Alami Proton carnival in Johor Bahru this weekend

Following the success of the first Alami Proton open day at the national carmaker’s Centre of Excellence in Shah Alam last September, the carnival is now in Johor Bahru from April 2-5, 10 am to 7 pm, at the LHDN car park near Plaza Angsana. Entrance is free.

Held in conjunction with the Human Resources ministry’s Pertandingan Worldskills Malaysia 2015, the Alami Proton carnival for the southern region will showcase Proton’s latest technology developments. Activities for every age group abound, including games, contests, a safety features demonstration, joy rides and a time-attack challenge.

Also, Johoreans looking to purchase Proton cars will enjoy special promotions exclusively at the event, including discounts of up to 50% on original parts.

Last year’s Alami Proton in Shah Alam showcased the Iriz Active crossover concept, an Iriz prototype fitted with an active-safety ADAS camera and the Preve REEV prototype. The public were given tours of the R&D facilities and the Medium Volume Factory that builds the Inspira and Exora.

2014 Alami Proton open day at Proton COE

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Proton Rubbish Car on Apr 03, 2015 at 6:47 pm

Waste my time going to this type of event.
    People rather get themselves Honda Jazz.
    Better than Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 57
    • And the price ? You can do alot with that money saved. Buy iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 14
      • Sucker Punch on Apr 04, 2015 at 12:57 am

Alami the jerky Punch CVT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 20
        • dsette on Apr 04, 2015 at 3:03 am

Clearly you never drive one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 20
          • Clearly on Apr 04, 2015 at 4:04 pm

Clearly Proton owners don’t admit it but want to sucker others to buy the crap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 17
          • dsette on Apr 04, 2015 at 6:52 pm

Clearly you butthurt, pity. Go back to your moving coffin car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
          • Clearly you are butthurt! Haha. Go and book the latest Exora for coffin + cremation 2 in 1 super value car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 19
          • proven on Apr 05, 2015 at 9:04 am

@ben

Any proof it’s p1 fault? If not then you are same as same lorrrr, always talk kok sing song

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
          • Car on fire if not P1’s fault then must be the owner burn it himself. You got brain to think before what also ask for proof?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
          • proven on Apr 05, 2015 at 7:26 pm

Failed wiring when mods?
            You dun ever think of that?
            OMG you better go to school again. Even kindergarten school can talk about it nowadays

• So you are blaming the owner for modding his Exora? (Who mods their Exora anyway?) Lol. Nevermind lah, you can buy it to prove that you’re right :)

• OMG…Iriz ahhh…see the sales sudah tau how good the car is…puihhh…Perodua still no.1 loh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 27
      • youarekid on Apr 04, 2015 at 6:54 pm

sales =/= quality
        Example, Vios, safety quality = 2/5
        Sales number = Very Good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
        • Sales may not be equal to quality but good quality means better sales. For example, Merc A Class sales number more than Iriz even though more expensive, why? Better quality, better service, no jerky Punch CVT, no arrogance P1 salesman and better SAFETY than Iriz(Tested using Euro NCAP, not Asian NCAP)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
          • youarekid on Apr 05, 2015 at 9:07 am

Show me the numbers and the source?
            Preve ady got 5 star Australian NCAP, Iriz also can, no problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • That iriz is no where near jazz. Dont equate rubbish car with anything else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • jellyioma on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:37 am

Jazz handling no where near Iriz. Dun equate normal Japs car with anything else

• Jilbaber (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:39 am

Wife ex-wife owned Jazz/Fitz….I can tell you how wobbling that car when tackling corner..even with VSA on

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Apr 03, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Order from me extra RM 3k discount on all models !!!

If any others salesman can’t do it? Ignore them find me, can come order from me !!! EXTRA DISCOUNT !!!

