UMW Toyota hopes govt will extend hybrid incentives – without them, Camry Hybrid could cost RM250k

toyota-camry-2015-malaysia-launch-pics-g 1074

By now you should know all there is to know about the 2015 Toyota Camry, thanks to our exhaustive launch report and first impressions review. While the 2.0 litre model boasts a host of upgrades including a brand new engine and six-speed gearbox, it is in fact the 2.5 Hybrid that’s in the limelight.

For not only is it the first hybrid D-segment sedan to officially go on sale in Malaysia, it is also the first Toyota hybrid to be locally-assembled (CKD), allowing it to join the Honda Jazz Hybrid (previous-gen model), Nissan Serena S-Hybrid and Mercedes-Benz S 400 Hybrid in being completely exempt from import and excise duties.

As a result, the Camry 2.5 Hybrid wears a competitive RM174,900 price tag – really not bad considering its high equipment levels (including safety – seven airbags, Blind Spot Monitor and Rear Cross Traffic Alert), technology, power and efficiency. As such, UMW Toyota expects it to be the bigger seller in the new Camry range by a huge margin – out of the 9,000 Camry units it targets to shift before the year is up, 7,000 are expected to be the Hybrid.

Toyota Camry Hybrid Line Off 2

But the full duty exemption enjoyed by CKD hybrids is set to expire after December 31, 2015, with Minister of International Trade and Industry Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed saying in January that there were no plans to extend the incentives. Still, UMW Toyota is negotiating for an extension, and according to president Datuk Ismet Suki, signs seem good so far.

“We have been in communication with the government and we are positive that the government will entertain our request seriously. The government understands the situation,” Ismet said at yesterday’s Camry launch, adding that without the hybrid incentives, or if the incentives end without extension, the Camry 2.5 Hybrid would probably cost around RM250k – a whole RM75k more than it does now.

The 2.5 Hybrid is the replacement for the 2.5V at the top of the previous Camry range, and Ismet revealed that there are no plans so far to introduce a non-hybrid 2.5 like the one we had before. With the hybrid incentives less than nine months away from expiration, could the decision be swinging in their favour?

2015 Toyota Camry 2.5 Hybrid

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• ProtonGSC on Apr 03, 2015 at 10:15 am

UMW had make all Toyota cars in Malaysia, expensive shit at the first place…

Why don’t UMW management just reduce the car price to be more valuable to Rakyat then they start to ask Govt for help…

Now UMW cars are too expensive compared to others company and they Ask Govt for lower tax?

Lousy crap UMW management !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 4
    • JB_KIA on Apr 03, 2015 at 11:44 am

UMWT, plz wait until you can sell your so called ‘with incentive’ Camry Hybrid well then you come up with this statement….

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 03, 2015 at 12:14 pm

Proton should instead do this before they called their Iriz “Betul2 OnZ”.

Camry Hybrid is selling hot now and me alone have sold 51 units since it was launched YESTERDAY!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
        • Sam CB number 2 on Apr 03, 2015 at 1:26 pm

Haha…congratulation, you have sold 52 panties with your new sales job at Parkson.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
        • Sam Cheras Flat Member on Apr 03, 2015 at 1:35 pm

Sam is saying he earn more than a price of proton per month, he also claims he is best top uncle junior sales man at Toyota. But the fact is, why is he staying at flat and why he bought saga for his son.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Nonsense on Apr 03, 2015 at 11:48 am

Just look at langkawi prices and tell us if the price is reasonable there.. then compare with pen malaysia.. now u see the tax difference.. thats why.. Toyota have to spend 180 million in investment to produce hybrid locally.. then govt suddenly end subsidy nobody buy the product.. then total waste of investment and with no ROI. Malaysia market is very small and does not justify for large companies to make high investments here. When they do, they need some form of assurance their investments are secure. Look at the big picture.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
      • Same L0rrrr on Apr 03, 2015 at 12:16 pm

When they can’t afford it, they blame the seller. They never learn the lesson: You get what you paid.

Look at the Proton the best example. Thus why people flock for perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
      • ProtonGSC on Apr 03, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Bigger picture??

By all the car price it listed by UMW are way expensive compared others…

Why UMW didn’t just ask Govt to lower the taxes on petrol car instead??? Just Hybrid alone because they’re losing profit???

Why can’t UMW think of customers 1st before themself???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • camrynoclass on Apr 03, 2015 at 12:24 pm

Count fuel cost for 20,000km/year
        You won’t get any benefit from the fuel saved by hybrid tech, why?

Because the price is ady like shiate.
        Better go for cheaper D segment car OR
        if owner dun mind, keep that shaitty jamban hybrid for 10 years, only after that can get the benefit.

So what’s the point of Camry Hybrid? Can throw into rubbish because it’s a rubbish car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
        • samloobigmouth on Apr 03, 2015 at 2:26 pm

This is very sane comment, same lorrr please answer!

