DRIVEN: 2015 Toyota Camry 2.0G and 2.5 Hybrid previewed – return to D-segment competitiveness?

SONY DSC

There was a time not too long ago when the Toyota Camry ruled all and sundry, when its name stood for the very definition of the D-segment class. It was never the most riveting or dynamic of characters, but for many people, Sam Loo’s favourite sedan had everything they needed in a car – impressive comfort, a smooth engine and gearbox combination as well as bulletproof reliability.

Its domination of the class culminated in the previous-generation XV40, which was the best to look at (by far, might I add), had the nicest, most well thought out interior and rode the most comfortably. That, plus the decent levels of kit on offer, pretty much cemented the Camry’s place at the top of many company car shopping lists.

Since then, the Camry has pretty much stood still, despite the launch of the current XV50 (in some areas it has even regressed, not least in terms of looks). Meanwhile, the Honda Accord‘s equipment and comfort levels – areas it has struggled with – have been bumped up with the ninth-gen model, and the new Nissan Teana comes with a renewed focus on safety and improved driving dynamics. There has also been a swarm of fine left-field alternatives that have cropped up, from the Mazda 6 to the Volkswagen Passat.

The powers that be at Toyota seem to have understood this, as it fields a considerably revamped 2015 Toyota Camry (which was launched earlier today), with sportier looks, a range of new powertrains – including, finally, a hybrid variant – and a suite of improvements to the interior and under the skin. Is it enough to put the Camry back into contention again? We took it for a quick spin around Setia Alam to find out.

SONY DSC

The local range has been shaken up with the advent of the facelift – from now on, there will only be one conventionally-fuelled engine available, a 2.0 litre petrol mill that powers the 2.0E and 2.0G variants. Taking the regular 2.5V‘s place at the top of the range is a new 2.5 Hybrid, which – like the other Camry models – will be assembled locally, thus benefitting from import and excise duty exemptions for CKD hybrids.

The 6AR-FSE 2.0 litre four-pot is unrelated to the previous engine, incorporating VVT-iW on the intake side (regular VVT-i on the exhaust) that enables it to run on either a modified Atkinson cycle at low revs (for improved fuel consumption) or on a regular Otto cycle at higher revs (for better power delivery and response). A mid-position camshaft-lock mechanism retards the continuously variable valve timing.

Also fitted is D-4S that features both port and direct injection. At lower revs, the engine engages both systems to more evenly mix fuel and air, stabilising combustion. This results in better fuel economy, increased power and reduced emissions. Only direct injection is used at higher revs – it cools the combustion chamber, preventing pre-ignition (knocking) and enabling a higher compression ratio for improved performance.

With the facelift, the 2.0 litre Camry bids goodbye to the old four-speed Super-ECT automatic transmission, and instead embraces a new six-speed unit. The electronically-controlled gearbox features Flex Lock Up Control for improved fuel economy and AI Shift Control.

All this new tech brings both increased performance and reduced fuel consumption – the updated Camry 2.0 develops 167 PS at 6,500 rpm and 199 Nm at 4,600 rpm (up 17 PS and nine Nm from before), cuts the 0-100 km/h sprint down to 10.4 seconds (2.1 seconds quicker), has a 23 km/h higher top speed at 210 km/h and uses 12% less fuel at 7.2 litres per 100 km combined (down from 8.3 litres per 100 km previously).

The 2.5 Hybrid, on the other hand, will be familiar to those in the know – an Atkinson-cycle version of the current 2.5 litre engine, codenamed 2AR-FXE, features VVT-i on the intake side (rather than on both intake and exhaust valves as on the regular mill) and produces 160 PS at 5,700 rpm and 213 Nm at 4,500 rpm.

This is mated to a 105 PS/270 Nm electric motor and a nickel-metal hydride battery, delivering a total system output of 205 PS and a combined fuel consumption figure of just 5.2 litres per 100 km. As on other Toyota hybrids, the Camry Hybrid utilises an electronic continuously-variable transmission (eCVT) to manage power to the front wheels.

Mirroring what has gone on under the bonnet, the exterior has been given a considerable jolt to shake off the current car’s slightly dowdy look. Sharper headlights with LED daytime running lights add some much-needed definition – HIDs now come as standard with the 2.0 litre models, while the Hybrid variant gets full twin-projector LED units.

These are bridged by a slimmer upper grille, while a huge downturned catfish-like lower grille with integrated fog lights gives the face a determined scowl. The Hybrid’s indicators have been moved downwards, sitting on either side of the front bumper – on the 2.0 litre models, they’ve been replaced by blank black inserts.

Down the side, the full-length chrome trim on the outgoing model has been deleted, while the rear features sleeker tail lights (the Hybrid gets a clear top bit) connected by a slimmer chrome trim piece, as well as a redesigned bumper. The base 2.0 litre models now get dual tailpipes on either side; the top-spec Hybrid retains its single outlet, strangely enough.

Completing the look are new wheels – 16-inch multi-spoke units on the 2.0 litre, 17-inch 10-spoke two-tone rollers (from the Thai-market Extremo variant) on the Hybrid. Overall, while some may be turned off by the more extrovert look, you cannot argue with the newfound presence and dynamism now baked into the Camry’s physique.

Step inside, and you’ll find that while there is still a bit too much hard plastic used throughout the cabin, it has at least been refined in its presentation. Gone is the garish reddish-brown wood trim, replaced by far classier grey-brown veneer that brings to mind the one used in the now-discontinued 2.0G X. The new leather upholstery is also softer, smoother and much more inviting to sit than before.

