2015 Toyota Camry launched in Malaysia – new 6-spd 2.0E RM150k, 2.0G RM160k, 2.5 Hybrid RM175k

toyota-camry-2015-launched-malaysia-new-lead 971

And the moment has finally come – the 2015 Toyota Camry has officially taken the Malaysian stage in 2.0E, 2.0G and 2.5 Hybrid variants, all locally-assembled (CKD). The considerably-updated XV50 comes back fighting with refreshed looks, an advanced new engine, added kit and a Hybrid variant for the first time, which replaces the previous 2.5 petrol.

Toyota calls this design philosophy ‘Keen Look Identity’ and ‘Under Priority’. The slim front grille topped off by a chrome slab, plus the huge trapezoidal lower intake and bordering chrome strip that wraps around the fog lamps, makes for a pretty aggressive-looking new face.

The grille inserts are diamond-effect on the Hybrid and slatted on the petrol variants, and the Hybrid sports blue Toyota logos – a Toyota hybrid hallmark. Round the back, you’ll find LED combination lamps bridged by a chrome strip, plus a reshaped rear bumper.

Let’s look at the powertrains. The 2.0E and 2.0G get a new 6AR-FSE 2.0 litre four-cylinder petrol engine with VVT-iW and D-4S direct and port injection. Making 167 PS at 6,500 rpm and 199 Nm at 4,600 rpm (17 PS and 9 Nm more than before), the motor ditches the old four-speed auto for a six-speed Super ECT unit.

The new engine is capable of switching between Otto (for power) and Atkinson (for efficiency) cycles, helping it achieve a combined ECE-rated fuel consumption of 7.2 litres per 100 km, down from 8.3 litres per 100 km previously. VVT-iW is on the intake side while regular VVT-i is on the exhaust side.

Then we have the 2.5 Hybrid, the first Toyota hybrid to be assembled in Malaysia. This brings together a 2AR-FXE 2.5 litre VVT-i four-cylinder petrol engine (160 PS at 5,700 rpm and 213 Nm at 4,500 rpm), a 143 PS/270 Nm electric motor, an eCVT gearbox and a nickel-metal hydride battery. Total system output is 205 PS, while combined fuel consumption is rated at 5.2 litres per 100 km.

Peeking through the leather-wrapped four-spoke steering wheel (wood-grain top half on Hybrid) is a re-designed, blue-backlit Optitron instrument panel with a colour multi-info display. The auto dual-zone climate controls have been updated as well, with switches and buttons replacing the previous dual-knob layout.

The gear lever base is now finished in dark grey, while the dashboard, centre console, gear knob, door cards and rear armrest are treated to Crotchwood trim (darker Zebrawood grain on Hybrid). Like all Toyota hybrids, the Hybrid variant has a blue engine start button.

No matter what variant you choose, you get auto dual-zone climate control with rear air vents, keyless entry and start, rear-seat Isofix and body-coloured front and rear parking sensors. The 2.0E kicks things off with manually-adjustable fabric seats (driver six-way, front passenger four-way), a basic radio with CD/MP3, USB and iPod functionality and six speakers.

Interiors of Camry 2.0G (left) and 2.5 Hybrid

The 2.0E is also the only variant without VSC, traction control, hill start assist and emergency stop signal, and makes do with two airbags, just like the pre-facelift 2.0E. Security and solar film is an optional extra on this variant.

Moving up to the 2.0G adds eight-way power-adjustable leather seats (with lumbar for driver, shoulder switch for front passenger), cruise control, chrome trim for the inside door handles and scuff plates, plus security and solar film as standard.

Otherwise, the 2.0G shares the same 215/60 R16 alloys, self-levelling HID projector headlamps with DRLs, twin tailpipes, trunk-through feature (boot access from rear armrest) and sound system with the 2.0E. However, the 2.0G gets VSC, traction control, hill start assist and emergency stop signal, although the airbag count is still two.

