Dongfeng Fengshen L60 is a Peugeot 408 for RM54k

dongfeng-fengshen-l60-1

No, the headline is not a stab at another Chinese rip-off. Instead, with photos from CarNewsChina, we can see that the Dongfeng Fengshen L60 is a genuine, heavily-rebadged Peugeot 408 that is the result of a joint-development programme between Dongfeng-PSA and Dongfeng Motor, which owns Fengshen.

Launched recently, the L60 rides on the PSA PF2 platform which underpins the outgoing Peugeot 408, not the latest one unveiled at the Auto China 2014 show which sits on the PSA EMP2 platform. So while it may share its internals with the Pug, the L60 does look different enough compared to its French cousin.

Gone is the familiar Pug front grille, to be replace by a rather tasteful layout, replete with LED daytime running lights. At the rear, the car receives chunkier-looking tail lamps while the third window just aft of the main frame appears to sport a black plastic cover.

The only elements that are distinctly 408-esque are the five-spoke alloys which appear similar enough to the ‘Rinjani‘ alloys featured on the 2.0 litre version on sale in Malaysia and its side profile. Under the bonnet, two engine options are available – a 1.6 litre with 115 hp/150 Nm and a 1.8 litre with 137 hp/172 Nm.

Both powerplants can be mated to either a five-speed manual or six-speed automatic transmission. Word on the vine is that Dongfeng is currently working on a 1.4 litre turbocharged unit that nestle in the engine bay of future L60s. Prices for the Dongfeng Fengshen L60 begin at 89,700 yuan (RM53,577) and top out at 129,700 yuan (RM77,469) – effectively making this one of the most affordable cars in its segment in China.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• albag on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:21 pm

that Volkswagen face.. originality my arse!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
    • theanswer on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:03 am

nope..nope. actually the car looks like roewe 350 (mg 350) from china. more or less front and back.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:29 am

This kind of wannabe cars are popular here full with wanna ppl. Didn’t you see the Impreza Saga, GTR Waja on the road?

• Same Lorrrr Lingerie Sdn Bhd on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:30 am

This is like China bra. They copy Wacoal. Also quality also not that good as ori

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
      • Gold Avanza on Apr 07, 2015 at 3:33 pm

Hey let’s JV together for automotive sports bra. Now I have design for avanza amd hailat inspired bra.

UMW Toyotar going bust (pun not intended) so have to diversify.

• Asian Volvo on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Better than Preve inside out. Enuff said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 53
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:20 pm

Wow, a kimchi competitor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • Better than Proton on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:51 pm

Cheaper and better than Proton. But come here becomes RM100k to protect you know who, then people will say overpriced.

Enough with this crap, can we close down Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 20
    • kadajawie on Apr 07, 2015 at 7:28 am

Even that Great Wall M4 car price only RM35k in China but sold here at RM50k+ despite being locally assembled.

Mesti ada hantu go tell Naza GWM group to jack up the price or else lose the EEV status.

• antiP1 on Apr 07, 2015 at 8:05 am

tax is normal in other country also…look kimchi itself, tax for imported car is sky high, their ppl keep supporting hyundai kia daewoo ssangyong…seems u’re very keen on close down proton, perhaps hidden agenda is there…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • Is this story about proton… Samdol..

• So much of bashing, reminds me of the time when proton rebadged lancer-inspira.

• young&dangerous on Apr 07, 2015 at 8:08 am

once upon a time, there was a 2 young men having their breakfast and start heading back to their office….

A: hey dude, jom naik kereta aku…
    B: boleh2, wow…ini mesti kes kereta baru ni…
    A: haruslah, just bought DongFeng…
    B: cool bro…dongfeng is my wishlist
    A: luckily the SA give me big discount…after consider all the taxes, gst, gst on loan, bla…bla…bla…
    B: u are lucky bro…i wish i could be like u…having a dongfeng for my hari raya nanti.

DongFeng is good…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • taugeh on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:09 am

When proton rebagdged….bashed like hell
    When China rebagdged…..compliment
    We know why.

• horny sambal on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:40 am

Look better than the current 408. Somehow the current 408 in Malaysia design look incomplete especially from the rear. Just my 2 sen.

• gmorque on Apr 08, 2015 at 9:23 pm

Paultan punya tajuk mmg selalu misleading.. Letak dalam rm padahal bukan jual kat malaysia.. Hampas..