SONY DSC

Also new is the new 4.7-inch full-colour TFT LCD multi-info display that sits between the rev counter and speedometer on the redesigned Optitron instrument cluster – together with the new blue dials and chrome highlights, it adds further class to the Camry’s interior. The switchgear for the standard dual-zone automatic climate control has also been reconfigured – buttons replace the previous temperature control knobs, and the old calculator-esque green-tinted LCD has finally given way to a much nicer blue display.

Kit count on the 2.0 litre models has been left relatively unmolested (manual fabric seats on the 2.0E, eight-way power-adjustable leather seats and cruise control on the 2.0G), save for keyless entry and push-button start now being standard across the range. You still get a basic radio and CD/MP3 player with USB and AUX inputs without Bluetooth (you’ll have to specify the optional seven-inch touchscreen DVD-AVN system with a reverse camera for the latter functionality), and automatic headlights and wipers are still nowhere to be found.

Next to this, the Hybrid variant looks positively decadent. There are auto headlights and wipers for the first time on a Camry, as well as an auto-dimming rear view mirror, a new seven-inch touchscreen navigation system with Bluetooth and reverse camera, a 10-speaker JBL Green Edge Tech sound system, a Panasonic Nanoe air ioniser and Qi wireless charging. Unlike Thai-market cars, however, we don’t get power-reclining rear seats or triple-zone climate control.

The paucity of kit relative to cars across the border stretches to the safety equipment as well. Yes, the Hybrid gets the full complement of seven airbags (including one for the driver’s knee) and a Blind Spot Monitor with Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA) – not to mention stability control, Hill Start Assist and Isofix child seat anchors – but misses out on pre-crash alert, lane departure warning and dynamic radar cruise control.

The 2.0 litre models still feature just two airbags, on par with the Accord, but behind the rest of its competitors – which, Hyundai Sonata (two airbags on the base model, six airbags on the rest) and Chevrolet Malibu (four airbags) aside, have at least six airbags as standard. Worse still, the base 2.0E doesn’t have electronic stability control – it’s now the only car in its class without the crucial safety net.

Under the skin, the 2015 Camry features a host of upgrades aimed to improve ride comfort, lower noise levels and sharpen driving dynamics. The big news is a new preload differential that utilises a plate spring to generate frictional force under low loads or low rotational speed differences.

This produces torque to limit the differential motion between the right and left driven wheels, effectively acting as a sort of low-cost limited slip diff, improving vehicle control and straight-line stability.

The dampers have also been retuned for a better ride quality, and the speed-sensitive electric power steering has been revamped for more accuracy and control. Toyota has also added insulation material in the front doors and underneath the carpeting to reduce NVH levels.

Clearly eager to showcase the improvements in ride, handling and NVH, UMW Toyota Motor not only provided the current and upgraded 2.0 litre Camry models for comparison, but also brought along base model Honda Accords and Nissan Teanas. We rate the two competitors rather highly in our books, so it was interesting to see how the refreshed old guard stacked up.

I slid into the back seat of the outgoing Camry first. I’ll be honest – in isolation, it really isn’t a bad car to be chauffeured in, but in this company, it just can’t quite keep up. The ride is slightly busy at a cruise, letting small surface imperfections intrude the cabin more than I’d prefer, while wind, tyre and and engine noise can get quite noticeable at speed, the latter exacerbated by the 2.0 litre model’s four-speed ‘box.

Both the Accord and the Teana are very comfortable indeed, but in different ways. The Honda rides softer, cushier; the Nissan tauter but more composed – the latter crashes into larger bumps a bit more, but the tradeoff is that it flows across undulating tarmac in a way that knows no equal. It’s also much quieter, both in terms of road and engine noise, although the music from the Accord’s i-VTEC mill does have its own appeal.

My stint in the rear of the 2015 Camry came last. Setting off, the reduction of tyre and engine roar is immediately apparent – it’s now a close match to the Teana, even though wind noise is still apparent. Earlier, we were told that UMWT had measured a seven decibel decrease over the old car, which is no mean feat at all, by any means.

Toyota-Camry-22

The adjustments to the dampers have also yielded a noticeably calmer ride over lumpy roads, dispensing with minor ruts almost as easily as the Nissan, although the latter still holds a better balance between bump-absorbing softness and a firm control of body movements. In short, while the Teana is still more comfortable to be driven in – just – you won’t feel shortchanged at all if you punt for the Camry instead.

At the next stop, I swapped the boss seat for the driver’s seat – and straightaway, the new Camry felt much more sprightly than before. Of all the cars here, it feels the fastest subjectively, surging away from toll gates considerably easier than the others. The buttery smooth six-speed auto makes far better use of the available power than the old four-speeder, and also enables the new Camry to settle to a cruise at a much lower rpm – the extra two ratios really make their presence felt here.

The dearth of corners on the 14 km test route meant that we couldn’t really put the claimed improvements to roadholding to the test, but from what little that was gathered, the new EPS is a definite improvement – the rack feels more direct than before and weighs up nicely when you hustle it through the bends. There’s also less roll, and the car resists understeer better. One note of caution, though – the brake pedal is overly light and immensely sensitive even to slight prods, making progress a bit difficult to those not used to its ways.

Next up, we switched to the more powerful Hybrid model for an acceleration test, pitting it back-to-back with a top-of-the-range Accord 2.4 VTi-L. Off the line, the Toyota pulls quite a fair bit faster than the Honda, piling on the speed at a rate that many people will consider rather brisk – as it should, given that it has a 30 PS advantage over the Honda.

SONY DSC

An NVH test came next – we had to drive both the Camry and the Accord over sand, gravel and wooden planks to see which was quieter over these challenging surfaces. With the eCVT, the Hybrid’s engine settles to a smooth, low hum over the comparatively louder and rougher Honda Earth Dreams mill, and we picked up less surface noise in the Toyota as well. Unrelated to the test, but the Camry was also more composed over the rough terrain than the Accord.