Replacing the 2.5V at the top of the previous range is the 2.5 Hybrid, which is laden with kit including automatic twin-projector LED headlamps, auto wipers, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, a new seven-inch touch-screen with navigation, Bluetooth (adds phone controls on steering wheel), Mirror Link and reverse camera, a 10-speaker JBL Green Edge Tech sound system, footwell and inside door handle illumination, a Panasonic Nanoe air ioniser and Qi wireless charging.

Other goodies exclusive to the range-topping Hybrid are Eco and EV modes, striking two-tone 215/55 R17 alloys, a collapsible front passenger headrest, a powered rear sun blind and pull-up rear side window blinds. However, there’s only one tailpipe here, and no trunk-through feature, due to the battery pack. Boot space is down too, to 421 litres compared to the petrol-only variants’ 515 litres.

The Hybrid gets seven airbags (including driver’s knee bag) and a Blind Spot Monitor with Rear Cross Traffic Alert, in addition to all the aforementioned safety equipment. This is a big improvement from the previous range-topping 2.5V, which had four airbags as standard.

Optional accessories include security and solar film (RM1,993, for 2.0E only, as the rest have it as standard), an Aerokit package that includes a boot spoiler (RM2,756, for 2.0E and 2.0G only), and a seven-inch DVD-AVN touch-screen (RM3,122, for 2.0E and 2.0G only). Prices here are inclusive of GST.

Available colours are Grey Metallic (new), Attitude Black, Silver Metallic, Medium Silver Metallic and White Pearl CS (additional RM848, GST inclusive). Locally-assembled (CKD) in Shah Alam, the 2015 Toyota Camry is priced at RM149,900 for the 2.0E, RM159,900 for the 2.0G and RM174,900 for the 2.5 Hybrid, OTR including insurance and GST.

In comparison, the pre-facelift XV50 was priced between RM150k and RM180k. Plus, the 2.5 Hybrid gets a lot more kit for less money than the previous 2.5V. A three-year/100,000 km standard warranty is included; on top of that, the Hybrid gets an eight-year assurance programme on the hybrid battery. See CarBase.my for full specifications and equipment of all variants.

The 2015 Toyota Camry will be in showrooms from tomorrow, and according to UMW Toyota president Datuk Ismet Suki, around 300 units have been booked to date. We’ve taken the Camry 2.0G and 2.5 Hybrid for a quick spin – read our drive report here.

2015 Toyota Camry brochure and official photos

2015 Toyota Camry Malaysian launch event

2015 Toyota Camry 2.0G with optional Aerokit package

2015 Toyota Camry 2.5 Hybrid

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Tyler Durden on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:05 am

Dull, uninspiring and utterly expensive.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 29
    • ProtonGSC on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:21 am

Worst are no VSC 150k with VSC 160k. VSC that can cost 10k?

Greedy and arrogant UMW management, existing customers should complaints or simple boycott UMW cars…

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 171 Thumb down 164
      • Sam Lorrrr on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:27 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 142
        • Same L0rrrr on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:04 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 118
          • Bra and Panties Promoter on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:23 pm

Now, Same Lorrrr and Sam Loo (ori1) have no choice but to join Parkson or Jusco and promote ladies undergarments. Nobody is going to touch Toyota with no VSC and only 2 airbags and at RM150k

So, Same Lorrrr and Sam Loo (ori1) can now only give discounts on Sorella, Bee Dees, Wacoal, Skiva, Triumph products.

Let us all ask our wives to support them by buying from them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 14
          • VSC VSC Where are you? on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:56 pm

Waste of money for the Hybrid. Just like any Hybrid, wait a year and buy the car for RM100k. If Camry 2.5 2014 model now selling for RM100k, you can imagine, Hybrid will drop even more, maybe RM95k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
          • Danny on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:57 pm

fap fap fap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
          • Same Lorrrr Lingerie on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:17 pm

To all those in this forum, I can give you special pricing for ladies undergarments. Come to Aeon in Mid Valley. I am now with Triumph.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • Same Lorrrr Lingerie on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:34 pm

Mazda CX5 now drop RM7k to Rm126k. UMW better close shop la

Such a high spec car vs Camry toilet jamban

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
          • Same L0rrrr on Apr 03, 2015 at 12:41 pm

People here (even the AEON promoter) can BS whatever they like. Sales figure will tell.

