GST: All Jaguar models pricier, by RM1,000-25,000

Jaguar_XJL_001

Jaguar Malaysia has released new prices with GST – in a striking turn, all models are pricier by between RM1,000 and RM25,000, representing jumps of between 0.09% and 4.17%.

The XF 2.0 Ti, the most affordable Coventry cat in the local range, gets a RM10k bump to cross the RM400k fence, while the range-topping XF 3.0 Supercharged Petrol is RM25k dearer at RM623,888.

Jaguar GST price list

The imposing XJ sees (comparatively) modest price increases of between RM10k and 20k to cost RM654k-889k. Curiously, the F-Type V6 S is now RM15,000 costlier when the F-Type R is just RM1,000 dearer.

This news comes as a surprise amidst the general lowering of car prices post-GST en masse, but Jaguar Malaysia says the price increases are mostly due to the rise of the US Dollar. Many companies use the US Dollar as trading currency.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• protonsucks on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:22 am

BUT WHY ?? anyone have a reliable source on why they increase ?

• Jaguar Malaysia Serivce Center on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:36 am

Jaguar Malaysia very very greedy. Have you been to their service centre in Glenmarie? Such a posh brand but the service centre got no place to sit or have coffee. They do serve water.

Honda and Toyota even serve milo, biscuits and coffee. Jaguar, a premium brand servces water. No biscuits. No water. No chairs to sit. You can stand and see through a glass windows your car being serviced.

Jaguar Malaysia, please stop being so pariah. Put up your prices but treat customers like dogs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
      • frossonice on Apr 07, 2015 at 2:50 pm

Yes, because owning a Jaguar, I have no other car at my disposal and have to wait for my Jag to get fix at service centre while lamenting about the place for not serving me a cup of milo and biscuits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Gargantia on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:54 am

Bolehland “cronies policies right”.

Decrease always less then 0.9%, when increase always more then 2%.

Thanks DrM… “never make wrong decisions”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
      • Same Lorrrr Cheras Flat resident on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:03 pm

Go to the service centre. Only 1 in KL in Glenmarie. Got no place to sit for customers. No drinks also. Just serve water and no food. No biscuits even. That is how bad Jaguar in Malaysia is. Such a premium brand but you got to stand whilst your car is being serviced

• applegreen on Apr 07, 2015 at 2:54 pm

Actually they got a lot of food for customers but then all of it gave to their Jaguars.

• Betul Tak? on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:24 pm

Now I can see how GST really benefit the rich people more.

Look at the price drop (value wise, not percentage) so huge, and mostly for luxury cars.

But for cheap cars, only few cents also declare it as big news.

Simply put, GST lebih bagus untuk tolong orang kaya daripada orang miskin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
    • Why u bother? Nobody buy anyway.

• Although US currency is higher nowadays.. Can’t help myself but to say this “so much for the promise for price reduction”

• Aero (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:26 am

British is the new German. Gotta love a Jaaaaaaggg. :D

Seriously, if I had that kind of money, I’d skip the Germans for something a little different, I’d get a Jag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • Same Lorrrr Cheras Flat resident on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:51 am

Brader, the whole car is using Ford parts la. Jaguar is just a Ford with a Jaguar emblem on it.

Only a real fool will buy a Jaguar. Nearly every part they share with Ford. Dulu sama company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
      • symusty on Apr 09, 2015 at 6:28 am

They are moving away from Ford derived platforms starting this year.

• Vamp99 on Apr 07, 2015 at 2:18 pm

It’s no longer a British car. Js glorified Indian’s car. Same goes to Lotus, glorified Malaysian’s car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Jimmy on Apr 07, 2015 at 4:51 pm

Highest class saloons: RR or B. They are British.

Even Jaguar is slightly more prestigeous.

• Many claimed that USD currency strong and higher therefore car price won’t drop much (except this Jaguar). What if one day USD currency drop? Will car price drop again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • For rich man it is just increase of RM1 or RM2…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • kenot on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:47 am

yup..agreed with your. this car is not for rakyat marhaen..so, no bother.

only hope more reduction for middle class car.

• Jaguar Conman Company on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:33 am

Jaguar Malaysia aka Sime Darby is such a conman company. These cars are so cheap in the US and also Europe. How much profit do the thieves in Malaysia and Sisma want to earn from each car?

The XJ 3.0 in the US is about US$71,000 (RM250k).

Lets focus on the XJ. Its about RM250k. Here, they sell RM888,000

Berapa mahu untung bang??? Aren’t you bloody greedy?