• coasalle on Apr 03, 2015 at 5:15 pm

Same Lorrr could not answer because he is busy attending women in Jusco / Parkson

Lol

• prabowi on Apr 03, 2015 at 2:42 pm

If so just sell the damn car outside lor. Dont just sell in msia. If umw think they want to continue to suck our blood to pay of their investment then please dont even bother investing next time.

• Nonsense on Apr 07, 2015 at 10:07 am

you can always vote with your money.. Dont buy la. it is just that simple. Good product with good value also haters will bash. IMO this is a good effort by the company, if all of you cannot accept go make your own car la.. hahaha.

• Danny on Apr 03, 2015 at 10:19 am

Ooolaalaa……….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • George on Apr 03, 2015 at 10:32 am

UMW just stupid to make this statement, now blaming on Govt? When themself pricing the Toyota car way expensive compared others !!!

Who are they want to lies at???

Greedy and arrogant UMW management making stupid statement !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
    • Good RV for the long-haired “Hybid” model in white?

• Nobody will buy 250K toyota. Just like the prius increase to 200K+ nobody will buy already.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 6
  • Farker on Apr 03, 2015 at 10:20 am

Really meh?! You not greedy then stay the same price lo. Barking for what?

• Singh on Apr 03, 2015 at 10:26 am

Sounds and smells more like a sales tactic to make people rush and make a booking now? What will UMW think of next?! (Instead of thinking how to give back to the public by incorporating more safety features on the lower spec camrys).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • x-city on Apr 03, 2015 at 10:27 am

It’s to late…right

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 03, 2015 at 10:28 am

One of the reasons why they might get away with it is many government offices do use Camrys for the higher ranking officials. So that may be a consideration.

But if they don’t, then don’t expect the hybrid to continue to be on sale, instead the 2.5 will be back, cause the 180k mark is a very popular price point.

• Nathan Ferdinand on Apr 03, 2015 at 10:30 am

What the… RM250k? Does UMW really crazy about pricing?

Better get Mazda6, Accord or Optima. I don’t care about good RV or anything else, all we need is safety and quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • Joe Hung on Apr 03, 2015 at 10:36 am

aduhai… umw.
    no point la. no tax incentive also no ppl buy ur junks.
    pls la we are not stupid.

• U said this statement n u believe that v just shook our heads in yes mode.their style will never change they think they r pass this message to orang kampong.
    Business means full of lies n only care about their $$$$profit only.

• cendol (Member) on Apr 03, 2015 at 10:48 am

Next in line will be Honda Accord Hybrid.
    Then rebadge by Proton.
    Voila, we have our own first hybrid car.

• Jimmy on Apr 03, 2015 at 11:01 am

If 2.0L Accordana come in with 6 airbags + ESP with price below 110k, then it is the best deal. 2.5L for 120k should be fine. I learned that Mazda6 is approaching 200k; when it sells well, businessman will increase price sebarangan sesuka hati. There must be more competitions to keep check on the prices, avoiding excessive unreasonable keuntungan.

‘<30% cost, 40% profit’ has since when become the norm.

• Toyota stick on 200% profit

• kadajawa on Apr 03, 2015 at 6:39 pm

Don’t lie. In Langkawi they don’t want 200% profit kah? We buy cars at 2x the price is because the G wants to protect the useless Proton, who can’t compete if all cars are tax in the same way

• Dun tell me other countries dun practice such protection

• Ayo my friend you want to buy ten units to start a Taxi fleet, then you can get special price, so noisy no money

• Jimmy on Apr 03, 2015 at 1:17 pm

My statement was modified.
        Out of 100% what you paid, less than 30% is the cost(everything included), less than 30% goes to taxes, and there is a > 40% profit made.
        Example: for a car RM200K, the profit margin is at least 80K.

• I am PRO on Apr 03, 2015 at 11:18 am

this old snake already got plan and belakang mari know government will extend for them la.

or else they where got so bold to introduce the hybrid!!

• Nasty UMW on Apr 03, 2015 at 11:27 am

UMW makes toyota fail in malaysia.
    According hybrid incentive,
    the camry hybrid should be priced less than 150K.

Don worry, cronies will make extension for CKD hybrid.
    The hybrid margin is more than conventional gasoline camry!

Top 2 Jap brand making CKD hybrid. Production invested.
    Hybrid incentive 100% confirmed extended. Unless… the Najis fall down, Dr.M ‘s group return with power…
    Hybrid incentive will be cut!

• cobra on Apr 03, 2015 at 11:46 am

Audi A6H was only selling below RM300k when it was launched. How can a junk Jap going for RM250k. Utter rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • jarhead on Apr 03, 2015 at 12:25 pm

Uh….Audi 300k WITH hybrid incentives vs 250k Camry WITHOUT incentives. The Audi would’ve cost double without these incentives.

• what laa cobra?? on Apr 03, 2015 at 12:33 pm

Hi CObra..

