Your car insurance may not cover you if your car is stolen from valet parking – risks you need to consider

Valet parking services are convenient especially when you’re headed to a mall or a hotel during peak hours, but when we decided to use valet parking service we should be fully aware of the risks that we are about to take. Essentially, you are handing over your car keys to a complete stranger.

An engineer experienced a shock when he went to the valet parking at an upmarket shopping mall to collect his Mercedes-Benz E300 Bluetec Hybrid after having his dinner. He had handed it over to the valet two and a half hours earlier and went about his business. During that time, both the car and its keys had gone missing.

Upon reviewing CCTV footage, it was observed that one of the valet employees spoke to a man in a white shirt. The man then entered his car and drove off from the valet parking area.

Every time we hand our car over to a valet, there is a possibility that this can happen. When a valet takes your car keys and hands you a ticket, there is no supplementary form of verification that exists, such as noting down the person’s IC and checking it upon collection if it matches. As long as you bring the valet the ticket and pay the charges, you can just drive off with the car.

This collection process seems rather insecure considering we’re handling something that could cost hundreds of thousands of ringgit in value. The E300 Bluetec Hybrid costs RM349k. Perhaps valet parking operators should think about tweaking their process flow a little?

What we all need to realise and consider before we use valet parking is that if your car is stolen in such a manner, your loss will not be covered under your motor insurance. This is because you willingly handed over your car key to a third party. You will have to go after the shopping mall or valet parking service provider and try to claim compensation from their public liability insurance.

While we’re on the topic, for those who have drivers, if your driver runs away with your car, motor insurance will not compensate you either. To protect yourself against losses, you’ll have to buy a Fidelity Guarantee insurance for the car’s value. Not all insurance companies will offer you this even if you want to buy a policy, so it’s best to try to get it from an insurer that you buy a few policies from.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Ya, really need to be careful. Just bought the new car before CNY, now stolen by the farker. Don’t too sad, please go to Toyota showroom. Sam Loo will serve you nicely for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 45
    • Jimmy on Mar 23, 2015 at 5:10 pm

I think the owner of the upmarket shopping mall can be sued.
      Either you do it well or you completely don’t. You are dealing with upmarket customers and there is no difference in RM10

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 12
      • Whether you choose to trade-in or not, later Sam Loo will show you his Hailat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • sam proton2 on Mar 23, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Sam can lend you his son proton foc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
      • Same L0rrrr on Mar 24, 2015 at 3:19 pm

If I have a junk (a.k.a Proton), I can GIVE you foc.

Junk definition from dictionary: Give out free also no one interested.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
    • GERMAN CAR LOVER AKA JIAN on Mar 23, 2015 at 7:11 pm

For a person who goes to Pavilion almost everyday, I’ve never experienced this my whole life.Why doesn’t any body steeal my cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 54
      • Because your car is piece of s so nobody wants to steal your car :D

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 2
      • your car no value on May 02, 2015 at 12:08 am

Your car no value kot…

• Divid on May 25, 2015 at 3:11 pm

You grow vegetable in your brain? Why on earth would you say that.. Someone lost a great value of property and you idiot making joke about it? you might be as well the accomplice of that car thief

• HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Mar 25, 2015 at 7:45 am

This also includes giving the car keys to a car wash people tau……

• james on Mar 27, 2015 at 12:52 pm

i bought a hilux two times.. first time got stolen, second one also got stolen.. toyota didnt do anything to solve this problem. maybe they stole it so that their sales will increase.

• Richard on May 02, 2015 at 2:39 pm

Nope… you are just damn suay person!

• CK TAN on May 23, 2015 at 8:12 pm

is ur hilux car no plat as below?
        2.1.1. W8599F
        2.1.2. AJH7119
        2.1.3. PJY8373
        2.1.4. PLQ5566
        2.1.5. AHV3808
        2.1.6. AJT8310
        2.1.7. WB9941K
        2.1.8. MCJ3389
        2.1.9. JNY1382
        2.1.10. AJH7116
        2.1.11. PLD9039
        2.1.12. JPQ9636
        2.1.13. JPQ6636
        2.1.14. JPX6197
        2.1.15. CDJ9088

• carazy on Apr 30, 2015 at 3:47 pm

I wont let valet drive my car, never ever. I rather be a driver for a valet. or park in a normal space

• Amran PEKIDA Ori on Mar 23, 2015 at 3:17 pm

amran baru tahu.thanks PT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
  • Lam Soo on Mar 23, 2015 at 3:19 pm

He should replace it with FJ Cruiser

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 23
  • Same L0rrrr on Mar 23, 2015 at 3:19 pm

Where can you go with your hybrid? You think the roadside garage can handle it? End of the day, no one interested on the hybrid spare parts; those who drive it need to get back to Mercedes service centre too… And wahla the stolen car is found!

