All-new, fourth-gen Kia Optima makes Big Apple debut

2016-kia-optima-ny-debut-2

After a lengthy pre-launch campaign, the fourth-generation 2016 Kia Optima has finally made its debut at the ongoing 2015 New York International Auto Show (2015 NYIAS). The new D-segment contender will be made available in five different trim levels (LX, LX Turbo, EX, SX Turbo, SXL) when it goes on sale later this year.

Aimed at “consumers looking for a fresh alternative to an otherwise staid segment”, the new Optima adopts an evolutionary design theme, conceived under the guidance of president and style guru, Peter Schreyer. The front end now sports a revised ‘Tiger Nose’ grille that’s flanked by HID head lamps with Dynamic Bending Lights and High Beam Assist. The LED daytime running lights are housed inside the main assembly.

Profile wise, the new Optima sports a raked A-pillar that lends it a swooping, sporty silhouette while alloy wheels, ranging in size from 16- to 18-inch depending on trim level selected, are present. Depending on what lies under the bonnet, a minute side vent above the front wheel arch bears the ‘Turbo’ tag within its frame.

2016-kia-optima-ny-debut

At the rear, a subtle lip spoiler sits atop while (optional) elongated LED ‘halo-style’ tail lamps reside below. Additional aesthetic character comes courtesy from the twin oval exhaust outlets at each end which are embedded into the diffuser. Three new paint schemes are added into the Optima’s palette.

Under the bonnet lie three engine options, all petrol-powered. The latest engine also happens to be the smallest one – a 1.6 litre, turbocharged four-cylinder engine with 178 hp and 264 Nm of torque is mated to a just-as-new seven-speed dual-clutch gearbox. This treatment is only available on the Optima LX Turbo.

Elsewhere, a turbo’ed 2.0 litre GDI four-banger with 247 hp/352 Nm and a 2.4 litre, four-cylinder mill with 185 hp/241 Nm are featured. The former can be specced on the Optima SXL and SX turbo variants while the latter, the Optima LX and EX. Both engines are mated to a six-speed auto (SX and SXL add on paddle shifters) while all three powerplant/transmission setups send power to the front wheels.

Inside, much of the focus has been diverted to decreasing the NVH levels while at the same time increasing the interior ambience up a notch or two with more premium materials employed in the construction. Depending again on trim levels selected, the seats can either be trimmed in fabric, standard quality leather or the full-on Nappa treatment while either a “rich merlot” or “dark aubergine” interior finish can be specced.

2016-kia-optima-ny-debut-8

An eight-inch touchscreen is home to Kia’s UVO connectivity system which features four eServices functions – Geo-fencing, Speed Alert, Curfew Alert and Driving Score. Also making its debut on the 2016 Kia Optima is the Android Auto and Apple Carplay platforms – the latter to be available in the future. Two ‘fast-charge’ USB ports are present with one in front and the other out back in the rear seat.

A six-speaker audio system comes as standard while audiophiles can opt for a 14-speaker Infinity Premium Audio System that features Clari-Fi technology. Additional conveniences include a reverse camera, standard on all variants, while the SX and SXL variants can be had with the optional 360-degree Around View Monitor.

Along with the inclusion of high-strength steel in its construction, the 2016 Kia Optima comes with a plethora of safety features. Optional driver aids include Advanced Smart Cruise Control system, Blind Spot Detection, Rear Cross Traffic Alert and Autonomous Emergency Braking.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• I am totally seeing Audi inside and outside..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
    • Toyota Salesman Don't Jealous on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:45 pm

There will be so many faggots that will come here and bad mouth Korean cars. Well, Hyundai alone last year sold 8 million cars. You plus that with Kia, I think it would be double.

Anyway, let us take just Hyundai for an example. How can 8 million people be wrong and a few pariahs in PT bad mouthing Koreans be right?

As for RV, that is Toyota salesman talk la in the forums. They got no sales, they come online and bad mouth Korean cars. Go check Mudah, Carlies and Oto, Korean cars have the SAME RV as Honda and Toyota. Infact, Toyota has worse RV than Korean cars. For example, a 10 month old 2014 Toyota Camry 2.5 now selling for RM120,000, down from RM180,000.

So, Toyota salesman, pls lah, don’t be jealous and come here disguising your names as various people.
      These people who bad mouth were the ones those days say Motorola handphones were the best and Samsung handphones were crap. Now, see all these pariahs, they all using Samsung handphones now.

These are the same pariahs who also went around telling people Pioneer Kuro was the best TV in the world. Go to their houses now, you see a Samsung LED TV hung up on their walls.

It is high time all those sad Toyota salesman and fanboys go online to mudah, carlies and oto and compare each B, C and D segment with Korean cars. You will see, it is all a big lie. Japanese cars, whatever the segment has the same RV as Korean cars.

Same Lorrrr, pls get a life. Do your best now selling undergarments and don’t talk rots.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 6
      • so zai on Apr 02, 2015 at 4:33 pm

kimchi sales executive detected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 44
      • Same Lorrrr Lingerie on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:07 pm

Habis la this car come here in Malaysia. So many airbags, so many safety spec. Already the Toyota salesman got no business and got no sales, with this, Toyota salesman is finished.

I hope all my friends still in UMW come and join me in Parkson selling undergarments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • blaster88 on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:29 pm

While I am not a big fan of Kimchi cars, I have to agree with you. They have certainly came a loooong way!!! Remember Hyundai and Proton came into existence the same year 1985…..rest is history!!! The last 10 years the Koreans have certainly up their game esp in the design department.

