2015 Toyota Camry – specs and equipment released

2015_Toyota_Camry_Facelift_Malaysia_03 copy

UMW Toyota Motor has released official specifications of the updated 2015 Toyota Camry, which will be launched on April 2. A new engine, a new hybrid variant and added kit – let’s go through all of them, shall we?

First up, what’s under the bonnet. As mentioned previously, the Camry gets an all-new engine – a 6AR-FSE 2.0 litre four-cylinder petrol engine with VVT-iW and D-4S direct and port injection. Producing 167 PS at 6,500 rpm and 199 Nm at 4,600 rpm (17 PS and 9 Nm from before), it finally ditches the old four-speed automatic transmission for a six-speed unit with Super-ECT.

The new mill is capable of running on both Otto and Atkinson cycles, the latter for better efficiency. As such, it achieves a combined ECE-rated fuel consumption figure of 7.3 litres per 100 km, down from 8.3 litres per 100 km previously.

Bigger news is the availability of a new 2.5 Hybrid model, which mates a 2AR-FXE 2.5 litre VVT-i four-cylinder petrol engine (160 PS at 5,700 rpm and 213 Nm at 4,500 rpm) with a 143 PS/270 Nm electric motor and a nickel-metal hydride battery. Combined, they produce a total system power output of 205 PS and deliver a combined fuel consumption of 5.2 litres per 100 km.

2015_Toyota_Camry_Facelift_Malaysia_04 copy

Click to enlarge.

Two trim levels are available for the 2.0 litre – the base 2.0E and the mid-level 2.0G, doing away with the recent 2.0G X variant. Both models now come with HID projector headlights with LED daytime running lights, dual exhaust outlets, keyless entry and push-button start, but otherwise equipment levels remain the same.

The 2.0E gets manually-adjustable fabric seats, a basic radio and CD/MP3 player with USB and iPod connectivity, six speakers, dual-zone automatic climate control with rear air vents and an Optitron instrument cluster with a new full-colour multi-info display. Going up to the 2.0G nets you eight-way power-adjustable leather seats, cruise control and security and solar film for the windows.

Sitting at the top of the range, the 2.5 Hybrid replaces the old 2.5V and comes with automatic LED twin-projector headlights, automatic wipers, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, a new seven-inch touchscreen navigation system with Bluetooth connectivity and reverse camera, a 10-speaker JBL Green Edge Tech sound system, a Panasonic Nanoe air ioniser and Qi wireless charging. We don’t get the Thai-market car’s power-reclining rear seats and triple-zone climate control, though.

Click to enlarge the comparison tables.

Last but not least, we come to safety – the 2.5 Hybrid gets the full complement of seven airbags (including one for the driver’s knee), VSC, Hill Start Assist and a Blind Spot Monitor with Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA), but misses out on pre-crash alert, lane departure warning and dynamic radar cruise control, all of which come on cars from across the northern border.

As before, the 2.0 litre models get two airbags – on par with the Honda Accord but behind the six-airbags-as-standard Nissan Teana. Disappointingly, the base 2.0E soldiers on without VSC, either. On the options list for the 2.0 litre models is an aerokit derived from the Thai-market Extremo variant, a seven-inch touchscreen DVD-AVN system with Bluetooth and a reverse camera, as well as security and solar film for the 2.0E.

All that remains to complete the puzzle are prices for all variants, which we’ll find out during the launch of the 2015 Toyota Camry in two days time.

2015 Toyota Camry 2.0G

2015 Toyota Camry Hybrid 2.5HV

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Sam L00 on Mar 31, 2015 at 7:54 pm

yes..got 8bookings already in hand..10% paid.. 9yrs..see people buy toyota pun don want korea

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 51
    • ProtonGSC on Mar 31, 2015 at 8:08 pm

UMW never stop their arrogant attitude, still no VSC on lower spec even with this lousy expensive price???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 74
      • bunny on Mar 31, 2015 at 9:34 pm

Out of topic here.. have u guys heard any news about fuel prices come april 1st? Im anticipating the news.. been googling around and couldnt find a single source of news.
        Oh btw.. i tot UMW repent, guess not! They deserve to burn in hell with all the lives of their customers lost due to lack of VSC. Profit > safety is the name of the game

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
        • The Truth About UMW Toyota on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:08 am

Aiyoo yoo. Habis la Toyota now and their arrogant attitude of just giving 2 airbags and no VSC. This
          is the nail to Toyota’s coffin in Malaysia.