Buy a hybrid, you are much safer than the conventional petrol cars… Just like how often you heard Ferrari get stolen in Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 54
    • Same L0rrr N0 Tel0rrr .... on Mar 23, 2015 at 3:35 pm

Wat tok kok u? U thing car like tat theft steal for spepart meh? It alreadi leave country by nao. Maybe half way cross the world. Bolehland were got market for stolen car like dis???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 5
    • ferrari owner on Mar 23, 2015 at 8:25 pm

I heard a lot of burnt ferraris so they can get back money

• People who really care and love their cars would never valet park it. Fact.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 147 Thumb down 14
  • Amuse on Mar 23, 2015 at 3:20 pm

Some typo error on the date mentioned. Article said is March 20, but youtube said is 27 Feb 2015. Which one is correct?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • ESEFT on Mar 24, 2015 at 2:24 am

27 Feb:7.30pm-10.30pm Incient happened
      28 Feb:1.45am police report was made

• Billy the Brush on Mar 24, 2015 at 1:26 pm

Why on God’s earth would you want to know? …. go see a doctor .. and check out anal retentive in the waiting room while you are there …

• this can be consider as the negligence of the valet staff.
    and if the valet service do have insurance coverage it would be peace of mind for their users..
    anyhow the user can claim under the valet parking company liabilty insurance if their car did went missing..

just 2 cents from insurance guy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
    • Hi Insurance guy, appreciate your insurer accept fidelity insurance and/or public liability insurance for the valet service. If your insurer can provide, I can recommend thousands of valet operator to your company.

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 23, 2015 at 3:29 pm

Thanks for the tip Paul. Now i will think twice (heck many times) about using valet, unless if there is absolutely no vacant parking available.

I didn’t know about the driver thingy either, not that I need one.

• Ha Gnih on Mar 23, 2015 at 3:36 pm

Thats why lar. Wanna act high class comes with its own set of dangers and risks as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 57
    • No one’s acting high class. Stop being delusional.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 8
      • Uh huh on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:31 pm

Mr Weed telling ppl not to be delusional… That’s kinda delusional don’t U think..?

• annonymous on Mar 23, 2015 at 7:40 pm

You gotta be driving those cars with engine below 1000 c.c and got jealous seeing those Benz and BMW to enter valet parking.

It’s such a shame to see such incident happened in one of most high-end shopping malls in KL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • valet parking is not about high class or what. it’s convenience with a price. stop living under a rock.

• Kereta Nasional Lebih Bagus on Mar 23, 2015 at 3:42 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 198
    • Deus Ex on Mar 23, 2015 at 4:37 pm

My, my, the grapes sure are sour this time of year.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 4
    • Mr. Correction on Mar 23, 2015 at 4:53 pm

Hey, you take mama beli jangan la mengejek orang lain. Mind your own business!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • man, you are dumb as a brick. i think you kind a guy that begging for BR1M avery year. Work hard and don’t be jealous or bad mouth people misfortune.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
    • abang, kalau hati sudah dengki, sampai bila2 pun tak guna…
      orang pakai kereta murah pun pakai valet parking…

kalau abang sederhana ka miskin ka kaya ka, apa guna kalau hati sudah busuk?

• Ripcord on Mar 23, 2015 at 3:46 pm

When you park your car with the valet. Make sure you don’t leave your kids behind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
  • Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 23, 2015 at 3:54 pm

Rats, I should have been there instead.

That way, I can claim insurance on my rotten cabbage instead of selling to Sam at a hailat price of RM30k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • Whether you choose to trade-in or not, later Sam Loo will show you his Hailat.

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 24, 2015 at 3:28 pm

The car you buy kimchi, you should consider your car stolen like this. Because when it comes to trade in, you find value close to none. Good luck.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 23, 2015 at 4:01 pm

I used to use the valet parking services at Mid Valley and Sentral when in need to go for meetings…parking at those locations are impossible.

Now I just UBER in. Cost about the same anyway..if you are in for a few hours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • azrai on Mar 23, 2015 at 4:59 pm

The same goes for car wash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • homobium on Mar 23, 2015 at 5:13 pm

wah, engineer drive brand new E300 bluetec. so good money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • tan sari on Mar 23, 2015 at 5:13 pm

mercedes HQ, cannot locate it? coomon , such expensive car, OMG.

