COMOS EV car-sharing service to begin operating in May, at five LRT stations and five public spots

comos-comos 313

An update on the Cohesive Mobility Solution (COMOS) EV car-sharing programme, which was due to be officially launched last November. According to a report, the project is now slated to kick off in May, with vehicles set to be available at 10 locations in the Klang Valley.

Rentals can be made at five LRT stations and five public spots, these being Asia Jaya, Bangsar, Pasar Seni and Ampang Park LRT stations as well as locations in Medan Tuanku, Lorong Bunus, Lorong P. Ramlee, UTM Jalan Semarak and Universiti Malaya. The initial fleet will consist of sixteen Renault Zoes, which is down from the 50 cars initially bandied for the programme last year.

A slight revision to the usage rate, which last year was expected to be priced at RM20-25 per hour – the service will now see hourly rates of RM25-30, with billing blocks split every 15 minutes.

As before, users will first need to register themselves with COMOS, following which an account -linked to the user’s credit card – will be activated. Vehicle bookings can be made online, and the user will get a special RFID access card, which unlocks the vehicle via a scanner located behind the bottom-right of the car’s windscreen.

The pick-up locations double as charging stations – users simply unplug the car before each journey, and upon the return, plug the charging cable back into the car, at which point billing stops. Not doing so continues the billing, so users will have to be mindful of that.

The company said that more pick-up points will be launched each month after the introduction in May, and added that it would be expanding the service to Penang, Malacca and Johor Baru in the future, with over 1,000 carsharing vehicles expected to be deployed in the programme by 2020.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• tokmoh. on Mar 30, 2015 at 10:26 am

Suddenly those taxi drivers not using meter seem generous and charitable.

So expensive, maybe some people will curious willing to pay for fun test drive. Then no more.

Can’t see this be successful in long run.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Roger Tan on Mar 30, 2015 at 10:27 am

16? aiyoh…

Thats like 3 cars per station, and I bet everybody needs it at the same time

• Pergh rm25 per hour. For full day rental (9am-9pm) already costs rm300.
    Baik sewa viva, xpela terbakar skit ozon pun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • Hahaha, so expensive who want to use?? Free then I want lah.

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 30, 2015 at 10:56 am

Agreed, its a bit expensive – only to get stuck in traffic like other cars. Won’t it be faster to get to your destination by just using the LRT which is also where these cars are parked for pickup?

Perhaps an EV bicycle/scooter sharing program might work better & cheaper? You can get around traffic faster too. Until it rains. Well, nothing’s perfect.

• CarzyMobilo on Mar 30, 2015 at 11:00 am

Pricing Is evrything here… This is a very good plan but with poor pricing, this is not going tk be successful.
    Besides, who in the right mind would consider paying RM300 a day to a Myvi sized car? You can get half the price to rent a sedan at other rent-a-car outlets…
    Dumbos really got to sort this out…

• Lance on Mar 30, 2015 at 11:01 am

RM25/hour is quite reasonable but I wonder how they control it when it comes to damages like minor accident or breakdown? What happened when the car breakdown and the bill is still running?

• Painter on Mar 30, 2015 at 11:08 am

This company has been playing hide and seek for quite some time.

One time they appeared in Putrajaya, then they disappeared. Their website also is not much help.

• TaxiScum on Mar 30, 2015 at 11:45 am

Well, we really need alternatives to taxis as they are scum. They behave like the whole nation owes them and that they own the roads; constantly breaking traffic rules and think its right. Actually, I hope that someone will create a database of all taxi drivers and that we can blacklist errant taxi drivers whenever they do wrong. I rather pay for a service like that.

• M 007 on Mar 30, 2015 at 2:27 pm

The idea is not to rent for whole day la fellow malaysians. Do u drive more than an hour from lrt kelana jaya say to subang airport? U rent then u drop at the next station

• alldisc on Mar 30, 2015 at 4:35 pm

better use Uber service then. it comes with a chaffeur!

and you dont worry about driving in jams… or finding a parking space. even petrol!

• Muhaimin on Mar 30, 2015 at 3:59 pm

RM25 per hour is ok what? even some taxi tak pakai meter charge the same for a 15 minute drive. The idea is drive from one station to another station which usually wont take 1 hour.

The problem is if the place you want to go doesn’t have a station, then you have to pay a lot lah…

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Mar 30, 2015 at 11:00 pm

Very limited use. I rather take a taxi or uber to the next destination. Saves me the hassle of driving & finding the next station. If i need to go more places, cheaper to rent normal car for full day.

• nissanrenault on Mar 31, 2015 at 10:35 am

before RM20-25, then RM25-30, must be GSTied..