Nobody is touching Toyota now. Salesman all crying. It is known as the Moving Coffin. Bad luck to buy their cars. Before I talk about the rubbish Vios without VSC, lets talk about their Camry first.

Let us start with the Camry. The Camry, everybody boycott because at first when they introduced, it was the only Camry in the world without VSC. UMW thought it is better to reap more profits than the lives of Malaysians and took out the VSC. Then news went viral online and everybody started to boycott Camry. Sales dipped like mad. then UMW damage control. They recently put VSC back into Camry cars but people still remember what a useless company UMW is to give peanuts to Malaysians and sacrifice our lives. A 10 airbag CBU Camry 2.5 in the US is US$22,000 (RM60,000). Here, we pay RM180,000 for a Made in Malaysia car with 2 airbags and no VSC. (now got VSC on higher end models).

The Altis, nobody is touching also. This car in the US, after discounts and bargaining is US$12,000. (RM39,000) My brother just bought it a brand new 2014 Corolla. Comes with 9 airbags and so many more features our toilet CKD does not have.

UMW Malaysia will get this car in CKD form direct from Toyota Japan for about USD$8000. If Toyota USA can sell the CBU in USA for US$12,000 and still make money, UMW for sure will be getting this car far cheaper.

In Malaysia, we get the jamban made in Malaysia model with 2 airbags and no VSC. A Moving coffin. When a car does not have VSC, it is known as a moving coffin. Half the parts are Made in Malaysia. But the car is sold for RM139k. That is why you hardly can see an Altis on the road despite nearly 2 years launched.

Why do we have CKD when the CKD cost more than the CBU? To support crony part manufacturers? Rm39,000 vs RM139,000.

Anyway, Malaysians know that the Toyota Corolla is a big failure in Malaysia. Do you see it on the road at all? Drive the whole day and you hardly can bump into the 2014 Altis or a Vios despite being launched 1 year plus already (Vios). Everywhere you see Elantra or City.

Somemore Honda give 5 years vs Toyota’s 3 years warranty.
          Malaysians rather buy Hyundai Elantra. The car after discounts can get RM85k and comes with VSC. Also, the car is a much bigger C segment than the Altis. No wonder why we see Elantra everywhere.

Malaysians already know that UMW regard Malaysian lives as dirt and don’t care whether you die or not. This Toyota Vios should be named as Toyota Moving Coffin because a car of this price, with no VSC is a risk to you and your family.

Malaysians have now dignity. they know UMW are big cheats. Charge so much for the car, yet compromise on our lives and safety of the family.
          How UMW? Still no VSC? All over the world, Toyota comes with VSC as standard!

Our lives not important UMW?

The Vios is a Big big failure. No need to write a lot here. The City with VSC beats it flat. Tak payah cerita panjang. Even the apek jual ikan also know City is more highly specced than the Vios. So Vios is dead.

Sam loo(ori1) and Same Lorr also now hiding like chickens. They will come in here and say Toyota got good RV but in truth, nobody is going to buy UMW’s trash in Malaysia. Even now, their RV jatuh like hell. 11 months old Camry 2.5, you can buy RM120k, drop from RM180k. In 11 months, the car can drop RM60k. Now people say can even get the Camry 2.5 2014 model for even RM98k. Wah! drop RM80k in 11 months!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
          • sochai on Jul 11, 2015 at 1:33 am

Toyota not good, korean lemon and Cik city good? now cik city also all brothers and sisters call back got time boms hidden by takata how ? korean ahh.. look good no power, like korean boys band wear makeup no character, socahai

• Same Lorrr - Bee Dees Promoter on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:13 am

Now, Same Lorrrr and Sam Loo (ori1) have no choice but to join Parkson or Jusco and promote ladies undergarments. Nobody is going to touch Toyota with no VSC and only 2 airbags. So, Same Lorrrr and Sam Loo (ori1) can now only give discounts on Sorella, Bee Dees, Wacoal, Skiva, Triumph products.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • Where is Najib's Promise? on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:00 am

Why is UMW still giving us 2 airbags and no VSC? And why are we not asking Najib to honour his promise to reduce car prices? How can reduction of 1 to 2% help Malaysians when there is a 6% GST on cost of living?

