Kia Novo concept – previews future design direction

k_5222

The automotive world might still be congregating at the New York International Motor Show, but Kia has used the Seoul Motor Show to debut a new concept – a four-door fastback called the Kia Novo – that showcases the future design direction for its compact cars.

Based on a modified Cerato platform, the Novo features a wider, more inset iteration of Kia’s “tiger nose” grille, flanked by slim laser-powered headlights. Underneath them sit low, wide air intakes that house yet more laser lights, accentuating the car’s broad stance.

The clean bodyside is broken up by a sharp crease that runs off the shutline of the clamshell bonnet, prominent rear haunches, aluminium side vents and impossibly slim aluminium wing mirrors. The glasshouse is reminiscent of the Optima‘s, with a C-pillar kink and a rear windscreen that is visually aligned to the rear side windows, separated by an aluminium bar.

k_5227

Coming to the rear, there are broad tail lights (again powered by lasers), diffuser-like fins low down and triangular exhausts, while crisp lines are said to enhance the Novo’s aerodynamic efficiency. Large 20-inch diamond-cut alloy wheels with carbon inserts complete the look.

Opening the suicide doors reveals a cabin that continues the minimalist driver-oriented look set by recent Kia concepts. Behind the sporty three-spoke steering wheel sits an instrument cluster that puts up information through a three-dimensional hologram display.

k_5229

Next to it, a touch pad enables the driver to manipulate vehicle functions without taking their eyes off the road, and features a fingerprint reader to set up individual features such as music selection, audio volume and information displayed according to each driver’s preferences. The four sports seats are upholstered in brown leather and incorporate the inertia reel seat belts.

Under the bonnet, a turbocharged Kappa 1.6 litre T-GDI engine sends power to the front wheels via a seven-speed dual clutch transmission. The “adaptive concave profile” tyres are unique to the Novo, and features a sunken middle section to cool the rubber and disperses excess road water for better grip in the wet. The slim contact patches on the outer edges of the tyres reduces rolling resistance and road noise.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Gavin Y on Apr 03, 2015 at 2:07 pm

i think they mean future mazda kodo, i mean kia novo design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
    • Menyusahkan Rakyat on Apr 03, 2015 at 6:39 pm

Kia is truly the Asian Audi. It’s clearly proven and actual reality unlike some jaguh kampung daydreaming itself as BMW of Asia. Piirahhhh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
      • Kalau tak mampu jangan butthurt on Apr 04, 2015 at 3:42 am

I’m not fan of p1 or kia but this design is totally ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • kiaaudiwannabe on Apr 04, 2015 at 10:38 am

Asian Audi? Kia ride handling quality is lightyears behind. Haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • MacchaGreen on Apr 03, 2015 at 2:31 pm

This is a shameless ripoff of the bmw 9 series concept

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
  • From Kodo design bcome Korean design..
    copy here copy there.. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • No more Value - The only Value on Apr 03, 2015 at 3:32 pm

All those stupid nigga, WHICH eye did u see this design similar to Mazda Kodo? Copy copy copy, everything come out from your mouth is only COPY. No other word can come out from your stupid mouth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • baddesign on Apr 04, 2015 at 3:49 am

Yes both look like kodo designs. Even though not really similar, both are good in pictures but ugly in reality.

• Uncle Great on Apr 03, 2015 at 3:47 pm

Bmw married camaro and wala…new design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • DonkeyKong on Apr 03, 2015 at 5:59 pm

By saying “wala” instead of “voila”, you’ve proven yourself to be less-than-well-educated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
      • Uncle Great on Apr 04, 2015 at 7:52 pm

Thank you for pointing out my mistake. I must admityou are right. Not all the people in my generation was well educated like a donkey kong.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 03, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Am the only one seeing almost no similarities with anything Mazda Kodo except from the fact that it has four wheels. What I am seeing is alot of Jaguar elements, from the way the front headlight closes in on the large rectengular grill with rounded off edges, the side blades and the tail light LED arrangement, it has a hint of Jaguar elements but in a Kia way. There’s also hint of Nissan in the C-pillar and rear bumper, something mirroring the iDX concept.

The interior is a nice place to be in, simple, straight to the point. I kinda dislike the way the airvents is situated, could have hidden it lower ala Mazda 2-style, making way for a LCD infotaiment system. Overall is a nice styling direction, thou like the new Sonata, which differed greatly from the Sportspace concept interior, how much will be implemented. I was kinda dissapointed at the new Sonata’s interior, which looks almost like a Mazda 6 carbon copy.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 03, 2015 at 5:33 pm

Demmit not Sonata, I meant the new Optima’s interior, which is a far cry form the ones previewd in the Sportspace concept. Looks very much cluttered compare with the simplistic sportspace.

• Holofanboi on Apr 03, 2015 at 6:38 pm

Yeah. Its really quite disappointing that the new optima went for the same direction as sonata by playing it safe with the design. (Both interior and exterior)

I kinda like the front of this concept since it feels like a pinched version of the k900!

I so hope the optima wagon will look like the sportspace concept ;_;

• DonkeyKong on Apr 03, 2015 at 6:00 pm

Very funky and creative design, I think it feels more like those Citroen concepts than Mazda’s or Jag’s. The rear of the car has a retro-futuristic “American Muscle” vibe to it..

• look like inspired by Audi Prologue Concept car…

• superb!!! proton please wake up now!!! kia and hyundai marching towards luxury status.

• samenob_ on Apr 04, 2015 at 3:46 am

Luxury status but low RV, for what?

• kia and Hyundai owners are rich…they want style and individually. They can’t be bothered with RV like poor Toyota and Honda owners…

• samenob_ on Apr 04, 2015 at 7:13 pm

Are you sure they dun get funny looks from family during CNY gathering?

• kia is going so fast! great!

• Korean Fan on Apr 03, 2015 at 6:43 pm

This is no Kodo, but its Dodge Charger. Google to find out

• ss427 on Apr 04, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Guys this will be the next gen Kia Forte/Cerato!

Hey Sam, please tell everyone that this car, when its finally produced with most of the high tech gadgets intact, and the 200hp 1.6L GDI Turbo, and a 7 speed twin clutch transmission…. this next gen Kia Forte will have zero resale value again right?

Your stocks of Avanza and Innova and Fortuner will have max resale value anytime right?

Park this next to thr above 3… They could be mistaken as cars from North Korea.

hahaha…

• porkyslow on Apr 04, 2015 at 7:15 pm

Errr you mean THIS Kia car looks like N.Korean car?
      Lolol

• Annoynimouse on Apr 05, 2015 at 8:58 am

I think it look modern and nice. KIA are making nice looking cars now. If they are copying Audis, then they are doing it really well. Going from the Sephia to the ones the produce now just goes to show their progress and I don’t see them stopping any time soon. Their cars don’t drive as good but, many of us wont care. The MyVi don’t drive as good as well…

• Chyan on Apr 08, 2015 at 7:04 pm

Peter Schreyer was a former Audi designer and he penned most of their newer designs. You can say that Peter had his “touch” with Kia and Audi and made them one of a kind. Audi with their square grille and Kia with their Tiger Nose.

• Chyan on Apr 08, 2015 at 7:01 pm

I guess you guys have forgotten that Kia had bought over Peter Schreyer (a former Audi designer). So it’s not a surprise to see bits of European tinge on their concepts. Heck, he basically saved both Kia/Hyundai with his bold approach.

Also, one might forget that most global Ford models now are penned by Europeans instead of Americans.