2015 Toyota Camry Hybrid – ads list RM175k price

Screen Shot 2015-03-30 at 5.25.18 PM

The 2015 Toyota Camry will be launched on April 2, just three days away, but eager sales agents have already put up ads on car classifieds like oto.my and mudah.my with indicative pricing for the car.

We first saw the Camry Hybrid listed on oto.my for RM200k in January this year. The latest indicative pricing given seems to be about RM175k, which puts it head to head against the Honda Accord, which is priced at about RM174.8k OTR with insurance.

The new Camry Hybrid will be locally assembled to take advantage of duty exemptions in Malaysia. UMW Toyota says based on the production line set up at UMW Toyota’s Shah Alam plant, they will be able to make about 7,000 units before the duty exemptions expire at the end of this year.

We already know some of the Camry Hybrid’s equipment from our observation at the car’s line-off ceremony. We managed to spot a 10-speaker JBL sound system, Blind Spot Monitor, Qi wireless charger and a Nano-E air conditioning system in the interior. One of the ads on oto.my reveals the following new information – if the ad is accurate, it will also come with 7 airbags and Rear Cross Traffic alert.

There will be a “Camry Preview Night” on April 2 at the Sunway Convention Centre. It’s open for a public to sign up, but if you’re interested, better hurry because there are only 50 seats on a first come first serve basis. To RSVP, send an email to [email protected] with your full name (as per IC), mobile number, IC number, vehicle model and email address.

Upon receipt of the registration details, an email will be sent by UMWT to notify whether they have a seat for you, or not. Those who are successful will get a reservation code number by March 30, and an SMS reminder with the code will be sent to you a day before the event. Good luck!

GALLERY: Toyota Camry Hybrid CKD Line-Off Ceremony

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Nathan Ferdinand on Mar 30, 2015 at 5:48 pm

Am I the only person here who think the Camry’s front fascia is looks like a catfish?

RM175k for hybrid? Hmm… *nerd*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 45
    • momoi on Mar 30, 2015 at 5:52 pm

This is the most handsome catfish i would like to ride on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 13
      • sleeper on Mar 30, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Boooorrriiiinnnngggggg

*YAWN*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 32
      • Same L0rrrr on Mar 30, 2015 at 6:12 pm

Latest update:
        Booking: 35
        Cancellation: 1

When the fuel price rise to RM2.80, a lot of people here will regret they didn’t buy a tax free hybrid while they could.

Those who bash the hybrids, mostly didn’t even sit in a hybrid before.

Those who own and drive hybrids every day, everyone is happy with its reliability, fuel saving and comfort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 23
        • hybridscam on Mar 31, 2015 at 4:12 am

Buy cheaper car is better. Cheaper installment aand the money saved (oer 100k) can be used for fuel for years!

Not to mention hybrid uses fuel too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
        • steven see on Mar 31, 2015 at 8:38 am

Sam has to work so hard like shit to be able to change his son proton to this car after next 7 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Sam Lorrrrr on Mar 30, 2015 at 6:51 pm

crazy, after one year, you can only sell at RM 100k. Just like current 2.5v camry. No value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 16
      • No shui kwan but u bien tai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
        • geese on Mar 31, 2015 at 4:41 am

Last time got brake faulty, this time the driver get fried due to fault batts?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 31, 2015 at 10:43 am

And most of all, I will never be able to show you the Hilux when you trade in a Camry or Accord

• Yes, you are the only one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Jonathan on Mar 31, 2015 at 12:28 pm

In other country, this car cost only RM95K. This Car Is Tax Free In Malaysia, Come To Malaysia RM175K. UMW really know how to make profit!

• tokmoh. on Mar 30, 2015 at 5:50 pm

*excluding GST.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • Hemi 426 on Mar 30, 2015 at 6:01 pm

I love your logo Tokmoh,very creative and definately funny.

Ferrari have their prancing horse,Volvo have their prancing moose! How fitting.

Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • tokmoh (Member) on Mar 30, 2015 at 9:57 pm

Thanks!

Volvo community have good sense of humour, gotta love ’em :)

Volvo. For life!

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 30, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Generally with Blind Spot Warning, nowadays it makes sense to incorporate Rear Cross Traffic Alert, since the provisions for the sensors are all there. So I won’t discount it.

7 Airbags, VSC, BSM, Rear CTA, all LED headlights, JBL sound system, Nanoe Air-conditioning (PS: Nanoe and Plasmacluster all work, I must say the thing really keeps the air fresh even despite the haze in Malaysia), and even a Qi charging pad – is it a sign UMW has finally woken up? If it is, Honda and Mazda are in for a real battle.