To sum up, the updated Camry is a much better all-rounder than before, with a fresher, more imposing design, a more modern and premium cabin, vastly better powertrains and improved comfort and dynamics. It’s now more of a match to its peers, something that could not be so easily said of its predecessor.

But it’s not all plain sailing for the top-dog Toyota – high-spec Hybrid aside, the continued stingy equipment levels in the lower grades is disappointing to say the least, given that prices haven’t dropped over the rather expensive old car (especially for the 2.0 models). The lack of stability control on the base 2.0E is particularly grating – we’re now in the year 2015, guys.

But does that really matter to the general public? The strength of the Toyota badge and the Camry nameplate – and the reputation of supreme reliability and resale value they bring – continues to hold up even in the face of stiff competition. And with this new iteration being better than ever before, there’s no doubt that we’ll be seeing far more of the 2015 Toyota Camry on our roads very soon.

Toyota Camry 2.0G with optional Aerokit package

Toyota Camry 2.5 Hybrid

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Simple, no hassle ownership.
    2.5HV full specs full features too attractive.

Ecoboss style.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 56
    • Suddenly those who bought the Accord 2.4 or Teana 2.5 are regret.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 119
      • Why feel regret!!!
        Another shame loo wannabe? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 18
        • Rm150k got No VSC on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:50 pm

I am so shocked. In Europe, VSC is compulsory on all cars. UMW, better you take out safety belts to save more money and untung more!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 5
          • Operation-Manager (Member) on Apr 02, 2015 at 10:58 pm

UMW management team, are you 3rd World Country Mentality???

pls be First Class Mentality, Safety First, safety features should across all models.

Speak on Dollars & Cents, Honda Accord still the KING. Thats why u see more Accord than Civic OTR.
            Accord at 130K (post-discount) c/w full Safety features plus DRLs.
            Its 30k cheaper compared Camry 160k.
            Why pay more for Camry?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 5
      • Same L0rrrr on Apr 02, 2015 at 1:59 pm

Those who talk east talk west talkok about Camry, mostly can’t even afford one (that’s why they own Sonata, K5, Preve or second hand BMW/Mercedes).

Those who can afford it and understand the values of comfort, reliable, luxury, spacious, good RV will just go one and buy the car.

2015 Camry booked: 45

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 135
        • This Guy on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:28 pm

Nah, We much prefer German engineering than some cheap Sushi or Kimchi. Nice try tho.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 22
          • Salambangi on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:31 pm

Dear Paul tan

Sorry to say it’s not a well written motoring article. Lacking in depth and passion. Should have asked a more mature writer to review the car.

Hoping to get a comprehensive review of the Camry but gained nothing instead. Hmmm…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 27
          • Wtf does your name mean anyway on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:45 pm

You do realize they only got to drive the car for 14 km, you piece of turd?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 22
          • BeemerFreak on Apr 03, 2015 at 9:23 pm

What you mean by not mature and not in depth, if this was written by a kid, it would be negative all the way, the fact that the Camry is below par to all its competitors is glaringly clear, and don’t forget most of its Japanese competitors current generation has yet to been facelifted. This was and can be said as the best comments someone could afford to a Camry. If you want something interesting to read on, go read some fairy tales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
          • Same L0rrrr on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:35 pm

German engineering? You saying the almighty VW DSG?

Or you are mentioning the BMW/Mercedes? They are not even on the same class as Toyota. Put the them to compare with Lexus, then you know your German Engineering is just so-so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 52
          • paulnut on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:40 pm

If sushi technology so good! Why ou bought proton fton Eon cheras in Oct 2014?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
          • Toyota is king of the Nurnburgring and the new Camry can even go faster than 120km/h. Forget the Germans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 35
          • Same L0rrrr on Apr 02, 2015 at 4:37 pm

You can BS I bought a Proton in whatever time you like. In fact, my bonus and commission enable me to buy a Proton junk EVERY MONTH!

I can give you the junk Free Of Charge if I have any.

Junk definition: Give out for free also no one interested.

There is a reason for RM8888 discount, isn’t it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 38
          • Same Lorrrr Lingerie on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:24 pm

Toyota is not interesting at all. Come and buy good lingerie and spice up your romance. I give good discounts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
          • Sam Proton on Apr 02, 2015 at 6:12 pm

Please give me your proton, I want it ? Can I collect from your Cheras flat Uncle Sam ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
          • Same L0rrrr on Apr 03, 2015 at 1:52 pm

Come knock my door and get it yourself. If I have any junk, I am happy to give out to you guys.

Pests always attracted by junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
        • paulnut on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:38 pm

You bought your son proton saga anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
          • Same L0rrrr on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:06 pm

If I have any junk at home, I can give you for free as your GST gift.

Junk: Give out free also no one bother.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 26
          • sam proton on Apr 03, 2015 at 8:15 am

Pakcik sam, give me your cheras flat location. I come get yr saga

• Same Lorrrr Lingerie on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:22 pm

Aiyoo yoo. Habis la Toyota now and their arrogant attitude of just giving 2 airbags and no VSC. This
            is the nail to Toyota’s coffin in Malaysia. Vios can increase also but no VSC…aiyooo

Nobody is touching Toyota now. Salesman all crying. It is known as the Moving Coffin. Bad luck to buy their cars. Before I talk about the rubbish Vios without VSC, lets talk about their Camry first.

Let us start with the Camry. The Camry, everybody boycott because at first when they introduced, it was the only Camry in the world without VSC. UMW thought it is better to reap more profits than the lives of Malaysians and took out the VSC. Then news went viral online and everybody started to boycott Camry. Sales dipped like mad. then UMW damage control. They recently put VSC back into Camry cars but people still remember what a useless company UMW is to give peanuts to Malaysians and sacrifice our lives. A 10 airbag CBU Camry 2.5 in the US is US$22,000 (RM60,000). Here, we pay RM180,000 for a Made in Malaysia car with 2 airbags and no VSC. (now got VSC on higher end models).

