2016 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid, facelift make NY debut

2015_NYIAS_2016_Toyota_RAV4_Hybrid_004

Teased earlier, the 2016 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid has finally been unveiled in full at the ongoing 2015 New York International Auto Show, alongside its conventionally-powered, facelifted brethren. The inclusion of the RAV4 Hybrid into Toyota Motor North America’s line-up brings the total count of eco-friendly models to eight.

Changes on the standard RAV4 are minimal with a slightly reworked front fascia comprising of a slimmer grille and head lamp design. New wheel designs and a restyled rear bumper complete the exterior updates while the interior features more premium materials.

Of the four available trim levels, LE, XLE, Limited and SE, the latter is the latest addition and features 18-inch wheels, LED head and tail lamps, a unique lower grille design, SofTex seats, a 4.2-inch TFT display with red illumination, black headliner with gunmetal finish and paddle shifters.

2016 Toyota RAV4 facelift

In the case of the 2016 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid, aesthetic cues are more or less mirrored on the standard variant except for the inclusion of unique 17-inch alloy wheel designs. The RAV4 Hybrid will be offered in two trim levels – XLE and Limited – with both models being equipped with an Electronic On-Demand All-Wheel-Drive System with intelligence (AWD-i). Like the standard version, LED head and tail lamps are optional extras.

Likewise, the RAV4 Hybrid differs little when compared to the standard version on the inside. The XLE and Limited version of both RAV4 models will receive a SiriusXM All-Access Radio system with a three-month complimentary period as standard. The Limited variant adds on a Homelink garage door opener.

Also available as a cost option is Toyota’s Bird’s Eye View Monitor system that employs four cameras mounted on the front, rear and on the side mirrors of the vehicle to provide a panoramic view of the surroundings. The system also features an industry-first Perimeter Scan system that streams a live rotating 360-degree visual feed of the car’s surroundings.

2015_NYIAS_2016_Toyota_RAV4_Hybrid_007

Oddly enough, Toyota has chosen to keep the RAV4 Hybrid’s power figures under wraps, only revealing that it will offer “more horsepower and better acceleration than the conventional RAV4” – the standard RAV4 is powered by a 2.5 litre four-cylinder engine with 176 hp. The aforementioned AWD-i system is capable of sending torque to the rear axle when additional traction is required via the rear electric motor.

As mentioned in an earlier report, the Limited variants of the RAV4 Hybrid and RAV4 will be equipped with Toyota’s Safety Sense package as standard. The system features a multitude of driver aids which includes Forward Collision Warning, Lane Departure Alert, Pedestrian Pre-Collision System and several more. As the RAV4 Hybrid is due to go on sale in the third quarter of 2015, expect more details to surface.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Gajen on Apr 03, 2015 at 3:18 pm

It looks good and the specs are even better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • kington on Apr 03, 2015 at 3:39 pm

Sadly, to bring this in like the limited run of the 2nd gen model, it costs RM190K which is absurd considering CR-Vs and CX-5s are going for approx. RM150K.

The RAV4 is however a pretty good car, of which i consider it just a nod below the multi-functional X-Trail.

• Uncle Great on Apr 03, 2015 at 3:42 pm

Looks like something from Great Wall…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Apr 03, 2015 at 3:51 pm

Gregory may I ask can we order RAV 4 through UMW??? Coz kind of risky if buy from grey importer. Previously UMW offer but now it seem no longer import to M’sis.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 03, 2015 at 4:43 pm

if ure willing to pay 250k for it….im sure they will bring it in for you…special orders for cars by malaysian dealerships is more common than you think

• BoringRakyat on Apr 03, 2015 at 3:51 pm

Dont bombard me people!! but those mid A/C and touch screen radio does looks the same as Axia’s.

Peace

• As long as Toyota, forget it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • old dog on Apr 03, 2015 at 6:44 pm

Toyota is bring on the ugly front to all their line up…cant believe that!

All Toyota front looks alike (ugly) now!

• kelvin on Apr 04, 2015 at 1:10 am

I still couldn’t accept the Toyota’s retro themed dashboard. It is way too ugly beyond words.

• Mind reader on Apr 04, 2015 at 9:15 am

dashboard looks like a piece of bench, painted in black.

Nothing interesting.

• I am in the market for a mid range SuV but honda CRv is such a dowdy looking old maid. I wonder if UMW is interested to sell more vehicles. They are so confortable sitting on hands, I guess it is unlikely.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 05, 2015 at 9:10 am

Get a new Tucson then.

I will bet you that within a year, it will end up in my car yard. That will be after i show you the Hilux

• Albert on Apr 04, 2015 at 6:37 pm

MR CHIN, do you understand why UMW pricing is super duper f…up higher than Everest,if you were to buy their vehicles?
    The ASN payment plus specials can go up to 8.5 percent!!
    PNB’ s benchmark is that high ,to please a particular group of contributors.So UMW has no choice but to JACK UP their margins as high as the french Alps where the german pilot committed forced mass suicide.UMW pricing is suicidal to your pockets,financially speaking.
    Ford cars under Sime darby,another shit GLC also price their cars till Mount Kilimanjaro.
    Only Honda(under the mamak Arab) and Nissan has some morals by giving some reductions post GST.