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 04, 2015 at 10:24 am

Here comes the Proton 5S principles
      1. Sendiri Cakap
      2. Sendiri Syok
      3. Sentiasa Rosak
      4. Sales Carnival
      5. Selalu RM 8888 discount

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 15
      • steven see on Apr 04, 2015 at 1:41 pm

Then explain why you bought saga then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
      • sam proton2 on Apr 04, 2015 at 5:32 pm

I donf see a reasons to be shame of owing a proton. Just admit it Danny

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
        • VHL Lorrr on Apr 04, 2015 at 11:13 pm

anyhow, i see millions of reasons to be millions times more shameful until can’t even show my own face from seeing bottom of the floor if buying and owning a RM118k C-segment or worst, RM150k D-segment brand new ‘jamban junk’ (JJ) cars without any safety features (no VSC and just 2 airbags).

• Albert on Apr 04, 2015 at 6:23 pm

Same lorr, wtf …..all these shithole carnivals.
        Again,year in year out….seems trendy for bladdy f…up protong.
        Just wait for the news.Just like MAS,a big redundancy exercise is on the cards for loss making Protong,when the financial year results are announced.
        PREVE,SUPRIMA,IRIZ……ALL F…UP.
        sO WE ARE ENTERTAINED WITH ALL THESE SHIT CARNIVALS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
        • lingerie dept on Apr 04, 2015 at 11:50 pm

@Albert
          How’s your undergarments business today?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
          • Albert on Apr 05, 2015 at 7:55 am

Mr.Sissy Lingerie bastard,if you want to talk kok,please go crash into the French Alps or be among JJ who died in the heli crash.
            Dont resort to name calling,you are worst than the political lackeys.
            maybe secretly your bra business is failing,thats why u attack others over opinion differences.
            This is a car forum.I am anti UMW shit super duper pricing alto I have Totoyas at home.
            Proton is a failed venture.Over 25 years,still cant produce a proper CVT or even 4 speed gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
          • lingerie dept on Apr 05, 2015 at 12:22 pm

@Albert
            That’s why I suggest you read more. Dun be too obsess with undergarments.

So what p1 didn’t make gearbox, even T using BMW engine.

• Sam F Albert on Apr 05, 2015 at 10:12 am

Dont talk coxk Albert.

• samelorstpd on Apr 04, 2015 at 8:44 pm

Toyot 7″O”

1.Overpriced
        2.Overhyped
        3.Obsolete
        4.On garbage lorries
        5.Out of proportion
        6.Outdated
        7.Overrrated

Toyoto and p2 good quality control:

1. Looks Bad
        2. Sounds Good
        3. Promised Good
        4. But never Good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
        • P1 the Best on Apr 06, 2015 at 1:50 pm

OMG, Proton is the best in Malaysia and some say the World! Toyota and P2? Cannot compare lol

• junkard on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:22 pm

How to compare, Vios low spec VSC pun takde, kakakakakkaa

• samejunk on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:42 pm

And Saga low spec got VSC? Haha

• dearil on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:07 pm

No wonder coz Saga is much older car, Vios ady 3 gens still no VSC!

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 05, 2015 at 11:11 pm

Let us know when you got RM 16k discount on your 2013 stock. People can wait for more discount.

No one rush to get a junk, after all.

• nabill (Member) on Apr 03, 2015 at 7:14 pm

That red Putra brings lots of memories.. One of the best protons!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
  • Tiger on Apr 03, 2015 at 10:05 pm

Sometimes i wonder P1 is in the event management bisnis like this karnival or car manufacturer bisnis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
    • Need more space, remember KLIMS last time?

• VHL Lorrr on Apr 04, 2015 at 11:20 pm

How’s about roadshow here and roadshow there in many shopping complexes almost every week to promote their JJ (jamban junk) ‘T’ cars. When enquired about offer and rebates, their SA will say, no discount offered, if you interested, just place an order, don’t ask any question, if not, don’t waste our time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • samelorstpd on Apr 05, 2015 at 9:09 am

Let me add, how about badmouthing by T SA, example same lorrr? That’s much more worse than any carnivals or roadshows.