The Altis, nobody is touching also. This car in the US, after discounts and bargaining is US$12,000. (RM39,000) My brother just bought it a brand new 2014 Corolla. Comes with 9 airbags and so many more features our toilet CKD does not have.

UMW Malaysia will get this car in CKD form direct from Toyota Japan for about USD$8000. If Toyota USA can sell the CBU in USA for US$12,000 and still make money, UMW for sure will be getting this car far cheaper.

In Malaysia, we get the jamban made in Malaysia model with 2 airbags and no VSC. A Moving coffin. When a car does not have VSC, it is known as a moving coffin. Half the parts are Made in Malaysia. But the car is sold for RM139k. That is why you hardly can see an Altis on the road despite nearly 2 years launched.

Why do we have CKD when the CKD cost more than the CBU? To support crony part manufacturers? Rm39,000 vs RM139,000.

Anyway, Malaysians know that the Toyota Corolla is a big failure in Malaysia. Do you see it on the road at all? Drive the whole day and you hardly can bump into the 2014 Altis or a Vios despite being launched 1 year plus already (Vios). Everywhere you see Elantra or City.
            Somemore Honda give 5 years vs Toyota’s 3 years warranty.

Malaysians rather buy Hyundai Elantra. The car after discounts can get RM85k and comes with VSC. Also, the car is a much bigger C segment than the Altis. No wonder why we see Elantra everywhere.

Malaysians already know that UMW regard Malaysian lives as dirt and don’t care whether you die or not. This Toyota Vios should be named as Toyota Moving Coffin because a car of this price, with no VSC is a risk to you and your family.

Malaysians have now dignity. they know UMW are big cheats. Charge so much for the car, yet compromise on our lives and safety of the family.
            How UMW? Still no VSC? All over the world, Toyota comes with VSC as standard!

Our lives not important UMW?

The Vios is a Big big failure. No need to write a lot here. The City with VSC beats it flat. Tak payah cerita panjang. Even the apek jual ikan also know City is more highly specced than the Vios. So Vios is dead. Now increase price, lagi dead.

Sam loo(ori1) and Same Lorr also now hiding like chickens. They will come in here and say Toyota got good RV but in truth, nobody is going to buy UMW’s trash in Malaysia. Even now, their RV jatuh like hell. 11 months old Camry 2.5, you can buy RM120k, drop from RM180k. In 11 months, the car can drop RM60k. Now people say can even get the Camry 2.5 2014 model for even RM98k. Wah! drop RM80k in 11 months!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 15
          • Rm150k got No VSC on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:52 pm

Wah, no VSC? In US this car only US$22k with VSC and 10 airbag

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
          • Same L0rrrr on Apr 03, 2015 at 1:50 pm

Since you claim you “know” I have a Proton junk and I stay at Cheras… Come knock my door then.

If you don’t even know where I live, what I drive, then STOP BULLSHITTING.

Use your talent of lie for better purposes, e.g. Transformasi, Wawasan 2020, Proton Hybrid etc.

Again, I repeat, I will give out junk for free if I have any. Pests (cockroach, paulnut, steven si etc) love junk the most.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
        • Isaac_ on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:01 pm

Sorry,I bought new BMW 328i instead of Toyota Camry..Next month I’ll get my sexy beast !!!! So yeah..Toyota? No thanks~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
          • bm kaia on Apr 03, 2015 at 8:46 am

No. BMW328 ex stock,why need to wait till nxt mth to get yr car? Yr 9 yrs loan not approved?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
        • exowner on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:55 pm

Well I can afford it. In fact I owned one from 2010 to 2013. Comfort – yes; reliable -not-so (broke down 4 times in 3 years); luxury – not really; spacious – yes; RV – surprisingly NO. Regretted buying one…felt cheated bcs of its specs didn’t match the price. Wouldn’t consider camry again unless UMW comes with drastic improvement. A happy owner of Mondeo now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
          • exowner too on Apr 04, 2015 at 10:32 am

Hi Exowner, I agree with you 100%. I ditched my Camry too but I still not confident with conti cars. Accord 2.4 serving me well for the past 2 years. FYI my Camry lost 50% value in just 2 1/2 years. Damn!! You didn’t mention about yours. Was it that bad for you too??

• exowner 3 on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:43 pm

exowner too, I can understand your insecurity with continental cars. I was like you but have since overcame this phobia. I have owned all 3 famous jap brand cars and at early 50s I am now what you guys call ‘uncle’ but this uncle is not in love with a Camry. At my age, I just want to enjoy my car. I took my first move towards conti car and now I am enjoying every minute in my DS5. F@@@off with the RV thing.

• Ali Karim on Apr 05, 2015 at 4:59 pm

Thank God I didn’t wait. I booked the X-Trail when I saw this Camry.

• for uncle boleh lah.. with the so-so interior.. let’s see how many this one will be on road..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
    • I find this interior more appealing than Honda Accord.
      Mazda 6 dashboar is good but the comfort is too harsh. only good for handling, bad at riding quality. Ford mondeo is the worst.
      Nissan Teana is awesome but overall package is not appealing though..

Toyota CAMRY – perfect at not perfect.
      peace of mind one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 50
  • ProtonGSC on Apr 02, 2015 at 12:21 pm

By the eyes is does look better… but if compared to the lowest spec UMW Camry price are Ridiculous expensive with no VSC !!!

So UMW target the customers to purchase the top range or the G spec???