Its the infamous Japanese D segment trinity shootout, all over again. Just that instead of Nissan, Mazda is here. http://paultan.org/2011/03/15/the-japanese-d-segment-trinity-shootout-honda-accord-vs-nissan-teana-vs-toyota-camry/

In fact. It’s no longer a trinity. It should be the quadrangle battle for D segment supremacy, because the Nissan is a really strong contender.

UMW has never delivered something that is almost class leading since 2007 and 2008 when they gave the last generation Camry, Corolla and Vios which were ahead of their time. Good to see its back.

May the odds ever be in their favour.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • RicoT on Mar 30, 2015 at 8:56 pm

With the CKD hybrid tax exemption in place, only now UMW can afford to put in all these goodings into Camry. No doubt, this is the best equipped Japanese D-segment in Malaysia. This and maybe next year’s Japanese D-segment crown is easily within Toyota’s reach, provided their new Camry Hybrid doesn’t suffer any technical glitches, and UMW is able to churn out as many cars as they possibly can before this year is over. When CKD hybrid tax exemption is over, many will still want 2015 car, even it is 2016. Example, Nissan Serena S-Hybrid 2013 CBU, still selling at the end of 2014 before CKD version was launched.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • clearstocksale on Mar 31, 2015 at 4:07 am

Because of tak laku thingy? End up with piling stocks and big discounts, haih cars nowadays!

• kington on Mar 31, 2015 at 7:53 am

Yes, i agree. I hope the specs are what UMW will offer given their arrogance and history.

• cendol (Member) on Mar 30, 2015 at 6:01 pm

I would much prefer Lexus hybrid or Audi Hybrid.

At least that can differentiate me from Japanese made and Continental made.

Japanese is still a tad prestige lower than Conti

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
  • Same L0rrrr on Mar 30, 2015 at 6:05 pm

This hybrid is well-kitted. It is also specially developed for those who could not afford a Lexus ES hybrid, so they can have a more cheaper option. Some more this car is more durable than other hybrids car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • Jimmy on Mar 30, 2015 at 9:53 pm

Telan bulat-bulat 25k if no protest.

• Lol after years the battery has to be changed, and that costs a bomb?

Forget it.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 31, 2015 at 11:56 am

A kimchi new Sonata Gearbox will cost around RM30k, Recond one will be around RM8k.

Sonata/K5 GB’s are well known to die at around 100,000kms.

Hybrid batteries will last 200,000kms (at least) / 10 years. In US, the 1st gen Prius batteries only started to give way after 12 years / 250,000 miles (400,000kms)

Punch your numbers, the battery will outlive the normal lifespan of the Toyota Hybrid

• Contender on Mar 30, 2015 at 6:05 pm

RM170k for Hybrid CKD ? WTF !!!!! Lexus Hybrid CBU ct200h sells for RM160k ….. This UMW really mark up so much for profit ! With the tax benefits this Camry should be no more than RM150k but then this will oil of their 2.0G line up which is why they project 7,000 Hybrid Camry and 2,000 for 2.0 Camry.

Well the only drawback of Camry Hybrid or any the other Hybrid cars would be the tiny boot with the battery pack there, although they give 11 years battery warranty …. how much to replace the battery after that ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 24
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 30, 2015 at 9:38 pm

CT200 is a C-Segment Hatch.
      Camry is a D-Segment Sedan.

You are as sorhai as a kimchi owner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 14
      • priceybatt on Mar 31, 2015 at 4:17 am

Hello stupid, he asked about the battery. Lousy seller like you will make them having stroke to change the battery because of its hidden cost

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
        • Same L0rrrr on Mar 31, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Don’t be naive. CT200h is a 1.8 hybrid which is same as the Prius 1.8.

This Camry 2.5 Hybrid is using same hybrid system as the IS300h. How much is the IS300h? RM383k!!!

So do some homework next time you BS, ok?

Toyota HSD has battery problem, what a joke of the day! How often you heard battery problem? For so many years Prius is introduced in Malaysia and I haven’t heard any battery related problem. So again do some homework next time you BS.

RM3 a litre of RON95 is the “hidden cost” you should be worried of.

• crampyboot on Mar 31, 2015 at 4:43 am

But the space left in the boot is like B-segment hatch, so small. How?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 31, 2015 at 10:28 am

Did i read wrong or some MF is blind?

Or perhaps he was just shown the Hilux and wanted to do the harakiri? Now that my yard is suicide proof, kimchi owners find it hard to seek injury onto themselves when they are truly Hailat

“RM170k for Hybrid CKD ? WTF !!!!! Lexus Hybrid CBU ct200h sells for RM160k ….. This UMW really mark up so much for profit !”