Don’t forget Toyota is best selling foreign cars in Malaysia 2014.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
          • Philp on Apr 05, 2015 at 5:40 pm

What the hell are you talking about Sam lorrr? (You want VSC and Airbags so badly? go get an IRIZ.) You have to pay for these words boy! I tell you honestly, IF We customers dont support TOYOTA, You as a salesman will definitely drink urine! We buy toyota because we giving chance and hope to toyota to moving forward! And You came out with bloody hell words!WTH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • VSC VSC Where are you? on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:21 pm

Malaysians always cheated by UMW. The Camry in the US is only US$22,000 and its CBU with 10 airbags and loads of other safety features that our stripped down Camry will not have.

At this price, Toyota of the USA already paid US Federal Government excise duties and taxes and at this price also, they are still making a good healthy margin.

UMW Malaysia will get this car at country distributor price of maybe US$18,000 direct from its principal in Japan.

Being in CKD format, it should be even cheaper. Maybe the cost now goes down to US$15,000 per car.

Then they strip down all the airbags and Tyre pressure monitoring system, VSC and everyting else, the cost of the car should be US$12,000 or less. Take out VSC, lagi murah!

The Hybrid even better. In US it is US$25,000. UMW will get this car for maybe US$18k direct from Toyota Japan being the official Malaysian country distributor. CKD it, it becomes even cheapet. Maybe US$15k. Come no Malaysia TAX FREE. So, cost about RM50k but sell RM175k

This is how stupid Malaysians are. Being cheated by a Government owned GLC. Here, Government cannot protect the public from a cheating car company because, government themselves own Toyota and UMW. How to protect the rakyat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 8
          • papejelah on Apr 05, 2015 at 3:38 am

you monkey go fighting i just want that amoi at the show car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • DonkeyKong on Apr 02, 2015 at 12:06 pm

Not to mention only 2 airbags for RM150k & RM160k variants.. Looks like Toyota is the only D-segment car in Malaysia with such lousy safety features.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 8
        • Bra and Panties Promoter on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:36 pm

People rather buy Mazda CX5. So highly spec and only RM135k

Same Lorrr pity him, now have to sell ladies undergarments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
          • Same Lorrrr Lingerie on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:19 pm

Everybody in PT, come to Mid Valley aeon, I give you special discount on thongs and sports bra

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
        • Same Lorrrr Lingerie on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:21 pm

Last generation no VSC and 2 airbag. This generation no vsc and still 2 airbag. Now Honda Accord is RM130 OTR after discounts.

How are we ex-Toyota salesman going to survive if we stayed on with Toyota?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
      • agree. pity first batch camry buyer.

• kenny on Apr 02, 2015 at 12:07 pm

OMG…the interior is so ugly. is the designer of Toyota sleeping?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
    • holofanboi on Apr 02, 2015 at 12:32 pm

Gotta disagree with you on multiple points there. While the base models should be thrown straight into the trash bin never to be seen again, the Hybrid 2.5’s kit count with its price feels like a bargain to me. Infact, I’d consider it to be superior to the Mazda 6 2.5 overall.

And this is coming from a K5 owner @_@;! I actually really like the hybrid.

The only ‘extra cost’ would probably be to change those rims upon day 1 of purchase…It feels too ‘track-wannabe’ to my eyes ._.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
      • The drivetrain of the 2.5 hybrid is very good.

• AEON HR on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:34 pm

So many Toyota salesman now coming to join their mentors, Same Lorrrr and Sam Loo (ori1) and sell ladies undergarments in Jusco stores.

I am amazed, Same Lorrr first day at work sold so many sloggi that AEON HR want to make him Sloggi Ambassador.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
      • The Truth About UMW Toyota on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:37 pm

How can the Hybrid be a bargain? In the US, Hybrid Camry is only US25k. Come here got no tax.

How they sell for RM175k?

