2015 Toyota Camry launching next week, you’re invited

camry launch invite

The 2015 Toyota Camry will be launched next week, and you’re invited! UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has posted up the invite on its Facebook page, inviting the public to RSVP for limited slots in the “Camry Preview Night”, which will happen on April 2 at the Sunway Convention Centre.

If you’re interested, better hurry because there are only 50 seats for the public to be given out on a first come first serve basis. To RSVP, send an email to [email protected] with your full name (as per IC), mobile number, IC number, vehicle model and email address.

Upon receipt of the registration details, an email will be sent by UMWT to notify whether they have a seat for you, or not. Those who are successful will get a reservation code number by March 30, and an SMS reminder with the code will be sent to you a day before the event. Good luck!

Earlier this week, UMWT held a line-off ceremony to mark the start of production of the latest Camry, which will be available in three variants – Camry 2.0E and 2.0G petrol and the Camry Hybrid 2.5HV, the latter being the first Toyota hybrid to be assembled in Malaysia.

Already launched in Thailand, the Camry 2.0 will get a new 167 PS/199 Nm 2.0 litre VVT-iW D-4S engine and possibly a six-speed auto. The Camry Hybrid has a 2.5 litre Atkinson-cycle engine with 160 hp and 213 Nm. The 2AR-FXE joins forces with a 143 PS/270 Nm electric motor and an eCVT gearbox for a total output of 205 PS and a claimed consumption figure of 19.6 km per litre.

Do expect plenty of toys, too. The Hybrid previewed at the line-off had twin-projector LED headlights, a 10-speaker JBL Green Edge Tech sound system, Qi wireless charger and Blind Spot Monitor. Full details and pics here.

2015 Toyota Camry line-off ceremony in Shah Alam

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sam proton on Mar 27, 2015 at 10:22 am

Sam proton has better RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
    • Same Lorr on Mar 27, 2015 at 11:02 am

Buy Toyota better.. good RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 21
      • ProtonGSC on Mar 27, 2015 at 12:33 pm

If UMW never change the “mindset”.

Comfirm UMW existing customers will choose a better offer price and safer Honda or Nissan car compare to current UMW ongoing models.

UMW arrogant and ego will kill yourself (look at past history Proton a good example)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
        • If no money to buy don’t complaint expensive… and Proton are the best car in Malaysia (look at past history we sell the cheapest and help MAA to safe money for Govt) economic second behind s’pore.

Stop your lies to Rakyat. And keep support BN kid…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 35
          • Same L0rrrr on Mar 27, 2015 at 2:21 pm

Yes, support BN, let 1MDB suck up all your tax money and you need to pay their loan at 15% GST in 2016.

Thank you so much BN and Proton.

Because of a lousy car maker, generations of Malaysia suffer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
          • basher12 on Mar 27, 2015 at 3:32 pm

What? We’re invited to bash during launching? That’s heaven!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • X Lee on Mar 27, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Wow, Sam Loo must have jerked himself to an orgasm after hearing this news!

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Mar 27, 2015 at 12:02 pm

Not really, the launched of new engine & gearshift upgraded to new generation Camry, is a GOOD news to new customers, but its a BAD news for existing Camry owners.

For SURE outdated technology on previous gen Camry price will dropped dramatically, existing Camry owner will ‘hilux’ for the first time, pls hold your pants tightly avoid emergency drop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 28, 2015 at 12:04 am

Fark, stuck with insurance agent the whole afternoon.

Gotta renew business insurance but this time round, I kena kau kau on premium.

The agent and adjuster came in to let me know that in one of the KIA showrooms, a kimchi owner that wanted to trade in his K5 got a stroke after the salesman told him that trade in is not accepted.

So, he sneaked to the rooftop of the 2 story shoplot and jumped down. Fortunately, he only suffered a broken leg and a fractured arm.

The underlying issue is now insurance underwriters has been given a blanket instruction to all premises that deals with Korean Cars are the following :-
      1) Have Trained First Aid Worker
      2) Defribilator
      3) Clinic within 1.5km
      4) Barriers or barracade from main roads/drains/high areas to prevent suicide.

