Honda S660 kei-roadster spied in production guise

honda-s660-production

Earlier this year, we brought you a leaked brochure of the production Honda S660. Now, thanks to minkara, we have photographs of the kei-roadster sitting at a Japanese port in all its production-ready glory. Initially, previewed as a concept back at the 2013 Tokyo Motor Show, the lightweight sports car has been designed as a form of throwback to the original Honda Beat roadster from the 90s.

As such, the production Honda S660 features a three-cylinder, mid-mounted, turbocharged petrol engine pumping out a modest 64 hp and 104 Nm of torque. Power goes to the rear wheels via a six-speed manual or a CVT transmission. While the power figures may appear minute, do keep in mind that the Honda S660 is expected to weigh less than 1,000 kg – allowing for a top speed of 140 km/h.

The production S660 retains quite a fair bit of the aesthetic quirks found on the concept such as the broad front grille flanked by upswept head lamps. Even the wheel design appears to mimic the concept with its spiral motif, albeit wrapped with thinner tyres. At the rear, the biggest change would include the move from a twin exhaust setup to a single, centrally-mounted layout.

honda-s660-production-2

Inside, the Honda S660 features a radically toned-down cabin from the concept’s with a CR-Z-inspired layout with its digital instrument cluster. A closer look at the centre console also reveals that the iPhone-esque screen has been replaced by a less laughable unit.

Potential good news might stem from circulating rumours on a possible export-variant of the S660. According to Car and Driver, sources close to Honda’s R&D department have revealed that the Japanese automaker has been actively testing out a more powerful, 1.0 litre version for the United States market, rumoured to be called the S1000. Any chance of that version landing here in the future?

GALLERY: Honda S660 Concept at the 2013 Tokyo Motor Show

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 24, 2015 at 1:12 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 44
    • As long as not UMW toyota, it will have new technologies and equipped well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 37
      • Same L0rrrr on Mar 24, 2015 at 3:07 pm

Talkok so much no action, saw so many of these people on Proton/kimchi side.

If this car eventually launched at Malaysia at RM130k, they just diam diam.

Iriz is one hell good example, launched not even half year already RM8888 discount. While people keep on buy Toyota, thus Toyota still the top selling foreign cars in Malaysia 2014.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 59
        • UMW Mampus on Mar 24, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Go back to your showroom and play your “stick” with the unsold Toyota cars. Looks.. there’s a customer with no knowledge about ESP coming in now.. probably aiming for a Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
          • Same L0rrrr on Mar 25, 2015 at 3:24 pm

Some Malaysians do not know VSC I admit. But they got what they want with Vios: Comfort, fuel saving, good RV.

Those who buy Proton definitely brainless, as they don’t even know the terror of Proton. Good luck to them!

• Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 24, 2015 at 1:13 pm

Having sold my Sonata for RM30k, i sudah insaf.

Getting an Accord

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 21
    • Asking your to sell the car at RM35k, additional RM1k for the commission, but you keep ignore and blame this and that.
      And the end, everyone know you bullshxt la..
      What a pity guy.. live in own imagine world.. =(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
    • Kikooom on Mar 24, 2015 at 3:10 pm

which model of Sonata?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • calvin Ng on Mar 24, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Grey import take note AP AP AP

bring it in!!! and it will sell like hotcake if cheap laa

• dodgeviper88 on Mar 24, 2015 at 1:30 pm

Would be good if grey import really bring it in but my guess it’ll be around rm200k. One ap is rm30k irregardless you bring in a rm100k car or rm1 million so they prefer to bring in high value cars to get higher profits

• Finally Honda insaf, mid engine rear wheel drive… that’s legend.

• Honda please revive your S2000…. :(

• spongewai on Mar 24, 2015 at 1:41 pm

Dear Honda Malaysia,

bring this sporty Kei car to here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • AVH (Member) on Mar 24, 2015 at 1:42 pm

It Dosent look as small in the pictures, the other kei-roadster, the daihatsu Coopen, looks like a scaled up toy but this looks proportionately correct, I could mistake it for something the size of a porsche boxster or the SW20 MR2.

