Mercedes-Benz CLS 400 facelift previewed in Malaysia

mercedes-benz-cls-400-2015-facelift-previewed-malaysia-mark-raine

The updated Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class four-door coupe has made its Malaysian debut at a dinner event at the Symphony Lake Suite, KLCC Park this evening.

The new Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class was showcased as a CLS 400, which features a 3.0 litre twin-turbo V6 producing 329 hp and 480 Nm of torque. This new variant replaces the outgoing CLS 350, and thanks to turbocharging there’s significantly more torque spread across a wide range – 1,200-4,000 rpm.

mercedes-benz-cls-400-2015-facelift-previewed-malaysia 976

The CLS 400 continues with the seven-speed 7G-Tronic Plus gearbox, driving the rear wheels. Globally, only the diesel engines and the CLS 500 get the newer nine-speed 9G-Tronic. Also included is the AMG Line kit, which features a sportier outlook, paired with striking 19-inch wheels (255/35 front, 285/30 rear).

Exterior revisions include a fresh front section featuring a new diamond radiator grille, revised front bumper with large air intakes and a new splitter. At the back, there are new, slightly darkened tail lamps with multi-level function.

The Malaysian-spec car gets the optional Multibeam LED headlamps as standard. Each Multibeam LED headlamp contains a module for the low-beam headlamp, which can be swivelled upwards up to 12 degrees. It can swivel to let you see around bends, allowing the road to be illuminated effectively as soon as possible.

This active light function will also swivel back to the straight-on position before the corner ends, allowing the driver to identify dangers earlier when entering and exiting bends. The anticipatory control allows an additional range of between 30 and 60 metres, depending on the traffic situation.

mercedes-benz-cls-400-2015-facelift-previewed-malaysia 1001

There are big changes to the interior – it features a new free-standing eight-inch colour COMAND display and a redesigned three-spoke sports steering wheel. Elsewhere, revisions to some function layouts help refine things further. The audio specced for Malaysia is a 14-speaker Harman Kardon Logic 7 system. You’ll also find red contrast stitching and red seat belts – part of the AMG Line pack.

The long list of safety features include Collision Prevention Assist Plus which can autonomously brake your car to help avoid rear collisions, Distronic Plus active cruise control with Steering Assist and Stop&Go Pilot (these two were not featured on the pre-facelift), BAS PLUS with Cross-Traffic Assist, PRE-SAFE Brake with pedestrian detection, PRE-SAFE PLUS, Active Blind Spot Assist, Active Lane Keeping Assist, Traffic Sign Assist, Active Parking Assist with PARKTRONIC including parking in end-on spaces.

mercedes-benz-cls-400-2015-facelift-previewed-malaysia 979

New is a Surround View system that combines camera feeds from all four sides of the vehicle to give you a bird’s eye view of what’s around your car. However, the pre-facelift car’s Night View Assist (infrared camera) is not to be found here.

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia says pricing for the new Mercedes-Benz CLS 400 facelift should be released in the next week or so. Just for reference, the pre-facelift CLS 350 retailed for RM761k. How much do you think the new CLS 400 will be priced at?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MB fans on Mar 25, 2015 at 8:38 pm

I want the Brabus Rocket facelift

• Porsche fans on Mar 25, 2015 at 9:55 pm

My Panamera will eat this like eating peanut.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
      • Same L0rrrr on Mar 26, 2015 at 2:21 pm

New toy for taxi companies bosses and the cronies. While the rakyat? please stick with Axia, Myvi or EX5.

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 25, 2015 at 8:57 pm

Very curious to see how pricing will be.

One of the biggest disappointments for me about the CLS and Panamera till today is that unfortunately the rear seats only fit 2 humans, while the 6 series GC still allows there to be potentially a third person at a squeeze, but for short distances its alright. Especially the Panamera, cause Porsche really did a fantastic job for the rear seat space, in fact I find it more spacious than the 6 series…

• Josh Ling on Mar 26, 2015 at 6:02 am

for CLS and 6-series, i think it’s understandable, coz they all have their 4-door sedan counterparts to do the people-carrying task, so they can focus on the sportier route and have some obvious differences between them and the sedans. they are called 4-door coupe after all.

the Panamera however, is a bit odd. maybe Porsche wants to create a clearer gap between that car and SUVs like Macan and Cayenne? or maybe between that car and other limousines, since Porsche is always the sportier ones.

• quite handsome innit ?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 25, 2015 at 9:17 pm

paying all that money for a pretty e400….u have to be mad….buy recon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Kancil Hybrid on Mar 25, 2015 at 9:18 pm

The wheels.. I don’t think it look beautiful on this car.

• torque on Mar 25, 2015 at 10:35 pm

How about getting your act right Mercedes Benz Malaysia and rectify your delivery period!!

• jarhead on Mar 25, 2015 at 11:04 pm

Such a long list of options and specs…. But no push start ignition? Odd!

• Paul Tan on Mar 26, 2015 at 12:45 am

The car has keyless start. But the start button is removable to expose the hole to slot the key in. Usually the start button is kept to prevent it from being stolen.

• sick&tired on Mar 26, 2015 at 2:10 am

that giant command screen really looks out of place! I still prefer the 6 series gran coupe.

• Hate the rear… 1st gen even better looking..

• jinggo on Mar 26, 2015 at 11:15 am

the price of this car at US is RN245,000. Jilaka la gov, why so expensive in malaysia?

• There will be more expensive this April GST! be prepare to sux dry!

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 7:09 pm

Wonder how much is the Porsche Panamera now after GST?