GALLERY: 2015 Peugeot 308 now in showrooms

2015-peugeot-308 64

You’ve seen the spyshots, heard of the confirmed launch date, caught a glimpse of the spec sheet and might have even placed a booking yourself ever since the order books were opened. Now, you can get up close and personal with the 2015 Peugeot 308 as units of the hatch have already made their into showrooms.

The 2014 European Car of the Year will arrive in Malaysia this April with a sole engine/transmission combination. Under the hood, a 1.6 litre, turbocharged THP 150 four-cylinder engine is mated to an AT6 six-speed automatic transmission with Quickshift Technology. A total of 152 PS at 5,000 rpm and 240 Nm of torque, produced between 1,450 rpm to 4,000 rpm, gets sent to the front wheels.

Do not be put off by the lower power figures, though. Peugeot has stated that this new mill features a number of upgrades which include a new turbocharger and piston designs along with an updated engine control unit (ECU) that’s been calibrated to work well with our fuel quality. Performance figures include a 0-100 km/h time of 9.4 seconds and an electronically limited top speed of 211 km/h. Fuel consumption is rated at 15.4 km/l.

2015-peugeot-308 19

As for its aesthetics, the new C-segment competitor is, without a doubt, dressed to impress. In line with the marque’s latest design language, the 2015 Peugeot 308 arrives with the same front bumper as seen on the mid-range variant elsewhere instead of the blander base version. The head lamps are of the full LED variants with integrated daytime running lights.

Elsewhere, our version of the 2015 Peugeot 308 gets 18-inch ‘Saphir’ alloy wheels wrapped in 225/40 Michelin Pilot Sport 3 tyres. The rear end sports a more premium outlook compared to the outgoing 308 with the LED tail lamps arranged in a ‘three-claw’ layout.

Those who prioritise kit count above anything else will have a field day as the new 308 is equipped with keyless entry and push-start capabilities, a reverse camera, electronic parking brake, panoramic roof, front seats with electric lumbar adjustment and massage function plus a 9.7-inch HD touchscreen system.

2015-peugeot-308 61

The latter is, arguably, the highlight of the interior as it almost completely negates the use for buttons on the centre console. The system now controls close to everything on the car, ranging from climate control, vehicle configurations, the entertainment system and the onboard telephone.

Official cargo capacity is rated at 470 litres, which can then be increased via the 60:40 split-folding rear seats. Additional driver aids are featured in the form of Dynamic Cruise Control (first in its segment), Emergency Collision Alert and Emergency Collision Braking. Hill start assist, six airbags, a reinforced safety cage and traction control further add to the 308’s Euro NCAP five-star rating.

The 2015 Peugeot 308 is expected to cost in the region of RM140,000, judging from a leaked shot of the price listinclusive of GST, mind you. Five colour options are available, Pearl White, Artense Grey, Mocha Brown, Rouge Red and Nera Black. Watch this space.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• gila RM140K. one also won’t sell.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
    • Bob_B78 on Mar 23, 2015 at 4:25 pm

Agree. Better stick with new Mazda 3 hatchback. Much cheaper and equally good to drive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • Gargantia on Mar 23, 2015 at 4:48 pm

Gila? Wait for more to increase price…

MAA cronies will keep making Rakyat suffer expensive car, complaint? No use because all of them are under the same boss…

Thanks Finance Minister.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • WUV69XX 407 Kuantan on May 16, 2015 at 10:37 am

Ye… if your pocket hv not money please dont ever own one… only money men afford to ride peugeot… Malaysian only got GST… That why malaysian become hater to peugeot brands… hhahaha…

• WUV69XX on May 16, 2015 at 10:38 am

Ye… if your pocket hv not money please dont ever own one… only money men afford to ride peugeot… Malaysian only got GST… That why malaysian become hater to peugeot brands… hhahaha…

I am 407 owner… my friends of mine (datok) own BMWs sport and BMW X1… He told me Peugeot 407 is much better ride than his BMWs… ma…. He plans to own one in near future… Come on Peugeot haters read my statement… This Datok got a couple of BMWs… really appreciated me as peugeot owner!!!
      No money dont talk about peugeot maa….