• Truth Your Head on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:00 pm

You live in cave arr? Hybrid got tax long ago

• I love this car on Apr 03, 2015 at 3:25 pm

I will buy Toyota Hybrid 2.5 Camry, sorry to those anti Toyota/Lexus car buyer . I drove many brand of car before but so far only Toyota/Lexus give me peace of mind and comfy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
        • Same Lorrrr Lingerie on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:23 pm

I now sell ladies undergarments. Forget Toyota, come buy from me. I give good discounts on sports bra and G String

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Jimmy on Apr 02, 2015 at 1:47 pm

Well, thumb up for the 2.5 Hybrid. UMW starts to show initiative to improve. Welcome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
      • Same Lorrrr Lingerie on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:31 pm

Very stupid people will buy the Hybrid. Go see on mudah, people so scared to touch 2nd hand Hybrid cars. The RV sure to plummet. Wait 1 year, you can buy this for RM95k.

Same like Civic Hybrid, nobody dare buy it in the 2nd hand market. Toyota worse 3 years warranty than Honda’s 5 years, lagi cannot re sell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Rm150k got No VSC on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:46 pm

what?? RM150k car also got no VSC???

• pertamax on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:07 am

Pertamax!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
  • Dr.terror on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:07 am

Sam Loo must be very busy, am i right?

• If wanna take 2.0 varient better get accord.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 6
    • Toyota Salesman Don't Jealous on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:51 pm

Now new price and after GST discount, you can get the Accord for RM130k OTR. RM20k cheaper than this toilet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • toyotamyfoot on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:24 pm

You are actually degrading toilets by associating them with toyota camry.

• VHL Lorr on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:21 pm

There’s a word, ‘brand new toilet always smell good just for few days’, after that, either it remain good or very stinky smell. This new Camry, especially 2.0E as well as their ‘jamban junk’ cars, not even closely associated with toilet, right after take delivery, ‘hailat’ feelings kicks in every moment it was driven on the road.

• kenot on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:13 am

At RM150K, but still 2 airbags hah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
    • Low Budget on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:18 am

At RM 150K, it is good enough to send Sime Darby Hyundai Sonata into permanent hibernating mode.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 37
      • kenny on Apr 02, 2015 at 12:11 pm

2 air bags at RM150k is good enough to send you into cof..n when accident happened.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
        • rogers on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:16 pm

But still better than coffin + cremation offered by Proton… even without accident

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
          • kenny on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:06 pm

Use your brain before talking. U r comparing a car of 150k and 70k. In fact, proton car maybe low in quality but they have 6 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
          • Same Lorrrr Lingerie on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:41 pm

For years, Malaysians kena tipu UMW. Now even the old uncle ask UMW salesman got VSC or not.

Old uncle also now ask VSC wei

• Same Lorrrr Lingerie on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:37 pm

I think UMW will be hybenating. Now even makan shops are empty. U think people going to buy a trash car with no vsc and 2 airbags for RM150?

Mazda CX5 now got 7k discount selling for RM126k. Got VSC and many many more safety features.

UMW is dead la

• ah chai on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:15 am

To me It’s either u go for the hybrid or u don’t buy it. As I find the 2.0 E/G r way too expensive comparing to their rivals (the likes of Teana/Accord)

175k is not cheap But do we Malaysian drivers have a better choice @that price range? Please advise. I’m planning for a D-segment sub 180k by end of the year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
    • cendol (Member) on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:42 am

Better get 316i and top up a bit.

Better prestige than any D-segment.

But you must take out the 316 emblem at the back

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 23
      • momoi on Apr 02, 2015 at 12:00 pm

not a BMW 316i not good.

but it’s blank BMW.. many rattling noise and no features.

