W205 Mercedes-Benz C 160, possible BMW 316i rival?

W205_Mercedes-Benz_C_250_AMG_Line_Malaysia_10

Mercedes-Benz has introduced a new entry-level variant to its W205 range. Now available in Europe, the W205 Mercedes-Benz C 160 will cost €31,683 (RM126,395) in sedan form while the more estate body style carries a starting price tag of €33,349 (RM133,250). Deliveries are set to begin in June.

Under the hood, things are suitably modest with a 1.6 litre four-cylinder mill providing 129 hp – a decrease of 25 hp compared to the previous generation petrol-powered W204 C 180. The only transmission on offer is a six-speed manual transmission, as Mercedes-Benz has omitted the 7G-Tronic Plus automatic ‘box.

The transmission aside, this could very well be an excellent cut-price alternative to the BMW 316i. The entry-level 3er is priced at RM209,800 here in Malaysia, so if the W205 C 160 gets introduced here (hopefully with an automatic gearbox), here’s hoping it’ll carry a similar price tag!

GALLERY: W205 Mercedes-Benz C 200 Avantgarde vs F30 BMW 320d Sport Line

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Bring it to Malaysia pls … good move …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Accordana on Apr 06, 2015 at 11:00 am

Mercedes will not survive if they don’t copy what BMW is doing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 25
    • Even though only have 129HP, C160 still far better than lousy new FL Camry 2.5 hybrid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
      • RVKing on Apr 06, 2015 at 1:05 pm

How about RV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
        • Jilbaber (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:01 pm

Mercedes RV is not that bad in continental car league..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • hp is not too important….i’ll bet that its got good 240++nm of torque from lowish 1,500rpm onwards…thats what make a car more effortless to drive unless u’re going to drive 180kph above 247 which is most likely not…up to 120-150kph, good torque from low rev will be much better than those pre-turbo ivtec top heavy hp/torque figures

• How lousy is the Camry Hybrid?

• Bring it on! Lets the people have a choice to choose. Some want power they can go for the higher CC. As for 1.6 is good for women drivers. As i can see, many auntie drivers on the road driving the 250 E class i felt wasted cause they tend to drive very slow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 13
    • lithium on Apr 06, 2015 at 11:55 am

wow this comment is so sexist. don’t generalised women driver with low power cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • Bro, not offending women, just saying. Cause normally women don’t really care about whats in the hood. They only care about the brand. You get what i mean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • GERMAN CAR LOVER AKA JIAN (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 3:28 pm

My wife drives a Golf R!!!! Not necessarily women drive lower power cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • winwin on Apr 08, 2015 at 9:21 am

It is only available in 6 speed manual. You think m’sians will buy ?? I don’t think so.

• Bagus… “now everyone can drive” a proper luxury sedan with lower price, lower petrol bill and lower road tax..

Now waiting for Audi to put in its 1.4TFSI 140bhp into its A4.. lagi lower road tax.. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • heybadigol (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:47 am

If they did bring it here, won’t it affect sales of the CLA200 sedan? In all honesty, anybody buying a Mercedes (or luxury cars in general), would prefer a C Class to a CLA, no matter what engine capacity disadvantage the C Class will have. The fact that the CLA has a clunky and unluxurious gearbox makes the case even stronger.

• powershot (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 11:41 am

CLA also very cramp. handling is so so only

• annonymous on Apr 06, 2015 at 1:32 pm

I don’t think it would really be the case because the C160 would most probably appeal to those people who is looking for value for money. Meanwhile CLA is appealing to the people who fall into its look.

Anyway, we still need to look at the official specification and the equipment our MBM brings in first. Just like what Gregory mentioned, the only transmission offer for C160 is 6-speed manual transmission.

• Francis on Apr 07, 2015 at 2:55 pm

6 Speed Manual is sweet, the lesser electronic involved, lesser headache of ownership. Please bring this 6MT and sell below 170K and you shall see your sales grows..

• VHL Lorr on Apr 08, 2015 at 5:06 pm

If they bring in these model (C160 with 6MT) at right pricing, i will seriously consider this as one of my personal ‘family’ car (RV, most, even i know manual here no RV, but i don’t care as i will use it for long term).

Manual gearbox nowadays have these electronics (that is hill start assist and also start-up system that require user to depress fully the clutch before the engine can be started), but still more fun to drive (provided the clutch is light with sweet and slick rowing of gear) than even 7G-Tronic auto that sometimes quite lacking when trying to overtake that i have to use flappy paddle shift (i’ve driven both A200 and GLA200 before this year).

• Forget bout Camry.. Just get this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Drive a Camry people will forget you, drive a Conti people will talk about you forever.

• VHL Lorr on Apr 08, 2015 at 7:02 pm

Not really agree about Camry part, because driving a Camry, people will remember them as one of the biggest species of ‘sorhai tai lan ngong’ (buy RM150k junk that don’t have VSC and with just 2 airbags, lots of well specced cars with lower price than ‘jamban junk’ Camry)

• Faiza on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:53 am

RM126k in Europe

Comes to bolehland starting from RM350k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
    • It will never go that high, but the price will hover around the 200+ – close to BMW 316…

• C200 only cost RM286k in Malaysia

• 350k??? c200 also cheaper than that.. came on la bro.. dont b so lazy to read..

• Gracke on Apr 06, 2015 at 11:01 am

First, don’t think this will price at lower price tag and lower 25hp somemore, this kind of engine like in the A200, it SUCKS!!! Once you test drive will know and after bought it will regret. Don’t waste time and money, there are many choices if over 200k, Mercedes….do not fool us anymore!! :-(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • blaster88 on Apr 06, 2015 at 11:33 am

I agree, if they fit the A200 1.6lit engine….it would be a letdown. This powerplant is rough, unresponsive and underpowered…esp mated to the current gearbox.

• Same L0rrr on Apr 06, 2015 at 11:09 am

Buy Toyota better, good RV. Conti quality with Malaysian price.

Latest Camry booking: 60

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 56
    • Only sohai buy Camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • D Special 1 on Apr 06, 2015 at 12:04 pm

People buy Toyota always thinking of selling it?? Always talking bout Resale Value! I personally like Proton, Ford, Honda & BMW

• VHL Lorr on Apr 08, 2015 at 2:26 pm

Of course, people buy ‘jamban junk’ UMW Toyota always thinking of selling it right after take delivery until the 18th of the month where they will shouting ‘Hai Lat Lorrr’ like ‘orang gila’ after trade-in value quoted less than 50% from original price after 12 – 18 months (kena tipu by their salesman that RV is so good).

• better buy H than T lah..

• Should not be more than RM150k. Already RM50k above 129hp Japanese brand.

if not, bloody overpriced, just another Kosong cramped C-segment by Germans.

• I personally like New Mazda 6.

• germaines on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:46 pm

120+ horsepower and rm200k? you’d be a fool to buy that underpowered piece of crap. save up and buy a C200/C250 if you wanna drive a merc, no money don’t then dont buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • I kinda agree with you.. but when we think again.. some might right.. maybe some uncle would buy this for their wife to send their kids to school or pasar.. they don’t need power.. they just need a merc.

• It is like drive a merz with Persona engine…

• pandir on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:37 pm

dont.u.ever.critics.proton..they.are.as.good.as.volvo..