Quattro!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • AudiDSG on Mar 21, 2015 at 7:36 pm

I can win bid on a Bentley! Who needs Audi A5 Quattro?

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 21, 2015 at 11:56 pm

That’s second hand. That kind of price you can get a second hand Rolls Royce. It will be old, and falling apart, but hey…

• AVH (Member) on Mar 21, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Back in 2012, I got the opportunity to sit in the hybrid variant of the mondeo in the 2012 KLIMS[terrible mayors how btw] , than doubt the Fusion hybrid, LHD USDM variant of the car. It was spacious thou and the interior felt way more modern than anything in the segment. thou there is nothing really standing it above the Honda Accord or Mazda 6 for comfort and sportiness, it felt lost it between rather than the best of both world.

Now that it’s finally here, iam slightly concern given the price. Yes it’s a great car, it has the tech to boast and the looks too, but the price puts it awfully close to a 318i or Audi A3. Understandably, the Ford feels like a Cathedral when you compare interior space with ze germans ,and also comes with better in car tech. But both wunderwaffe are much better built, especially Ingolstadt offering, there’s the sense of occasion with them. The in car tech in Jerry’s car may be poorer, but is no Windows 95 era and iam willing to bet it’s a better driver car, after watching Car Buyers review of the UK model Mondeo which probably came out of the same factory as the Malaysian bound car.

So not a fair fight in the Battle of the Bulge, how does it fare against the Pacific war. Well the Japanese and Korean car are not be in the same league as the Detroit in tech, but iam willing up bet my lucky underwear is a damn sight more reliable…not the frequency of it breaking down, but the ease of mind of ownership. The Accord may edge out in comfort, the Mazda 6 in the zoom-zoom and the Camry in, well, being a Camry.

Iam not sure how Ford is marketing the Mondeo, it sits in a neither here nor there area in the market. Too expensive to be good in the Pacific theater, lacks the prestige against the European theater. Iam sure there is a target demographic as it is a good car, but I don’t see this being a sales success anytime soon.

• gaviny on Mar 21, 2015 at 6:02 pm

mazda 6 is still the sexier car

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 22, 2015 at 12:00 am

Not really. The Mazda 6 is very sexy, and has the nicer interior. But the first time I saw the Mondeo in real life I was like… oh, an Aston Martin. Then only I realized it’s the new Mondeo. This thing looks like a million bucks. It’s very long, sleek, sexy. The Mazda 6 can’t match that, though it is easily the second best looking D segment car.

• camaro on Mar 22, 2015 at 12:32 am

Mazda6 looks like D segment muscular car, only it’s engine is not as strong as one

• Gaviny on Mar 22, 2015 at 12:30 pm

The mazda doesn’t get boring fast, the mondeo at first sight is great but if you are it a second time it doesn’t hold the same magic as seeing it the first time, these were everywhere in the USA and soon you just ignore it as it passes but he mazda doesn’t

• mazda kereta UiTM on Mar 22, 2015 at 9:05 pm

Of course mazda 6 sexy. We UiTM Students are happy to buy one!

Kereta Mazda 6 dihatiku !!!

UiTM dihatiku!!

• Hahaha on Mar 21, 2015 at 6:33 pm

Lol.. I jux came over this post to see the comments. To no avail, there are people bullshitting about RV bla bla bla~ Please drop this stereotype. Or else u’ll never improve. Nowadays people are more concerned on the safety of the car, in which this car provides high class safety compared to Camry Accord or whatsoever japanese cars that u guys are fancied of (RV king). If u dun like tis car, the pricing, then stfu. There’s no need of bashing this car or SDAC or whatsoever. Tats none of ur business. People have their own rights to choose the car they like. Dun be a keyboard warrior. Try to be a smarter person. Googling is the way on how u can be smarter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • powershot (Member) on Mar 21, 2015 at 6:41 pm

the interior is not this car’s strong point.

• plastiquedash on Mar 21, 2015 at 7:37 pm

So does Camry and other old man’s cars

• You sit inside the car everyday.
      if the interior is cheapo like preve,really no mood to drive.
      of course this car interior much better than the preve But still a c segment car dashboard.

