Singaporean cars to pay RM20 VEP from August 1

singapore road

It is confirmed. Singaporean cars entering Malaysia via Johor (Causeway and Second Link Expressway) will have to pay a RM20 vehicle entry permit (VEP) fee come August 1 this year.

The Star quoted Deputy Transport Minister Datuk Abdul Aziz Kaprawi as saying that the proposed RM20 rate will remain as it was seen to be “appropriate at this point of time”.

He said that the postponement from June to August is because there are several issues that have to be fine-tuned before implemen­ting the VEP. “Among the aspects that we have to look into are the installation of the gantries at the entry points in Johor Baru and the procurement process,” Abdul Aziz told reporters in JB.

The Malaysian VEP will be in effect all-day, everyday. Malaysian-registered cars entering Singapore have to pay a S$35 (RM94) VEP fee on weekdays between 2 am and 5 pm, but VEP is not charged on weekends, Singapore public holidays, 10 business days per calendar year and between 5 pm and 2 am on other weekdays.

Next up is the north. The deputy minister said that the government plans to impose VEP on foreign vehicles entering Malaysia from Thailand next year. What are your views on this VEP issue with our neighbours?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ini Putrajaya dun know Johor economy depends on Singaporean so much…money enter straight to gpvernment pocket instead of vendors pocket…mati lah johor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 32
    • Singapore Is Rich on Apr 06, 2015 at 11:43 am

RM 20 is not even SGD 10 – Singaporean can sap sap sui pay easily onelah!

It should have been more, at least SGD 20!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 10
      • Paul Cheah Yuh Yuan on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:10 pm

Sap Sap Sui for Singaporean…but when the knee jerk reactions comes, eventually it is our own citizens who will have to bore the brunt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Don’t complaints on Gov to much “If don’t like this and that just go to others country”

We help Rakyat better look at Gst6% help Gov economic grow… Lousy opposition just shut up and get out !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
    • fukken yiu khad on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:42 pm

I don’t know? I was born and brought up in JB. A minor RM20 do no harm to Singaporeans. They collected VEP from foreign vehicles since the 70s. I’m glad to be the one who proposed this. And we should already implement this way back in 2006. They have been using our facilities and roads for free. If you care so much for them then just pay for em.

p/s: paul, it’s not only for Singaporeans, but any foreign vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • u so cheap..rm20 also u complain..u think all these investors spending billion on johor will be put of coming here because of rm20?

• Good move. Rm 20 is roughly SG 7.40 only. I am sure Singaporeans can afford to pay that, when they spend hundreds or thousands of RM towards entertainment, food, shopping and medications.

Let gov get some too. Good move.
    Hopefully the My Gov will put its foot down and implement this flawlessly..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 14
    • cendol (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 12:18 pm

You forgot Malaysians driving Singapore registered car to go SIngapore to earn a living.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
      • Almost 90% of the Malaysians who work in Singapore commute by motor cycle.

If you have crossed the border in the early morning from Johor to SG, on weekdays, its more Singapore registered cars that’s crossing the bridge/s. Its either Singaporeans who earn in SG in SGD and living in Malaysia eating up our resources cheaply or its Malaysians who can afford to buy cars in Singapore and living in Malaysia.

SG Gov doesn’t like that either. Not Malaysia’s fault that SG increased the VEP.

MY Gov should review the VEP every two years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • fukken yiu khad on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Yes, we did took that into considerations. Earning in SGD and driving Singapore’s registered vehicles meaning you CAN AFFORD to pay that RM20.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • Some have to use their life savings to buy Sg registered cars because of safety. There are so many deaths and most of them are motorcyclist. So whats the point of saving money and end up dying on the road? So they use the savings to buy car not because they want to show off.
          All of you have to remember that what ever the sigapore gov does it benefits singaporeans. But when ever our malaysian gov does something that makes us suffer more. Those who are commuting daily are malaysians and not singaporeans. So when they raised the causeway toll charges it is the malaysians who suffer. Now they want to implement VEP, again its the malaysians who r going to suffer. If they can earn better in malaysia why these malaysians have to go through the massive jam of 2 – 3 hours just to get to work? So if the gov cant help then the least they can to is stop burdening those who are working in sg.

• Another Malaysian on Apr 06, 2015 at 3:44 pm

not only they can afford it, they are working in SG and buying car in SG paying SG taxes only. Its about time they pay some taxes. This plus GST sounds about right.