Before the election, Najib promised the rakyat that if we voted for BN, he would reduce car prices by 30%. He assured and promised every single rakyat that we could trust BN in keeping their promises and BN NEVER mungkir janji.

Now, 2 years have passed. Car prices have gone up actually. VW for example increased all their car prices by up to RM10k before the GST.

So, why UMW not asking Najib and the BN Government to honour their promise to the rakyat?

Just like the NAP, here, BN still try to play the blur game. MITI should just instruct all companies to abide by MITI regulations, after all, MITI controls all car companies and all car companies are ultimately GLC and they should abide by their masters ie the Government.

Anyway, getting back to Najib’s promise, it is high time MAA, MAI and MITI ask Najib to honour his promise to the rakyat of reducing car prices by up to 30%. Already we Malaysians are overpaying our cars by 3x the value of the car. for example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry 2.5 in the US is US$22,000. Here, we pay RM180,000 for a 2 airbag Toyota Camry.

How is a reduction of few hundred ringgit here help the rakyat who is already paying super high car prices and also going to bear the high cost of living with the 6% GST?

UMW which owns Toyota is owned by the Government. Where is the 30% your boss Najib promised?

• You really spoil the name of toyota!!!
      Just like the hyppo spoil the name of ah jib gor!!!
      Good news is you really suit to umw toyota! Perfect match! lol

• Ray (Member) on Mar 31, 2015 at 7:57 pm

HOW COULD THEY EVEN OMIT STABILITY CONTROL ON A CAR THAT COSTS ALMOST 150K WHEN A CAR THAT COSTS A THIRD OF ITS PRICE (read Kia Picanto) CAN AFFORD TO HAVE IT STANDARD ACROSS THE RANGE?!

(The 2.0G is almost perfect, save for the omission of 4 extra airbags though)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
    • rosdi on Mar 31, 2015 at 8:43 pm

Want stability control get Proton lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 27
    • Albert on Mar 31, 2015 at 9:19 pm

Ray,the 4 airbags and stability control are kept in the pockets of Mr.Suki and cohorts as annual bonuses.
      He care less if the majority buyers who belong to his own race,suffer 7-10 years taking out huge hire slavery purchase loans,just to fulfill a sensual want:BUYING CARS.
      UMW is KING OF PRICE INCREASE FOR CARS.
      TOYOTA JAPAN has a shambolic distributor in Bolehland who has no damn conscience as far as morals are concerned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Ray (Member) on Mar 31, 2015 at 10:20 pm

Hey but let’s not forget that UMW is kind enough to include VSC on the Toyota Hiace.

Speaking of that, the Hiace window vans have better safety equipment than the 2.0E Camry. I know this is completely irrelevant but… Hahahahaha

• GeeAssTee on Mar 31, 2015 at 9:30 pm

If the 2.5 hybrid is priced at 175k , it seems like a pretty good deal other than the looks of the car.. As well as the 8 years battery warranty..

I think a lot of unkers will love this car.. Just like my dad lol

• ProtonGSC on Mar 31, 2015 at 8:05 pm

Finally this look better then pre-facelift…

Price and safety spec wise still no VSC on lower spec???

UMW damn arrogant as always, marketing team and management can resign and feel shame offering this kind of spec !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
    • toyotafan on Mar 31, 2015 at 8:11 pm

better wait for the new Mondeo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • Ray (Member) on Mar 31, 2015 at 9:00 pm

Do bear in mind that the Mondeo comes with a hefty 200k price tag though. At 180k, the 2.5 Hybrid seems like a pretty good deal since it comes with so much tech (it’s been very long since Toyota models in Malaysia are associated with value for money).