UMW are just too greedy and arrogant !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
    • ahmand on Apr 02, 2015 at 12:56 pm

we proton fag can only jealous..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • Buyers if don’t like, they can always go for car like Sonata or Optima k5 which provided with 6 airbag least.

No one force them to buy a two air bags car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
      • Gargantia on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:37 pm

Either way Teana or Accord Will be good choice too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
        • Same L0rrrr on Apr 02, 2015 at 4:13 pm

You don’t buy Toyota, you don’t have to get out of Malaysia.

We believe in free market and healthy competition. If protection for Proton is removed (e.g. execise duty, import tax), we are glad to offer our cars at much lower price.

We have solids ground to sell the most cars in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
          • Toyota Bergerak Ke Depan, Abah Kau! on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:17 pm

Let me ask you something Sam Loo, if the Toyota is too reliable, why most of the country in the world like Singapore, Middle East Countries, South Americans countries use Kimchi and Jjajangmyeon as taxis instead of Takoyaki and Teppanyaki?? That means the Japs namely Toyota is not so reliable lah…. The only toyota taxi in singapore i saw was the toyota crown that have age same as my grandparents…

• momoi on Apr 02, 2015 at 12:22 pm

why buy a BMW 3 series 1.6L kosong at RM200k..
    haha..o hahaha hahah..

a logo with 2 years warranty..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 13
    • UMW in Hiding on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:07 pm

Still much better and VW A4.

• Abu Sayur on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:46 pm

pity those who buy the 316i pity really

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
    • athlon on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:03 pm

dude, if you don’t know don’t simply comment to show your less educated side of brain… 316i almost 80% well equipped with 320i specs and features… check the factsheet before writing something misleading here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • giovannie on Apr 02, 2015 at 12:25 pm

Great Specs, Great Comfort, Great Class at it’s price.

8 years battery warranty.

It’s super value to buy a Camry rather than Cheap German C-segment like BMW 3 series or Benz A or C class where the interior is cramp. Benz A Class crusing comfort is too harsh to be compared to any japanese car.

If budget above RM200k, should aim for LEXUS.
    below RM200k, CAMRY is a top choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 77
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 02, 2015 at 12:27 pm

2.5 still can consider…otherwise forget it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
  • roxas on Apr 02, 2015 at 12:47 pm

meh, adakah aku kisah ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • I realized Sam Loo has became the Stig of paultan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Toyota Salesman Don't Jealous on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:52 pm

Toyota sales are so bad, Toyota never learns their lesson, still give us 2 airbags and no VSC for a RM150k car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
  • kontikinte on Apr 02, 2015 at 12:58 pm

higher spec than consider Good Value…
    but if budget so-so but still wanna drive camry later buy 2.0 model pity u lah –

• Sohai will buy this junk, no worth it, no RV, no fun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
  • Bee Dees Promoter on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:34 pm

So many Toyota salesman now coming to join their mentors, Same Lorrrr and Sam Loo (ori1) and sell ladies undergarments in Jusco stores.

I am amazed, Same Lorrr first day at work sold so many sloggi that AEON HR want to make him Sloggi Ambassador.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
  • Joe Hung on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:08 pm

Sing this in ABC Song.

AABCD GST
    Harga semakin tinggi
    Tak naik lagi gaji
    Mesti makan Maggi mi

Semua kena GST
    Bayar untuk 1MDB

ABCD GST
    Prices rise for you and me
    No increase in salary
    Have to eat my Maggi mee

Everywhere got GST
    Paying for 1MDBB

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
  • Albert on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:16 pm

CONGRATS,UMW….THE SHAMBOLIC CAR DISTRIBUTOR OF THE YEAR WITH SKY HIGH PRICING.
    lOOK AT hONDA AND NISSAN…THEY HAVE BEEN GENEROUS IN PRICE REDUCTIONS.
    UMW…THE CHIEF CAR DISTRIBUTOR WITH NO DAMN MORALS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • UMW Mampus on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:21 pm

At this 21st century there are still 100k plus vehicles without ESP. Dear Malaysians, are you really that happy to be treated like a shit by UMW? Your lives are more precious than UMW thinks!

Wake up!! Always put safety in your mind. Cut the RV crap. Investment should be put in a better, safer car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • sudonano (Member) on Apr 02, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Alright, so this is from a perspective of a German convert, and an ex Camry owner.

So when the XV40 came out, at that point, Toyota pretty much ended the competition. No other Japanese competitor, be it the mighty Accord (which in 7th generation was good, but the facelift made it bloated, and the 8th generation while dynamically sound and did have 2 side airbags on the 2.4 – something the Camry V didn’t), or the Mazda 6 and Nissan Cefiro (at that time, the Teana wasn’t here yet), could come close. Sure the VW Passat was there but it costed about the same as a base BMW 320i. At that time, in terms of looks the Camry was pretty much perfect. I remember the press shots they did for it, and the booklet that accompanies every booking, showing the attention to details for the car and all of that, it was a really fantastic car. (There is a part of it available here: http://paultan.org/2006/10/06/2007-toyota-camry-cbu-launched-in-malaysia/) So good, that in 2006 if you booked it, your waiting period was 6 months, and this waiting period never changed, not even 2 years after it was launched. For its time, it was superbly quiet, and surprisingly peppy too. One of the Toyota things about it was the power delivery. It had the characteristic pull at low revs that made it feel more responsive in the city and when pulling away on the highway. Not to mention that the transmission (5 speed auto on the 2.4) was pretty intelligent at the time of other dimwit autos.

