GALLERY: 2015 Ford Mondeo – first drive impressions

2015 Ford Mondeo MY preview 3

Not long to go before the 2015 Ford Mondeo EcoBoost is officially launched in the country – word is that the car will be introduced before the month is out. Ahead of that, the fifth-gen CD391 (which is known as the Fusion in North America) is continuing on its preview rounds; the car is currently on show in Bangsar Shopping Centre until the weekend.

We’ve covered the D-segment offering in great detail in our earlier post last month, when specifications for the Malaysian car – which is assembled in Spain at Ford’s Valencia plant – were revealed. To recap, the 1,562 kg car will come with an equipment level equivalent to Australia’s mid-level Trend variant, with elements from the high-end Titanium included in the mix.

The 2.0 litre EcoBoost offers the same 240 PS (at 5,300 rpm) and 345 Nm (at 2,300 to 4,900 rpm) output tune as found previously on the outgoing CD345 Mondeo, though there’s a change in transmission – the six-speed PowerShift in the old car (the wet clutch Getrag 6DCT450) has been replaced by a conventional six-speed torque converter unit, the GM-Ford 6F35 SelectShift, which is also seen on the Ford Kuga.

Exterior bits include 17-inch double five-spoke alloys wrapped with 235/50 Michelin Primacy 3 tyres, adaptive LED headlamps, daytime running lights, dual exhausts and auto fold wing mirrors (with puddle lamps).

2015 Ford Mondeo MY preview 2

As for equipment, the list includes adaptive cruise control, keyless entry/push button ignition, dual-zone auto climate control, an electronic parking brake, auto headlamps, fog lamps, rain-sensing wipers and 10-way powered front seats. Other base items are front and rear parking aid sensors, leather steering wheel/gear shift knob as well as paddle shifters and rear air-conditioning vents.

Also on, a SYNC 2 infotainment system with an eight-inch LCD touchscreen, reverse camera and MyKey. The Sony audio system features nine speakers, Bluetooth connectivity, USB and aux inputs as well as Voice Command for phone, music and climate controls. There’s no navigation (and panoramic sunroof), however.

Aside from the earlier-mentioned adaptive cruise control, safety kit includes seven airbags (front, thorax, curtain and driver knee) – which is two less than the Australian Mondeo, which features inflatable rear seatbelts to make it an airbag count of nine – as well as ABS, EBD, ESC, traction control, hill launch assist and Isofix mount points.

The Malaysian Mondeo also comes equipped with Lane Keeping Alert + Aid, and LKA is the only item in the arsenal of Safety Pack items to feature here – no BLIS and lane departure warning, nor is there the Active City Stop, enhanced Active Park Assist or Pre-Collision Assist with Pedestrian Detection seen on higher-spec Australian models.

As previously mentioned, the Mondeo EcoBoost will be available in four colours locally, and these are Tectonic Silver, Frozen White, Panther Black and Ruby Red. At the preview in BSC, a Frozen White unit is on static display duty at the concourse, while two demonstrator mules (one Ruby Red, the other a Tectonic Silver example) are available for test drives, running on trade plates.

The course at the Bangsar showcase isn’t very long, essentially being a large loop around the area, but it does provide enough in the way of a quick impression of the car, and there really are no surprises in store if you’re at all familiar with the workings of the old one. As before, the Mondeo feels very drivable, the EcoBoost continuing to provide a lot of shine in both pull and response.

The steering is informative, and there’s every suggestion that this one will continue its predecessor’s high levels of engagement in terms of driving dynamics when speeds progress beyond city driving scope levels.

Seating comfort is likewise positive, as is switchgear ergonomics. The interior is definitely an advancement over the fourth-gen CD345’s in terms of presentation and appeal – the immediate standout is the instrument cluster as well as the eight-inch SYNC 2 screen. Not enough time to really try out the ease of use of the system, so that’ll have to wait for the standard test drive when the time comes.

The suspension remains firm-ish though, and the low to mid-speed levels and road conditions of the course simply amplify the feedback coming across – Euro fans will love the nuggety feel coming off the tarmac, but those unused to such a depiction might find the Mondeo’s ride nature a tad hard. Those into visual appeal might also find the 17-inchers rather small for the car, given its bulk.