• I don’t think RM20 is enough. should be more than that or half or what Msian are paying for VEP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • JB_KIA on Apr 06, 2015 at 12:40 pm

hahaaa, u should wait for announcement from S’pore LTA then decide whether it is good or bad…

• Why its too late..

• Alex Chow on Apr 06, 2015 at 12:02 pm

Malaysia you’re kidding me right? we need to encourage Singaporean to spend in Malaysia instead of stopping them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
    • fukken yiu khad on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:46 pm

You think they don’t want to encourage Malaysian from entering Singapore? Then why the hell did they charged us with ridiculous fees? Do you even been in Singapore?

• rm20 will stop them? so kiasu one leh.

• cendol (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 12:17 pm

How about Malaysians driving Singapore-registered cars going to and fro Singapore for work?
    Do they have to pay VEP also?
    Last time government said these group of people are exempted

• bukan macai on Apr 06, 2015 at 12:22 pm

adalah tu sebab gov letak rm20 je. mungkin taknak menjejaskan ekonomi perlancongan di negara kita.

• What’s next? Singapore LTA not happy. Also charge $35 all day for Malaysian car entering Sg. All Malaysian working in Sg whether pr/ non-Pr, all die.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • What’s next? Singapore LTA not happy. Also charge $35 all day for Malaysian car entering Sg. All Malaysian working in Sg whether pr/ non-Pr, all die. Now i can work after 5pm, Saturday/ Sunday, sonce everyday also charge, all Malaysian can hit the wall. Economic in Jb? Stranded. Property value plummeted and hit rock bottom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • Malaysia: Short term gain, long term loss
    Singapore: No effect

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • cendol (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:18 pm

Singapore definitely more happy.
      Less SGD go out of Singapore, spend locally in their country.
      Malaysia cry, all properties Singaporeans don’t want buy d.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • you think they care? now SGD1=RM2.60. Singapore is one of the richest countries in the world, and definitely quite expensive. Those kiasu singaporeans don’t really care because it’s much cheaper if compared to shopping in their own country. every weekend we had to endure traffic jam in EDL as those singaporean cars are clogging the road en route back to singapore!

• Honestly? SG doesn’t give a rat ass if it is rm100.

Malaysians commuting to SG for work? More conversion to motorbikes or carpooling.

Economy in JB? We’ll see.

End effect? More disgruntled Malaysians.

• kopi 0 kao kao on Apr 06, 2015 at 3:14 pm

First few months, sure have knee jerk reaction, JB business and Legoland will be ghost town, JB high price condo will be hit kao kao this year…Last time Woodland raise toll, people kaopeh kaobu…after a few months…Sporean still flooging to JB shopping and eating again…so the history will repeat it self one lah

• Singapore does it: *cricket sound*

Malaysia does it: ALL RAGE! MUST PROTECT SINGAPORE INTEREST! JB TIU! NAJIB TIU! BN TIU! SONGLAP! CRONY! CORRUPT! ETC! ETC! ETC!

• John Doe on Apr 06, 2015 at 7:38 pm

Those who said the property in JB will plummet becoz no more Singaporeans will come and invest, is utter BS! I just sold off one shoplot in Nusajaya, bought RM500k, less then 3 years, sold to a Penang guy for RM1.6mil. Agent went to Singapore to ask anyone there want to buy, not even a single one! And 2 doors away from my lot, also sold off around the same time, same price to another guy from Sarawak.

• Those who say that Singaporeans can pay, yeah it is true. They can afford it cos they only come to JB once a week. Its the malaysians who are going to suffer. First the causeway toll was raise from RM2.90 to RM16.40. Who is suffering? Thousands of malaysians who commute daily not singaporeans. And now this! The Malaysian gov have swindled and mismanaged our money and now they are trying to get more money by TOLL, GST and now VEP. End of the day its malaysians who are suffering more and more.

• fukken yiu khad on Apr 07, 2015 at 1:07 pm

Talk kok only la you. The facilities are there for a purpose. And you have pay to use that facilities. Use Singapore’s for better safety? X pernah pergi Singapore jgn berbual korteiyy boleh x raj babu? The reason they purchase singapore’s vehicle is to avoid vep. which is more expensive. Either way you still have to pay.