Now I have to invest in all items 1-4. Gotta lower the trade in value of Hyundais to pay for this

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 27, 2015 at 10:32 am

Gonna be busy soon. Basher continue to bash, and Toyota continue to sell like hot cakes!

Camry Hybrid update
    Booking: 32
    Cancellation: 1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 59
    • kakikong, kakisong!
      As long as u don’t come out from showroom and hurt ppl, then is ok! lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • UMW Mampus on Mar 27, 2015 at 10:55 am

Selling like hot cakes? Are you referring to Honda? I’ve seen more Ferraris than Vios on the road. LOL. Please la Toyota salesman, didn’t I tell you to go back to your showroom and have fun with the exhaust? Don’t come and kacau here. No saint person will buy 90k – 100k plus tin kosong with no ESP, though they are a few uneducated people who bought it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Mar 27, 2015 at 11:52 am

Its going to have the very fitst busy marketing event in 2015.
      But busy for ‘Something’ or busy for ‘Nothing’, correlate to UMW pricing strategy.

The history told us Honda Accord 2.0 & Honda CRV 2.0 only cost ~rm130k post-discount, which is pioneer lead in price reduction.

Years back toyota luxury “Lexus” launched Lexus CT200h 1.8 Hybrid CBU JAPAN made only cost rm150k. What price for toyota regular brand to price it Camry product which under CKD local made quality?

Meanwhile recent launched Mazda3 2.0 (common engine capacity) with Skyactive technology priced at 105k targeted end consumer up to age 45.

Let’s wait n see Camry pricing … either competitive or out of game.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • paulnut2 on Mar 27, 2015 at 12:34 pm

One cancellation because you now change your old 2096 camry 2.0e to saga.

• Y2Y15 on Mar 27, 2015 at 2:10 pm

Comment with fact lah, ok? Don’t personally hurt ppl here. brainless Saga dumbass.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • doink on Mar 27, 2015 at 10:33 am

OMG… the interior is quite uninspiring..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • the Accord beater is here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
  • toyota4fun on Mar 27, 2015 at 10:47 am

Boo toyota. Outdated design. shd sack all designers in toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • CrazyMobilo on Mar 27, 2015 at 10:49 am

Why are they making so much of hype for a Hybrid model? Whats so great about a CKD Hybrid?
    Honda has done it… Not much of a hype oso…
    Are they getting a mass hype just to sell off these models sooner before people find it’s flours?
    It seems UMW Toyota is really desperate to sell these cars as fast as possible…
    I really hope its a good car with more capable accessories…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • sudonano (Member) on Mar 27, 2015 at 10:52 am

Guess they want everyone to forget the biggest joke they did in 2012 eh, of removing VSC and all…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • sudonano (Member) on Mar 27, 2015 at 10:56 am

Oh and PS Toyota, when you do the cover photography, don’t take the front shot from the bottom angle, it makes it look like a gaping fish. Instead, do a top-down shot of the front, at least it looks nicer, just like the ones used by the articles here.

• same kot on Mar 27, 2015 at 11:02 am

wow is that a remote for astro or a steering wheel?

• Can’t wait to witness the birth of the greatest car in our generation.

Banzai, Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • Yeah.. even Camry in Japan didn’t use VVT-iW D-4S engine made in china.. haa haa…

• After sitting at the driver’s seat, the left foot actually feels quite cramped.
    Anyone else feels bothered about this? Overall aesthetics of cockpit still feels dated.
    Is this Camry honestly going to be an Accord or Theana killer?

• carazy on Mar 27, 2015 at 11:37 am

Thanks, but no thanks.

• alldisc on Mar 27, 2015 at 11:42 am

toyota sold more than 100k units last year.

out of which, 50% was made up of vios + hilux. the 2 most bashed cars in paultan website. still selling 2,000 units a month.

keep on bashing. they dont bother. because toyota in malaysia = UMW = Permodalan nasional berhad = the government = the rakyat <—all inter-related

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • heybadigol (Member) on Mar 27, 2015 at 12:04 pm

Thanks for the invite. But i’ll pass.