Don’t forget, this is the US selling price after the US Jaguar already earn profit. Jaguar Malaysia will get this car far cheaper direct from its principal in the UK. Being the official country distributor, Jaguar Malaysia may get this car for US$50k

So compare….US$50k (Rm180k) but sell RM888,000

• So is KPDNKK is going to take action against Jag? Well, come to think of it, who is driving Jag nowadays?

• aero tourer on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:00 pm

Why cars under Sime Darby Group have no price reduced save for Ford i.e. reduced by max RM100!!!? No change in prices for BMW, but huge increased for Jaguar and Range Rover.

• Gold Avanza on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:38 pm

To pay for condo project in london. We in own country got no house but monkey in forest all give milk.

• Josh Ling on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:04 pm

there goes the BN 30% car price drop. poor BN, thought they could do a very good publicity after this round of “price reduction”, but guess it may have to be postponed further back.

• Sgt Scoop on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:22 pm

No big deal. Nobody buys Jags here anyway.

• Amran on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:23 pm

BN and its cronies can burn. We are goina attack them real soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Ha Gnih on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Don’t worry guys. Those who can afford a Jag will never complain. Ok, they might complain but they will still buy it. There. Habis cerita.

• Now thats the correct GST calculation! lol.. MITI pls comment…

• nabill (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 1:12 pm

Honestly for serious buyers they dont bother… Thats a small price compare to da cost… Those who wan a jag WILl GET A JAG no matter what…

• Uncle Sam on Apr 07, 2015 at 1:35 pm

So why car price never reduce when USD falls?

• yalo…im wondering too when our exchange rate was rm3.1/usd no drop in jag price…how come ar?

• greed.. nothing but greed!!!

• kereta_lembu on Apr 07, 2015 at 2:35 pm

RIP Jaguar Malaysia :(

• buy recon jaguars on Apr 07, 2015 at 2:47 pm

if anyone interested to get a jaguar go get it from the grey importers. Its significantly cheaper and sometimes better equipped. Getting a brand new jaguar in Malaysia is kinda useless since its insanely expensive and the it depreciate a lot in a short period.

• no to sime darby on Apr 07, 2015 at 3:36 pm

Sime daby always slapped a crazy price tag on their cars.. please get out from this field if you dont know about cars..

• Am I late to the party? Oh very sorry for the delay. So here goes:
    THANK YOU!!! THANK YOU!!! THANK YOU WHATEVER GOD OR TURTLES!!! AT LAST THE UNIVERSE HAS FINALLY BOWED DOWN TO THE AWESOME REALITY OF PR!!! NOW WE CAN START THE FLAMING PYRES FOR BN POLITICIANS AND SUPPORTERS!!! MAY THEY BURN IN HELL!!!

• johanian on Apr 08, 2015 at 2:04 am

Other companies have decency to at least maintain prices.
    This company just starting to get more sales,just starting to get more visibilty..then quickly increase price.
    I was just thinking Jag Land Rover not bad.
    Actually their sales team are pretty good,work hard evn on Sundays….but this price increase doesnt bode well for sincerity of company.
    Why so impatient to increase bottomline…
    XE and new XF coming mah…if you put a new price on XE..nobody will complain..bcos no predecessor.
    Basically poor top management.

• johanian on Apr 08, 2015 at 2:15 am

Jag land rover just making in roads..
    but too inpatient..
    Brand just increased visbility..cosmetics to showrooms etc.
    This price hike comes at bad time.
    So customs cannot take action ah..
    If so…all traders can use excuse of falling exchange rate to increase prices more than 6 percent..
    This quantum of increase makes a lie of many many earlier customs statement.

• coconutshake on Apr 08, 2015 at 8:36 am

only the richest would buy jaguar and all british premium car without hesitate due to its quality. if this was belong to drb it does make sense. people who slightly above middle class, they make sure u guys dont afford to buy one. dont even dream about it. go for merc, bmw. middle class go for honda, toyota. segmentize…

i foreseen this as good strategies to keep others cars price for the middle class stable in near future.

elsewhere the good thing is, for all malaysians dont even buy import CBU car to prevent money flow out of country. want an import brand? go for CKD, under NAP incentive car or best go for national brand.

USD hikes just a minor reason while behind it, its uphold the strategies. well, good luck JAG.

• coconutshake on Apr 08, 2015 at 8:37 am

segmentize.. nice strategies.. good luck..

• johanian on Apr 09, 2015 at 12:28 am

Jaguar were just being noticed…
    it isnt just about the extra thousands..
    JLR seems very insensitive.

• Jag for me on Apr 10, 2015 at 7:04 am

Good that not many Malaysians can buy a Jag cause. I am going to ship home my F Type R coupe from UK and it’s so darn cheap. Hehe