SPYSHOTS: New Mitsubishi Triton naked in Malaysia

triton-spy-01

The new Mitsubishi Triton has been spotted in Malaysia again. But this time, the pick-up truck is stark naked without an inch of disguise on it, unlike the last time it was spotted on the LDP. Both are brown, and could be the same car.

Sent in by reader CKW, these front and rear shots look like they’ve been taken in a desert, but with Malaysian number plates and a local lorry in the background, we have no doubt that it’s here. Could be the location of an ad shoot, and if it is, somebody’s gonna get hurt real bad.

Making its world debut in Thailand last November, the 2015 Mitsubishi Triton boasts a new face on a familiar silhouette, revised suspension, more insulation and damping, plus a new 2.4 litre MIVEC VGT turbodiesel engine. With a 15.5 compression ratio, it offers 182 PS and 430 Nm of torque, while promising 20% better economy. Will we get this new motor or a carryover?

Today’s spyshots hint at an impending launch, and Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia has also put up a teaser on its Facebook page (image above). Dealers tell us to expect a May 2015 launch. The pick-up truck segment is heating up, with the Nissan NP300 Navara and Ford Ranger facelift also reaching our shores this year. Which will be your pick?

2015 Mitsubishi Triton at 2014 Thai Motor Expo

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• chikuera on Mar 30, 2015 at 2:53 pm

could be around Klebang, Malaka

• You can’t even spell Melaka / Malacca properly? Shame….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
    • jackal400 on Apr 01, 2015 at 5:38 pm

It was indeed at Melaka as the vehicle was undergoing a TVC over there. I’ve seen them on flesh while they were getting cleaned up by me; yes I’m a mobile detailer.

The colour isn’t exactly brown but more towards army-greenish like. The “WB 5887 H” unit refers to the “Adventure” or simply the high spec that comes along with paddle shifter (auto box), the navigation touch screen panel and reverse camera as standard features. As for the engine wise, I highly believe the old VGT still sitting in it and probably gets a slight retuned work. This is because there were no “MIVEC” badge to be found on the rear trunk of the “Adventure” model. A set of 16″ alloy rims being fitted into the “Adventure” model. Full leather seats as the final touch to the upholstery section.

The legroom has been improved definitely and the leather seats are pretty supple and more comfy as compared to the Pajero Sport IMHO.

• KUKUAK on Mar 30, 2015 at 2:58 pm

Pondan 4×4! too feminine!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
  • Somehow I feel the current Triton looks better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • vee-oh on Mar 30, 2015 at 3:06 pm

looking good..sporty & muscular

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • KUKUAK on Mar 30, 2015 at 3:52 pm

We want the old Triton – BOLD! BIG! MONSTER!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Sam L00 on Mar 30, 2015 at 4:33 pm

Still cannot beat my Toyota hilux..
    Buy Toyota, get better Rv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 36
  • PeterGriffin on Mar 30, 2015 at 4:47 pm

Overall shape is ok, with the rear end “hanging” look fixed in this version. However, the front end is fugly and does not exude machismo as expected for this kind of vehicle. You can surely say the design does not blend with the current Mitsubishi design language. (The fog lamps are too closely placed, and too much chrome in my opinion). Did Mitsubishi hired someone who usually design China cars for this Triton?
    Anyway, there’s slight refinement in the cabin dash. But it still falls behind from what Ford is offering in the upcoming Ranger model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • Danny’s favourite word “naked” :-D~~

• akooIm on Mar 30, 2015 at 5:06 pm

Obviously this was taken at the naked beach in penang…

• fukken yiu khad on Mar 30, 2015 at 5:25 pm

the cc is 2477 laa dowhh

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 30, 2015 at 5:59 pm

If there was a ghastly looking truck award, the Triton takes the cake.

Seriously, the Navara, Ranger and I dare say Hilux look better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • karipap panas on Mar 30, 2015 at 6:32 pm

gone are macho design of pickup…

today, we have pondan pickup….Specially brought to you by mitsubishi.

• Nazri_T6 on Mar 30, 2015 at 7:28 pm

New Triton sudah ada, New Navara sudah ada, New Ranger T6 sudah ada, New BT-50 pro sudah ada.. Hilux?? Facelift ja?? Adoiiii.. Please Toyota, change the 10 year old model to new one.. so boring when u facelift it again over and over again, without the model spec into a new one..

• Farhan on Mar 30, 2015 at 8:15 pm

Starting RM65k in US, Aussie, Taiwan and Korea

Comes to bolehland starting RM99888

• 4x4nut on Mar 31, 2015 at 11:10 am

The end of the epic storm trooper macho design. glad i got 1. this new design is too messy especially the front. pickup DO NOT goes well with curve/fluid design laa. leave those pandan design to korean sedan!

• Obviously (Member) on Mar 31, 2015 at 12:13 pm

My, my! How controversial this design is! Most of the outspoken commenters here abhor the design while quite a few of the readers seem to like it, judging by the comment ratings. No matter which camp you belong to, the design demands a response. It is quite unconventional for a pick-up truck, where macho-ness is expected. Instead, they gave the front fascia a very much rounded design boasting more curves than hard-edges and devoid of sharp corners.

Sporty and very passenger car-like.

In my observation, the rounded front is the reason for the closely placed together fog lamps that some here despise. If they increased the length of the lower air intake of which the fog lamps are a part, it would look even weirder. I think the current look works but if they so desire, I think it feasible for Mitsubishi to make the fog lamps independent of the lower air-intakes and used standalone brackets at the corners, instead, like the claw-shaped fog lamp housings on the ASX and Attrage or add (even more) chrome to surround and link the fog lamps to the grille as in the Outlander facelift.

I will be among the fewer voices to say that I like the design. If I were to own one of these, I’ll like it even more knowing that it burns like a red-hot and glowing coal on some people’s minds! It is quite daring to pull off something like this in the pick-up market. Seeing the car bathed in natural light rather than the interior ambient lighting of the Bangkok autoshow really brings out the aesthetics better.

Also, I think it is safe to say that the folks over at Mitsubishi really, really like chrome.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 31, 2015 at 12:27 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• KUKUAK on Mar 31, 2015 at 12:29 pm

Where is the OLD TRITON again?!! Please stop promoting the ‘urban 4×4’ concept. That was ridiculous! 4×4 = offroad=rural=tough/bold/strong/fierce machine. This package was in the OLD 2.5L and 3.2L triton!

• Superglue on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:35 am

this new triton only macho on the road by bullying kancil cars and bikes…..