• Story Teller on Apr 05, 2015 at 6:37 pm

Proof? Or you just talk kok sing song reka cerita?

• Ah Beng (Member) on Apr 04, 2015 at 1:12 am

Govt should exclude PROTON from GST and exclude the excise duty. If Japan, Korean and US can give perlindungan to their automaker. Why not our govt? Govt should increase the foreign car taxes to compensate they give to PROTON..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
    • tailong on Apr 04, 2015 at 7:50 am

I think some people comment just to make people annoyed with Proton. Sigh…

• cendol (Member) on Apr 04, 2015 at 10:30 am

Proton should learn to stand on own feet.
      Stop relying on government’s help.
      It has already been 30 years.
      If Proton can’t remain competitive, it is Proton’s problem, not rakyat’s problem.
      You can’t punish rakyat for Proton’s inefficiency

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Obviously (Member) on Apr 04, 2015 at 1:52 pm

Yup. By right, they had a good chance to get a good start during the heavy protectionism era. Instead, they became complacent at that time with no real sense of direction or sense of purpose, wanting only to profit from their dominat market share and not investing properly in R&D. Now the increasingly competitive automarket has forced them to sharpen themselves or risk going under.

They did what they could and came up with the decent and well-equipped Iriz. Calling for more protection again now would really be insulting towards their efforts, weaken their impetus to grow and increase the already mountainous resentment against them.

Enough protection.

As eagles push their young out of the nest so that they learn to fly in a moment of desperation, Proton also must learn to take flight in the midst of cutthroat competition. An eagle that cannot fly might as well be dead and a carmaker that doesn’t make quality cars might as well tutup kedai.

(For the record, I am not wishing for Proton to tutup kedai but I do wish that they’ll improve. If they can recover on their own, good for them and it’ll be quite good for the general populace, too. If they cannot, then whatever. Someone somewhere didn’t do a good job.)

However, unlike the young eagle, Proton isn’t young. Not anymore. But at least now, they’re beginning to show improving quality in their products, which is good, but right now they’re not quite there yet.

Hope they take flight soon. The ground is coming up really fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • Proton should just close shop and sell women’s underwear in Parkson or Jusco

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
    • Tongkat Ali on Apr 04, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Yes, continue to give “perlindungan” to Proton. Without the almighty “perlindungan”, Pro-Tongkat cannot survive. And you know it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • kiekie on Apr 04, 2015 at 6:57 pm

So what, p2 also get one, cheaper tax than other brands

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • Giovannie on Apr 05, 2015 at 12:51 pm

Perodua has higher tax than Proton…
          http://s1.paultan.org/image/2014/12/kj-firstcar-savings-table.jpg

With tax- saving.
          Proton – cut by about 7%.
          Perodua – cut by about 11%
          Honda – cut by about 17%
          Toyota – cut by about 25%/

Perodua and Toyota is heavily tax in Malaysia.
          Why the government put high tax on Good Quality cars in Malaysia??

Well, very well understood that Toyota Corp sell over 25,000 units of cars annualy in Malaysia through UMW Toyota and Perodua..

if tax is fair, there is no more competition.

• Justice Bao on Apr 05, 2015 at 6:00 pm

If tax is fair, Proton will close shop

• So what, p2 is still not homegrown producer, only assembler. In the olden before what is japs today, they had not good cars there. Until now, even they have much better cars then before the protections are still around? Do you see more korean cars or conti cats in korea? Why? Why dun they just protect their homegrown brands? Why bklehland cannot?

• taknaktoyota on Apr 05, 2015 at 7:39 pm

What? Good quality? Lol
            Toyota and p2 can close shop. No improvement in safety quality especially in lower variants.