• Toyotaowner.. on Mar 31, 2015 at 12:33 pm

Yes Lexus Hybrid ct200h is C-segment size and price when so called zero tax incentive but now price is D-segment but size C-segment

BMW 3 series is C-segment size but D-segment price …. so tell me is it wrong ?

I think all of us want UMW to be reasonable in their pricing …. look at S400 Hybrid CKD how come Merc can price is so “cheap” ?

• Zoom Zoom on Mar 30, 2015 at 6:20 pm

With 175k. Camry Hybrid 2.5 vs accord 2.4. which one will you pick? I will go for Camry with more power / drink less fuel / much better equipped. 175k expensive? nope.. CR-Z 1.5 CBU auto 188k now.. Without tax exception, this camry will cost over 250k. BTW im not Sam Loo.. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 31, 2015 at 10:33 am

Either the 2.4 Accord or 2.5 Camry AHV50, you will be a winner.

Your career outlook will only be northbound, park proudly nearby when having family gatherings, babes will stick to you (irregardless of maritial status) and most of all, I will not get to show you the Hilux (at all)

• Sam L00 on Mar 30, 2015 at 6:25 pm

toyota sales going up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 30, 2015 at 9:43 pm

Rats, now no one will buy Kimchi Sonata new. My biz will be affected 18 months down the line

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • karipap panas on Mar 30, 2015 at 6:30 pm

Vios is dugong….
    Camry is Papa dugong?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 26
  • EcoBoss on Mar 30, 2015 at 6:39 pm

RM200k Camry Hybrid…

Ultimate ECOBoss, U win.
    Full of Luxury Features. Such a relaxation sitting in it.

Peace of Mind @ Fuel Saving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • notreallysave on Mar 31, 2015 at 4:25 am

Fuel saving, yes but money saving? Not really, if you count installment, insurannce, better end up with cheaper normal car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • yes.. u better buy a second hand 660cc Perodua Viva.

Help u save alot. A very practical and reliable normal car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • jacksonljs on Mar 31, 2015 at 12:20 pm

660cc Perodua Viva… i won’t even dare to turn on A/C when it is moving on the road (too underpowered).

Want a fuel saving car, a brand new RM25k Perodua Axia basic is much more worth to buy (if absence of stock radio and alarm doesn’t really matter as this can be fitted later), somemore it’s 1000cc across the range.

• Not the best car u might say.
    but i appreciate Toyota car for few simple reason, humbly:

1. peace of mind, minimum frustration.
    2. fuel saving.
    3. more comfortable than other in it’s segment. only behind VW.
    4. low maintenance cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 30, 2015 at 10:19 pm

Correction for item 1)

Trouble free operation for a good 10 years/200,000kms, but sometime no peace of mind because kimchi owners will behave sour grape syndrome in front of you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • dafak on Mar 31, 2015 at 4:33 am

So does this camry. Buyer only gets the benefit only after 10 years, and at that time many parts have to be changed too. Plus at that time, many newer cars would actually much cheaper and frugal.

At the end of day, you save what? Nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • combi lober on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:06 pm

agree with you bro.. if compare to same segment cars, vw is the most comfortable.. nice to see nice to sit, nice to drive.. i admit it because im always drive my boss’ scirocco..

• Fudgly wood on Mar 30, 2015 at 6:59 pm

Yeah. Fudgly and antiquated wood trim. Supplants UEM inevitable demise and irrelevance!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • Fairuz on Mar 30, 2015 at 7:40 pm

RM90k in US, UK, Australia, Taiwan, Japan, Korea, New Zealand, all of Europe countries smaller than malaysia

Comes to bolehland becomes RM175k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 30, 2015 at 9:39 pm

But Hilux in Oz is not cheap wor

• donald on Mar 31, 2015 at 2:57 pm

Langkawi price is near. RM 116,951.30 the extra from 90k should b price of ap. Labuan price is RM 117,586.60 the extra compare to langkawi is the freight. so can any 1 enlighten me how come a ckd hbrid with zero tax can end up RM175k++?

• Guan Yin Maa on Mar 30, 2015 at 8:11 pm

Once you drive a toyota hybrid , you will never ever want to drive another gasoline car anymore. Trust me. Truely class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
    • das auto on Mar 30, 2015 at 11:02 pm

Only a fool would trust you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 31, 2015 at 10:38 am

Actually, once you have driven a kimchi, you will forever never wanna drive one again

• hybridnumb on Mar 31, 2015 at 11:31 am

driven it before in ozland, steering so numb, can’t feel a thing, handling like a boat, regenerative braking is so harsh, brake pedal is like on or off, people will thing u donno how to drive. CVT gearbox is made of rubberband, (bunyi mcm ribut, pergi mcm siput)

but good fuel consumption tho…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • therealmaserati on Mar 30, 2015 at 8:33 pm

If this is the real price, this car is gonna storm the market and sales shoot through the roof!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • Sam Loo Ori on Mar 30, 2015 at 8:34 pm

Damn, now my Camry 2.5v RV will drop a further 30%. I should have sold it to the tai lan ngong when I had the chance. That fools almost believed me. Now I really hailat jor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
    • Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 31, 2015 at 12:31 pm

As an ex-Sonata owner, I must say that getting rid of the rotten cabbage and ordering an Accord is the best thing that I have ever done.