• the car = nice. the price =

• Sagia86 on Mar 23, 2015 at 7:46 pm

Peugeot produce the worst car in recent time, according to Top Gear UK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
  • civicEK on Mar 23, 2015 at 4:41 pm

who want to buy lah, can buy accord some more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Lolol on Mar 23, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Not affordable anymore and competitive anymore. It can compete with Altis.

• It’s competitive with the Mazda 3 High-spec though. 130k vs 140k.

• Lolol on Mar 23, 2015 at 6:21 pm

Pug can only compete with Altis…. in the cold storage category. Too expensive for brand. At that price, it actually gives Altis a fighting chance to survive after nearly dying already. Lol.

For the price and spec, there will be a preference for Mazda. 10K cheaper with better specs and reliability.

• It’s a lot fairer to compete it with the Mazda as it has similar kit.

But price-wise, it’s closest to the Altis. But I’d take the Pug over the Altis if I have 140k to burn.

• intermilan on Mar 24, 2015 at 3:16 pm

10K with better spec and reliability…

Better spec?

Agak2 la kalau nak menipu pun..

• Golfer on Mar 23, 2015 at 5:30 pm

RM140k for this? Nasim must be going nuts thinking Peugeot is the same level as Mazda/Toyota/Honda. Mazda 3 anyday for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
  • sudonano (Member) on Mar 23, 2015 at 5:38 pm

Dat rear! <3

But seriously, the 308 has the Mazda and VW options in a corner, I'd probably take the 308 over the Mazda cause of the better kit on the hatchback, and the lack of iActiveSense on the Mazda 3.

Over the Golf, it might not be so easy for this Frenchie, but I think it should put up a good fight. Unlike the VW this 308 uses a normal auto – more likely to be reliable, but in terms of driving dynamics, the Golf does it all, nearly. Unless the 308 can top that, its not gonna be easy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • susano'o on Mar 24, 2015 at 9:58 am

I agree. Golf is a good compact car. Despite of the hates that VW received, still Golf is one of the best compact car in the world.

• Buy 308 get steering lock special edition KIKI signature.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • Nurul on Mar 23, 2015 at 6:06 pm

Really pity malaysians…

The average joe can really cannot afford to drive Japanese or Comtinental made cos it’s too bloody expensive.

The average joe really forced to drive saga and axia for the rest of their lives…

This car only costs RM60k in Australia and a cashier can afford this.

Comes to bolehland becomes RM140k wtf!!!

How many people can afford this car at this price??

Mind you the Peugeot 308 is like Potong Saga in Europe it’s mass market car and meant to be cheap and affordable.

Comes to bolehland becomes a super duper premium highend 6 figures cars when the average joe pay is RM3k a month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 6
    • Sandiwara (Member) on Mar 23, 2015 at 9:03 pm

You can always fill out a migration form or overseas work transfer form
      That way you can simply find a job and enjoy your luxury car that you cant afford here

Why continue be a sour grape here when you can lead a life alot of average joe can only envy in overseas?

I was told the grasses is always greener on the other side because it is fed with bullshit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 47
      • lol…i think you have been eating too much local bullshit fertilised grass.

• I did a configure in Peugeot Australia website, http://www.peugeot.com.au/configure/308/5-door-hatch/ for the about the same spec we are getting here, it cost A$38437 which is about RM115K. It never cost RM60K for this car, definitely not the engine you are getting. For the currency wise – yes, we are paying 4 cars compare to Aussie to buy one car. With GST kicks in next month, life is getting tougher for us in every other things.

• samsoo on Mar 23, 2015 at 6:09 pm

what if you’re the kind of driver who likes to switch off your a/con before you switch your car off and one fine but very hot day, the screen fails to function and you’re in some countryside hours away from a service centre and it’s a sunday…?

• flyzone on Mar 23, 2015 at 6:15 pm

I heard that the steering blocked the speedometer viewing..betoi ka!

• xiper (Member) on Mar 23, 2015 at 6:17 pm

buy this car with less than 60k in 2 years later, still got warranty

• Krasher on Mar 23, 2015 at 6:32 pm

Look at the pathetic glovebox, again!
    Why they did this to the RHD market?!

