GST: New BMW Malaysia price list – all same as before

Click to enlarge price list.

We now have BMW Malaysia’s full GST-adjusted price list and well, if you’ve been hoping for a price reduction of some sort, you’re not in luck. Everything on the list seems to be the same as the equivalent pre-GST prices.

As you can see, BMW Malaysia markets quite a number of models here. The 1 Series hatchback, standard 3, 5 and 7 Series sedans, coupes, convertibles, full-fledged M models, X series SUV, you’ll find them all on that single list.

For a more detailed overview of all the models that on sale in Malaysia, check out our sister site CarBase.my.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 4:24 am

Notice how the 125i, 520d standard, and 335i have packed up.

But i am quite surprised no changes to the price list. Was expecting a drop since many are CKD models.

• Where is Najib's Promise? on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:52 am

Why is Sime Darby and BMW MAlaysia not asking Najib to honour his promise to reduce car prices? How can reduction of 1 to 2% help Malaysians when there is a 6% GST on cost of living?

Before the election, Najib promised the rakyat that if we voted for BN, he would reduce car prices by 30%. He assured and promised every single rakyat that we could trust BN in keeping their promises and BN NEVER mungkir janji.

Now, 2 years have passed. Car prices have gone up actually. VW for example increased all their car prices by up to RM10k before the GST.

So, why BMW not asking Najib and the BN Government to honour their promise to the rakyat? After all BMW Malaysia is GLC

Just like the NAP, here, BN still try to play the blur game. MITI should just instruct all companies to abide by MITI regulations, after all, MITI controls all car companies and all car companies are ultimately GLC and they should abide by their masters ie the Government.

Anyway, getting back to Najib’s promise, it is high time MAA, MAI and MITI ask Najib to honour his promise to the rakyat of reducing car prices by up to 30%. Already we Malaysians are overpaying our cars by 3x the value of the car. for example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry 2.5 in the US is US$22,000. Here, we pay RM180,000 for a 2 airbag Toyota Camry.

How is a reduction of few hundred ringgit here help the rakyat who is already paying super high car prices and also going to bear the high cost of living with the 6% GST?

Sime Darby which owns BMW Malaysia is owned by the Government. Where is the 30% your boss Najib promised?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
      • BMW Very Greedy on Apr 01, 2015 at 2:04 pm

MBM has reduced a lot but BMW, crony GLC, arrogant and still maintain prices. Why?

Somemore, BMW Malaysia is the only car company in the world giving a mere 2 years warranty, shortchanging Malaysians.

How come MBM can give double the warranty ie 4 years, and yet reduce prices?

BMW, pls stop cheating us. Anyway, to those still wanting to buy a BMW, insist on buying 2nd hand. a BMW in the first year itself depreciates over RM120k. 2nd year onwards, it depreciates RM20k per year. Let the first owner bear the depreciation.

For example, you can get a 2014 BMW 520i now for RM250k. Hardly 1 year yet it can lose RM120k

• BMW Very Greedy is Sor Hai on Apr 02, 2015 at 9:01 am

You are one sor hai. Don’t talk bullshit lah.

http://www.mudah.my/Malaysia/Cars-1020/520i-for-sale?lst=0&fs=1&q=520i&cg=1020&w=3&so=1&st=s&mds=2&mke=3&mde=2

520i 2014 near 300K or above 300K.

• Aznoor on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:45 pm

U just born yesterday meh?…never trust the politician…

• Ketupat pulut di atas peti,
    Hendak direbus di tepi perigi,
    SMS dihantar pengganti kad GST,
    Tanda ingatan tak luput di hati.
    Selamat menyambut Hari GST.

• Greedy Germans on Apr 01, 2015 at 7:19 am

Bmw Malaysia is profiteering

• Lazy People on Apr 01, 2015 at 7:36 am

Actually looks more like BMW Malaysia were either:
      -ignorant of the GST computation and hence gave up on the calculation thus keeping the same price
      -too lazy to even try to figure this out despite their executive high paying salaries
      -didn’t even register for GST which is a punishable offence.
      – okay, let’s just say their profiteering from this.

Either way BMW and Naza ends up looking bad for not reducing prices where others have at lesst tried. Says so much about which companies are interested to look for new or keep existing cuatomers

• Albert on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:44 am

I forgot the company which owns part of BMW.Is it Sime darby?In other wordsPNB? Shambolic ripoff,again like UMW Toyota.

• alldisc on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:58 am

sime darby is owner of Auto Bavaria, now a dealer of BMW Malaysia. previously it was the franchise holder in Malaysia

• Paul Cheah Yuh Yuan on Apr 01, 2015 at 7:46 am

Joy to all when car prices are expected to fall.

However, there are still some misfits who are unwilling to lower their profit.

By now, we should know who goes by the book and who are the real crooks…

• Amran on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:25 am

Judging by how the cronies work here. Staying the same price is more than enough. Need not expect too much from them. because the more u hope, the harder disappointment u will get.

• Harga_Turun on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:37 am

Boo BMW. stingy…

• bmw says whats the point reducing the car price 3-5k pun?
    they have money they buy bmw, they no money they buy proton.
    simple enough?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • hondaman on Apr 01, 2015 at 10:18 am

you guys want discount? buy the car in december laa where the dealers will give you massive discounts and freebies..

• Idris Koh on Apr 01, 2015 at 10:27 am

not much impact for me and family.

• Bmw profiteering here clearly, anyways they make unreliable over priced junks anyways..don bother as wont buy their products anyways

• Euro X on Apr 01, 2015 at 10:42 am

Some thing to think about :
    3 Yr\60,000km BRSI
    Average mileage is 25,000km per year so in reality
    BSRI will be over in 2 years 4 mths.
    Warranty is also over in 2 years.
    Short lived “JOY”

• alldisc on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:56 am

to most BMW owners are likely with more than 1 car in their garage.

meaning – instead of using 1 car for 30,000km a year it maybe split to 10,000km a year (multiply by 3 cars).

the same applies to Merc and lexus, or jaguar owners.

• Jimmy on Apr 01, 2015 at 1:32 pm

Not a wise decision, image and marketing wise.

• Any car distributor that does not reduce price after GST means all the while they have been frauding government over the import duty and sales tax by under declaring their cars!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:13 pm

will buy recon///

• Levin on Apr 09, 2015 at 3:20 pm

Banyak Main Wang
    Before & After GST = same price, something is very wrong. Either reduce the price or increase it. Don’t treat the rakyats as fools.