• jyp12 on Mar 23, 2015 at 5:29 pm

this particular upmarket shopping mall valet once declined to serve me because I drive a Prius on that particular day. After I drove off, the people in the Range Rover behind me came out and the valet served them gladly lol. I was lost with words but anger. Guess I’ll just have to pull up in a Porsche next time to teach them a lesson.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 22
    • Ah Beng hailat on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:29 am

Prius is just an overpriced junk. He thought it was a perodua and you could not afford to pay RM30. Serve you right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
    • bc261 on Mar 28, 2015 at 11:53 pm

The ppl who work at the valet service really have high expectations… There’s once I went to midvalley in my brothers 09′ Camry, they declined. 2 weeks later I returned in my brand new Porsche Panamera GTS, they serve me like as if I’m Lee Chong Wei like dat… walao eh, just cuz some ppl cannot afford expensive cars like mercedes,bmw,Audi, porsche etc, the valet refuse to serve them.

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 23, 2015 at 5:48 pm

For a high end shopping place, he has a point, we trust they do a decent job in making sure these guys are legit.

It’s one of the reasons why I never dare to give any of my cars to a valet guy ever again, after hearing horror stories of damage and more so, a couple of years back, when I gave my car to a prominent mall with a lion in it, the way they drove the car worries me, how rough they handle it. Just because it was a diesel SUV, they clearly didn’t expect the torque, and they pretty much slam the brakes at every junction.

I really wish this guy would get the money back for his car, what a pity that considering the E300 is a limited run car mind you, thanks to the tax structure.

In the mean time, the police should be arresting the fella who gave the keys and finding this dude who is driving out with the car, come on, finding a diesel black E class won’t be too hard, not like there are that many on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • tokmoh. on Mar 23, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Already escape to Thai borders most likely. This car got kena AES at Slim River, can guess edi where the thieves wanna go.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • sudonano (Member) on Mar 23, 2015 at 7:31 pm

True, most likely passed the Thai border – potentially… But how they plan to get it across the border I wonder. An E class won’t fit in a sampan

Speaking of which, they must be a bunch of complete idiots though. Driving through Slim River with the original plates.

• Two cents on Mar 23, 2015 at 10:56 pm

This isn’t the first time this has happened at the valet’s in Pavilion. Have heard of another case where a Porsche driver lost his car. Boycott the valet. It’s their negligence.

• Samad Jain on Mar 23, 2015 at 7:21 pm

this risk includes at car washing service.

Owner willingly hands over the car key.
    Car goes missing at car washing service….

NO insurance claim…..

Be careful out there….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Albert on Mar 23, 2015 at 9:35 pm

This guy will not get his money/car back even if he sues.
    There are too many loopholes.Pavilion will say ,you sue the actual
    “outsourced” car jockey.
    Just like leaving your benze with a carwash.You sue the car wash for rm 350,000 …next day the car wash close shop and move outstation ,under a new Indon operator.NEVER USE VALET PARKING AND CINA APEK CARWASH.It is easier to drive your car off since they have your keys,without breaking in!

• Must include Ampang Park Valet Parking as well…

• mr.advice on Mar 23, 2015 at 10:05 pm

just feel so many tis kind oddly ppl,after happen wah lah here wah lah there,why dn do something before happen?always aiya not kena me nvm no need lah,why got so good money doest install a gps that can detect car location,cut off fuel function?do something before happen,no roadbully no hit n run visit www.facebook.com/haokinyiao

• Rich people problem

• One question…why Teresa kok is there at the press conference??? What can she do??? Blame the government again??? Hahaha this also want to politicize…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • drMsohai on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:33 am

Syukur malaysia aman!

• Becoz PR has finally shown their true colors that they only care for the rich. Those who are poor would be treated like the banglas they hated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Yo Miss Kok, rather u busy talk kok there might as well u go settle the problem faced by ur parliamentary area la lanjiao…dengue, Dash, kidex, etc….got other bigger things to settle then clowning on this silly thing laaaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
  • A_Class_Kaki on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:04 am

if I take valet service, I will park the car and keep the car key by myself. Sounds stupid but u just need the nice valet parking space only what. No point to take the risk.

• Sam Loo Ori on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:23 am

Told you guys not to buy no RV sui kwan Euro. This feller came over to my yard last week. I showed him the hilux. Cut him a cheque for 150k and he shouted hailat and refused. I told him it cant be traded in any higher. Better claim insurance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • my friend had an exact same incident in Jaya 33 as well. Also a luxury car

• Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:51 am

Now that Sam has bought my 26 month old Sonata for RM30k, I decided to have myself an Accord.