Buy fetching others also no face.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • Joe Hung on Apr 02, 2015 at 12:05 pm

you must be on of those myvi-Toyota passo owner
        or vios-lexus owner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Same Lorrrr Lingerie on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Ha ha. Many ladies also buy Skiva bra but put Wacoal label on it to show they can afford mahal

• This Guy on Apr 02, 2015 at 6:14 pm

Typical Orc mentality, buy a cheap BMW and put ‘M’ emblem at the back so people will think you bought the ‘M’ series..all syok sendiri

• 180k top up 30k BMW 523 Msport 2010 unreg. Get the normal one 180k 520 can get.

• ah chai on Apr 02, 2015 at 1:44 pm

Sir King,
        Thanks for ur suggestion. Tapi tak dapat top up lah. 180k tu is the Max my gaji can support. And my colleagues a few of them have issues with record cars… That’s why takut considering This car have to Drive for at least 5 years before can change again.

• Andrew Lee on Apr 03, 2015 at 10:20 am

I had viewed the Hybrid 2.5 and 2.0G/E

Honestly I would say 2.5 Hybrid is a good buy (8 years warranty for Battery). I am driving Prius now for 4 years and mileage clock at 170k km+ . It helps me save about RM10k petrol monies, but of course I lost on the higher depreciation, tats the pros and cons.

Forget about 2.0G/E which is not worth at that prices

The down side of the Hybrid Camry is the interior, which same with older version.

• Cheung on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:15 am

:D

• UMW Mampus on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:16 am

100k plus without ESP, gotta be kidding. Might as well as get other alternatives like Teana or Accord. Malaysians, please wake up and be more conscious about car safety features.

And before the RV king come out with his RV bull shit, this message is specially dedicated to him. F OFF!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 6
    • VSC VSC Where are you? on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:58 pm

Camry 2014 2.5 now selling below RM100k. A drop of RM80k.
      As we know, Hybrids drop in price even steeper. You will see the Hybrid Camry next year selling for RM95k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • sudonano (Member) on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:19 am

The bottom line is, while the 2.0 has a nice engine and transmission, having not much safety still puts it behind the Teana and Mazda 6.

But for once, they did the hybrid pretty much right. Full marks for that. Now if only the cream interior is back….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • holofanboi on Apr 02, 2015 at 12:35 pm

Actually, I noticed that ~2011(2012?), all cars interior began going full black all of a sudden. Infact that was the year in which I began shopping around for a car!

Was verrrry close to purchasing a Teana instead of my K5, but I just didn’t like the Teana’s interior in full black. It felt a little off.

Bring back the beige! Dx

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:04 pm

Actually, since early 2011/end 2010, they started quietly bringing in the 2.4 V in black or in cream. However the black looked hideous imo, cause of the organic design and the sense of airyness. Though I agree that it is not easy to clean the cream one – i had one, and when I sold it, you could see the wear despite proper regular detailing and nothing spilt on it. Mainly stretch marks…

• Holofanboi on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:30 pm

Stretch marks? O.o

If you mean scratch marks then yeah, everytime a woman’s handbag scratches my glovebox cover something inside me dies ;_;

Wouldn’t cream interior hide scratch marks better than black though? Hmm

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 02, 2015 at 4:59 pm

Nope, real stretch marks, over time, especially when you get in and out, the stretch on the leather started coming on….

Scratch marks were none though surprisingly… Even despite 100ks and all of the people in and out of the car.

• Uncle Sam on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:20 am

I’ll definitely go for the 2.5 Hybrid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • King of D Segment – Toyota Camry Hybrid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 35
    • Tyler Durden on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:39 am

Mate you’re just plain delusional

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Better than Merc E and BMW 5?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • C’mon man just admit it, none of us are able to “easily” afford Merc E or BMW 5, so if that is the case, sub RM200k of D seg car, this Tyt Camry Hybrid easily each his competitor like chocolate cake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Joker on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:27 am

Still a rip off but finally the 6 speeders arrived…
    would rather go for high maintenance cost cars instead..
    No $$ dun buy cars that exceeds ur purchasing power…

• ayamxxx on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:31 am

even 60k par by proton can offering 6-air bag throughout it model like Preve n 70k++ Suprima.

what a cheapskate by Toyota for the safety parts.

still dreaming n acting like Vios is selling well at the moment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • Proton this, Proton that on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:10 pm

