GST: Volvo updates prices, reduction for some models

Volvo_XC60_T5_ 001

Volvo Car Malaysia has announced on-the-road prices with GST for its eight-model Volvo lineup in the country – the pricing for five models remain unchanged, while three variants are now cheaper following the introduction of the Goods and Services Tax on April 1.

Volvo GST Sheet1 copy

The XC90 T5 Executive, XC60 T6, facelifted S60 T4 and T5 as well as V40 Cross Country T5 continue as they were in terms of pricing pre-GST, while the V40 T4 is now cheaper by RM1,000. The price for the V40 T5 has also been reduced, by RM2,000, and the XC60 T5 gets the biggest price reduction – the variant is now cheaper by RM3,000 at RM288,888.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• JB_KIA on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:12 pm

yeah, this reduction makes sense. Not that RM2 reduction…

• longjaafar on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:20 pm

The S60T5 is RM268k. A BMW 3201 is RM258k. A Merc CLA is RM235k.
    Did the Volvo Malaysia people think about this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • MrPoppyplants on Apr 02, 2015 at 4:05 pm

Congrats! You have successfully compiled prices of 3 cars from totally different segments! Bravo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Cantona on Apr 02, 2015 at 4:41 pm

Facepalm!!

Volvo S40 competes with 3 series and C class bro while the S60 competes with 5 series and E class.
      Comparing the price S60 is a damn good bargain so actually its better to get a bigger car like S60 than 320i and CLA man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Jokesss on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:25 pm

Funny guy also manage to compared the highest spec s60 with an almost entry level 3 series. I salute your intelligence

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:43 pm

You’re not comparing the right variants.

The S60 T5 is more aptly compared to the BMW 328i which costs rm294k, and even then, the safety kit in the Bimmer isn’t as good.

The CLA is totally off the mark since it’s more of a sedan/coupe variant of the A-class. The S60 is more appropriately compared to the MB C-class. The C200 variant costs rm286k since it is a CBU. And once again, the S60 T5 packs more safety-related kit than the Merc.

Compared like this, the S60 T5 sounds like a good deal. The aging Ford sourced engine and transmission are its only real let downs.

For those who think the S60 is actually matched with the 5-series, enter the S80, whose dimensions are more similar to the 5-series and E-class. Note, however, that the S60 has a shorter wheelbase than the 3-series. How the interior compares, I have no idea.

Source: Comparison in carbase.my between the Volvo S60 T5, BMW 328i Luxury, Mercedes-Benz C 200 Avantgarde, BMW 520i, Volvo S80 T5 Exclusive.

• tokmoh. on Apr 02, 2015 at 7:37 pm

How about we compare after sales service too?

Volvo gives 5 years free service + 5 years warranty + 5 years Volvo-on-call.

Mercedes gives 4 years warranty. Not bad, not good enough.

BMW 2 years warranty HAHAHAHHAHAHA win liao lor

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 02, 2015 at 10:44 pm

Oh, I was about to mention that but totally forgot at the end! Thanks for bringing that up.

• tokmoh. on Apr 02, 2015 at 7:44 pm

On another note, yes, Ford powertrain needs to go.

Can’t understand how hard it is to plonk in Drive-E from XC60 to S60. I’m very disappointed S60 facelift was launched with old powertrain. It’s pointless.

Volvo fans want the Drive-E powertrain, so they’ll wait for it.

While non-Volvo fans would rather have gearbox that breaks down, endless headache taking care of their showoffmobile.

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 02, 2015 at 10:47 pm

Yeah, I am also quite perplexed as to why the S60 facelift didn’t come with the Drive-E powertrain while the XC60 facelift did.

It’s not like Volvo customers can’t afFORD it.

Sorry.

• tokmoh. on Apr 03, 2015 at 12:00 pm

Sometimes Federal Auto really facepalm. Like the V40 Passion Red color is wrapped, or S60 Rebel Blue wrapped. Wrapped quality =/= painted, sigh.

But the R-design Ixion wheels is so hnnnnngggh.

afFORD, haha nice pun!

• a good volvo is a cheaper second hand volvo. always been. always will be.

• i think the price is reasonable…people buy Volvo not becoz of price, but they are the one that prioritize the safety and how comfort the car is..

• longjaafar on Apr 02, 2015 at 10:50 pm

The S60 to be compared to 5 series….Good luck!

• liauboonheng on Apr 03, 2015 at 8:15 pm

Good car always appreciated.What about new price all new 2015 xc90

• tokmoh. on Apr 04, 2015 at 9:49 am

It’s coming later this year. A Volvo SA said the first batch of CBU XC90 T8 is already fully booked, it’s gonna be a hot seller!

Though admittedly, it most definitely will increase in price as this new gen seems much more luxurious.

Still, I reckon it will still be more affordable than its rivals Audi Q7, BMW X5, Merc GL. Best of all, with Drive-E powertrain, relatively cheaper road tax and better fuel consumption.