• Nkhong on Mar 27, 2015 at 12:18 pm

Much better looking than pre facelift. Hopefully umw will put in good price and good spec.

• Albert Sam on Mar 27, 2015 at 1:11 pm

The current Toyota Vios, Altis and Camry are worst looking compare to 1st generation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Sorry, I don’t have time and no interested to see rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • You can screw up the people but once the people reach the point of hating you, that’s it. The people won’t bother to look at any of your new model even if you kneel down.
    Take a clue from Proton.

• Camry banyak mkn minyak, beli Mazda 6 lagi bagus.

• If u want camry, why not just pay cash 4000 then get the camry gx 2.2, can save more fuel than this new camry

• farhan on Mar 27, 2015 at 1:55 pm

RM70K in the US, UK, NZ, Japan, Korea, China

Come to bolehland suddenly becomes premium luxury price

Starting RM189999

• ayooo on Mar 27, 2015 at 2:48 pm

Soooo much chrome. My eye just got STD.

• samelor on Mar 27, 2015 at 3:57 pm

The white thing on the grill looks like white mould.

• hafiz on Mar 27, 2015 at 5:10 pm

i’ll rather go for mazda 3 or mazda 2 without fancy headlamp

• sinophobia on Mar 27, 2015 at 5:48 pm

mazda was brought in by raja judi berjaya autO!
      apa bangang mahu beli dari yahudi kuning!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • quasimodo on Mar 27, 2015 at 5:20 pm

i’ll take mazda 3 for sure

• ben yap on Mar 27, 2015 at 5:22 pm

this camry sure increase price…. UMW old style can predict.

• Alfaman on Mar 27, 2015 at 5:44 pm

Go buy Mazda 6 if u wanna the better Japanese brand or at least Teana is better in comfort than the Camry .

• sinophobia on Mar 28, 2015 at 6:12 am

Mazda was the worst car makers in Japan. Admitted by the Japanese. Only yahudi sepet will adore this crap because they were brought in by Berjaya Bangsat which owned by their own species.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • desipink on Mar 27, 2015 at 7:47 pm

sorry…..not interested with the car, not keen with the invitation…

Even have free makan….

Good luck toyota

• Jimmy on Mar 27, 2015 at 9:30 pm

2 airbags + made in China, true or not? If yes, good luck.

• Flyguy70 on Mar 27, 2015 at 9:46 pm

Come-on lah, a Panasonic rice cooker MADE IN JAPAN where got SAME QUALITY as a Panasonic rice cooker MADE IN CHINA one?!?

Engine spare parts suppliers and workers’ mentality in CHINA was completely different to in JAPAN!

No wonder my wife’s new Vios that purchased about 6 months ago was on poorer quality as compared to the previous version Vios where % of spare parts that MADE IN MALAYSIA for new Vios had increased more than 50% now! My wife’s new Vios installed Roof top insulation due to noisy sound during raining and changed Engine mount due to defect recently. ‘Thanks’ to our Malaysian UMW again!!

So, personally I believe that this new 6AR-FSE Engine MADE IN CHINA will NOT reliable as before than those MADE IN JAPAN!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 28, 2015 at 12:01 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV.

If its a Toyota or Honda, it will have great RV.

If its a KIA or Ssangyong, it can no longer be traded in

• camry a.k.a dinasour on Mar 28, 2015 at 9:37 pm

Hey got free kuehs or satay on launch site or not? At least the satay makes the car less boring and getting less bash because everyone munching satay! Sam loo can open undergarment sales counter at the entrance also!

• langsat6 on Mar 29, 2015 at 10:55 am

Mazda 6 anyday. Coming soon with epic interrior facelift

• saga fl front? on Mar 29, 2015 at 10:48 pm

Owh what the hell… hyped like a super duper advanced good looking car,, but why i see A SAGA FL at the front??? UMW got to be joking right???