It’s personally the ideal Japanese sports car…. In Japan. Especially if you are still grasping grassroots racing or some other beginner racing series, it’s light and nimble with a proper MR layout to give you that sports car handling but without the power to send you to the morgue if you make a mistake. And being a kei-car, you get all the benefits of reduced taxes, making it a joy to own.

However, take it out of Japan and kei-cars become a problem. No kei-car currently passes any US IIHS test, which means safety is an issue especially when in collision with something bigger which basically means everything else on the road save for those kapcais. And no matter how light it is, 69hp is no where enough to move any Americans to any form of velocity. And judging from Daihatsu Coopen reviews, iam not sure the interior room will please any Americans. If they can sort this issues out, iam sure it can be a small success in America thou I see Europe as a better market Candidate.

As for Malaysia, it’s possible that this can be price under the CRZ and possibly be a replacement for the CRZ here in ASEAN where the CRZ was sold rather decently. But given that this is boleh land, apa apa pun boleh berlaku during its transit from Japan to here, price tag increase, airbag missing.

• Don Juan De Marco on Mar 24, 2015 at 1:56 pm

Europeans would surely be more interested in this car than the Americans. It’s the land of hot hatches/pocket rockets.

• thepolygonal on Mar 25, 2015 at 2:32 pm

I guess if they sell this at RM80k, they already untung and those young and single adults might just consider this over a normal sedan. Something sporty, new and doesn’t blow a big hole in the pocket. Why not.

• GST attack on Mar 24, 2015 at 1:43 pm

it kinda reminds me of Daihatsu Copen

• Don Juan De Marco on Mar 24, 2015 at 1:47 pm

It might sound a bit ridicilous but not impossible -for the more powerful version, Honda could use a high revving 1000cc 4-cylinder engine lifted straight from the CBR1000RR superbike!
    But since this is the age of turbocharging, I guess the existing turbocharged 660cc three cylinder would just be stroked to 1000cc..sigh..

• conbination of NSX and S2000

• Wiping saliva out of my keyboard now..dat ass is hawt!! But how the convertible roof mechanism works eh? Is it manually since the back pillars/headrests are kinda in the way?

• combination of NSX and S2000

• Shawal Ali on Mar 24, 2015 at 2:17 pm

does this qualify it as an EEV?
    I want one
    ckd dat theng

• W204 C63 AMG on Mar 24, 2015 at 2:23 pm

The Mazda MX-5 weighs less than 1000 kg too, but doubled the HP, didn’t stop people from bashing it though.

• For MX5, I think most people are criticizing the decision to bring in only the auto tranny and some debate on which engine they should have brought in.

I don’t think they are bashing the car, but rather the distributor.

• powershot (Member) on Mar 24, 2015 at 3:09 pm

Honda Malaysia must bring this car in. I need it to cure my “midlife crisis”. hahaha

• neonceejay on Mar 24, 2015 at 4:05 pm

I saw a 6 speed manual, and unlike the copen this is rear wheel driven , and a small engine means that it could rev high…

and a manual handbrake! Those formula is seriously for drift!

and if the pricing was right….this could be a real, real hit! I can’t wait to see those on road!

And i dont mind to buy one at all.

• Josh Ling on Mar 24, 2015 at 4:15 pm

if Honda Malaysia can price this baby slightly over RM100k, it would sell like a hot cake.

• The perfect touge car. midship like MR2, lightweight like cappuccino, & tebo for HP. GT86 better watch its back on the mountain roads.

• GT3 (Member) on Mar 24, 2015 at 9:35 pm

Agreed. Looks like a very fun car! Sell it under 80k, and we have a winner.

• DPCraft on Mar 25, 2015 at 5:30 pm

The car is designed by Team Fantastic Honda, unlike the current civic

• Levin on Mar 26, 2015 at 1:37 am

Anyone noticed the tyres? Those are Advan Neova AD08R 195/45R16
    Pretty sticky tyres! I bet with the RWD setup, this car should handle like a go-cart.

• MR2 Spyder on Mar 30, 2015 at 3:13 pm

And when it comes to Malaysia, you only have one choice, Automatic transmission…