2015 Ford Ranger facelift – all the new features and changes detailed, plus live gallery from Bangkok

Ford Ranger Facelift BKK 2015 1

You would have seen the 2015 Ford Ranger facelift by now, going through one of the first live galleries of the refreshed truck in the world yesterday. Gut fed and fuelled, we’re now back to dive deeper into the specifications and new features of the global One Ford pick-up truck.

It still looks and drives fresh, but the current Ranger was first unveiled to the world in October 2010 in Australia, four and a half years ago. We covered the truck’s ASEAN debut at the 2011 Bangkok Motor Show a couple of months later. The much-anticipated model came to Malaysia in mid-2012.

Since then, the T6 has won many fans and owners – Ford sold 195,000 units of the Ranger in 2014 alone, and sales in Malaysia jumped 49% to 8,577 units last year, making it the second best selling pick-up truck after the Hilux. The Toyota is pretty hard to beat (in terms of sales) but Ford actually managed to do so in Vietnam, Cambodia, Philippines, Myanmar and New Zealand last year. In Thailand, a major truck market, sales rose in 2014.

The Ranger rolls out from three Ford facilities around the globe – Argentina, South Africa and Thailand. ASEAN including Malaysia gets its supply from the AutoAlliance Thailand (AAT) plant in Rayong, Thailand, where this latest model will continue to be produced.

The most apparent change on this facelift is on the face itself, now featuring a bold, chrome trapezoidal grille that isn’t too dissimilar from the F-150 Raptor’s in shape. The headlamps, which are connected to the grille, have been upgraded to projector units. There’s also a new hood with strakes in the middle. This car is the XLT, but you can see pretty clear spyshots of the dressed-up Wildtrak here.

“We saw an opportunity to give the design extra tension, and to emphasise ‘Built Ford Tough’ design elements like the outboard nostrils – all while maintaining the Ranger’s excellent aerodynamic characteristics,” said Dave Dewitt, exterior design manager.

Ford Ranger Facelift BKK 2015 29

A note on the side steps, which are no longer metal pipes. Ford says that the new plastic items offer more usability, as it’s wider and easier to step on, plus easier to clean. More practical, apparently.

First seen in the upcoming Everest, the cabin is new. The curves of the old dashboard is gone, replaced by straight lines and a strong horizontal design for a tough image to match the exterior. Besides providing an impression of width, it frames a central eight-inch touchscreen. That’s not the only screen though; behind the new button-rich steering wheel sits a dual-TFT instrument cluster that provides the driver with all sorts of info, from navigation to climate control.

The new Ranger comes with SYNC 2, Ford’s latest in-car connectivity system. Using voice commands like “temperature 20 degrees” or “I’m hungry”, the driver can control the air con, navigation and audio system. Ford is also highlighting a new 240-volt power socket that can be used to power a laptop computer.

Also available on this truck are Lane Keeping Alert (vibrates steering when you veer out of lane), Lane Keeping Aid (applies steering torque to guide vehicle back into lane), Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Alert (visual and audio warning when approaching a car too fast, preps the brakes), front and rear park assist (with rear view camera), Tyre Pressure Monitoring System, ESP and Driver Impairment Monitor (detects drowsiness). Yes, you’re reading about a pick-up truck, although not all these will be present in all variants in our market, as pricing needs to be competitive.

The cabin alone may make current Ranger owners salivate, but there are changes under the skin too. Three revised Duratorq TDCi units could come to Malaysia – the five-cylinder 3.2L (updated EGR system, 197 hp, 470 Nm, 18% better economy), a standard 2.2L four-pot (158 hp/385 Nm) and a high-efficiency variant of the 2.2L with 129 hp and 22% better FC. A 164 hp/225 Nm 2.5L Duratec petrol engine is available elsewhere.

New here is stop-start tech, which saves fuel by shutting down the engine when idling. This alone improves FC by 3.5%, and a longer final drive ratio aids the cause when cruising. Also new is electric power steering, which is a first in segment. Besides saving fuel (about 3%) as it eliminates the power steering pump, EPAS is quieter and provides varying assistance based on speed, steering angle, cornering forces and acceleration/deceleration. Light and manageable at low speeds and precise at high speed, Ford says.

For this writer, the current Ranger is the best truck to drive on tarmac, but Ford has seen fit to retune the suspension for “additional comfort and even better handling” while also improving NVH. Off-road highlights such as 800 mm wading depth, 230 mm ground clearance, 28-degree approach angle, 25-degree departure angle and up to 3,500 kg towing capability remain unchanged.

The Ranger facelift will arrive in Malaysia in the second half of this year. More details closer to launch. Meanwhile, have a recap by reading our test drive report of the pre-facelift Ranger T6.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Graham the Bear on Mar 24, 2015 at 9:32 am

Hmm… Would I consider one?

• Hailat on Mar 24, 2015 at 11:31 am

Sam Loo now very worried, not done by Vios sales affected by City and now this feature-laden Ranger gonna tapau Hilux sales too.

Sorry lah Toyota, you cannot rely selling Hilux based on RV and T logo anymore. Better match up with Ranger’s specs or lose out more sales. New Triton and Navara coming soon also with better package. Tough times ahead for Toyota soon!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
      • Same L0rrrr on Mar 24, 2015 at 11:52 am

I am worry? I am laughing out loud (LOL).