The estimated RM203,800 price bandied about earlier still stands, but the final price will be confirmed when the car is launched later this month. The Mondeo EcoBoost will come with a three-year/100,000 km warranty (and not as previously mentioned) as well as a three year/60,000 km free service package.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• I don’t know about you guys but in terms of looks, the Mondeo trumps the 3 series easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
    • 3seriesbest on Apr 01, 2015 at 4:55 pm

But too bulky to be owned by younger people. I can afford but dun want to be seen driving in one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 38
      • Well i’m sure the 3 series would last much longer & is more reliable than the mondeo. Plus it’s also one of the safest cars tested by euro ncap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 34
      • Ford - Champion of RV on Apr 01, 2015 at 7:58 pm

Don’t waste your money buying this car now. Everybody knows Ford is the Champion and King of RV Depreciation. Just wait one year, you can buy this car for Rm100k

That is Ford for you. Very good car. Solid handling. Continental feel BUT zero 2nd hand value and RV drops faster than a falling comet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 37
    • kington on Apr 01, 2015 at 5:04 pm

In some ways, the Mondeo does look really good in flesh, though it would look even better with bigger rims like the 2.5 Mazda 6.

The new 3 seemed to have a very safe design and looks pretty good if you opt for the M Sport, especially in Estoril Blue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • jemah on Apr 01, 2015 at 5:47 pm

di china sudah facelift, malaysia baru mau masuk…super LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Too expensive because it’s a Ford… Audi A3 is cheaper and luxury!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
      • luxury? Don’t be a badge snob please. The A3 is just a VW Golf in fancy clothing. name one car that has all the equipment & power like the Mondeo that’s cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:09 pm

mazda 6 is even prettier

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Does our variant get the LED sequential turn signals as well?

• Joe Hung on Apr 01, 2015 at 4:58 pm

nice specs, price also ok, interior ok.
    the only factor holding me back from buying this car.
    RV. bought for 2++k depreciate to 80k. mana tahan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • akula on Apr 01, 2015 at 5:00 pm

Why NO GPS? I really need that features especially when I travelling to Klang Valley area.

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 5:01 pm

Red looks stunning! Even the white too. Silver doesnt cut it- looks a bit gold.

The rear seats in the silver unit are interesting though. Those are the inflatable belts. You can see it by the floppy and saggier nature of the belt : http://paultan.org/2015/04/01/gallery-2015-ford-mondeo-first-impressions-drive/2015-ford-mondeo-my-preview-26/

Just realised the 17″ rims do look a bit tiny…

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 5:26 pm

Nice spot, hey. The saggy-floppy look might make people question the QA/QC, though. Doesn’t really matter, I guess, as it isn’t offered locally if I’m not wrong.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 6:45 pm

Good eyes, sudonano, they are indeed the inflatables. I didn’t realise either, preoccupied with photography. It’d be interesting to see if the early samples and demo mules are the only ones to get the extra airbags – I’ll be sure to check when the car makes its debut. As of now, the count officially is seven.

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:58 pm

Hey Anthony!

I ate my carrots LOL.

I’d reckon that may be the case, many times, the prelaunch cars are not the same as the actual final cars… Remember the Focus ST demo car, WXL 316? If I am not mistaken, it was the first ST in Malaysia, for launch, so Ford actually got it without rear sensors… http://paultan.org/2013/05/31/driven-ford-focus-st-orange-crush-anyone/

Having a Ford sourced EcoBoost 2.0 myself, how would you reckon this EcoBoost 2.0 compares to the Focus ST, old Mondeo and the Jaguar Land Rover application? One thing I did notice was that this engine is notably more “sporty” than the German ones, i.e. this one does have a noticeable blowoff noise at times, and the exhaust is quite nice – in some funny way. But I’m not sure if it will do this Mondeo justice as a cruiser…

• Is this car way better than camry?

• Sonyman on Apr 01, 2015 at 5:50 pm

Bro why do you compare this with camry? Same segment but so different in driving dynamics. Camry are for slow and steady.
      Mondeo… This is a totally different animal.

