DRB-Hicom to export Volkswagen cars to Indonesia

CKD_VW_Polo_1.6_review_Malaysia_ 001

DRB-Hicom is planning to export Volkswagens Polo and Jetta to Indonesia in the near future, Bernama reports. According to International Trade and Industry minister Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed, the first export batch would comprise 500 units locally-assembled (CKD) at DRB-Hicom’s Pekan plant.

“The export is in line with the government’s aim to see more export for locally-assembled cars, and DRB-Hicom’s objective when it allocated more than RM1 billion in setting up this complex in Pekan. Indonesia will be the first country (exported to) because of the facilities provided by its government for DRB-Hicom to export the cars,” the national news agency quoted him as saying.

Volkswagen Malaysia has been talking about exporting the Polo (Sedan as well as Hatch) and Jetta to ASEAN since late last year. MD Armin Keller said in October 2014 that these models now incorporate 40% local or ASEAN content – a requirement for ASEAN-assembled cars to gain import duty exemptions if they are exported to other countries in the region, under the ASEAN Free Trade Area (AFTA) agreement.

Volkswagen Jetta CKD 4

Right-hand drive markets like Thailand and Indonesia will be the initial focus, but Keller did not rule out producing left-hand drive cars for countries such as Vietnam and the Philippines if the business case “makes sense.” DRB-Hicom builds Volkswagens Polo Hatch, Polo Sedan, Jetta and Passat in Pekan.

However, Volkswagen Malaysia recently previewed the Polo facelift at the plant – we wonder if the model intended for export is this, or the pre-facelift.

Currently, Proton, Perodua (which exports its cars to Indonesia badged as Daihatsu models), Hyundai, Mazda, Peugeot, Volvo and Subaru are exporting cars from Malaysia to other countries in the ASEAN region due to the favourable tax breaks.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• in be4 why should indon import VW when they can assemble themselves.

• Heng Lee on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:51 pm

Why Japan is importing the Honda Accord from the US when they can assemble themselves?

• Nathan Ferdinand on Apr 07, 2015 at 8:04 am

I’m in doubt about this.
      Indon already have a plant for assemble VW cars there. Then, why DRB-Hicom export some cars to indon if they have a plant?

• only 500 unit.. tanniah

• VW – overpriced. not reliable.

• Dont think VW is overpriced. And its reliable btw. if try look at Passat CC. The price is par with BMW, Audi, Citroen and many more. What im trying to say is, the ‘overpriced’ that youre talking about, its the quality is what im saying.

• pooooop on Apr 08, 2015 at 5:10 pm

vw overpriced leh? Wah. i ask u, did u know there are some car brands with the price is on par like peugeot, citroen and so any other car like vw? the price is equivalent to its quality. if u argue about the quality, these 2 brands also got problems. Next!

• sampah on Apr 08, 2015 at 5:37 pm

vw not overpriced la. u think other cars dont have problem meh? even bmw also got problem.

• lapsap on Apr 08, 2015 at 5:48 pm

german got its own quality leh. so the price suits its quality. reliable? all cars got probs 1, its just so many ppl bought vw.

• exporting potential problems , hopefully wont be bashed..

• Pardon? on Apr 08, 2015 at 10:16 am

The problem is a hater like you. Most of us already know that most of the issues from VW have already been resolved. why bother comment here if u hate VW? Go get a life. for your own sake.

• kopi petang on Apr 08, 2015 at 5:07 pm

Ayya, they are planning meh. Not yet export. U so pro meh? already know got prob. the cars not even manufactured yet you already know the problem? Try to read this link. Merc S Class got prob meh? No right? :)

http://www.drb-hicom.com/cms/SolutionPages/Business%20Content.aspx?ContentID=725a86fe-42ec-4676-bafd-d21933ddae71

• luke sembuh on Apr 08, 2015 at 6:02 pm

how u know meh? the project still on planning phase, yet u know all about it? pls look at drb hicom website. they also produce s class. there, it stated that mercedes s class will be assembled out of Germany and u think, that merc quality and class change? no, for sure! it will still be the same.

• When VW Thailand manufacturing plant on full swing later with 300000 car perannum, DRB Hicom gonna jialat “die hard” liao.. Continue SS..

• sudatataklaku on Apr 06, 2015 at 7:49 pm

export aa? why? tara laku sini? better lah.. export the problem to other country.. sitting too long in the storeyard also no use..