New Mitsubishi Triton open for booking – from RM71k

new triton main

The new Mitsubishi Triton is now open for booking and listed on Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia’s website, with estimated introductory prices from RM71k to RM114k (OTR with insurance and GST). The CBU Thai-assembled pick-up truck will be officially launched in May.

The new Triton’s arrival is of course no surprise – we’ve covered its launch in Thailand late last year and more recently showed you undisguised spyshots of a registered unit in Malaysia.

In Thailand, the Triton debuted with a new 2.4 litre turbodiesel MIVEC VGT engine with 182 PS, 430 Nm of torque and 20% better efficiency; but Malaysian-bound Tritons will have a 2.5 litre VGT engine with 178 PS and 400 Nm from 2,000 to 3,500 rpm, an improved version of the current 178 PS/350 Nm DI-D motor.

The new engine not coming here could be because of our lower quality diesel, but an extra 50 Nm shot of torque isn’t bad. The gearbox is a five-speed auto with paddle shifters for the top variant.

Equipment wise, MMM is highlighting the above-mentioned shift paddles, HID projector headlamps with LED daytime running lights, dual-zone auto air con, auto headlamps and wipers, and a 6.1-inch touchscreen head unit with reverse camera for the top-spec, auto-only VGT Adventure. It rolls on 17-inch wheels and has an extra sport bar for the bed, as seen in our spyshots above.

One rung below, the VGT AT and VGT MT (five-speed manual) comes with keyless entry and a push start button. Both also get the touchscreen HU, but without the camera. There’s a new rotary selector for the Easy Select 4WD system (2H, 4H, 4L) to replace the old vibrating stick, but only for the VGT Adventure and VGT AT.

There are also two non-VGT (variable geometry turbo) workhorse variants, namely the Triton 4X4 MT and the Triton Quest 4X2 MT. The latter’s ‘Quest’ name replaces the old ‘Lite’ moniker. Tilt and telescopic steering is available for all 4WD models.

Full price and equipment lists for all variants, plus roadshow schedules, are in the gallery below. Do also browse our 2014 Thai Motor Expo gallery for an accurate preview of new Triton.

2015 Mitsubishi Triton at 2014 Thai Motor Expo

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 1:15 pm

Paddle shifters on a truck.

BRB fainting.

Why not, give us stability control and side & curtain airbags? priorities…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • UMW Mampus on Apr 01, 2015 at 1:33 pm

Sadly many Malaysians are still not safety conscious. When a car make introduces paddle shifters, anti-snatch hook, push start button, everyone goes crazy.

When there is a lack of ESP, they say.. “aiya, just drive carefully la” or “look, they offer choices, you can buy the expensive range with ESP”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
      • driver on Apr 01, 2015 at 2:21 pm

and one more to add, when small car is equipped with ESC they will say
        “why would such a small car need those stuff like esc,tc, etc… useless”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Malaysians think they are racers.

That’s why you see Vios and Myvi flying on the right lane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • Toyota Fan on Apr 19, 2015 at 12:24 am

Can you recommend me a truck with ESP for Malaysian market?

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 1:43 pm

I spent quite a few seconds gawking at that as well. Did not see that coming.

They really do want to make you forget about your sedan/hatch.

• Sam L00 on Apr 01, 2015 at 3:26 pm

main paddle during offroad? i want to ask those with paddle.. how many times you touch the paddle shift..compare to push start button..i think 50times press the push start..1time pull the paddle..the ratio 50:1

• pity you la mr sam loo.. Come out with such statement (paddle shifter) where toyota hardly can offer such an interesting feature.. Shifting gear at the very ease.. Effortless to overtake and no need to over-rev to save fuel..

• Sandy on Apr 02, 2015 at 8:40 pm

Looks like a Nissan =X

• Believe me, t6 2015 vs triton 2015?
    Ford still winning in their offroad capabilities and safety(good2)
    paddle shift?sport car is it?

• ammar on Apr 13, 2015 at 10:14 am

i dont see ford on podium in Rally Paris Dakar.. (talking about offroad cap.. )

• John & James Hii on Apr 03, 2015 at 9:46 am

look like very nice . I like it much , want to buy it

• Philp on Apr 05, 2015 at 5:52 pm

SAFETY features like ESP and TRC are important. Paddle shift can handle front impact during crash? Push button can remind you when people suddenly pull out without any notice from the junction? New triton without ESP and TRC really bring people down!

• best nengok new triton pegi ulu-ulu ni…with that new pedal shifter, easier to overtake the logging trucks

• IneedESP on Jun 16, 2015 at 12:36 pm

Why there is no ESP, VSC or similar safety feature installed?
    May be Mitsubishi helping Malaysia to control population by selling performance trucks but without active safety :-)
    This new triton is a neat ride, but I am going with either a Ranger or Colorado that offer ESP on their line ups.