• Albert on Apr 04, 2015 at 8:44 am

Ah Beng,please wake up.Insider source at Shah Alam,reported a BIG LAYOFF exercise is on the cards for proton.Your DRB bosses are concentrating on Honda and let proton rot to the core by letting the managers rub all these f..up carnivals.If you have cancer,the doctor will tell you…take it easy ,go Bali…cos your timeframe is limited.
    You better apply for salejobs at Honda while there are vacancies.
    Honda is money spinning machine.Proton is money going down the shithole,dont you see this logic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Mind reader on Apr 04, 2015 at 9:12 am

Maybe the clear-stock sales didnt work last time, and sales were bad.

now, make another carnival pulak…

I think the city folks are harder to con.
    So try selling proton to kampung ppl…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • oooll on Apr 04, 2015 at 6:58 pm

Yeah “con” them coz this Iriz is much safer than Vios.

• loool on Apr 05, 2015 at 6:45 pm

Kampung ppl use Bullocart better than Iriz. Lembu drinks less water than Iriz drinks fuel. Kampung ppl smart alraedy

• lelot on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:33 am

Lol Iriz can beat myvi FC anytime anyday, if lighter than Axia sure can beat it too.

• Have been seeing more and more iriz on the road nowadays, especially compared to myvi lagi lagi best facelift

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Please for the sake of all humans on earth just shut off and close down proton once and for all.
    Humanity deserves better cars other than proton which litter the roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • Suprima S on Apr 05, 2015 at 8:35 am

Do us a favor, kill yourself for the sake of human on earth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • Dear Suprima S,
        Your childish comment is reflects yor personality that doesn’t help just like the salesroom people in Proton..BTW I…no ,We all satisfied with below youtube posting by

Proton – The Worst Quality and Customer Service.

Have a nice day

• videobasi on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:38 am

So you posted that video? Too bad it’s long time ago video. Sudah basi.

• neverbasi on Apr 06, 2015 at 1:19 pm

Proton’s tidak apa attitude will never basi just like the 20 years of “protection” from the G. The only thing sudah basi is Proton

• videobasi on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:19 pm

Then show us the recent video, not that your parents time video

• Lol p1 cannot beat Toyota which sells junky moving coffins.

• P1 the Best on Apr 05, 2015 at 6:28 pm

Cannot beat P1 selling coffin + cremation “service” with Exora

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • bankerz on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:32 am

You read more, no proof it’s p1 fault, isolated cases, nobody died.

Toyota? Huge recalls all over the world, and yes, caused deaths.

Which one is better? Toyota?

Ptuih.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
          • No Recall on Apr 06, 2015 at 1:11 pm

Nobody died? Want me to show you the news of Proton on NTV7 ah? Proton got more people die in accident than any other car brands in Malaysia. Toyota got recall but where is Proton’s recall? Oh… i forget that Proton is the best in Malaysia and no need recall one. Ptuih x2

• bankerz on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:18 pm

P1 got recalls before but not as massive, show me death cases taht go into court otherwise you are too stupid to understand simple thing

• No Recall on Apr 06, 2015 at 3:11 pm

If you’re too lazy to look, you’re too stupid to understand

• bankerz on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Lol if nothing then you talk kok sing song here, like Same Lorrrr

• bazooka on Apr 14, 2015 at 5:10 pm

U better die first lol….

• Jimmy on Apr 05, 2015 at 1:13 pm

Can everybody please look at things from various perspectives before putting down your comments?

Very lengthy to explain one by one.

You need to know how games are played.

Widen your vision.

• hr dept on Apr 05, 2015 at 7:43 pm

Same lorrrr can get job as undergarment ambassador. Is that not wide enough?

• Jimmy on Apr 06, 2015 at 1:39 pm

Stupid comment

• hr dept on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:15 pm

Then explain everything or you are the one who is stupid here.