End of the days, ppl still come back to my Hilux. Ford, still miles away from Toyota in terms of reliability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 55
      • Alex Wang on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:34 pm

hmm…..you are a bit can’t understand how pick up is used. mostly the sales are from Sabah/Sarawak….which mean most of the people here still choose HILUX…. it is like seeing myvi on the road as much as HILUX….people still buy because it is TOYOTA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
      • PickUpTruckUser on Apr 11, 2015 at 12:38 pm

I would say its no point talking about other pick up truck has cool spec than hilux. But can other pick up truck match the resale value of toyota hilux? NO!!!
        Safety aspect on pick up truck…well as u know basically any pick up truck are all build tall and possibility to overturn is high. When not driven and negotiate properly especially on corner of coz risk is higher. In Sarawak, not just hilux ever overturn, i’ve seen quite number of navara, triton n ranger do overturn too. Even sedan can overturn. So the drivers do play important safety role in handling own car.

• Obviously (Member) on Mar 24, 2015 at 9:52 am

Right now, the only thing the Hilux has going for it is the cheaper and more abundant spare parts and simplicity of repair. The former is because the Hilux has many adopters and its mechanicals are ancient. If the Ranger can dethrone the Hilux as the best seller of all time, the price of spare parts should come down and their availability should increase, due to economies of scale.

The Rangerlution has begun and let it not stop until the Hilux lies mangled and smoking at the bottom of the crevasse of obsolescence!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo must be pissing his pants everytime he see a Ford Ranger… soon brother.. sooon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
      • Ya Loo on Oct 07, 2015 at 1:48 pm

Agreed with Obviously. Let the market be competitive. Dont drive a hilux nor ranger but another. I can only envy a ranger but could not afford. So many consideration, ending up being expensive all over.

• spongewai on Mar 24, 2015 at 9:58 am

the most easiest way to steal car is-

Toyota Hilux
    Toyota Camry
    Toyota Corolla Altis
    Ford Ranger

many la and uncountables

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • syukirosan on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:16 am

u mean ‘the easiest car to steal’, i dont even get what u r trying to say, apparently those car are top on the list of the most desirable car that can be sold immediately

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:54 am

The cars that no one wants to steal :-
      1)Optima
      2)Celaka
      3)Picanto
      4)Sorento
      5)Sportage
      6)i10
      7)Sonata
      8)Elantra
      9)Santa Fe
      10) Tucson

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
  • spongewai on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:00 am

the most easiest way to steal car is-

Toyota Hilux
    Toyota Camry
    Toyota Corolla Altis
    Ford Ranger

many la and uncountable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • Start-up in pick-up plus so many features. sdac why don’t keep them while keep the price competitive. You also earn a lot right

• sambalbabi on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:20 am

hmm wondering where’s the rpm meter

• The term lorry truck or pickup is no longer suitable, should be like all purpose vehicle APV

• Kittfoxx on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:48 am

Felt like it was just months ago when they launched the previous version.

• Baja Lapis Seng on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:49 am

*breathing intensifies*

• ssaturn on Mar 24, 2015 at 11:54 am

Sam Looo diam diam now… Shhhhh…

• engineblock on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:05 pm

Where the photos of manual gear?

• Really on Mar 24, 2015 at 8:21 pm

I am interested to know whether the turbo lag of the 2.2 VGT has been rectified or improved. I driven a friend’s 2.2 Auto Ranger and there was about one and half second delay between pressing the throttle and any meaningful pick up in speed.

• Trailblazer on Mar 25, 2015 at 4:59 pm

I like the ranger, but Electric steering? Stop start tech? That bit turns me off as I mostly use my truck for Offroad. The more electronics, more headache!

I dont want my truck to shut its engine if I get bogged down in a mudhole or during river crossing, or if I stop in the middle of a steep hill climb. Seems Ford shaping its baby to be a pussy.

More electrical and electronics = less reliable.

• Really on Mar 26, 2015 at 8:09 pm

If you want absolute reliability, don’t get a truck with commonrail engine as well. What you need is the Landcruiser HZJ75. Even the next-gen Hilux will have more electronics than the current one.

• Trailblazer on Mar 27, 2015 at 9:45 am

Yes, HZJ75 is absolute reliability. But my point is ford should consider a balance, because a 4×4 truck is end of the day is truck, some users will used it for work on logging trail or in plantations that is deep in the rural areas. They should cut down the number of electrically dependent system. Average joe can fix a mechanical system if it breaks in the middle of the jungle as long there is a manual for it, but not for an electrical system.

I drove before the previous Ranger 2.5 TDCi and Ranger 2.2 along side Hilux VNT and Landcruiser LJ79, RJ77. Rough usage, commonrail engine seems to have a good reliability and able to take the beating with excellent. But other parts like steering pump and clutch pump do fail much earlier then expected.

• idiotablazer on Mar 29, 2015 at 4:12 pm

idiot. if wanna use as workhorse, buy the lowest range manual without the electronics. who use the luxury version to carry logs and your sawits?

use brain please.

• fordbaguih on Mar 29, 2015 at 8:14 pm

Buy low spec la.. it is called XL
          Dont be stoopid

• thats why stop-go function have button to active or deactive. now understand ?

• Ranger Kaki on Mar 30, 2015 at 7:06 pm

Looks good! I’d seriously consider this, if I had not had mine currently.