Audi A6H was selling at below RM300k with special Hybrid exemption incentives for CBU cars. now that there are no more incentives of that kind, they don’t even want to offer it to the Malaysian market.. perhaps you should figure out already why.
      Its similar now that all CKD hybrids in Malaysia are enjoying similar exemptions, but they are only up to end of this year before the so-called customized NAP incentives kicks in. I understand where this is coming from and I will not be surprised if other hybrid assemblers are also actually lobbying the govt for such extension, only that they are not announcing it to the public yet, probably because there are no guarantees they can get it. let’s see how it goes…

• Snobs on Apr 03, 2015 at 12:12 pm

Haha, all i can see is UMW trying to induce panic buying for the Camry Hybrid. Buy now while it’s still ‘only’ 175k because next year the price will be 250k. BTW, 250k is a ridiculous amount of money to pay for a non-premium Japanese car. Even the 175k tax-exempted price is still quite high considering that it’s a CKD. Oh yeah, pity that UMW still maintain the mentality of lower spec buyers’ lifes worth less than top spec buyers’.

• Vincent on Apr 03, 2015 at 2:10 pm

Great to see that you have see this so call marketing strategy. Statement that UMW come out is just intend to remind everyone that you are paying MYR175K and get 250K kind of goods. They just wanted to sell all 7000 units that they have asap.

Sad to see a lot still feel and see this statement as UMW wanted to follow Proton to ask tongkat from Government.

They themselves is well knowing that at 250K, people will take Lexus ES250…not even comparing those luxury brand with BMW, Audi, and Mercedes.

• annonymous on Apr 03, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Crazy man. For this 250k, I rather get a BMW 320i or A3 2.0. So much much much more better than this hybrid thingy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • ben yap on Apr 03, 2015 at 12:33 pm

since UMW like to raise price and lower spec, gov no need to extend the hybrid incentives. so now UMW can raise the price as they like and enjoy “good” sales.

• gaviny on Apr 03, 2015 at 1:09 pm

guys, read between the lines lah, it’s a marketing spin to create the illusion that the car is worth 2x than what they are selling it for, something like super deal for your money

• brazbuz on Apr 03, 2015 at 2:54 pm

They should start the vsc incentive first for their car line up

• Coolken on Apr 03, 2015 at 3:18 pm

I have always never a Toyota supporter.. But at the moment, the Camry Hybrid is really quite good.. Just saw it.. Previously checked out the Mazda6, teana and accord.. And i think this Camry just edged them in terms of value and all in package.. So and so i decided to place a booking… Pls dun hate me..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Lets be honest guys, this CAMRY does not make your status level up. CAMRY just a car that daily used by everyone, same goes to civic, altis etc..Don’t get me wrong here, they are indeed very reliable car but does it really worth that kind of money to buy a CAMRY at cheapest 150k? NO VSC and 2 airbags? The way i look at it for CAMRY is CAMRY shared the same status with altis, civic or even mazda 3. So why bother! But this is just my point of view looking at the CAMRY. Some might think driving a CAMRY shows that you are up there or u made it up there. If some said, we just need a car that bring us from A to B not because we want to show or LANSI or status than i think the City V spec is a better buy and why bother to overpaid this junk.

• vised on Apr 03, 2015 at 5:19 pm

Even Hybrid one is not “Hybrid” actually.
      Why? Because the price kills the frugal benefits.
      Poor Camry.

• I don’t know why the car dealers think hybrid should command a premium. Fuel savings is nice but battery is a risk even with long warranty. Proton going to hybrid would be biggest mistake. If people already don’t trust Proton quality with normal engine, why would that change with hybrid tech? People buy Proton bcos of price period. None of the pricier Protons sold well. A pricy hybrid Proton?? Hmmm…

• taknak on Apr 04, 2015 at 3:33 pm

250k for a japanese hybrid…LOL.

the gov is always ping-pong in deciding anything…this year..hybrid tax-free, next year no…following year…dunno…must roll a dice to see maybe ?.
    zzzzzz…..

• Mahal2 on Apr 04, 2015 at 8:13 pm

Wah, minister also damn LANSY!!, Not sure whether wants to extend the incentives for Hybrid car by end 2015!! What frikin incentive. WITH INCENTIVE ALSO, THE BLARDY CARS ARE STILL EXPENSIVE LA! Mangkuk! And Toyota has hell of a hope thinking can sell so many cars. I really hope and pray nobody support your EXPENSIVE car!

• Illya Kuryakin on Apr 05, 2015 at 5:42 pm

Can the Hybrid run on Ron 95?

• Tortuga on Apr 06, 2015 at 12:14 am

No point buying this 2.5V Hybrid if the incentive is not continued. End up with a “lost generation” of Camry that no-one else wants

• y all need to see the tax margin also. madness, 75%.

what imported car also hard to sell.

look at langkawi price. vios most exp also 72k for top spec.

similar to other makes. if p1 & 2 no need so much protection then things can b much better. if the city was like 50k for s grade I don’t think ppl will hv so much issues and all cars can hv all the safety stuff even if need to add money coz the final price still lower than wat we hv now.

we all know whr the real issue is

• Sense on Apr 12, 2015 at 11:09 am

250k?LOL!There’s much more choices out there !!

• Suitable to be use as Taxi as in US,Then it will worth with current Malaysian Taxi fares