SPIED: Peugeot 508 RXH HYbrid4 in basement parking

peugeot-508-rxh-hybrid4-0002

It’s been one and a half years since the Peugeot 508 HYbrid4 RXH was seen at JPJ Putrajaya, but we’ve yet to see a local launch. We thought it could possibly have been the first diesel-electric hybrid launched in Malaysia, but that honour ended up with the Mercedes E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid.

Today we can show you a registered unit, which we caught in the basement parking of a shopping mall in PJ. We spoke to Peugeot distributors Nasim Sdn Bhd about the car and they said it is a unit driven by the PSA local representatives here in Malaysia. There are no plans to put it on sale just yet, and the unit was registered to test out the car’s HYbrid4 diesel-electric hybrid system under Malaysian conditions.

Unlike the rest of the 508 range, the RXH is available only with the HYbrid4 system. The system sees the coming together of a 2.0 HDi FAP diesel engine, an electric motor and four-wheel drive for a total output of 200 hp and 450 Nm. A start-stop system is standard, and it can be driven on 100% electricity alone (ZEV mode), too. The combined cycle is less than 4.2 litres per 100 km, with CO2 emissions of 109 g/km.

The RXH also gets an offroader style bodykit and a slightly higher ride height, in the style of Audi’s Allroad or Volvo’s Cross Country variants. The foglamps are replaced by a signature “lion claws” LED design.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• As much as I want this to be available here, I don’t it’ll happen. Remember the 3008 & DS5 Hybrid4? If I’m not mistaken the DS5 H is owned by the head of Nasim

• nabill (Member) on Mar 23, 2015 at 12:46 am

wow , all that torque!

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 23, 2015 at 4:24 am

I actually wonder, is that an EGS?

EGS is known to be quite bad in stop-start traffic…

• Leave it at basement permanently…stop wasting consumer time & money

• Faiza on Mar 23, 2015 at 10:00 am

Selling RM90k in UK and Europe with their country land size smaller than here

When comes to bolehland becomes RM350k+++

• Wake up! on Mar 23, 2015 at 10:19 am

What are you smoking, dude? It is selling at GBP35K which is around RM190K.