Still dreaming Iriz is selling well? Without Proton, you can get a Corolla with VSC and 7 airbags for 70k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • Oh no on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:32 am

150k & without VSC, traction control again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • cendol (Member) on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:40 am

THe interior is hideous.
    Looks like the interior from 1990’s Old Toyota Crown Taxi.
    The wood trim really has to go

• i proooooooo on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:46 am

Those bought 25v sure crying. Discontinued in two years. Now april umw offer 20k discount for old stocks

• VHL Lorrr on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Ya… Both 2.0 and 2.5 pre-FL Camry owners even lingering around and shouting ‘Hai Lat Lorrr’ like sakit jiwa already after they get their exceptionally ‘hailat’ trade-in value which is much more worse than ‘low class car’ Cerato and K5. Plus, most ‘jamban made’ 2012 – 2014 Camry owners already showing a sign of ‘about to kwai tai’.

• azhar on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:50 am

CKDed and it still starts at rm150k??..get lost UMW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • viiny on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:53 am

This is unbelievable.wil never ever buy car from umw. safety is number 1 priority when buying a car. 150k with no added vsc.traction control. Curtain airbags. Bye bye umw

• Turbo on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:53 am

Only Camry 2.5 hybrid is worth to buy. 2.0 2 airbags no VSC for 150k? crazy pricing. Accord VTI with VSC only 137k now. or can go for Teana and Mazda6. Come on la toyota. Proton Iriz RM 40k+ also comes with VSC and your Camry 150k without VSC? Never listen and never learn..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • Joe Hung on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:59 am

Just placed my order.
    Majority of the people here are just ignorant.
    don’t listen to them.
    follow your heart.
    once a Toyotarian forever Toyotarian.
    Peace ^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 62
    • UMW Mampus on Apr 02, 2015 at 12:38 pm

Wow.. congrats to you. Enjoy your moving coffin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
      • Deus Ex on Apr 02, 2015 at 1:53 pm

To all young ones out there, regardless of Walt Disney Co.’s and Joe Hung’s terrible advice, never follow your heart if your mind refuses to go along. Emotional decisions are the worst.

• chowhai on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:59 am

Hahaha…so expensive for crap. Better go for the Teana, Accord or Mazda6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • car-fans on Apr 02, 2015 at 12:11 pm

150K – I better look for other car – Sonata, Accord etc.

Only those who still believe the ‘T’ Logo got super value in their car!

Wake Up – Toyota Car Buyer … Don’t get fool with such ‘T’ Logo.

• BrianXYZ on Apr 02, 2015 at 12:13 pm

UMWT still treats Malaysia as a 3rd World Country by offering Camry with 3rd World Safety specs. Sad but maybe they are right because ppl will still go and buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • PingPong on Apr 02, 2015 at 12:25 pm

do we need these?

• CKD camry on Apr 02, 2015 at 1:38 pm

Toyota when pricing they forget is CKD version??? Still think of they are CBU version???

• samuel on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:02 pm

Paul Tan, when is your test drive result for the new Toyota Camry Hybrid 2.5 VS Honda Accord 2.4 and the Toyota Camry 2.0G VS Honda Accord2.0 VT-L will be ready for readers?

• Albert on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:09 pm

Again Toyota and Ford distributors doing the shit business of ripping ofF the rakyat.
    Maybe they think the only way to get fat bonuses,is to price these cars SUPER F..ING SKY HIGH SINCE asn IS EXPECTING RECORD dividends from them ,to please the poor rakyat who are suffering from the f…ing GST,now.
    The rakyat is badly hurt by GST.Very few people shopping now,after March 31.And now SHITHOLE BASTARD S…KI IS STILL DOING HIS USUAL STUNT;SKY HIGH PRICING.iNSAFLAH,UMW…..YOU HAVE NO DAMN MORALS AT ALL.

• KE70 vs Sam L0rrrr Camry on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:57 pm

With that spec, I rather buy Toyota KE70. Good restored condition can get around RM10k. Both cars interior and exterior is ugly. Well at least you can drift with KE70. And you can get 15 KE70 for one Camry. If rosak then buy another one!