• 300kcar on Mar 22, 2015 at 12:34 am

Nowadays any cars have cheapo interior, only 500k above price has nice one

• iPhone on Mar 21, 2015 at 8:35 pm

How can this be grand?
    RM200k price for a Ford Fiesta face?

are you kidding me?

• johnjohn on Mar 21, 2015 at 9:00 pm

200K? this price is fair..
    i would buy honda,toyota, Nissan, or Mazda..
    just because they are cheaper.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 21, 2015 at 10:01 pm

After CNY, I kau kau also wanna sell my 2 rotten cabbages.

Have to park 500m away (and deliberately arriving late) so that no family members see me drive a kimchi. But somehow, someone saw and the news got spread to others. So, toward the end of reunion dinner, I got funny looks from relatives.

Then the old man mentioned my cousin got promoted and now drives bought an Accord for his wife. He gets a Lexus as company car.

I am so paiseh that excused myself to leave early by giving excuse that I have stomach upset.

So, curi curi leave and never felt so embarressed in my life.

Looking for Sam now to get rid of my cancer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 22, 2015 at 1:04 am

Now after waking up from my dream. I need to get to parkson to work before they fire me. Need money to pay for my son’s saga you know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • fiesta owner on Mar 21, 2015 at 11:06 pm

Being a fiesta owner for 3 year, I can say ford is a awesome car. Reliable? No problem so far until today, awesome handling which is what I love most.service? Free 3 year service including free 1 time off battery, brake pad, wiper claim. Awesome too I would say.

• fiesta owner 2 on Mar 23, 2015 at 10:55 am

I agree about the awesome handling part. Really fun car to drive but i will never touch a Ford again. Sold it off after the 3 years warranty as it has been a nightmare with the DCT. 3 and half years ownership and the DCT failed 5 times and cost RM8000 to repair once warranty is over!!

• SDAC after sales sucks on Mar 26, 2015 at 12:55 pm

Don’t ever own a FORD, SDAC doesn’t know how to fix their cars when there is problem.

• Richard on Mar 22, 2015 at 12:43 am

Great car with wrong pricing and launch at the wrong timing.

I believe that Ford market share in Malaysia is still not significant and most of the senior citizen memories are not favorable toward Ford. The new buyers group for Ford mainly are Ford Fiesta or Ranger. Hardly see any Ford Kuga on the road.

For a car price more than RM200 K, for me i will go for BMW, Mercedes Benz, Audi may be Lexus or Infiniti. Ford will never come to my mind.

Malibu pricing is reasonable but the response still no good. So, What Malaysia consumers want? Cheaper price? High Tech or new Tech? Reliability ? RV? or what?

For me Ford is a reliable brand but not a premium brand. So the pricing should be around camry, accord, Teana, Mazda 6. Sekian terima kasih.

• Poty for a great car just because of the wrong pricing. Or perhaps wrong hand.

• C.P.MOHAN on Mar 22, 2015 at 11:15 am

I wonder whether pricing is determined by the depreciating Ringgit. I hope it is not contagion.

• The Euro (the Mondeo is made in Valencia/Spain) is depreciating even more against the Ringgot.

• ford fan on Mar 22, 2015 at 12:20 pm

the exterior is good looking and fantastic but interior is so so. A 1.5 ecoboost engine should bring down the price and compete in the D segment. It has enough of juice to pull the car strongly at low revs. What is Sime Darby marketing people thinking? Passat uses 1.8, Peugeot 1.6Thp BMW will soon be equip with a 1.5 also. Malaysian mentality is always like the americans associated with big power engines.

• basherstupid on Mar 22, 2015 at 7:11 pm

No wonder got people asked why p1 dun have 2.0l equivalent engine. 1.6 turbo or not seems like same output

Kahkahkah

• You always seem to one of the rare sane ones on this blog with your reasonable comments that focused on cars…

I can strike you off that list now..you’re just a racist old man like many in this country….disappointing… FYI.. I aint an indian…

• thedarkside on Mar 23, 2015 at 1:50 pm

i’ll have it in black…all blackkkk