Mercedes-Benz set to introduce luxury pick-up by 2020

mercedes-benz pickup

Mercedes-Benz is finally going the pick-up route – the automaker has announced that it is developing a one-tonne mid-sized hauler to compete with the likes of Toyota, Ford and Volkswagen in the segment.

No timeframe has been mentioned for market deployment of the as-yet-unnamed offering, but reports have indicated that the company says it’s readying to build the vehicle in different markets around the globe within the next five years.

Previewed in dual-cab clay model form in Germany and also through an artist’s sketch, initial details have it that the truck will feature four- and six-cylinder engine options – the scope will undoubtedly include petrol/diesel configurations, rear- and four-wheel drive layouts and possibly even different cab options.

It will also cater to different customer bases – the automaker said that a luxury version, complete with leather interior and chrome accents/trim, is on the cards, but there’s also set to be a more utilitarian form (with a washable interior, no less) for traders and workmen big into the three-pointed star.

When it arrives, the Mercedes pick-up will take the fight to established players such as the Toyota Hilux, Ford Ranger and Volkswagen Amarok. The company says that the pick-up will be sold in Europe and South America as well as Australia and South Africa, and added that there were no plans to introduce it in the US or Asian markets, so those of you who fancy the idea of a Benz pick-up will just have to leave it as that.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Obviously (Member) on Mar 27, 2015 at 2:39 pm

No way…what has the (automotive) world come to??

But in all seriousness, Daimler does already have quite a portfolio of rough and tumble vehicles that I don’t see why not. This also goes to show that the pick-up truck has truly become a lifestyle vehicle rather than simply being just a trusty workhorse.

Now…I wonder if BMW will respond in kind.

• hahaha on Mar 27, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Waiting for Roller pick up then should we all?

Exciting times…

• AVH (Member) on Mar 27, 2015 at 4:24 pm

Mercedes already has an uber-luxury pick up truck.

Its called the G63 AMG 6×6

• sepul on Mar 27, 2015 at 5:19 pm

That is a monster truck.

G Class is more a Benz rover than a truck, though.

• Obviously (Member) on Mar 27, 2015 at 7:08 pm

That thing isn’t practical at all in many places outside the Middle East. The 4×4(square) might be more practical.

• Same L0rr on Mar 27, 2015 at 2:50 pm

Even if you come, you also can’t sell your truck. Toyota is unbeatable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
    • junkhilux on Mar 27, 2015 at 7:49 pm

This truck is much better than junk Hilux

• Jimmy on Mar 27, 2015 at 9:35 pm

What about if tax-free 4X4 with lock differential and terrain settings at RM138 888?

• Green on Mar 28, 2015 at 10:55 am

Toyota Hilux without tax free will be around RM150k…
        now only around RM90k – RM105k.

This Benz Luxury Pickups can be around RM300k – RM400k without tax free.
        with tax free, i can expect to see at RM200k up.

For Reference, Landrover (owned by Indian Tata) Defender 110 is already RM150k up.

• trevor on Mar 27, 2015 at 2:51 pm

This is a jokenot to mention an insult to all loyal Merc fans out there. From luxury car maker to pickup? #merclogic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
  • no worries…..Sam Loo’s hilux is king of RV in Msia

• Now deep pocketed Hilux 3.0 owners can leave their car behind for this 3-star pickup.

• Kampung uncle on Mar 27, 2015 at 4:39 pm

Now we kampung susu getah uncle finally can change our hilux to this

• Uncle Sam on Mar 27, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Now I can sell my old e class and Toyota hilux at the same time and get this 2 in 1

• In case of emergency this one can take 20 peoples

• KarTiN (Member) on Mar 27, 2015 at 9:21 pm

Mercedes, bring it on, it’s a luxury lifestyle vehicle, jus make the prices competitive to its value. I want one.

My younger days of driving the Mercedes Unimog in the desert sure brings back memories of how good Mercedes is off road.

No worries for the 4 speed hilux, different class, or lack off.

• jugger on Mar 28, 2015 at 10:25 am

Ok ok driving unimog……..
      in your dream!!!!!! Lol

• KarTiN (Member) on Mar 29, 2015 at 11:23 am

Over 25 years ago, how do you think oil and gas workers deliver mid size equipment to drilling rigs to do our job in the desert?

Some people do not know how to appreciate experience sharing.

• this maybe the mercedes many can afford to buy new. By the way, why VW not importing their trucks?