• sepul on Apr 02, 2015 at 4:07 pm

More like “Sam Loo Identity” to me. Finally the gears have the number 6 (and 5).

• eagletalon on Apr 02, 2015 at 4:19 pm

Bad quality. 4years only. Generator malfunction.

• fukken yiu khad on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:04 pm

confirmed. my wait is useless. going to honda and etcm this weekend for another test drive of accord and teana.

stupid UMW. what a worthless POS. same lorr can die now. you know that deep inside you is frustrated with the new (read:tahi) camry..kehkehkeh

• adjust-parking on Apr 02, 2015 at 6:12 pm

thank you very much for the album of the ladies.

• most unattractive Camry ever.
    C’mon Toyota.

• alldisc on Apr 02, 2015 at 6:21 pm

Very informative article Jonathan.

Allow me to correct you though.

The trunk through feature is actually known as ski flap. Useless in Malaysia as we never to get to ski even in I city. But in 4 season countries like Europe, USA and of course Japan it is normal for executive cars to have this feature instead of split fold rear seats.

The other thing is that the use of boot and trunk in the same sentence sounds awkward when it literally means the same.
    Trunk is US term while for UK it is boot.
    The same goes to bonnet (UK) and hood (US).

Keep up the good job!

• daniel lai on Apr 02, 2015 at 8:23 pm

I think the models is far more interesting and attractive than the facelift model. My 2 cents – is hybrid vehicle really suit Malaysia weather? perhaps the prius owner can share a thinker?

• leonardo on Apr 03, 2015 at 8:31 am

For RM150k, you don’t get VSC, traction control and 2 air bags only? Other cheaper cars come with higher specs.
    Oh, it’s a Toyota. Good quality ma :p

• Ali Karim on Apr 03, 2015 at 12:36 pm

So sad. Loyal Asian customer’s has been betrayed, practically spit upon with these rejects. While the U.S. and Europe get the better ones.

Farewell TOYOTA, I sincerely wish you MF nothing and all and hope NISSAN, HONDA & MAZDA will reign supreme in the next few years.

• DPCraft on Apr 03, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Rear Lights, a looks a little bit like 6th gen accord’s
    Image: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/1/15/1997-2001_Honda_Accord_V6_sedan_02.jpg/799px-1997-2001_Honda_Accord_V6_sedan_02.jpg

• Krishnaveni kushbooo wathi on Apr 03, 2015 at 5:15 pm

i lobe it. i hopte my bf buying it for me. i need nice camry to work. i need new bf if my bf cannot buy. go fast fast in the car. come on camry

• Chee Chong Fun on Apr 03, 2015 at 5:16 pm

hailo nice lo. i bool oledi. i can pay mah.

• Johnny on Apr 03, 2015 at 5:28 pm

Actually, the 2.5 Hybrid is really not bad.
    Don’t listen to all the haters here.

• Michael Chin on Apr 07, 2015 at 6:52 am

Don’t waste time….Buy A LEXUS ES 250 better. Always thinking Toyota Camry….with the new spec…UMW cons you. So listen to my advice…Buy A LEXUS…at least Toyota Japan gives you what you pay.

• Dear Malaysian,

I am Prius car owner. The Hybrid battery failed at 120,000km and it cost quite a sum to replaced.

We were assured that battery will go beyond their warranty of 3 years or 100,000km as their UMW Toyota Motor president Kuah Kock Heng then said , “The taxis with the highest mileage have clocked more than 400,000km without any hybrid component failure….. Toyota has not replaced a single battery due to wear and tear since the Prius went on sale in 2000.”

My Prius traction battery just failed at 120,000km just outside warranty of 100,000.km .And UMW will not replace traction battery.( Contrast this with the 400,000km assurance given from UMW Toyota President – – The Star 21 Nov 2010)

So prospective hybrid car purchasers should be aware that TOYOTA Malaysia is not going to honour any assurance outside the legal warranty, as they have rejected mine . You are on your own , so make an informed decision when you purchase this vehicle.
    These components do fail and when they do outside warranty .. you are on your own.