• Jimmy on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:45 pm

You comment on non related stuff and still want me to explain? Stupid x2

• hr dept on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:22 pm

If you are bright then explain. If not, you just gave rubbish comment and that’s plain stupid

• Jimmy on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:46 pm

Explain what? Explain why you are stupid? I already answer you and you still ask.
            Stupid x3

• Jimmy on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Please do not use my name, young guys.

• Jamil on Apr 05, 2015 at 4:34 pm

I just bought Suprima S Premium variant. Features provided are plentiful. Stability, NVH, and power are good. Body design and interior layout are nice.
    Really enjoyed driving it. I’ve driven conti, korean, japs, and british cars. Suprima is just great! Sales staff is courteous, friendly, and helpful.
    Downside: gps is not working well, and HU screen is not clear during daytime. No problem. Will get SC to look into gps during coming 1st servicing.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 05, 2015 at 11:08 pm

New car of course nice. Wait after 6 months you will start the enjoy the Proton QUALITY. From conti, japs, Korean till proton, you are truly from the very few ones.

Proton cars maybe safer during accidents(IF the safety features do work!!), but your bank account and saving definitely not safe with its almighty quality.

Good luck.

• hunger on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:29 am

Proof? You dun talk kok, p1 cannot beat massive T recall all over the world. Quality nowadays really is not like before.

• Proton - The Worst Quality and Customer Service on Apr 05, 2015 at 5:56 pm

You want proof? Here’s one for you butthurt fans. Inilah kisah benar seorang pelanggan Proton

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ULz7He3TH5Q

• youselow on Apr 05, 2015 at 7:36 pm

Slowpoke, outdated video.
      ****yawn****

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • younobrain on Apr 06, 2015 at 12:46 pm

Outdated? Proton’s poor customer service is never outdated

• youselow on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:14 pm

Yeah, Vios is sill moving coffin for generations until now

• younobrain on Apr 06, 2015 at 3:19 pm

Saga also the same moving coffin for decades

• youselow on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:24 pm

Saga will be replaced then with newer Iriz sedan (with VDC), Vios has anything like that?

• Jimmy on Apr 05, 2015 at 9:56 pm

Train your staff well.
      No man is perfect, please improve.
      Imperfections can be rectified, therefore customer service is important.

Have we ever paid RM190K for persistent rattling sounds, and RM400K for (sorry I won’t tell you, may you experience and find out yourself, one day); and some don’t bother to serve you well even before you buy their cars.

Once you have experienced and passed through great difficulties, you tend to forgive people.

• Keropok Lekor KL on Apr 05, 2015 at 8:10 pm

“Boss, nie kerete proton,
    Semua masalah adalah standard”.

• CyberPatrol on Apr 05, 2015 at 11:30 pm

IRIZ is a global cars, so it should be participating in international auto shows in 2015/2016. Last year IRIZ exhibited in Thai 2014 auto show after that Proton missed the Geneva and New York 2015 (April) auto events/exhibitions. How to claim global car when Proton no show in big auto events?

• giovanni on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:25 am

PCC lor – proton compact car

• Pak Lah on Apr 06, 2015 at 1:23 pm

Jaguh kampung boleh lah. Global? Cannot that’s why changed name from GSC to PCC lol

• youareloser on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:13 pm

Why cannot global? If not now then later.
          Only loser and coward like you will surrender without fighting

• youaresucker on Apr 06, 2015 at 3:33 pm

Fighter? For 20 years still need “protection”, what fighter? Sucker like you that likes to cheat the rakyat’s money to become “Jaguh Kampung No.1”

• youareloser on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:24 pm

Japs Koreans and other other countries support their national companies, why not bolehland? Until now they have sort of protection, why not bolehland?

I think you are the one to run first if war happens, COWARD!

• youaresucker on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:57 pm

You are butthurt. Haha. If you so brave, go join the fight with IS but i think you don’t dare, talk only. So you are also COWARD!

• Iriz owner on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:10 am

I just bought Iriz 1.3 cvt, very good car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10