Booked the 2.0 GunMetal. Within 1 week, I will park like most proud car owners will do, blocking driveways and double parking.

Don’t feel embarresed to show my car off anymore.

My advised to kimchi owners is, sell your rotten cabbages quick. The faster you cut your cancer, the better your life will be

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • There are some cars that offers separate keys for valet (not sure if this is offered in Msia). Usually the only difference is it cannot open the trunk and the glove box. Maybe they should also include limiting the ability of the car, such as locking the fuel cap and limiting the top speed to 60kmh.

• I just used vallet last week at klia2 coz very late to send my wife and kid.. and that is the first (probably my last). yes, it is a useful service but may think many times after this incident..

• doubt the valet operator nor pavilion will take responsibility. i think the ticket has some t&c stated “at your own risk” behind somewhere…in fine print…

• kapish on Mar 25, 2015 at 3:43 pm

The clause can be challenged in court. As long as you pay a fees for the services, the clause doesn’t void their responsibility if your car is damaged or stolen.

The guy should talk to a lawyer and file a claim against the valet company as first defender and the mall as 2nd defender.

• Maverick on Mar 25, 2015 at 11:42 pm

Rich people who can afford to guy expensive cars should also install GPS based car security system like CobraConnex complete with emergency retrieval team. With built in tampering protection to shut down car.

• Pity the guy. I do tend to valet park from time to time. Especially if it’s a wedding in a hotel. You can never get parking in hotels that have events going on.

There has to be some responsibility that falls on the valet service provider or not how would you discourage their workers to be more stop ‘inside job’ issues.

• Azizul Zulzaha on Mar 29, 2015 at 7:41 pm

A RM349k Mercedes that uses a key. They probably should implement “Sign in with Facebook” to enter the car.

• Lorry Driver on Mar 31, 2015 at 11:59 am

I used to park my lorry using valley service. Hahahaha……just for the purpose of easing my job…the vallet operator could not refused me when i bring out my stick to ketuk the door of the lorry…maybe he think i am gonna hurt him…..

• chinoy on Apr 30, 2015 at 2:51 pm

he can still smiling after the car missing. he can easily buy another one. most of us will shit in our pants if this happens.

• Hahhahaha…. ‘deng’. that’s why we never take fancy car to a mall. Juz drive a normal sedan to the jockey. yes… they’re irritated to see and have to drive cheap car to a parking lot. however, normally, the moment they saw tens of valet parking service coupon inside the car, their perspective normally changed. car is a depreciated asset. drive fancy car as a way to show off the wealth? again…. Deng u. Hahahaha

• Tiensoon on May 01, 2015 at 6:16 pm

The valet and premium car wash operators can avoid this incident by offering MyKad verification service to customers as a value-added option. Mobile MyKad reader is easily available and it’s cheap.

• dante on May 02, 2015 at 3:00 pm

What Teresa Kok can do only politicize the incident and blame the police. Haha..
    Anyway, the thief will dismantle the car in Malaysia (possibly in Perak) if he/they want to sell the spare parts even to Thailand.
    Normally, stolen car like this will be found but mostly in “stripped” condition.
    I think the valet operators should be allowed to keep our car keys. The jockey must hand over the car’s key back to us after they parked the car.

• streams on May 03, 2015 at 9:24 am

I had my share of valet service in BSC mishap. They broke my Honda stream front lip and gash my work vs wheels real good and act as nothing happened. There is no insurance or us able to claim anything from them. Last I used valet to park my car, but my father and family still park valet because lazy to find parking spot.

• For streams on May 07, 2015 at 11:36 pm

@Streams

There is no cure for laziness to find a parking spot

• My ears bleed listening to these 2 speak.

• The so called high end mall shd take full responsibility cos they subcon the valet service out to these people. Owners pay extra charges with expectation of convenience, secure and peace of mind service. And these valet drivers usually sweat stink which can contaminate yr entire interior. what is this!? Aroma therapy? Some even look so gangster and bad guy face and wonder he could b trusted not. Abt the control of handing over the car back to owner, dun think these valet drivers are well-trained and well informed. I would not b surprised if these people are those foreign workers from Myanmar or bangla. Insurance dun even cover any loss or damage that occurs at basement carpark cos it’s always written there as “park at yr own risk”. What is this again?

• SkyChin on May 27, 2015 at 2:34 pm

There’s a better way to strengthen valet service through technology.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ot8ROlxoBm8