Collecting the Accord next Friday.

Even commuting using Proton taxis, I don’t feel so paiseh as when I was driving a kimchi

• Waiting 4 victims. RV fried by underpowered bhp & costly battery

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Joker on Mar 30, 2015 at 9:47 pm

205bhp no enough ? how fast you want to go ??

• ishht on Mar 31, 2015 at 4:29 am

This fuel saved money scam only works if you keep the car more than 10 years. By that time how many owners must change the batts and the spare parts. It’s too pricey to get the benefits work.

• Cruiser on Apr 05, 2015 at 11:46 pm

Camry hybrid 0-100km/h with 205hp takes 8.6s
        VW passat 0-100km/h with 180hp takes 8.5s
        Can anyone explain why?

• kelvin on Mar 30, 2015 at 9:14 pm

Why this Camry looks so ah beng! The rims look awful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 30, 2015 at 9:41 pm

Actually, this is not good news for me.

I would expect sorhai tai lan ngongs to buy the New Sonata more so that they will sell within 18 months.

Now that the Camry Hybrid pricing is so attractive, there is absolutely no reason for D-Segmenters to buy Sonata anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • brokenbatts on Mar 31, 2015 at 4:21 am

Camry hybrid owner also will sell again, none wants to change those expensive battery

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • KarTiN (Member) on Mar 30, 2015 at 10:12 pm

I believe the Dubai taxi drivers will be very happy now with this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • @ Dubai, Arabians drive Camry and Prado to Drift…
      Durable@ the ultimate hot condition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Pisang goreng on Mar 30, 2015 at 11:07 pm

The interior still stuck at the 90s.
    Only Sam loo will buy it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 31, 2015 at 12:35 pm

I am a Camry ACV40 owner trading used kimchis

That tells you a whole lot on how low rotten cabbages are.

• Same Lorr on Mar 31, 2015 at 8:44 am

Buy toyota better.. good RV

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 31, 2015 at 9:52 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV.

If its a KIA, it can no longer be traded in

• civicEK on Mar 31, 2015 at 10:02 am

better buy axia more jimat money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • old dog on Mar 31, 2015 at 10:25 am

even old man like me felt this car is ugly inside out…
    oh man..

RM175K? isnt that Lexus Hybrid price? (smaller though)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • 4G63T DSM on Mar 31, 2015 at 11:25 am

UMW pricing is a rip off. Only Toyota owners would be so willing to be ripped off.

a fully loaded top of the line Camry Hybrid XLE goes for 30K USD. even with our weak ringgit,this is less than 120,000…including GST.

So how is it 175K here?

All the Hybrids with exemptions all end up cheaper than thier normal petrol cars (mercedes S class, Audi A6) but not this Toyota.

• poor_basher on Mar 31, 2015 at 12:02 pm

most bash here can’t even afford 100k car, they just bash for fun only becuz they can’t afford and they only able to drive kimchi, potong or perodua. no point to view their comments as they not the targeted customers pun :)

• richbasher on Mar 31, 2015 at 1:38 pm

Who cannot afford? Even 2nd hand BMWs and Mercs come under 100k. Not to mention sushi and kimchi.

• Sam Loo Sucks on Apr 08, 2015 at 10:36 pm

Lol. Camry 2.5 is cheap only la. You can get a used 11 mth old camry 2.5 at around 110k. 2 yr ones are going for less than 100k already. Cannot afford? You must come from the jungle. 100k is only the price of a vios. I can buy cash with only few mths salary. Problem is I don’t buy junks like camry even for few thousands.

• FIST (Member) on Mar 31, 2015 at 1:05 pm

Why so many button fillers?

• Joe Hung (Honda Sales Executive) on Mar 31, 2015 at 3:24 pm

cham lor , now I cannot cari makan already. Honda sales sure drop because of this.

• eagletalon on Mar 31, 2015 at 4:12 pm

Does it mean we all malaysians are stupid dump ass? We are paying to some shits that dont worth their values.

• blaster88 on Mar 31, 2015 at 4:33 pm

the interior is arrgh!!!! plastic wood trimmings and the design is so 80s??? Even an uncle like me also tak boleh tahan…Toyota should get new design talents!