Hyundai RM15 Concept – mid-engined, RWD, 295 hp!

150402_RM15 Concept_1

You’re looking at the Hyundai RM15 Concept, a WRC-inspired lightweight, carbon-fibre-bodied, mid-engined and rear wheel drive two-seat design study. No, this isn’t a late April Fools story. Seriously, this is all legit!

Making its debut at the 2015 Seoul Motor Show, the RM15 (as in Racing Midship 2015, not 15 Ringgit) is meant as a showcase of Hyundai’s “passion for performance and its expertise in the development of advanced vehicle technologies.” Why it looks so much like the standard Veloster, we have no idea.

Hyundai RM15 concept 01

The RM15’s carbon-fibre body makes it 195 kg lighter than a standard all-steel structure. A Theta 2.0 litre T-GDI engine mounted just ahead of the rear axle, sending 295 hp and 383 Nm of torque to the 19-inch rear wheels through a six-speed manual gearbox. So it’s quite fast, obviously, getting from 0 to 100 km/h in just 4.7 seconds.

To handle the extra grunt, the RM15 is equipped with a WRC-inspired roll-cage which, together with the aluminium core structure and carbon-fibre body panels, makes it extremely rigid. It’s claimed to have a torsional stiffness of 37,800 Nm/deg. The McLaren F1’s chassis, for instance, measures in at just 13,500 Nm/deg. Impressed yet?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Ron Nard on Apr 03, 2015 at 9:33 pm

I’m pretty sure many of you including myself, were scratching our heads when we read the Heading for this post.. hahaha Hyundai Fifteen Ringgit Concept was in my mind for a couple of seconds before it hit me.. hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • Akula on Apr 03, 2015 at 9:42 pm

I dont know to buy this car for RM15… or pay GST :P

• ahmadjohnson97 on Apr 03, 2015 at 10:21 pm

Sam Loo will said if you buy this car for RM15 next year only can sell for RM5 because no RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • GrayImports on Apr 04, 2015 at 2:54 am

I tought sam loo would say rm0.05 due to no rv

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 05, 2015 at 9:40 am

This Korean Ah Beng cannot even be traded in

• I’ll pay RM150 for 2nd hand price, so from RM15 to RM150. Kimchi have better resale value than Sushi

• Aris Tee on Apr 03, 2015 at 10:11 pm

Hahahahah you really got me with the 15 Ringgit bit…

• AVH (Member) on Apr 04, 2015 at 2:02 am

RM15 for the 1/72 scaled version. The normal Veloster is already RM150k, the real thing is probably RM1.5 million.

Anyways for the Shigatsu photoshoot, do you mind Arima in a normal shirt or true to the character.

• holofanboi on Apr 04, 2015 at 2:15 pm

COSPLAY? (Said in the most stereotypical japanese english)

• AVH (Member) on Apr 04, 2015 at 6:09 pm

It would be Cosuppray

Yup, something of a guilty pleasure for me. I do enjoy mixing with them and taking photographs at times when I’am not hunting cars.

• albag on Apr 03, 2015 at 10:19 pm

it would be great if it costs RM15 only.. wouldnt mind to get one

• hondaman on Apr 03, 2015 at 11:19 pm

you can get it next year for RM15 incl GST…the match box version

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 03, 2015 at 10:52 pm

Actually, the name should be RP15. Indian Rupee

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 17
  • Jimmy on Apr 04, 2015 at 12:20 am

Prove it to us, beyond paper, and under the premium name of Genesis.

• nabill (Member) on Apr 04, 2015 at 12:42 am

later one of our world renowned ministers will say ‘see , the G is delivering on its promise to lower car prices’ !!

• I thought it was diecast so that the price tag is RM15 … you got me somehow cheapo meano

• I wish Hyundai can build a AWD version too, it will be a very cool rally machine!

• Tadalaku on Apr 04, 2015 at 12:47 pm

RM15…hahahahaha.

proton should launch a new racer model.
    It should be BR1M 15….

Endorsed by the our PM. GST included, ok….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • ayiesinaga on Apr 05, 2015 at 3:57 am

RM – Running Man (korean variety programme)

Hahahaha!

• Same L0rrr on Apr 05, 2015 at 2:57 pm

Nobody will bat an eye on kimchis anymore after the new Camry is out, will they?

Latest Camry booking: 55

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • lingerie dept on Apr 05, 2015 at 11:04 pm

Ok you mean undrgarments. I understood well, keep up your effort.

• kim karipap on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:57 am

ni kereta Rosmah Mansor

• What a let down! I thought Hyundai was experimenting with a car that costs only RM15.

What a title! Hahahaha

• DPCraft on Apr 06, 2015 at 3:12 pm

Thinking of spending RM15 for a kimchi – worth ?!?

• Alnash on Apr 06, 2015 at 3:17 pm

Hyundai MYR15