The Mondeo, of course, has its own desirable qualities. It looks impressive and drives a lot better but for the average space conscious Malaysian, the Camry actually tops the list in terms of legroom and passenger comfort (might even be the best in class, I kid you not). But, if I am the one with 190k to spend, I’d still pick a Mazda 6 anytime, and by that I’m referring to the upcoming facelift with that oh-so-awesome interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • WILLIAM on Mar 31, 2015 at 8:07 pm

Feeling disappoint that the safety for base spec are still ignore. Rather that go for Honda Accord base spec with VSA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 31, 2015 at 8:09 pm

Sonata fellas will be flocking to my yard tomorrow.

Rats, gotta canx the leave application of all my staff now. Those that have applied for Cheng Beng leave will also need to cut them short

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 18
    • OH MY GOD DUDE, do you ever SHUT THE F UP?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
    • Pop question. If the new teana crash into the new camry, which occupant will survive to celebrate Cheng Beng?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Can’t believe theres still cars costing more than 100k & still doesn’t have traction / stability control & only 2 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • xiper (Member) on Mar 31, 2015 at 10:54 pm

many of them exist actually and some of them are still selling well…

(Source from carbase.my for cars above 100k without stability control)
      Toyota: Camry, Altis, Hilux, Fortuner, Innova
      Mitsubishi: Pajero Sport, Lancer, Triton, ASX
      Nissan: Navara
      Ford: Everest
      Suzuki: Grand Vitara

• So basically all Japanese cars. and yes the old everest is Japanese and you know it

• brazbuz on Mar 31, 2015 at 8:21 pm

If 2.0G price above 150k, it will stay in the stockyard. 2.0E can stop the production now, the spec is a joke.

• Laaa Nite Museum on Mar 31, 2015 at 8:21 pm

Nothing to brag about the new front design. Almost the same as Toyota Avalon.

• Spunky on Mar 31, 2015 at 8:38 pm

Looks like an Apek with a mid-life crisis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • hahaha on Mar 31, 2015 at 8:57 pm

The ever smooth nissan teana anytime.

• rossim on Mar 31, 2015 at 9:04 pm

Is the DVD-AVN sourced from Panasonic as in the USA?

• rossim on Mar 31, 2015 at 9:06 pm

Is the DVD-AVN the one sourced from Panasonic as in USA?

• Bloody hell no VSC for 2.0.

City and Cerato below 90K still equipped with VSA/VSC.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:30 am

The locally assembled Celaka, they may have VSC, but they fail within 24 months. As such, 18 months is the maximum one can own a kimchi.

For KIA, no trade in accepted anymore. Sell to the relative you hate the most

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • kids talking here on Mar 31, 2015 at 9:39 pm

VSC sooo important meh… just drive with more mindful approach la. Are Malaysian drivers so terrible that we need VSC to save us?? please la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 45
    • UMW GTFO on Mar 31, 2015 at 10:13 pm

Dude… There’s no such thing as drive carefully and be sure nothing will happen to you. ESP is of course important. Once you get into trouble then only you regret how important it is. Perhaps you need to go test drive a car with and without ESP and feel the difference it makes.

People like you is why a stupid distributor like UMW can still make money. Malaysians are still not safety conscious enough!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • Leafable on Mar 31, 2015 at 9:47 pm

OMG! The interior design give me a Nightmare on Elm Street.

• UMW Mampus on Mar 31, 2015 at 10:07 pm

No ESP for base model, again. Clearly UMW is hibernating. Guys wake up!! They are treating their customers’ life cheaply and you still want to buy their products?! Hell no!

And for those RV bullshits, please F off and put your stick in the car’s exhaust if you really like this crap. Disappointed with UMW totally. Thought they will change with this new model. Again, for a 100k plus car with no ESP is a total joke! There are better alternatives out there. Arrogant UMW!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Toyota Sucks on Mar 31, 2015 at 10:31 pm

Still 2 airbags and no VSC for 2.0 camry. I wonder who is going to buy this outdated car. Hopeless carmaker in Malaysia. Worse D segment car indeed.

• Oh really on Mar 31, 2015 at 11:37 pm

UMWT is not asking ppl to buy base spec. They created choices for people, you choose what you want and do not brag. The scope is wide, just make your choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • UMW GTFO on Apr 01, 2015 at 1:52 pm

Some other make gives you full safety feature across their ranges, including the cheapest one. It’s not about choices we have, it’s about the priorities they are having. Just look at VIOS TRD, no ESP at all in their range-topping variant. Choices, you said?