• Why is GPS always a luxury option in Malaysia ? does it incur too cost or is their some other genuine factor ?

Btw, it does looks nice. Wonder if Mazda 6 Facelift wich is already launched in SG be a better buy !!

• Jilbaber (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 6:29 pm

No all round view cam…only rear view cam only..that’s is so end 1990’s meh…

• intermilan on Apr 01, 2015 at 6:49 pm

The rim are so tiny for a car resembling supertanker and the design, so dated!

• old dog on Apr 01, 2015 at 10:27 pm

price it at RM169K low ball the Passat and will stand a chance

• But is the ride firmer than mazda 6?

• AreYouBlind on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:49 am

Who do you all keep comparing BMW320, Audi A3, Mazda 6, Even Camry? Then some said about RV, come on guys, which conti car got high RV? If you concern about RV then just buy Axia which I guarantee you will not depreciate more than 30k in 7yrs.

Remember it only around 200k which you will get the performance that can compete with BMW328 & Benz AMG series which cost around 300k. This car easily tapau any sedan with its 345 torque and 240 horsepower. Passat can smell its smoke only.

In term of safety. 10 airbags, Inflatable seat belt, adaptive cruise control, and many more that I lazy to mention. It only can be found for the car above 300k.

So it was a best choice for 200k spending.

• Abi Sarwan on Apr 02, 2015 at 8:13 am

Drove the old one for about 1000km last 2 years and the Ecoboost really is a gem. Does this one fitted with a symphoser as well?
    Anyway make sure you have a spare car if you are thinking about getting one. It’s not uncommon to have your Ford stuck at Service Centre for months waiting repair or parts replacement.

• Regarding the rims, it is indeed disappointed, due to the fact that the Fusion currently sell in other countries comes with 18 inches rims (some even 19 inches).

I guess to make it look ganas, just go and fit after market rims like vossen or bbs, it will look very very striking (bunches of modified Fusion can be found in Google Images).

• Chee Chong Fun on Apr 03, 2015 at 5:21 pm

ciao la, i silap booking camly. now i wat refund. paul can help me with your conenction liao.

• MrPoppyplants on Apr 05, 2015 at 6:31 pm

Tested the car. The test drive route was disappointing as you can’t really try out much of the driving dynamics. However, car does feel very powerful despite a full seating of 5 people in the car. Interior is rather nice, although you don’t get real aluminium trims, they are all faux aluminium.

One thing that will prevent me from getting this car is the extremely small boot. While the length and width of the boot is big, it is not deep at all due to the full sized spare tire. The boot floor is almost level with the opening and I find that ridiculous. You won’t be able to stack luggages and I see this as a design flaw. You will need to see the car in the flesh to get what I mean.

• Carlover on Apr 11, 2015 at 12:37 pm

Test drove the car at BSC, lovely interior car is large but booth is small. A bit dissapointed with steering response as a bit lifeless. Feels
    more like a car to be driven by a driver than a drivers car. I quite expected a more dynamic drive with the ecoboost engine and all but I guess its a family car after all. If Ford can price this at 180k it will be a winner as the kit is so much better compared to Jap and German rivals

• 1. if we r concern about RV please buy a property
    2. when we buy a car our priority is after sales service, reliability, comfort, safety & driving dynamics. Some r brand conscious though.
    3. No doubt Mondeo is a good car, but I agree that the tyre rim could be bigger (18inch ?) Perhaps more color options too.
    4. I hope Ford Msia is reading these..

• lol the trip computer on one of the pictures shows
    24.4L / 100KM

• poorman on May 11, 2015 at 11:11 am

It takes a while of driving to have a representative fuel consumption figures Because the calculation is based on average..

• jollygoh on May 13, 2015 at 2:12 am

There’s no navigation..??

eight-inch LCD touchscreen no GPS..??

• elson on May 15, 2015 at 1:58 pm

plastic interior, especially the dashboard, and the price like platinum

• Johnny on Nov 05, 2015 at 8:29 am

If I can afford, I will definitely buy this!

• Newbie on Jan 09, 2016 at 10:52 am

Why yu gais talking bout RV so much. It’s not like you gais buy and sell car every year…