BTW, have you seen the interior of the new Camry? Arrgh!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Jilbaber (Member) on Apr 03, 2015 at 10:27 am

It’s design by ex-Audi head designer…no surprise meh

• msian on Apr 02, 2015 at 1:55 pm

all new?looks like an incremental update..optima s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Accordana on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:26 pm

Looks like Proton is lagging behind Kia at least 30 years.

• No more Value on Apr 02, 2015 at 9:45 pm

But Kia is behind Chery at least 32 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
        • No more Value - The only Value on Apr 03, 2015 at 2:38 pm

ya, u are right. U are really right when in your dream. Dun use my name please, use ur own idea and create a username for yourself, i beg u

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 02, 2015 at 1:56 pm

Do we even blink an eye to kimchi now, with our new Camry? I doubt so.

2015 Camry booked: 45

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 62
    • LOL

• paulnut2 on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:46 pm

Diam pakcik. You beli proton saga buat apa kalau u banyak shok toyota

• UMW Mampus on Apr 02, 2015 at 4:55 pm

We don’t blink, we stare at Korean cars. Oh please, for f’s sake this new Optima is light year ahead of your 16th century Camry with no ESP and priced above 150k.

2015 Camry booked: 45
      Cancellation: 45

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • No more Value on Apr 02, 2015 at 7:19 pm

I once like toyota car, but because of those safety feature provide to us and because of U, Same LOrrrr, I hate toyota now.

• Definitely some great design inside out, but how about the drive ?? Is the drive comfort any good as its looks ?

• atifjeelan on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:01 pm

Prefers this from the new toyota camary. Suit to the need for young family. The Camary still looks like uncle car from the inside

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
  • Niklaus Mikaelson on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:03 pm

A much better looking interior compared to the fugly & boring interior of Toyota Camry 2015.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
  • ABTguy (Member) on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:04 pm

Not bad, quite nice looking and hopefully the drive-train make up lost ground to the Jap. Oh, and the NVH too, please.

• the front looks so much like the camry especially the headlight…..the new camry has been around since like few months already eh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
    • Deus Ex on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:13 pm

I dunno, bub…the headlights look a lot like their old Forte’s that came out, let’s see, 6 or 7 years ago? Eh? Eh?

http://paultan.org/2009/12/12/kia-posts-big-growth-in-china-forte-selling-well/

• KIA Are Junk on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:14 pm

Typical rip off front design of new Camry, now Korean Car Fanboy had to eat their own words when the condemn Camry, as their beloved Shameless Junk K3 is copying Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 50
  • kenot on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:25 pm

front look better. but the back is just so-so design. dashboard design like BMW.

hopefully naza will bring turbo version to Malaysia.

• Nathan Ferdinand on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:28 pm

Nice and handsome, bt how about its driving feel?

If it’s better than before, this car will give Toyota Camry a run for its money.

• Chyan on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:21 pm

Hold your horses on the front design. We should be getting KDM (Korea Domestic Model) front fascia which is a lot more dynamic than this N.American face. So it’s all good to me. Just hoping the driving experience is a lot better than the current one.

• Kimchi is the new black on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:51 pm

If any Naza Kia rep is reading this, bring in the 1.6 Turbo and don’t make same mistake like SD Hyundai. New Sonata, old engine. Only Toyota can pull this through. People used to buy old tech in a new shell at a premium price. Nowadays consumers are smarter and make educated choices. RV more important than safety? RV don’t save lives. Better pray the airbag is not replaced with a plastic bag.

• for me, this is way better than the new camry.

• Jilbaber (Member) on Apr 02, 2015 at 4:12 pm

I know Sonata is its sister car…but why the dashboard has a same cue…I expecting something new..

• mystvearn on Apr 02, 2015 at 4:13 pm

Read the review on the new Camry. Saw this interior. Forget Camry. This one looks better. Also, knowing Naza, they will put all kinds of accessories with the car. I don’t mind this looking like Audi/BMW interior.

If the Cerato is anything to go by, this should be good.

• comparing Toyota & Honda also Honda got much more RV than Toyota.

• blaster88 on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:24 pm

The interior looks so much nicer and upmarket compared to the new Camry…..Carmy interior looks like it has not evolved from the 80s…plastic wood trims??? Duh???

Good job Kimchi!!!

• Jin Kazama on Apr 02, 2015 at 7:22 pm

This car looks good.
    Where are the fog lights though?

• Really enjoy my forte 2.0..n im gonna upgrade to this beauty.. for sure

• izputra on Apr 07, 2015 at 10:57 am

Me too..provided that they bring in at least the new 1.6 turbo engine

• shawal on Apr 02, 2015 at 8:35 pm

Interior wont look out of place in an audi…..
    good choice of materials…

You don’t see many optimas on the road…but when you see one you’d stop and stare….

• Raja Azhar on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:21 pm

The interior of this car uncannily resembles the ones inside an Audi A4 and the likes. Also, im not digging the sides of the car in some angles.. It makes the car look a bit bloated. I think Peter Schreyer should have lowered and tapered the space between the C pillars and the rear haunches. Theres just so much unnecessary space in that area.

• holofanboi on Apr 03, 2015 at 8:48 am

I’m certainly very happy at the interior but the exterior…why such a safe design? This truly feels more like a facelift rather than all-new ‘fourth-generation’ to be honest ._. …..

• halohalo on Jul 28, 2015 at 10:04 am

I’m wondering when it will come to Malaysia? Will it be year 2017?