In the DNA of UWM, money is everything. They treat your lives cheap and you still want to help them say something. Many Malaysians like you are reason why UMW can still sell. Dear fellow Malaysians, please wake up and be more conscious about safety features in cars! Cut the crap like push start button, they do nothing to save you.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:05 am

Busy day preparing for the influx of Sonata and Elantra owners visiting my yard tomorrow.

Staff very unhappy that they have to canx their leave in preparation for the new Quarter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
  • UMW, lesson not learnt. It will reflect in your sell number. Let the market decides!

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:26 am

Why? I’m sure they did their surveys, crunched the numbers etc. and found out that people are willing to buy the car without VSC and with only 2 airbags, but if it dropped for example the bodykits, dual exhausts, leather seats etc. that would stop them from buying the car. I don’t think UMW is run by idiots. They know very well what they are doing. Just look at Proton… much safer cars, much lower price, but people rather buy those more expensive Japanese death traps.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:23 am

VSC and airbags aren’t expensive. Hyundai charges 4k for 4 additional airbags (all other specs on the Elantra being the same). 4k! How much is VSC? Another k? Maybe two?

HID headlights alone usually cost around 4k. Now, they are useful when factory installed, but airbags and stability control are more important. Just drop HID on the base spec and replace it with airbags and VSC. And why dual exhaust? Another thing that could easily be dropped to allow for safety features. Or why are leather seats more important than safety features? Things that protect your life?

The problem is really Malaysians who are willing to buy these cars, who would rather have junk like leather seats over 6 airbags and stability control. It would be trivial for Toyota to offer good safety features in the cars, they probably could even switch production in a week or so, just need to order more parts. They are able to produce the car with more airbags and VSC. They just don’t think they have to, and if they did that and replaced some of the nonsense these cars come with with safety features, they’d lose sales.

• henryee18 on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:39 am

Why the “UNCLE STYLE” WOODEN LOOK, still here in the new Camry?

• LookSoKayu on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:55 am

ooiii.. that ‘kayu’ look is so 90’s laaa

i thought of wanting to test drive this hybrid model.. , but .. 1 look at the interior..! haiyoo fail big time. Save your money and buy Accord or Teana instead..! or even the new Sonata..

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 4:09 am

Hybrid looks very nice, I must say.

But the 2.0G and E.

WHAT THE FLYING **** ARE THESE PEOPLE THINKING.

No stability control on the base one – they are mad. Nissan proved you can do a full safety suite car at that price. So Toyota, how now?

• Carnut on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:52 am

The hybrid is nicely price to compete at the upper segment. Having driven it before I would say this drive train is quiet, powerful and responsive. Nothing from the competitors come close at this segment. But the interior is still too uncle like for my taste though its comfortable enough as a family car. Handling is better than its predecessor but steering feel is still numb to me. But I think this will sell well for those who buy D segment below RM200k.

The 2.0 versions seems to have an improved engine, but the lack of safety features is a real turn-off.

• Dato' MC Jin on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:43 am

And people were commenting on Nissan X-TRAIL with 2 airbags…..
    This is even more EPIC!! hahahaha

• stanley on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:14 pm

I cant agree more.. at least in my own live experience having VSC in my car, it saved my life TWICE… and u can really feel the wheels and car locking and stablising when it happened…

I really cant emphasise more the importance of those safety features if not i wouldnt be alive to be able to type this..

So once again, very disappointing from UMW. For those who are reading this, in my true honest unbias opinion, pls look away from toyota once and for all.. there are many other cars in its class now that offers better specs, quality and cheaper price..

• William on Apr 02, 2015 at 12:30 am

When I were looking for a 4 wheel truck, tested hilux,triton, ranger n BT-50. I found out Toyota produced the most low tech car In malaysia

• boyboy on Jul 11, 2015 at 1:43 am

emm..better buy my girl 2011 2nd golf, 78k, next tailgate uncle camry till he wet his camry seat lol