In the 5 years that I had it, that car was the one thing that never let me down. Never once did I have to worry, and the only time I did have to call for a mechanic, was the day the battery went flat, despite all the warnings it gave me – I was being lazy, I mean wanted to “test out the maximum longevity of the battery”. In the 100k of driving with that thing in the city, the most that it needed was a new set of ball bearings for the steering, the original one was getting worn, and the absorbers too. Interestingly what I did have to replace throughout the ownership was the absorbers, somehow the XV40 did have an issue with the absorbers leaking prematurely, which upset the balance of the car when doing high speed sharp curves (80~90kmh at a 60 degree curve, because of rushing between meetings etc, and YOLO). Thank goodness it wasn’t too expensive to have them replaced.

At the time I did sell it, it was pretty much perfect still. What was interesting was that even at 100ks, the interior held up shockingly well, with regular wear in the leather, but nothing more than that. Nothing broke, nor was there any discolouration. And yes it was as quiet as the time I got it.

While at the end of my time with it, I came to the conclusion that it was not the best driving, nor the best handling car, but it was the best all rounder I ever owned. In fact, the funny thing that I got was that when I read this article, it pretty much summed up the XV40, all over again, especially in hybrid form. And it did highlight the improvement to the steering, also a bit of a weakness in the XV40 compared to the rest.

Would I buy one again, yes. But that would only apply to the Hybrid, though I personally would want to get the 2.0 but with the 2.5’s specs. I am still disappointed the 2.0E still is the same as per the one on the XV40, which was the same as the one on the XV30. That’s a bit pushing it. But for the Hybrid, the specs are genuinely impressive. Especially considering the price.

Hopefully that it will be the same as per the 2.5V petrol when the tax exemption runs out and Toyota has to dump the hybrid. At that point, I won’t mind at all.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
    • cendol (Member) on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:34 pm

what car you driving now?
      may I ask

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 02, 2015 at 6:09 pm

I got bitten by the propeller brand, however my next car may not be from them. While I love the car, technology, and the speed it does (amazing pull from their turbo engines, with a smooth yet sporty transmission), the aftersales, build quality and post purchase experience was significantly disappointing, not to mention how I could compare their service with Toyota and yet Toyota was miles ahead. That was one thing Toyota really did a fantastic job. At no point did I have to worry about claims for my absorbers going through, and they were fast with getting diagnostics done. Only thing was those days the oil changes were slow, it took them almost a day for a service, but the simple solution was to have it done outside after the warranty.

Cost of maintenance was not bad too, reasonable for the car price. Having said that, my Kimchi has sworn me from never touching a Kimchi, at least non Kia Kimchis (not saying the brand here but you know la). Their maintenance was the same as the cost of the Camry at a dealer. And this was on a car that cost less than 50% of the Camry….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • cendol (Member) on Apr 02, 2015 at 7:00 pm

You are talking in riddles, but I understand it.
          Thanks for enlightenment.
          I guess it is still better to stick with sushi judging from your statement.

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 03, 2015 at 12:04 am

I like to make life exciting cause YOLO, no?

It all depends on priorities…. The sushis are now decent to drive and have better kit, especially the Mazdas, and Hondas. The Toyotas are a mixed bag.

But if I wanted a decent RWD sedan, or a premium SUV, I’d still have a BMW or Merc over an Infiniti or Lexus, one of the things is while the Lexus materials are nicer, the space feels smaller compared to the Germans. Same with the SUVs, I’d take the Macan or Evoque over the NX, for one reason, the NX is smaller feeling than the Macan. Plus, I cannot get over the fact that there is so much part sharing, like cruise control on a Lexus is the same as the one on a Corolla… Come on Toyota…

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 02, 2015 at 6:13 pm

I got bitten by the propeller brand, however my next car may not be from them. While I love the car, technology, and the speed it does (amazing pull from their turbo engines, with a smooth yet sporty transmission), the aftersales, build quality and post purchase experience was significantly disappointing, not to mention how I could compare their service with Toyota and yet Toyota was miles ahead. That was one thing Toyota really did a fantastic job. At no point did I have to worry about claims for my absorbers going through, and they were fast with getting diagnostics done. Only thing was those days the oil changes were slow, it took them almost a day for a service, but the simple solution was to have it done outside after the warranty.

Cost of maintenance was not bad too, reasonable for the car price. Having said that, my Kimchi has sworn me from never touching a Kimchi, at least non Kia Kimchis (not saying the brand here but you know la). Their maintenance was the same as the cost of the Camry at a dealer. And this was on a car that cost less than 50% of the Camry…..

• Holofanboi on Apr 02, 2015 at 9:27 pm

The i40 was disappointing wasn’t it? D:

To be frank since ive been the one in charge of getting the cars maintained (mom bought elantra) i do get somesort of arrogance from their damansara service centre. Their prices for a simple issue will easily hit the hundreds which shocked me!

Then again its only my experience with one centre so i wouldnt know if its the same across the Hyundai experience.

Sad to hear about your BMW experience. My neighbour is having massive issues with his 2011 f30 to the point that he rarely drives his F10 out of fear of breaking something. Sigh…

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 03, 2015 at 12:10 am

Nah not the i40. Something smaller. i40 was a sad car though, reasonable engine, meh leather interior, poor dynamics.

Hyundai service is filled with arrogance, incompetence, and sheer con artistry. In my years of ownership with them, I walk in every 3 months consistently when something or other breaks, and by the time it gets fixed, it takes a month, or that something else comes up. I frequent the head office in Glenmarie, but I was told the same applies to the Old Klang Road one too. Useless to the core.

As for the propeller experience, my main issue is the aftersales. Mechanically sound car, but the aftersales is hopeless. I’d probably give the Merc a shot, if I can pry myself out of the BMW brand, and if I don’t like it, hey got a reason to go back no? :D

BMW’s quality issue, mainly for me is the selection of materials, specifically the seats. We don’t get lumbar support and the material is hard and rubbery. I find the MB leather better. Considering my miles, seats are important. Porsche’s Macan sport seats have tempted me over though. 18 ways, finished in pure leather, plus with a butt cooler option, it felt really good…. Probably time to consider changing ships…

• holofanboi on Apr 03, 2015 at 8:46 am

@sudonano

Check out dat multi-tier reply! Why doesn’t paultan have a freaking forum?