• OMG RM140K?
    Come year end Nassim will be offering 20K rebate..lol
    You can’t be in your right mind to buy it now.

Wondering will there be a CKD version later…..

• nabei on Mar 23, 2015 at 6:47 pm

Useless french piece of s#%&. No resale value. Bad after service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
  • ben yap on Mar 23, 2015 at 7:46 pm

even the old 308 at RM128K also so hard to sell. this one going for RM140K is even harder to sell.

the 408T going for RM98K also not many on the road.

Nasim must be daydreaming again.

• Ex-Pug on Mar 23, 2015 at 8:50 pm

The reliability issues put paid to this brand here. Kaput.

• Sandiwara (Member) on Mar 23, 2015 at 9:04 pm

Not really, for every 1 enlightened car buyer theres 99 more out there who buys based on spec/price alone

• Doubt the reliability of new mill with different set of turbocharger and piston, mine turbo developed issue and required a change out and it cost RM14k from Nasim.. Think twice..
    Got this car back then when compare to golf.. Cos better equipped and about RM30k cheaper.. But don’t think is anymore competitive compare to golf tsi 1.4

• For those who say this car is expensive,mind you it cost 140 k because inclusive of gst.
    if n0 gst it should be at 130k range.
    look at the spec better than the current 308,i think it is fairly priced.
    i think this car targeted those who capable with unique requirement and ask for something different.
    Certainly rv is not in their mind.
    what is your impression on the driver when you see a new 308 on road?
    special,classy,fairly rich but not very rich,stubborn,see thing from different perspective And adventurous.
    probably that cost you 140k.
    try now how a vios or altis driver would be?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
  • I am a proud owner of RCZ manual version and Peugeot 407. Peugeot car is great. However, at rm140k, it is definitely over priced. Add a little more and you can get 508 already, and at rm140k,there are just way too many choices put there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • 2014 European car of the year, I’m coming for you :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • john doe on Mar 24, 2015 at 8:48 am

I wonder why Malaysian version got long pointy antenna at the roof. Australian version got much smaller one, making the car looks much sleeker and sportier. They even have many variants to choose depending on your budget.

• You are right, the antenna looks ugly. How stupid for not choosing the smaller version.

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 24, 2015 at 9:27 am

Admittedly, its not an exciting car to look at. But, considering the specs list, RM140k is a pretty good deal. Resale value might not be so nice – if that is important. The 470 litres boot sounds huge for a hatchback too.

• a few thousands could have been saved from those stupid 18 inch alloy/tyres and panoramic glass roof.

• to be fair, here in the UK this is the top spec GT line. That costs £24k. To put that in perspective it’s the same price as a base spec Golf R-line (not Golf R) and that doesn’t even have projector headlamps let alone Full LED. Not to mention the side airbags are an optional extra.

• intermilan on Mar 24, 2015 at 3:14 pm

Seems to receive a lot of continuous unjust negative comments.

It most probably not going to be a sales success, but a lot of the negative comments are indeed unjust and not objective.

Someone said that the RM9K cheaper CKD mazda 3 HB is “better-specced” than this new 308..

Agak2 la kalau nak menipu pun..

• Josh Ling on Mar 24, 2015 at 3:22 pm

i am just curious why a small car like this needs to have an electronic speed limiter ah? it’s not like it has an engine producing more than 200hp and its weight is less than 800kg leh…..

• Norman J on Mar 27, 2015 at 4:45 pm

If you look at the centre console, the round knob (for volume I guess) is positioned to the left (for European left hand drive car) and it is STILL positioned to the left for Malaysian RIGHT HAND DRIVE car. It should be moved to the right (of the DVD/CD tray).

The lock button (below the knob) should be swapped with the recirculation button.

Even the start/stop button also is on the left (nearer to the passenger instead of the driver).

It seems Peugeot only transfer the steering to the right hand side and leaves everything else intact.

Why is Peugeot so malas to re-outlay the centre console for right hand drive car?

• hohoho on Apr 04, 2015 at 3:01 pm

This car cost only 23k Euro full specs in europe. Come to Malaysia, Peugoet dare to sell rm140k. GOOD try peugoet.