Besides my car , another Prius battery just failed at about the 60,000- 80,000km range. I just wonder how many batteries are failing out there.

Regards

• Dear Malaysian,

I am Prius car owner. The Hybrid battery failed at 120,000km and it cost quite a sum to replaced.

We were assured that battery will go beyond their warranty of 3 years or 100,000km as their UMW Toyota Motor president Kuah Kock Heng then said , “The taxis with the highest mileage have clocked more than 400,000km without any hybrid component failure….. Toyota has not replaced a single battery due to wear and tear since the Prius went on sale in 2000.”

My Prius traction battery just failed at 120,000km just outside warranty of 100,000.km .And UMW will not replace traction battery.( Contrast this with the 400,000km assurance given from UMW Toyota President – – The Star 21 Nov 2010)

So prospective hybrid car purchasers should be aware that TOYOTA Malaysia is not going to honour any assurance outside the legal warranty, as they have rejected mine . You are on your own , so make an informed decision when you purchase this vehicle.
    These components do fail and when they do outside warranty .. you are on your own.

Besides my car , another Prius battery just failed at about the 60,000- 80,000km range. I just wonder how many batteries are failing out there.

• What we save in petrol from the hybrid is what we are going to pay for the replacement of the battery later on. Is the battery environmental friendly in terms of its production as well as its disposal.

• Lawson on Feb 21, 2016 at 12:12 pm

Prius battery should not be chucked away just because its battery storage capacity has dipped below 50%. It can be repurposed to intergrate with solar cell to supply power for remote area!.

• William on Apr 13, 2015 at 2:48 pm

Indeed that Toyota didn’t do their own paper work before finalized their spec especially safety wise not very well.
    Market is competitive, Okay Apple to Apple. D-segment cars, Kia K5, Honda Accord, Mazda 6,Nissan Teana, all are come with VSC/VSA/ESC even some if The base variat have it too.

I was been an accident which my car was turning around once hit by other car. And i unable to balance the car.
    That time was thinking how good if a car equip with ESC, unfortunately Vios does not have it too.

• triple h (Member) on Apr 23, 2015 at 10:05 pm

Nowadays so many pariah sports cars on the road like sotong sup rima wajawa inspirated prebe wira celoplancer satayria race rally recycled ijora seport saga rim 16 sona aswara mitsubasi irIS.they want to be friends with lancer but unfortunately they not our mitsu’s family.booooo

• puih3x on Apr 24, 2015 at 5:12 pm

Friend with Lancer? Torque ady lost to Preve turbo lor, noone gives a damn unless it’s an ori Evo

• Teh HO on Apr 30, 2015 at 6:29 pm

UMW & Toyota continues to make a fool of Malaysians car buyers. They make a big deal with Camry hybrid battery warranty of 8 years. In the US, the warranty coverage includes not just the battery but all the components of the Synergy drive. Consumers here are too ignorant – they are concerned about the expensive cost of having to replace the hybrid battery (around RM9,000) but little do they realise that the Inverter & Converter assemble cost around RM40,000 to replace.

US warranty information.

• questionnono on May 03, 2015 at 4:39 pm

i wonder why the design cant be like US market? the design so much sportier…. interior is 100 times more better…

• thinkbeforebuy on May 04, 2015 at 7:36 pm

People should abandon support for Toyota. We pay more but getting less. CKD Hybrid is tax exempt until Dec 2015. So how can the price is same as non hybrid when no tax ?

• iwantmirrorlink on May 16, 2015 at 2:00 pm

did anyone get mirror link to work on the hybrid? i tested it with a htc one m8, phone says mirrorlink connected. but when i press the connected devices button, i get some message about unable to use the device as usb storage…

• wilson on Nov 03, 2015 at 7:21 pm

in the end………..
    the money u save in hybrid……….
    will put at the hybrid spare parts………..

hehe…………
    burn money in the end………….