Out of curiosity how many miles/km do you do per month?

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 03, 2015 at 10:31 am

Cause why not?

As for forum, difficult la. Look at LYN Forum, without moderators being strict, lots of nonsense will happen. Too strict then people will say you are oppressive.

I’m averaging about 1000 km or so a month. Though some times, its like if I have lots of errands, it can go as high at 300km in 2 days.

Say, can we have like a regular commenter meetup, probably with the team itself? That would be pretty cool.

• Holofanboi on Apr 03, 2015 at 1:20 pm

True…there was that HUGE fiasco involving one of the top admin’s wife with a subforum ~2008?

A whole bunch of senior posters got banned for YEARS just to cover up her mistakes…ugh. Used to be a lurker there :D

As for the meetup its obvious that all you want is to violate Hafriz’s Fiat! :P (zomg dat curves)

• TurboMan on Jan 17, 2016 at 12:29 am

I couldn’t agree more with the build quality of BMW. Had an E90 for 5 years, while it drives great, with a great engine, the interior creaks/rattles all over the place. Thought mine was a Friday’s car, but apparently it is a very common complain amongst the cars manufactured by the propeller brand.

After 5 years, itching for a change. But don’t really want to go back to the propeller brand. BMWs generally handle well, but the other brands are narrowing that gap. Had a drive in my friend’s Mazda 3 ( the new one with Skyactive Tech ), and was surprised at how close the mazda was able to emulate the feel and handling of a BMW on winding roads, which made the compromises on build quality, ride quality, interior quality to obtain sublime handling moot. Contemplating a merc, either a W205 C200, or save some money and go with a grey import E250 Coupe. The price of the Lexus IS is a complete letdown. Aint gonna pay that kind of a price for a smallish sport sedan, although I quite like that car.

I am waiting for the Jag XE, but i’m not sure if its going to be priced competitvely in the small sports sedan category ( C, 3, IS, S60 ). If i need to cross that 300k mark, a full size sedan ( E, 5, GS ) would make more sense but i’m not in the market for these.

• Holofanboi on Apr 02, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Err guys… At 175k the hybrid camry truly is ‘cheap’ for its overall package you know?

I beg of thee please stop with the US pricing comparison our market is too small to sustain itself with that kind of price here.

• cendol (Member) on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:35 pm

why not?
      if excise duty can be reduced by half across the board, we will have cheap cars.

• 175k for the Camry Hybrid is not really big deal dude. What does really matter yet ridiculous is 150k for the base variant while the specs is like @$##%%
      -sorry for that

• shawal on Apr 02, 2015 at 8:48 pm

once the excise duty is up , UMW will definitely update the specs of the 2.0 models….
    they are trying to clear stock of the hybrids ASAP….

• Illlya Kuryakin on Apr 02, 2015 at 9:47 pm

What should be the price of the 2.5 Hybrid without tax exemption?

• Aero (Member) on Apr 02, 2015 at 9:54 pm

I love how deep (technical) this review is. It reminds me of the old autoworld.com.my reviews. These days, automotive journalists just don’t give enough credit to the technical aspects of new cars, and if they do, it’s not deep enough; it’s not their fault, it’s just that most car buyers these days can’t be bothered. Most people put too much emphasis on the badge / reputation when they should be keeping an open mind to judge new cars in a more objective and holistic manner.

My dua sen ? I think UMW Toyota is getting serious about their failing sales and are clearly stirred by their loss of the ‘No.1 non-national’ crown they held for the last… 2 decades ? The Camry facelift is still not perfect, but I strongly agree that it’s a much better product overall in comparison to the current competitors. I honestly think that (ugly looks and dated interior aside), the Camry 2.5 Hybrid is brilliant, BRILLIANT value for money. At that price, it’s a complete steal ! I’m also happy UMW Toyota finally listened and greatly improved their safety standards on their top-spec Camry. What’s even more amazing is that 7 airbags and all those electronic stuff come standard ! This is very different from the Corolla Altis, where you must pay for the Optional Safety Pack. This is a good start from UMWT, they have my dua tangan thumbs up. But (yes, there’s always a but), I’m very VERY disappointed that the base-model Camry 2.0E STILL doesn’t have ESC/VSC… oh man… just why ? And the 2.0G only has 2 airbags ? Why not 4 ? Really now…

Anyway, I think UMWT still did an above average job with packaging the Malaysian-market Camry facelift. It just could and should have been a BIT better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Don't buy Umw Toyota on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:59 pm

Please uncle…dont buy Umw Toyota.. its dangerous..no safety…no Stability control……Always put safety in your mind.. Investment should be put in a better, safer car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • bukapintubayartol on Apr 03, 2015 at 4:05 am

I hope the Camry’s non-hybrid engine makes and appearance in the Corolla. Wishful thinking?

• sam loo step sister on Apr 03, 2015 at 4:59 am

Buy this camry 150k car but when accident death chances equal to driving a sub 100k kimchi.whats the point of buying when you know there is a lot more safer cars on the market. Profit from omitting VSC and airbags is more important than drivers life.

