2015 Ford Everest coming to Malaysia later this year – more details on the SUV, as SDAC begins teasing it

Ford Everest BKK 2015 12

Sime Darby Auto Connexion has begun teasing the third-generation 2015 Ford Everest, which made its ASEAN debut at the 36th Bangkok International Motor Show earlier in the week, on the Ford Malaysia website, but the SUV won’t be making its way to Malaysia until sometime in the third-quarter of this year.

When it does arrive, the available versions of the Australian-developed T6-based crossover will likely follow the model convention and specifications set by the Thai market models, of which there will be three – a rear-wheel drive 2.2L Titanium 4×2 AT and all-wheel drive 3.2L Titanium 4x4AT and 3.2L Titanium+ 4x4AT.

Australia is also set to only deploy the diesel versions of the type, which means that the 2.0 litre EcoBoost petrol engine (the new revised unit with a Borg-Warner twin-scroll turbocharger that debuted on the Edge, not the existing mill seen on the Focus ST or the Mondeo) that has been mentioned for the Everest will not be seen in Asia-Pacific markets.

Ford Everest BKK 2015 9

As already intimated in the launch posts of the facelifted Ranger and Everest in Bangkok, no change to the output of the first of the two Puma mills seen on the vehicles – the P5AT 3.2 litre five-cylinder Duratorq continues on with 197 hp and 470 Nm of torque, but features a reworked EGR system for better efficiency.

The ZSD-422 2.2 litre four-cylinder Duratorq TDCi engine, however, has had its output bumped up to 158 hp and 385 Nm from the 148 hp and 375 Nm seen on the pre-facelift Ranger T6 (also, the ‘new’ high-efficiency derivative of the ZSD-422 on the Ranger now offers 129 hp, up by six over the 123 hp seen on the current Ranger XL)

In terms of transmissions, the ASEAN-region Everest variants will only be available with the 6R80 six-speed automatic, which has been recalibrated for use in the SUV for improved refinement, but Australia will also feature the six-speed Getrag MT82 manual as an option. The auto-only route isn’t surprising, given that the SUV is more of a lifestyle-based proposition than its Ranger pick-up sibling, in these parts at least.

General kit for the Thai-spec Everest includes leather seats, cruise control, dual-zone air-conditioning, a rear AC with control switch, auto headlamps, roof rails, six airbags (the Titanium+ adds the driver-knee airbag to make it seven), a SYNC 2 system with eight-inch colour touchscreen and 10-speaker audio system.

Projector headlamps also make their way on to the 2.2L and 3.2L Titanium variants, but it’s the 3.2L Titanium+ that gets all the flash and dash. The list includes HID headlamps and LED DRLs, heated side mirrors, puddle lamps, LED scuff plates, changeable seven-colour ambient lighting and front parking sensors.

The Titanium+ also gets a power-adjustable front passenger seat (as standard, only driver-side for the other two variants), a rear view camera and a powered rear liftgate. That lovely panoramic moonroof seen on the Thai show vehicle is only available on the +, as is BLIS, Cross Traffic Alert and Active Park Assist.

Ford Everest 2015 06

Also, the six-spoked 20-inch alloys (and 265/50 Goodyear EfficientGrip rubbers) seen in Bangkok will only be worn by the Titanium+ – the 2.2L and 3.2L Titanium will feature a different 18-inch wheel, wrapped with 265/60 profile tyres.

We’re still a long way away from any indicative pricing for the Everest here, but the Thai models should give an approximation of what to expect – pricing in the Kingdom starts from 1,269,000 baht (RM142,938) for the base 2.2L Titanium 4×2AT, while the 3.2L Titanium 4×4AT is priced at 1,459,000 baht (RM164,339), and the top-of-the-line 3.2L Titanium+ 4×4AT goes for 1,599,000 baht (RM180,108).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• fortuner can tapau now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • i wont buy this car coz it will flooded as company site car. trust

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Jimmy on Mar 26, 2015 at 4:46 pm

> 1888mm width, anti-roll, terrain management.
    Brand-new to visit site, for rough & tough use. No need recond.

• sabah bah ni on Mar 26, 2015 at 5:30 pm

fortuner say.i got trd sticker
    everest say.. eat my smoke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • tkhengong on Mar 26, 2015 at 6:13 pm

With the price above RM140K for the base model in Thailand, we can expect prices in Malaysia to hit RM180K for the base model and the top range to hit RM200K and above. Even the current Everest is already priced at approximately RM170K. I opined at that price range, there are many good alternatives available unless one needs a tough 4WD workhorse to go off-road for work or pleasure. Besides, price of diesel no longer enjoys a price premium over petrol. Notwithstanding, our Euro 2 standard diesel mandates the need for shorter service intervals. (I was among the early adopters of owning a Ford Ranger Splash for my leisure pursuit, and later a Ssangyong Kyron for my frequent travelling across the Peninsula).

• CRVOWNER on Mar 26, 2015 at 7:02 pm

Big no with the price tag. The are tonnes of better looking and feature packed options if the ranger wanna compete against the URBAN SUV segment. Nowadays not many fancy truck breed SUV like RANGER, Pajero spots, fortuner. Kidda uncle taste to me.

• You seriously sound like a pussy.

Secondly, what’s wrong if this for the uncles? Consumer segmentation, you have uncles and pussies buyers.

Funny thing is, a pussy will become an uncle one day : )

• DreamerAlwaysTalkLoader on Mar 27, 2015 at 6:08 pm

Hey. Uncle what is your ride? Can you afford anything above 200k. If u can’t just shut your mouth and work harder. Perhaps dreaming to own one. Not too bad for day dreaming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
          • Yes, I am 38, happily an uncle

Yes, I can afford a car over 200k, like many others.

On what basis you would judge others’ income? : )

• wanaz on Mar 26, 2015 at 9:42 pm

A versatile SUV. Looking forward eagerly to own one.

• Elchino on Mar 31, 2015 at 6:42 pm

Heard that in Australia, only the 3.2lr model will be in demand. Why? Is it because the 2.2lr model will be grossly underpowered for such a big car

• Dr Wan JL on May 16, 2015 at 9:42 pm

with so many SUV on the road, this one certainly catches the eye with its new looks and the torque it generates. It certainly does trump the fortuner in that region.
    my concern is actually the spare parts that may come rather difficult as there aren’t many everest on the road as compared to fortuner. don’t get me wrong i do love the complexity of the interior with the gadgets of the everest but just very worried with the cost of maintenance that will be incurred with the everest.

• i own a ranger 2.2, really love the drive, efficiency n quite powerful too. it is now common to see this model on the road nowadays, this everest is using the same drivetrain, parts finding is no problem at all, no foreman would complain. planning on buying an everest once its released.

• Satwant on Jul 21, 2015 at 7:40 pm

Im planning to get 1 SUV but im really confused. can anyone advise :-

Fortuner vs Ford Everest vs Kia Sorento vs Hyundai Santa Fe or any kind of other 7 seaters.

Tq

• Satwantsss on Jul 22, 2015 at 9:06 pm

Ford Everest.. Fortuner dashboard low quality. Sorento not really nice exterior and spec compare to Everest. I think Everest is the best compare another suv.

• Elchino on Apr 21, 2016 at 4:48 pm

Go read Caradvice for truck comparision