Honda BULLDOG concept wants to be your best friend

honda-bulldog-concept

The Honda BULLDOG concept has just been unveiled at the 2015 Osaka Motorcycle Show. Billed as a rider-friendly study on two wheels, the concept adheres to the theme of what Honda calls the “Lovable Touring Partner” – you have to love the Japanese!

Powering the motorcycle is a 400 cc liquid-cooled, four-stroke DOHC two-cylinder engine – mated to a six-speed transmission – that’s been tuned to deliver an “easy to handle” power delivery. In staying true to its easy-going nature, the Honda BULLDOG concept rides on 15-inch wheels, front and rear, and its 730 mm seat height ensures a low, stable centre of gravity.

honda-bulldog-concept-2

Storage compartments are aplenty with the inclusion of a carrier compartment for “camping-touring” while additional cargo capacity comes courtesy of an “accessory storage” space on either sides of the fuel tank. Styling wise, the motorcycle features simple yet charming cues such as the twin circular head lamps while the body itself possesses a stumpy, grounded stance.

We’re not so sure about the contrasting turquoise highlights, though. While it may add a bit of colour and flair, it could end up looking like a refugee from the set of a B-grade sci-fi film – moto Tron tak jadi, perhaps?

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• MitchelJohn on Mar 23, 2015 at 7:07 pm

Looks like a toy bike rich people buy for their kids at first

then suddenly you realized it’s a 400cc bike

• rider on Mar 23, 2015 at 7:26 pm

looked like world war combat bike. weird looking 400cc bike. 50`s design!!!

• Mospeada? on Mar 23, 2015 at 7:27 pm

Is it just me or it bears a striking resemblance to the bikes from the MOSPEADA anime?
    Might be the colour scheme or the blocky design of the bike.. I’m interested anyway.

• rider on Mar 23, 2015 at 7:30 pm

look like world war combat bike. 40`s design!!!

• Sam Loo1 on Mar 23, 2015 at 7:33 pm

400cc bike also have 6 speed. Haiz Toyota still four speed for most of their models. Malu

• sepul on Mar 23, 2015 at 8:03 pm

Looks cool though.

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 23, 2015 at 8:05 pm

Aww Honda, first the Waku Waku gate on the StepWGN, now this!

How adorable! Someone should really give the guy making these names a raise for lightening up the brand names.

• spongewai on Mar 23, 2015 at 8:14 pm

yes, i can becoming your best friend but not best G

• kugakugakuga on Mar 23, 2015 at 8:36 pm

Quirky it may look but I bet it’s super practical. Looking forward to seeing the trend it brings forth here in Malaysia. How’s the top speed btw? Bhalalalalalala

• jay loo on Mar 23, 2015 at 8:37 pm

Price it below RM 25,000 and i will buy it. The new Kawasaki Vulcan S with the same engine with 650 Versys engine also will be available for under RM 30k

• karipap basah on Mar 23, 2015 at 9:13 pm

got vtec, yo?

• nabill (Member) on Mar 24, 2015 at 2:17 am

i really thought its made out of Lego bricks!
    anyway no matter what bike , the buyer will automatically be a maniac retarded thug on the road…

• azrai on Mar 24, 2015 at 8:41 am

Perkasa and other NGOs will oppose this ‘I want to touch a dog’ motorcycle.” Sigh…

• Yuzdi8 on Mar 24, 2015 at 9:10 am

It looks like Honda Ruckus (cup chai thailand) but in bigger engine capacity.

• I kinda like the look of it, including the turquoise highlights and side mirrors. It conveys “I like having fun on bikes and am not too serious about it”.

• nighttrain on Mar 24, 2015 at 2:45 pm

Cool, priced below 30K I’ll probably buy it..

• Josh Ling on Mar 24, 2015 at 3:30 pm

can be a great prop for the disaster / sci-fi / futuristic industrial movies through!