• Ray (Member) on Apr 03, 2015 at 7:22 am

To be fair, the 2.5 model is quite good value for money, considering the fact that it really comes with a lot of kit at below 180k. Put yourself in the shoes of a middle-aged average family guy looking for a D-segment sedan in the market; The Accord, yeah it does look classy in an understated way inside out but NVH levels are poor for a D-segment; The Teana, well it looks fine but the dashboard doesn’t feel upmarket enough and I’m not too keen on the looks (maybe it’s just me); The Mazda 6, it looks superb but it’s too small for my teens at the back and the ride quality isn’t that great considering that the suspension is tuned harder; The i40, nah I’m still not confident yet about Korean makes; The Passat, oozes German quality but there’s the VW issue; The Mondeo, heck it’s too expensive.

So yes, for the average family guy, this Camry 2.5 makes perfect sense and being so well specced this time, it’s hard to say that getting a Camry is a wrong choice. You might disagree with me, as everyone might have a different car that suits their own preferences. As for me, I’d still stick to the Mazda 6 as there’s still a very long way for me to go before I reach 40.

UMW might have done it right this time. (of course not the 2.0E. I think we’ve all established the fact that it’s the crappiest car one can buy for that amount of money)

• Normal guy on Nov 13, 2015 at 7:19 pm

Yes, the hybrid is the most all rounder among all the other brand u mention. However coming from a person shifting from Korean brand to Toyota. My experience with Korean cbu car is quite pleasent, the built quality is good, 4 years no break down whatsoever. But their aftersale service is far from a decent experience. Changing to Toyota hybrid becuz its quite a good value package comparing among all.

• Stingy UMW on Apr 03, 2015 at 10:21 am

Just done a comparison of Accord 2.0 VTi-L vs Camry 2.0E (same price point)

This what Camry does not equipped
    1. Leather seat
    2. Reverse camera
    3. Bluetooth
    4. Navigation
    5. 3 years/100k km warranty of Camry vs 5 years unlimited
    6. Rear windows sunshade
    7. VSC
    8. 8″ touchscreen infortainment
    9. Auto headlamps
    10. Cruise control

The jury is out.

I like Toyota, but UMW really treating Malaysian customers like a fool

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Car Blogger on Apr 03, 2015 at 11:03 am

Let’s look at the prospective buyer profile for the different models:
    1. 2.0E: Uncle and Aunty who doesn’t know anything about cars but will buy their favourite badge Toh-yoh-tah! UMWT loves taking advantage of people like you.
    2. 2.0G: Educated people who know that VSC can save their lives in an emegency manoeuevre and willing to pay RM10k more to get the VSC. UMWT is glad to accept your 10k more anytime.
    3. 2.5 Hybrid: Car enthusiast that want all the bells and whistles and don’t mind paying more. UMWT is most pleased with you as they intend to sell the most volumes from this model anyway.

Love them or hate them, you got to admire those UMWT pricing strategist if only to push up the second hand, resale of the car each time a new Camry model is launched

• anyone knows the 2.5 hybrid 0-100 km/h ?

• 7.5s

Easily dabao any vorsprung durch Technik.

• Drivetrain on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:41 am

Even 316i and 320i will not get away off the line at traffic light. Uncle car finally had his chance.

• Anyone knows the 2.5 hybrid 0-100 km/h???

• Coolken on Apr 03, 2015 at 11:28 pm

0-100Km/H in less than 8 secs

• sammy on Apr 05, 2015 at 10:39 pm

Why there is no combine torque figure listed for the hybrid? Anyone knows the figure?

• Donald on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:35 am

Seriously…I used to owned the ex model for camry 2.4 and it really bring me no problem. From the above the new model 2.5 hybrid really giving a good improvement compared to the last or Honda Accord. But I was disappointed with UMW about the VSC and only 2 Airbags for 2.0 model… the Camry 2.5 camry’s engine is the same engine used on IS250 Hybrid, so I believe it can bring you the fun of drive and difference of experience. I support the new camry 2.5 hybrid but not the 2.0….at last our car selling at high price…part of the reason is because of the import duty and tax… nothing much we can do…only can fxxk it over here but can’t to anything to change the price.

• Disappointed Camry owner on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:06 am

I used to own Camry in Middle East, Japanese CBU-perfect, never had a single issue. Compared to locally assembled unit which I owned since 5 months ago in Malaysia, it is crapped. Rattling sound every where, noise insulation is bad. I spent my time in the worshop every 2 weeks to fix these things, yet not fixed. It’s some more GX spec. I rather buy recon unit with original Japanese spec. The Asian spec, with local workmanship is like buying a proton

• WY Choo on Jul 15, 2015 at 11:38 am

After one month, my new camry 2.5 hybrid starting to have “intermittent” rattling plastic noise in the front of the dashboard. Spoiling the quietness of the car.

• Samuel on Apr 06, 2015 at 11:35 pm

The hybrid motor is likely using an old release from XV40 hybrid back in Thailand about 5 years ago.
    Most new hybrid models also uses lithium ion battery instead of nickel metal hydride which the latter weight 30-40kg heavier.
    Basically, old hybrid technology being introduced. Nothing more.

• Test drive it yesterday, nice to drive quiet, comfortable n powerful. Design aside, i think its worth to buy. Initially didnt wanted to buy but after test drive decided to place a booking. 1 month waiting time.

• Goldie on Apr 16, 2015 at 2:03 pm

Wonder if Camry Hybrid can safely negotiate 30cm deep flood. Am worried about the battery and electric motor if they are susceptible to damage by water. Any current user of Toyota Hybrid vehicle can shed some light?

• Rie_ToyotaFamily on Nov 11, 2016 at 7:01 pm

1. Currently proud owner of 2# Camry(s): A 2.4V (age 7) and 2.0E (age 5).
    2. 3rd Camry coming in 2 weeks: A 2.5 Hybrid.
    3. Our son and daughter own Altis 2.0 and Vios G
    4. 5 Toyota models at home.
    5. Toyota: Trusted, Proven. Period!

Sekian, terima kasih.